Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 375 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

375 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

375 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
70
3 stars
32
2 stars
27
1 stars
114
1-20 of 366 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 366 total reviews
1-20 of 366 reviews
Don't waste your money!
10/31/2013

Customer review by Labrat99

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Labrat99
by Labrat99

I bought this for my daughter for her 6th birthday after she saw the commerical on TV. She had fun playing with it and was getting good at controlling the fairy. However the fairy broke just after 3 days (stoped flying and now the wings don't even move) I replaced the batteries just to make sure that wasn't the problem and it just makes a weird noise and does nothing. I wouldn't waste my time or money on this toy. I've noticed that those who gave this a good review haven't even played with the toy yet. If you have bought this as a Christmas gift it's not to late to take it back and get something else (so your daughter or granddaughter doesn't have to go through the disappointment by daughter is going through right now). I'll be taking this toy back to the store and letting my daughter pick out something else.

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Labrat99
Layton, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned!!
9/22/2013

Customer review by widowmother

1.0 stars 9/22/2013 by widowmother
by widowmother

Got this expensive toy and a huge pack of batteries... Takes 6 AA! You put the batteries in the base unit. Turn on the base unit. There is a plug from the base unit that the dolls feet sits on to the doll while charging the doll. *Doll off* The indicator light is suppose to blink red when charging, turn orange when done, and blink red & green if the doll is in wrong. If you take the cord out of the doll, the light is suppose to turn solid red *With the doll now turned on* when ready to launch. 1) It takes a full 30 minutes to charge! 2) The indicator light kept turning off while charging. I had to keep turning the base unit off and on to get a full charge and it never changed colors to let me know it was done charging... 3) The doll is VERY breakable plastic. Pieces fall off easily. Not easy to find the spot to plug in the charger, and hard to fine the on and off switch. 4) I turned on the doll, put her back in the base unit. I put the base unit on the floor like suggested in the directions. *If you launch to high up it hits the ceiling in 2 seconds or less, you have to have plenty of space up* I pressed the button. It flew up to the ceiling and hit it's head on the ceiling, then slowly came down. I went to put my hand under the feet, careful not to touch the feet, and it makes the doll instantly fly sideways. Does not stop flying sideways until it crashes which makes the 'wings' pop off... 5) The whole concept is to put your hand under the feet once it is flying. The feet has a sensor in it. That sensor senses your hand, and the child uses their hand to direct the doll. But... The second you do, it sends the doll flying sideways and crashes... Complete flop... I returned this, got my money back, then let my daughter go on a mini toy shopping spree... $35 for the doll and $13 for the giant pack of batteries... P.s... I even went SO far before giving this as a gift to make sure she would be able to use it I called the customer service phone number for the toy... He talked my ear off for over 30 minutes on how to play with the toy... Seriously... Lesson learned... I will never buy a toy again because a commercial on tv made it look cool... Never...

Was this review helpful? (81) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
widowmother
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
VERY glitchy
10/19/2013

Customer review by AEBMOM

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by AEBMOM
by AEBMOM

We bought our 7 year old one of these for her bday. When she tried to fly it everytime she put her hand under it it would shoot straight to the ceiling and keep bumping up on the ceiling (like trying to go higher) until we canceled it on the base/charging station. On another note she took it outside yesterday (after I told her she couldn't play with it outside) and it flew away LOL. Glad we wasted that $35

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AEBMOM
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun toy that lasts about a week before it breaks.
12/4/2013

Customer review by GatorGals

1.0 stars 12/4/2013 by GatorGals
by GatorGals

This will be my very first review on Walmart.com, and only because I feel sorry for parents that waste their money on this toy. I read alot of very negative reviews when I originally purchased this back in September for my daughter's birthday, but decided to buy it anyway since it was what she really wanted. I agree with another reviewer...it is very glitchy and it constantly ran into the walls and ceiling. We tried to be very careful with it, but I got tired of it running into things inside so my husband suggested she attempt to play with it outside. He said it went so high it was nearly out of sight. After that it was used only indoors and after a few more times slamming into the ceiling or wall it stopped working. She used it for MAYBE a week before we just decided to trash it. Complete waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (68) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GatorGals
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth buying
11/4/2013

