Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 823 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

823 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

823 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
551
4 stars
171
3 stars
26
2 stars
14
1 stars
61
1-20 of 810 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 810 total reviews
1-20 of 810 reviews
HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY
3/11/2014

Customer review by Brome79

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Brome79
by Brome79

I went online to WalMart site, Target, Home Depot, Lowe's, Sears websites...read reviews on about 10 different microwaves. People complain that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud"..... I say "wah, wah". This microwave had good reviews so I bought it. I'm telling you, people, READ NO FURTHER! Go NOW and buy this one. It is WONDERFUL. It is quiet, simple to operate, powerful 900W, beautiful on my countertop. Do not think about it....don't even pray about it...GO BUY IT NOW. I bought the black one with stainless steel front. It's absolutely beautiful. And most SS microwaves are $10 to $20 more. Not this one. $59!!!! So again I say, BUY IT NOW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (721) (85)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brome79
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great microwave, exceeds expectations
12/5/2013

Customer review by BBnc

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by BBnc
by BBnc

I purchased this microwave in stainless steel/black at a local Walmart for my office. It’s powerful, yet very quiet. I love the one-touch cook options. Unlike other low-price, small microwaves this one has a pull handle instead of an annoying push button to open the door. It also actually weighs enough that the microwave stays still when you pull open the door. So far, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I can't yet speak to its durability as I just purchased it two months ago, but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (461) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBnc
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Typical microwave - would recommend.
3/28/2014

Customer review by NToyn

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by NToyn
by NToyn

I expect few things in a microwave. As long as it heats evenly, I'm generally happy. On that, this does just fine, so I'm satisfied. It has one-touch buttons (1-6 minutes), a 30 second one-touch button and a few presets, all things that are standard these days in microwaves. It also has a child lock - it isn't on the machine itself, it's only mentioned in the manual but I tested it out and it works. If you're confused about the size like I was, know it's a pretty standard family-sized microwave, it's not one of those tiny dorm-sized machines or those gigantic commercial microwaves. I got the silver model, which looks good. The strips of color are only on the front and door and don't wrap around. The rest of the body is black. I had mine delivered and it was packaged very well, no damage, dents or anything of concern.

Was this review helpful? (201) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NToyn
Augusta, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just the perfect size for my kitchen
6/17/2014

Customer review by Destined1414

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by Destined1414
by Destined1414

when i read the reviews for this microwave, they made it seem small, but its just the perfect size for my kitchen and i have taken some pictures for you to see, this is a great choice

Was this review helpful? (297) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Destined1414
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super for anybody to use..and great price
9/21/2013

Customer review by szot

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by szot
by szot

I looked at this here online and then went to the store and bought this exact same make and model..this does have a 30 second feature , its on the start button..and the dimensions posted here are incorrect...the outside dimensions are smaller than listed here, making it even better for saving some counter space..I believe they are 19L x 12W x 10H....and the product has a glass turntable inside to rotate your dishes and foods for even heating, which is not listed here....the oven works great as I knew it would..the only thing I don't like is that if U need to reset the clock and hit the stop button, then U need to reboot it and unplug it before U can reset the correct time again, but that's a minor detail and no big deal as long as you know that..

Was this review helpful? (106) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
szot
new england
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great little microwave
11/7/2013

Customer review by wallsmartshopper2010

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by wallsmartshopper2010
by wallsmartshopper2010

i needed a microwave, i have shopped around and most were highly priced for what i needed .plus having to lug it home was not an option , i saw this one, the reviews were good. so i gave it a go . it is a tad smaller then the one i had. which is fine i used it mainly for defrosting meat and making popcorn and snacks for my son. it would indeed be great for a college student, the rv or a small apartment .

Was this review helpful? (283) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallsmartshopper2010
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price for a low-wattage microwave!
7/20/2013

Customer review by lifedowntheshore

4.0 stars 7/20/2013 by lifedowntheshore
by lifedowntheshore

We purchased this microwave when ours suddenly died. We picked it for the color...in anticipation of switching microwaves with our newlyweds. Their primary kitchen color is red. My only disappointment is with the color, since it is advertised as a red microwave. It only has two small red strips on front. (Thus, the reason for the "average" appearance rating.) Having purchased it online, I couldn't tell from the illustration that it was the extent of the red. I was expecting the side panels to carry the color. (walmart.com has since added more choices to their inventory.) Since we only use a microwave for warming drinks and food, I don't feel that I can give a fair assessment. However, I like that it has a quiet motor and looks like a more expensive unit. The "finish" alert is loud and rings five times, even if you open the door while it is ringing. It also sounds a periodic reminder, until you remove the contents. If you don't need a high-power unit, I would recommend this model. You can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (210) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lifedowntheshore
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cute
7/12/2013

Customer review by kiki2cool

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by kiki2cool
by kiki2cool

I love this, it's very cute, durable and quite. It does not take up much counter space. So far so great! I love the color and the style. Perfect for reheating or making quick meals or snacks, not recommended for serious cooking.

