Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1091 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1091 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1091 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
728
4 stars
218
3 stars
32
2 stars
20
1 stars
93
1-20 of 1076 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1076 total reviews
1-20 of 1076 reviews
just the perfect size for my kitchen
6/17/2014

Customer review by Destined1414

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by Destined1414
by Destined1414
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

when i read the reviews for this microwave, they made it seem small, but its just the perfect size for my kitchen and i have taken some pictures for you to see, this is a great choice

Was this review helpful? (456) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Destined1414
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great little microwave
11/7/2013

Customer review by wallsmartshopper2010

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by wallsmartshopper2010
by wallsmartshopper2010

i needed a microwave, i have shopped around and most were highly priced for what i needed .plus having to lug it home was not an option , i saw this one, the reviews were good. so i gave it a go . it is a tad smaller then the one i had. which is fine i used it mainly for defrosting meat and making popcorn and snacks for my son. it would indeed be great for a college student, the rv or a small apartment .

Was this review helpful? (364) (106)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallsmartshopper2010
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY
3/11/2014

Customer review by Brome79

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Brome79
by Brome79
Top 500 contributor

I went online to WalMart site, Target, Home Depot, Lowe's, Sears websites...read reviews on about 10 different microwaves. People complain that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud"..... I say "wah, wah". This microwave had good reviews so I bought it. I'm telling you, people, READ NO FURTHER! Go NOW and buy this one. It is WONDERFUL. It is quiet, simple to operate, powerful 900W, beautiful on my countertop. Do not think about it....don't even pray about it...GO BUY IT NOW. I bought the black one with stainless steel front. It's absolutely beautiful. And most SS microwaves are $10 to $20 more. Not this one. $59!!!! So again I say, BUY IT NOW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1005) (130)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brome79
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great microwave, exceeds expectations
12/5/2013

Customer review by BBnc

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by BBnc
by BBnc

I purchased this microwave in stainless steel/black at a local Walmart for my office. It’s powerful, yet very quiet. I love the one-touch cook options. Unlike other low-price, small microwaves this one has a pull handle instead of an annoying push button to open the door. It also actually weighs enough that the microwave stays still when you pull open the door. So far, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I can't yet speak to its durability as I just purchased it two months ago, but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (605) (82)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBnc
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Looks great, easy to use.
8/20/2014

Customer review by BrdLvr2

5.0 stars 8/20/2014 by BrdLvr2
by BrdLvr2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This microwave looks wonderful on my counter. I previously had a 1200 microwave, and this one is 700, so I knew it would take slightly longer to heat or cook. It does take a little longer, but only about a minute or so, and I have not really missed the 1200. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (56) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrdLvr2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
made an excellent replacement
2/12/2014

Customer review by SturdyFluff

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by SturdyFluff
by SturdyFluff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this in the black with stainless steel. My family loves it.

Was this review helpful? (46) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SturdyFluff
Bronx NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap price and quality
4/22/2014

Customer review by do0odo0o1990

2.0 stars 4/22/2014 by do0odo0o1990
by do0odo0o1990
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This microwave is nice looking in my kitchen, but thats about it!!!! Its very loud and very low quality!!! Idont recommend buying it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
do0odo0o1990
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price for a low-wattage microwave!
7/20/2013

Customer review by lifedowntheshore

4.0 stars 7/20/2013 by lifedowntheshore
by lifedowntheshore
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this microwave when ours suddenly died. We picked it for the color...in anticipation of switching microwaves with our newlyweds. Their primary kitchen color is red. My only disappointment is with the color, since it is advertised as a red microwave. It only has two small red strips on front. (Thus, the reason for the "average" appearance rating.) Having purchased it online, I couldn't tell from the illustration that it was the extent of the red. I was expecting the side panels to carry the color. (walmart.com has since added more choices to their inventory.) Since we only use a microwave for warming drinks and food, I don't feel that I can give a fair assessment. However, I like that it has a quiet motor and looks like a more expensive unit. The "finish" alert is loud and rings five times, even if you open the door while it is ringing. It also sounds a periodic reminder, until you remove the contents. If you don't need a high-power unit, I would recommend this model. You can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (247) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lifedowntheshore
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabulous little microwave
11/19/2014

Customer review by AkitaFan

5.0 stars 11/19/2014 by AkitaFan
by AkitaFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My beloved microwave recently died and even though I did not want to, I parted ways with it. I did a lot of research and since I was not trying to spend a fortune on a microwave oven, my options were pretty limited. Enter this little gem here. I found the West Bend on here and after studying the features and description, I also realized that it came in different colors. I opted for the red version and ordered. Only a few days later I met my new room mate. This microwave is great and powerful. Compared to my dinosaur microwave, this one is very quiet. So quiet that the first few times I had to literally walk up close to make sure it was actually working. The display is easy to understand and it has a built-in clock which was super easy to set. My latest venture is mug cakes and I find that this microwave oven does an excellent job baking my little wonder deserts. I am so happy with this microwave I almost wish my old one had died sooner.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AkitaFan
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not too big, but not too little either!
5/31/2014