Customer review by WiiPlayersMom

1.0 stars 11/4/2013 by WiiPlayersMom
by WiiPlayersMom

Bought this for my 8 yr old daughter as a birthday present. She saw it advertised and really wanted it. However, it does not work anything like advertised. Flies straight up into the ceiling and then crashes down to the floor. If it manages not to hit the ceiling then it still doesn't hover above your hand. It just sort of jets around by itself for about 2 seconds before it hits something and them falls to the floor. After 10 minutes of playing with it trying to get it to work, with nothing but disaster with each attempt, we boxed it back up and set it aside to bring back. Was a big disappointment for everyone. Don't bother with this one. Is a nice idea if it worked.

Was this review helpful? (75) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from SpinMasterCustomerCare - 11/25/2013

Hi there, we're genuinely sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced while flying the fairy, typically it works very well. A lot of the time these sorts of things can be fixed through some real time troubleshooting, please give us a call toll free at 1-800-622-8339 with your Flutterybye Fairy handy and one of our Fairy specialists will be more than happy to see if we can get you flying again. We are open Mon-Fri 11am-7pm EST.

WiiPlayersMom
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Fairy Disappointment
9/23/2013

Customer review by Ginnanne

2.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Ginnanne
by Ginnanne

I bought this for my daughter's 7th birthday and thought at first it was pretty cool. After we got the 6 batteries and charged it for 30 minutes, I was extremely disappointed that on the first flight the doll broke. This is to much money to spend for the thing to break on the first try. Plus I know she was not being rough with her doll, I was right there helping her. Even though it looks awesome, I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (75) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginnanne
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/23/2013

Customer review by DestructoDoll

2.0 stars 9/23/2013 by DestructoDoll
by DestructoDoll

It's a little harder to control than the commercials make it look, but my two biggest concerns are the wings and charging. It uses 6 batteries in the charger, which I can live with, but as my daughter is learning how to control it, it crashes a lot. She's had it one day and already a wing has fallen off and we can't find it. I'm hoping to find it because my guess is that it will be even harder to control without it, but I'm not holding my breath. I wish I had followed my instincts and decided on something else for her birthday. Very disappointing birthday present.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DestructoDoll
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned it...
9/22/2013

Customer review by widowmother

1.0 stars 9/22/2013 by widowmother
by widowmother

Got this expensive toy and a huge pack of batteries... Takes 6 AA! You put the batteries in the base unit. Turn on the base unit. There is a plug from the base unit that the dolls feet sits on to the doll while charging the doll. *Doll off* The indicator light is suppose to blink red when charging, turn orange when done, and blink red & green if the doll is in wrong. If you take the cord out of the doll, the light is suppose to turn solid red *With the doll now turned on* when ready to launch. 1) It takes a full 30 minutes to charge! 2) The indicator light kept turning off while charging. I had to keep turning the base unit off and on to get a full charge and it never changed colors to let me know it was done charging... 3) The doll is VERY breakable plastic. Pieces fall off easily. Not easy to find the spot to plug in the charger, and hard to fine the on and off switch. 4) I turned on the doll, put her back in the base unit. I put the base unit on the floor like suggested in the directions. *If you launch to high up it hits the ceiling in 2 seconds or less, you have to have plenty of space up* I pressed the button. It flew up to the ceiling and hit it's head on the ceiling, then slowly came down. I went to put my hand under the feet, careful not to touch the feet, and it makes the doll instantly fly sideways. Does not stop flying sideways until it crashes which makes the 'wings' pop off... 5) The whole concept is to put your hand under the feet once it is flying. The feet has a sensor in it. That sensor senses your hand, and the child uses their hand to direct the doll. But... The second you do, it sends the doll flying sideways and crashes... Complete flop... I returned this, got my money back, then let my daughter go on a mini toy shopping spree... $35 for the doll and $13 for the giant pack of batteries... P.s... I even went SO far before giving this as a gift to make sure she would be able to use it I called the customer service phone number for the toy... He talked my ear off for over 30 minutes on how to play with the toy... Seriously... Lesson learned... I will never buy a toy again because a commercial on tv made it look cool... Never...