Was this review helpful? (103) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiki2cool
Bensenville, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little microwave!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Gahoolie

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Gahoolie
by Gahoolie

I bought this microwave a few months back and thought I would wait awhile to see if there were things I didn't like. Well, I have found only one! The fact that it beeps 5 times when it is done is a little much but when I don't feel like hearing it, I just push stop before it counts down. Very minor compared to all the other great features. I love the 30 sec. on the start button. Push start and you get an instant 30 sec. and the instant 1,2,and 3 minute timers as well. I don't miss having 1000 watts either! This is perfect for everything I do. I have thawed frozen steak, chicken and burgers. I have cooked vegetables and casseroles in it. Everything has come out perfect. And did I say it is beautiful? It matches all my other red stuff in the kitchen. Good purchase! Good price! Good quality!

Was this review helpful? (123) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gahoolie
Peeples Valley, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Microwave To Own
10/7/2013

Customer review by AngelWings07042009

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by AngelWings07042009
by AngelWings07042009

This is an excellent microwave to own. I went to different stores around where I live and they wanted to much money. I went to Target.com and after the price,tax,shipping it comes out to be around $60.00. Besybuy.com is just about the same amount. I also went to amazon.com and they wanted less money for this same exact microwave but i decided not to order it from amazon.com because it was going to take an additional 5 days to process the order and then they will ship it on the 6th day and then it was going to take another 10-14 days for me to finally recieve this microwave. I then came to the walmart.com website and I found this microwave and the price,tax,shipping the grand total came out to $45.00 - $50.00. I really love this microwave. It is a 900 watt microwave and it has great features and this is also a great microwave for Senior Citizens and the elderly, beacuse it is extreamly easy for them to use. If you need a microwave, you better purchase this WestBend 0.9 Cubic Feet, 900-Watt Microwave, I promise all of you, YOU WILL LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (99) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngelWings07042009
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As good as the other reviews said!
3/16/2014

Customer review by Livingonsquirrelhill

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Livingonsquirrelhill
by Livingonsquirrelhill

The old one broke...I shopped around (I needed it delivered) and this microwave oven was the right size, the right power, definitely the right price, and I liked the way it looked too. Super fast shipping....UPS DIDN'T deliver it to the door...left it at the bottom of the stairs in clear view from the street, but there's no way to complain to them online, so just mentioning here. Fortunately a kind neighbor carried it up the outside stairs. I like the fact that there's a handle and you use that to pull the door open. I really don't trust the 'push to open' buttons...they stick sometimes. I haven't used it on challenging tasks but for general use it's been efficent, quiet (when running) and I still like the way it looks. While there's space on all sides, I like the vent on the top..seems to evacuate steam better so I don't have to leave the door open (one oven I had the coating on the top (inside) flaked off from the residual steam...yuck).

Was this review helpful? (74) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Livingonsquirrelhill
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/4/2013

Customer review by SHIRNELL

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by SHIRNELL
by SHIRNELL

This is just what I needed in a microwave. Small but powerful. Love the color black with red . Also the shipping came two days before promise date. I was really excited because my over the stove microwave had went bad. So glad I decided to get this smaller one for seniors because you do not have to reach up so high. It is counter level.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHIRNELL
Greer, S. c.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not too big, but not too little either!
5/31/2014

Customer review by LighthouseLeigh

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by LighthouseLeigh
by LighthouseLeigh

If you've ever had your microwave die, you understand the "can't live without it" syndrome. I was really caught off-guard because I had a fairly new, high-end GE Profile. The Walmart rating system was a BIG help. I couldn't believe the low cost of this West Bend - it's so attractive and very easy to use - although one word of warning if you try to use it before reading the instructions (yeah, no one does that.) In setting the clock, make sure your first digit is a '1' or a '0', for example 04:22. We're about to move to a home that has a built-in microwave, but this one is coming with us because it will also look cool in the new man cave. :-) Another plus, it works very similarly to our new house's built-in GE (for example, the handy express numbers) so I won't be confused by going back and forth. I ordered this online at night and picked it up the next morning at the local Walmart so it was a good shopping experience as well.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LighthouseLeigh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Pleasant Surprise!
10/27/2013