Customer review by LighthouseLeigh

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by LighthouseLeigh
by LighthouseLeigh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you've ever had your microwave die, you understand the "can't live without it" syndrome. I was really caught off-guard because I had a fairly new, high-end GE Profile. The Walmart rating system was a BIG help. I couldn't believe the low cost of this West Bend - it's so attractive and very easy to use - although one word of warning if you try to use it before reading the instructions (yeah, no one does that.) In setting the clock, make sure your first digit is a '1' or a '0', for example 04:22. We're about to move to a home that has a built-in microwave, but this one is coming with us because it will also look cool in the new man cave. :-) Another plus, it works very similarly to our new house's built-in GE (for example, the handy express numbers) so I won't be confused by going back and forth. I ordered this online at night and picked it up the next morning at the local Walmart so it was a good shopping experience as well.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LighthouseLeigh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As good as the other reviews said!
3/16/2014

Customer review by Livingonsquirrelhill

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Livingonsquirrelhill
by Livingonsquirrelhill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The old one broke...I shopped around (I needed it delivered) and this microwave oven was the right size, the right power, definitely the right price, and I liked the way it looked too. Super fast shipping....UPS DIDN'T deliver it to the door...left it at the bottom of the stairs in clear view from the street, but there's no way to complain to them online, so just mentioning here. Fortunately a kind neighbor carried it up the outside stairs. I like the fact that there's a handle and you use that to pull the door open. I really don't trust the 'push to open' buttons...they stick sometimes. I haven't used it on challenging tasks but for general use it's been efficent, quiet (when running) and I still like the way it looks. While there's space on all sides, I like the vent on the top..seems to evacuate steam better so I don't have to leave the door open (one oven I had the coating on the top (inside) flaked off from the residual steam...yuck).

Was this review helpful? (100) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Livingonsquirrelhill
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Less than 1 Year old and it is rusted inside
6/13/2016

Customer review by Charlene

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Charlene
by Charlene

I bought this microwave last fall, 2015. As of this summer, 2016, whenever I use it, it smells like something plastic or like wires are burning. Inside, the coating has bubbled and cracked and it is rusting in several places. It is good looking from the outside, but I am afraid to keep using it. Now, I am in search of a new one, and this time...I'm reading the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlene
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Microwave To Own
10/7/2013

Customer review by AngelWings07042009

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by AngelWings07042009
by AngelWings07042009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent microwave to own. I went to different stores around where I live and they wanted to much money. I went to Target.com and after the price,tax,shipping it comes out to be around $60.00. Besybuy.com is just about the same amount. I also went to amazon.com and they wanted less money for this same exact microwave but i decided not to order it from amazon.com because it was going to take an additional 5 days to process the order and then they will ship it on the 6th day and then it was going to take another 10-14 days for me to finally recieve this microwave. I then came to the walmart.com website and I found this microwave and the price,tax,shipping the grand total came out to $45.00 - $50.00. I really love this microwave. It is a 900 watt microwave and it has great features and this is also a great microwave for Senior Citizens and the elderly, beacuse it is extreamly easy for them to use. If you need a microwave, you better purchase this WestBend 0.9 Cubic Feet, 900-Watt Microwave, I promise all of you, YOU WILL LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (135) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AngelWings07042009
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I bought this microwave 3 months ago
5/11/2016

Customer review by Rita

1.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Rita
by Rita

I would not recommend this microwave. I've only had it a couple months an it has a short apparently. Because it's cutting on an off by itself but not heating. It won't even run on timer when you set it. But only a few seconds then heat cuts off but yet microwave keeps running. You can hear it cutting in an out. It's definitely going back to Walmart for sure. I will get another one. Maybe it's just this one that has the problem. I don't know. But Ive had 3 very good microwaves in my life an I've never seen or heard of this kind of thing. I'm very disappointed in West Bend products. I bought a bread machine when they first came out an there was a recall on that particular one. The motors were getting hot an catching on fire. But they did have me ship it to them an they replaced the motor an sent me a case of bread mix.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rita
Would recommend to a friend? No
West Bend 900 Watt Microwave
2/8/2016

Customer review by christmaswithsnow

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by christmaswithsnow
by christmaswithsnow

After reviewing, I "in store" purchased this microwave a month ago. The silver one has silver swooshes on front, the rest is black. It is very nice looking and works well for its 900 watt. A 9" glass pie pan will fit and spin perfect. There are vents on this microwave , top left rear, left side rear. The directions in manual requires spaces where these vents are and air space around microwave. (see under installation page 8) There is also a plastic protector sheet over the control panel. This will become bubbly or crackle looking if not removed. Light comes on when door is opened and when food is cooking. There is a beep when finished. There is a handle to pull open door , not a push button. There is a 30 second button. Setting kitchen timer was a little tricky for first few times. For the $68.00, this microwave is a hit.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christmaswithsnow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Typical microwave - would recommend.
3/28/2014