Was this review helpful? (52) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
widowmother
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
9/30/2013

Customer review by blessedmomx2

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by blessedmomx2
by blessedmomx2

This product received many poor reviews so I was skeptical to say the least. Purchased for daughter's 6th birthday, the fairy was a very pleasant surprise in that it works perfectly when instructions are followed. A small child will need help understanding multiple on/off switches and a series of light indicators. After launching from the base, it really does fly in relation to your hand or any object placed beneath it. This product is meant to be used indoors and runs for 5 minutes after every 30 minute charge. It is not affected by the floor or ceiling but will crash into walls and furniture (anything that touches a wing) but not to do damage and the fairy itself seems very durable. My daughter, and the entire family, loves this toy.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blessedmomx2
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hated it at first, but now we love it!
12/13/2013

Customer review by thePerkinsFmly

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by thePerkinsFmly
by thePerkinsFmly

I planned to give this to my daughter for Xmas, but I like to test everything I buy so there is no disappointment on Xmas day. I opened it while she was asleep, charged it, and initially hated it. I figured I would let her play with it for a day or two before I returned it. Well, that backfired. She fell in love with it, and the more we used it, the more it grew on me...so we are definitely keeping it as an early Xmas present. At first I couldn't get it to stay in the air, and now we can keep it up for minutes at a time and take turns seeing who can keep it up the longest. She absolutely loves it, and so do my other girls (5 altogether)! One tip...it says in the directions to hold it sideways by the legs so it doesn't interfere with the sensor. No! We found that if you hold it by the head and just let it go, it will drop to the ground for a second, but after it rises back up, that's when you start to use your hand. Works great every time! The two cons of the product both have to do with charging. I wish it lasted longer for one. We usually get about 10 minutes of play out of it each time. My 4 year old understands that it has to be charged and good things come to those who wait...but some kids might not be so patient. Also, I think it's ridiculous to use 6 AA batteries to charge it when they should have supplied an AC adapter with it for charging. If they come out with a new one with an adapter, I would upgrade to that one. Until then, we will just use rechargeable batteries. I'm not buying stock in batteries for one toy. Other than that, we love it!! I hope it lasts because it does take some pretty brutal crash landings. lol

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thePerkinsFmly
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke within first hour
10/30/2013

Customer review by rhenley

1.0 stars 10/30/2013 by rhenley
by rhenley

This toy did not do what it was supposed to do. We could not control it with our hands. It flew all over the place. It would crash into the wall and then hit the floor. The wing broke off several times, then it would no longer fly up. It would just go straight to the floor. It is not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhenley
Huntsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the toy, When it works
9/16/2013

Customer review by nagywyo

3.0 stars 9/16/2013 by nagywyo
by nagywyo

We recently ordered this at WalMart.com. It arrived within the expected time frame and sat wrapped up for about a week before we opened it and charged it for the first time. Our 6 year old LOVED toy! And we have to admit, as parents we were pretty happy with it too. However, on the fairies second "flight" one of the wings snapped about halfway down and we can't repair the wing. This dramatically affects the fairies ability to fly and have just emailed the customer service center and am hoping for a quick response on how to get a new wing. Overall, I would recommend this product just use extreme caution when handling the wings. We are planning on purchasing more for our other children and nieces for Christmas presents depending on how well customer care treats us.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nagywyo
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk !!
11/6/2013

Customer review by OMGmommyof3

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by OMGmommyof3
by OMGmommyof3

My daughter got this for her birthday (one of the things she wanted) , flew 2 times and thats its , stopped working . Very disappointed .

