Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-10 of 10 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good for the price.
4/21/2012

Customer review by SwagWag13

3.0 stars 4/21/2012 by SwagWag13
by SwagWag13

I ordered this ugly stik online and got it shipped to the store. When i got to walmart i noticed the reel handle was missing. I told the customer service lady and she said it is sold seprately?!?! I bought the same product from another walmart and have had no problems with it yet. I like this ugly stik but i do not like the customer service.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwagWag13
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice for a noob!
5/16/2012

Customer review by moonknight

4.0 stars 5/16/2012 by moonknight
by moonknight

I have not fished in over 20 years. I am the kind of person that likes to master something new or different. I had the old closed face reel and liked it but wanted a challenge. This is not too hard to master and the ugly stick has taken the beeting I have dished out. The Reel is nice but like it was mentioned the "Easy Cast" lever is in a terrible space. I took it off and have no issues so this is fantastic for me. You feel all the hits well and the action is great. Good choice and enjoy the rod/reel combo.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moonknight
Denver Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Invest in a better reel.
10/27/2012

Customer review by Rated850R

2.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Rated850R
by Rated850R

I recently moved to a new state and am getting back into fishing. I picked up this combo from my local Walmart. I don't know how long it was on the shelf, but once I started using it I learned two things: 1) the pre-spooled line is junk, and 2) the Shakespeare reel on this combo is basically junk. The line had crazy memory, snagged and unspooled and broke several times. After a few lost lures I respooled with good 10-lb mono. As for the reel, the bail was very loose and had problems opening and closing. The EZ cast feature made casting much harder so I never used it. And the drag setting was very loose. It would never stay on my intended setting. So I just bought a better reel instead. The price for this combo is great, but expect to buy new line and maybe a new reel. The rod is the only part that's worth anything.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rated850R
Greenville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a great rod&reel combo
6/27/2012

Customer review by catfishhunter100

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by catfishhunter100
by catfishhunter100

this was the first combo i ever bought by myself and it has not let me down yet i am a avid fisherman who goes fishing around 3 times a week and i have caught up to a 20 lbs blue cat om it and it held up wonderfully the ez cast option is amazing for 1 handed casts and i have never had any problems with it not closing or the line getting behind the ez cast trigger overall i love it and will continue to use it

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catfishhunter100
Huntington ,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good but...
7/20/2012

Customer review by dh5587

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by dh5587
by dh5587

I really was wanting this rod and reel combo, it seemed perfect for the price and a fishing buddy of mine bought one and loved it so why not right? I had to go to a Walmart an hour away because the one a mile away would never have this rod and reel combo in stock so after two weeks of waiting I went to the other Walmart. I went out and had a good time with it, I do not know why the ez-cast system should be named a cast crippler, this thing is great for cast and retrieve fishing. As soon as I have the lure in it is right back in the water. It was so easy to cast with and no time lag at all, I caught numerous 17 inch or bigger large mouth bass to prove so. After coming home from that trip I noticed the reel was a little loose on the rod, so naturally I tightened it. I do not have he-man strength however after tightening down the reel holder I went back to check the wiggle room and the coupler broke. Upon further inspection you can clearly see that it is just plastic whereas other rods have this piece made of metal. Nothing electrical tape and a lighter can't fix and for 30 bucks what do you expect but for a stick to be unbreakable I would think Ugly Stik would invest in just a little aluminum to wrap around the reel couplers to keep them from cracking and breaking. Otherwise a good setup for seasoned fishermen or new comers, just don't try to get rid of the wiggle room and don't give up on the ez-cast system with a little practice it will be hard to go back to an open face without one, however, if it just doesn't work for you just take it off, only one screw holds it on.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dh5587
Sartell, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/28/2012

Customer review by 95BroncoManiac

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by 95BroncoManiac
by 95BroncoManiac

I reeled in a 29 inch black drum, 18 inch trout and numerous trout that were under the limit. The rod was bent in half the whole 20 minutes I spent fighting that drum and with the same line that comes with it! Very impressive! I bought this rod and reel combo mainly for the rod to use it for casting while bay fishing. I did not like the fact that the reel spins back half a turn. Very annoying.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
95BroncoManiac
South Padre Island, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/20/2012

Customer review by Multhar

2.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Multhar
by Multhar

The Ugly Stick fishing pole itself is an awesome thing,no problems with it. My quarrel is with the Shakespeare reel that comes with this combo. The E-Z Cast trigger that is on this should be called the "Cast Crippler" because 90% of my casts failed,the E-Z Cast trigger gets hung on the bail and wont close. Also the line will get stuck behind this trigger if the bail should work properly and close. If you don't look every time,the line will wind behind the spool resulting in problems. I think I am going to take the trigger off and see if that helps.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Multhar
Meadville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good quality rod and ok reel
6/27/2013

Customer review by fishmater57

5.0 stars 6/27/2013 by fishmater57
by fishmater57

I got it at my local store for 24$......the rod was awesome the reel is pretty good . the day I bout it I cought a 7 lb catfish and a 5lb catfish .great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishmater57
mansfield ,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your time
7/2/2012

Customer review by Socky101

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by Socky101
by Socky101

I love to fish, but like most people i try to get what i need on as little money as possible. Thats why i figured this cheap ugly stik would be a great fit for a modest fisherman like myself, but boy did I think wrong. Ugly Stik claims that it is the strongest and most sensitive pole on the market, so i am trying to figure out why my rod snapped the day that i bought it. Why have a 7 year warranty on this product, it only lasted me 7 minutes!!! It broke right above the handle due to me pulling on it about half as hard as i pull on my cheap $20 shakespeare that i got from walmart. i honestly thought the pole was defective, but i guess it is just a lousy product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Socky101
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
9/4/2013

Customer review by jfa36

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by jfa36
by jfa36

I got exactly what I was expecting, and for the money, this rod and reel are great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jfa36
Boise, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.