Customer review by tunacake

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by tunacake
by tunacake

My over the stove big microwave simply stopped. I decided I just needed a small micro for now until I replace the big one (which had a fan, lights & filters for the stove. So I checked the reviews on the Walmart micros and picked this one (silver and Black). This is a fine micro, great settings, no problems, perfect baked potatoes and everything. The 30 second Start button reheats cold coffee in a mug like magic. I like this a lot, much better than my old one. Power is fine, heats everything A Ok! Great Buy!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tunacake
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quiet; compact; time-sluggish.
1/9/2014

Customer review by AnnaSunshine

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by AnnaSunshine
by AnnaSunshine

Handsome product. I bought it based upon other customer reviews as a replacement for a Galanz microwave that fizzled at just 6 months. Love this one: it's quiet, with easy-to interpret/use features. However, it does seem to take nearly twice as long to heat stuff up as the ones that have preceded it ~ perhaps because it's only a 900 watt. From here on out, I think I won't settle for any under 1000 watts. But other than that, which I can adapt to, it's worked wonderfully so far (about 1 week).

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnaSunshine
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Problems After Only 2 Months
12/15/2013

Customer review by jesmelric

1.0 stars 12/15/2013 by jesmelric
by jesmelric

Purchased this microwave at the end of September. Was initially happy with the appearance and performance. Just about two months later, at the end of November the buttons randomly stopped working. If you hit the time cook button, most of the buttons would work. But if you hit any of the numbers for express cooking, or if you hit defrost, several of the buttons would not work. The 5, 7, 8, etc. Then they would work but other numbers would not. Not pleased after only two months. Luckily we were able to return to a Walmart store and purchase a different brand. Hope the new one holds up.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jesmelric
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
West Bend Runs hot
4/10/2014

Customer review by BlueEagle7

1.0 stars 4/10/2014 by BlueEagle7
by BlueEagle7

We purchased this a few days ago and what I'm concerned about is that while in use, the outside of the box get almost too hot to touch especially near the vents and top front. Has anyone else experienced this? I've never had a micro before that got hot on the outside of the unit. Most of the reviews are quite optimistic, but no mention of the outside being too hot.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueEagle7
Binghamton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
1/9/2014

Customer review by varkie

1.0 stars 1/9/2014 by varkie
by varkie

I purchased this microwave at the end of October 2013 and it broke (stop heating) before the 1st of January 2014.

Was this review helpful? (45) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
varkie
houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Microwave!
4/21/2014

Customer review by kesa76

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by kesa76
by kesa76

After so many issues and 3 replacement microwaves from emerson, I had enough. I decided to go with a different brand and started researching. I saw this one had very good reviews so I kept it in the back of my mind until I finished researching others. I was going to order online but we needed a microwave immediately so I went to our nearest walmart. They didn't have the one I originally decided to get so I got this one instead as it had everything I wanted and they had it in the black and stainless. I could not be more happy with my purchase. It is super quiet while running, has the express buttons and 30 second cook button as well as a kitchen timer. It's smaller than my the one I just junked, which really gives me much more space and it still does an amazing job cooking everything I usually cook in the microwave. I also love the weighted defrost feature as well as the preset cook buttons for things like pizza, beverages, dinner plate and pop corn. It's easy to clean and I am thrilled it has a door handle instead of the push button. I would rather have the handle as you don't have to worry about it getting stuck and not being able to open it. All around this microwave is wonderful and I DO recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kesa76
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
900 watts of power for 700 watt price---- NICE!
8/27/2014

Customer review by wijo

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by wijo
by wijo

This 900 watt unit is more powerful (less heating time required) than most of the lower priced microwave ovens. I had a 700 watt oven for 10 years that finally quit. It would take that old oven 90 seconds to heat a cup of water. This new 900 watt unit heats the water in 60 seconds. You may think that is not a big deal but I figure over 10 years of 3 cups a day, I waited an extra 83 hours (3 and a half days !) waiting for that water to heat. This West Bend unit is only a few dollars more than the low priced, low wattage units. The stainless steel looks good. I really like the 30 second button.....most low priced ones don't have that feature. I bought this one after reading the reviews here, they were helpful, I hope my review is helpful to you.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wijo
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 810 total reviews
1-20 of 810 reviews