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from SpinMasterCustomerCare - 11/25/2013

Hi There, we are truly sorry to hear about your experience with the Futterbye Fairy particularly because it was your daughters Birthday, we understand how disappointing this must be and would like an opportunity to help. Please give us a call toll free at 1-800-622-8339 with your Flutterybye Fairy handy and one of our Fairy specialists will be more than happy to see if we can get you flying again. We are open Mon-Fri 11am-7pm EST.

OMGmommyof3
somewhere
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/24/2013

Customer review by nantons95

1.0 stars 9/24/2013 by nantons95
by nantons95

The Fairy is broken. It didn't last a day. This toy has to been flown outside or inside with a very high ceiling. This is not mentioned on the package. I didn't think it would fly that far up. Its very pretty to look at but I do not recommend it for playing.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nantons95
Sparta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Toy!
12/13/2013

Customer review by auntyelf

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by auntyelf
by auntyelf

Purchased this item for 5 year old niece. After reading some negative reviews decided I'd better take it out of the box and charge it and try it out myself. The directions were clear (although printed in grey so hard to read!) The switch and port on the fairy so small they were a bit tricky but after locating the switch and port and charging the fairy performed just as promised. Only adults have attempted to fly it so far but we had a great time with it! It did bounce off the walls and ceilings a few times and I believe it should always be launched from the floor unless you have very high ceilings but it has continued to fly after crashing numerous times. I do think if you are giving it to a child you should get it charged and ready to go first. Children are not patient and it does take a few minutes to get set up and then 30 minutes to charge. Besides, you'll enjoy trying it out for yourself before you have to share with the intended recipient!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntyelf
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
10/17/2013

Customer review by USTrini

3.0 stars 10/17/2013 by USTrini
by USTrini

Looks pretty but flies too high without hovering or coming down. If you press the button, it doesn't gently glide to the ground, it abruptly drops.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USTrini
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken after 4 days!
11/6/2013

Customer review by Tylerman1

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Tylerman1
by Tylerman1

My 10 year old daughter loved this toy, even though it was not as easy to control as the instructions would have you believe. A part has snapped off and now the wing won't attach back on. It also will not stand up in the base anymore! It's not very tough for a toy that can fly. Overall very disappointing, poorly made and designed.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from SpinMasterCustomerCare - 11/25/2013

Hi there, <br /><br />The Flutterybye fairy is designed to be fairly durable, so breaking right away is definitely something that shouldn't be happening! We are sorry to hear this has occurred and would love an opportunity to help get your Daughter up in the air again. Please give us a call toll free at 1-800-622-8339 with your Fairy handy and one of our Fairy specialists will be more than happy to see what we can do to help. We are open Mon-Fri 11am-7pm EST.

Tylerman1
Sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great concept hard to use
9/25/2013

Customer review by NVreview

1.0 stars 9/25/2013 by NVreview
by NVreview

I bought this for my 6 yr old daughter, she was thrilled! However this product is extremely hard to control and nothing like they show on the video and pictures.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVreview
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
8/23/2013

Customer review by MonsterHighMamatjlzpt

5.0 stars 8/23/2013 by MonsterHighMamatjlzpt
by MonsterHighMamatjlzpt

Endless fun (until the battery dies or the fairy gets stuck up in a tree lol!) This fairy really flies high and she amazed my daughter! (I had fun with her too.). She looks like a fairy ballerina pirouetting through the air. When you put your hand just beneath her as she flies, she will fly higher. Can't wait for the black version of the fairy!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonsterHighMamatjlzpt
Love it!
9/27/2013

Customer review by Beccastoys

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Beccastoys
by Beccastoys

It took us a while and reading the directions a couple of times, but we love this psychotic dive bombing toy. The kids have a blast sending her back and forth or just playing alone. At first she attacked the ceiling, but then we turned off both switches and then back on and she is awesome. This is what I will buy for the birthday parties that my kids will go to this year for the girls. P.S. I play with it when they are in school, I'm in my thirties, if that tells you anything. Nothing has broken off of the toy yet and we have had her for two weeks. I WANT THE ENTIRE COLLECTION! She is played with EVERY day.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beccastoys
Point pleasant, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 366 total reviews
1-20 of 366 reviews