Customer review by NToyn

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by NToyn
by NToyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I expect few things in a microwave. As long as it heats evenly, I'm generally happy. On that, this does just fine, so I'm satisfied. It has one-touch buttons (1-6 minutes), a 30 second one-touch button and a few presets, all things that are standard these days in microwaves. It also has a child lock - it isn't on the machine itself, it's only mentioned in the manual but I tested it out and it works. If you're confused about the size like I was, know it's a pretty standard family-sized microwave, it's not one of those tiny dorm-sized machines or those gigantic commercial microwaves. I got the silver model, which looks good. The strips of color are only on the front and door and don't wrap around. The rest of the body is black. I had mine delivered and it was packaged very well, no damage, dents or anything of concern.

Was this review helpful? (322) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NToyn
Augusta, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wowww! What an Awesome microwave for $59!!
6/10/2014

Customer review by LoveSite2Store

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by LoveSite2Store
by LoveSite2Store

So my 1993 above stove Kenmore finally died. What to do, needed a microwave stat. First I evaluated how I actually use it - #1 use reheating coffee, second food, third defrost, that's about it - I saw no point in immediately replacing an expensive above stove unit and decided on a countertop in the meantime. This one caught my eye because of the red, and the reviews, and the size - seemingly not too big. Well, this microwave is perfect. It is extremely powerful, it looks GREAT, it is not too big on the counter but it's quite large inside in case you wanted to reheat a big dinner plate, a full casserole, etc. - lots of space. It has 3 memory functions you can program in, it does dual-stage cooking (i.e. 3 min at 50% power then 4 min at 70% power) and is just really smart and nice. So then I go to work the next day and recognize that we have had the Exact Same microwave but in silver not red for over a year -- and that sealed this review. We ABUSE that thing and it works just fine. I almost never heat on full power because the 900w is just too much! I would absolutely recommend this brand, no questions. Our work one has been just awesome and I love my red one at home.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveSite2Store
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Works great and looks really good also!
7/14/2014

Customer review by catsinjax

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by catsinjax
by catsinjax

I purchased my micro many months ago, and waited to write my review, as to see how well it held up. We use this daily and it's doing just awesome! I love the features this on has and I love the over all "feel" of this one. I looks like one of the more expensive ones and has that more sturdy feel to it. My ex had seen mine and he purchased one also. He really puts a micro though a lot of abuse, since he's rough on even closing the door, etc. He also has a huge bug problem in his house and most micro's have died within weeks due to this. Not this one! I am shocked to see it's still working just as well as the day it arrived. So, in closing, if you are looking for one tough as nails micro, that can handle the abuse and keep working, this is your machine! It's awesome and the price is a great value, considering the look and feel, along with the performance of this micro. You can't go wrong buying this one!

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catsinjax
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
900 watts of power for 700 watt price---- NICE!
8/27/2014

Customer review by wijo

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by wijo
by wijo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This 900 watt unit is more powerful (less heating time required) than most of the lower priced microwave ovens. I had a 700 watt oven for 10 years that finally quit. It would take that old oven 90 seconds to heat a cup of water. This new 900 watt unit heats the water in 60 seconds. You may think that is not a big deal but I figure over 10 years of 3 cups a day, I waited an extra 83 hours (3 and a half days !) waiting for that water to heat. This West Bend unit is only a few dollars more than the low priced, low wattage units. The stainless steel looks good. I really like the 30 second button.....most low priced ones don't have that feature. I bought this one after reading the reviews here, they were helpful, I hope my review is helpful to you.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wijo
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Microwave!
4/21/2014

Customer review by kesa76

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by kesa76
by kesa76
Top 250 contributor

After so many issues and 3 replacement microwaves from emerson, I had enough. I decided to go with a different brand and started researching. I saw this one had very good reviews so I kept it in the back of my mind until I finished researching others. I was going to order online but we needed a microwave immediately so I went to our nearest walmart. They didn't have the one I originally decided to get so I got this one instead as it had everything I wanted and they had it in the black and stainless. I could not be more happy with my purchase. It is super quiet while running, has the express buttons and 30 second cook button as well as a kitchen timer. It's smaller than my the one I just junked, which really gives me much more space and it still does an amazing job cooking everything I usually cook in the microwave. I also love the weighted defrost feature as well as the preset cook buttons for things like pizza, beverages, dinner plate and pop corn. It's easy to clean and I am thrilled it has a door handle instead of the push button. I would rather have the handle as you don't have to worry about it getting stuck and not being able to open it. All around this microwave is wonderful and I DO recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kesa76
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
1-20 of 1076 total reviews
1-20 of 1076 reviews