Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-11 of 11 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

NOT as described Buyer beware!
5/13/2014

Customer review by RogueHistorian

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by RogueHistorian
by RogueHistorian

I was really excited about this gateway laptop and looked forward to its arrival. I turned it on anticipating the long set up for windows 8, and there was no set up. I figured, hey just saved me some time. WRONG. I went to personalize my screen and such, but got an error message stating the copy of windows was being used by another PC and I needed to provide a KEY. The computer doesnt have a KEY on it and the only thing in the box besides the power cord was a "easy start up" sheet that had a number to call. I called but they were "not in the office" and had bankers hours to boot. No prob, I decided I'd sort it out later. (further research has lead me to believe I will have to spend 100 bucks or so on a new KEY) I went into the PC info and discovered MUCH to my dismay the computer only had 2gb of RAM not the 6gb it was advertized to have (also the sticker on the PC said 6gb). Needless to say I am NOT happy. This piece of junk will be going right back to the store as soon as I get off work. I get this is a refurb, I really do, but if you send it out the OS should be valid and it should be as described.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RogueHistorian
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Laptop For The Dollar
3/27/2014

Customer review by RLKChicago

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by RLKChicago
by RLKChicago

This is not a low end unit so don't let the price fool you. I did some checking and this laptop is being sold all over the web as a refurb. I checked with Gateway and found out this model originally shipped with Windows 7 but now they have 8 installed on them. My unit has a Mfg date of 12/27/2012 and appears to be unused for the most part. It looks to me like these computers were un sold older stock sent back to Gateway to have the more current Windows 8 re installed in them to make them more saleable hence they are now considered refurbished. You will also get a free over the air upgrade to the better Windows 8.1 once you get the laptop set up and all the updates installed to the older Win 8.0 version. The updates about 200+ of them (no im not kidding) will take over two hours to install and then once that is done Win 8.1 will take about another 1.5 hours to install but its worth it in the long run. I did not get any hard copy of any kind of a user manual or quick start manual with my unit in the box but it is installed on the hard drive. The pre installed software seems to be a bit bare bones but what can you expect at this price point. Im guessing this was at least a $600 laptop when it was introduced so at the selling price you can't go wrong. The screen size is very big at first I thought it was a 17 inch screen. Screen is bright and has decent resolution. The speaker sound quality is a little weak and could be better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLKChicago
Chicaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Laptop with 4 core AMD processor
8/14/2013

Customer review by Jbuck406

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Jbuck406
by Jbuck406
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I took the Model number and went to the Manufacturers web site, under Support I went to download drivers and downloaded all drivers for Windows 7 64 bit for this computer, then I removed Windows 8 and loaded Windows 7 64 bit which is what everybody wants and loves. Gateway is a good company with a good reputation for quality. The computer runs perfect after changing BIOS settings on start-up. I recommend this Computer NV52L23u.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbuck406
Crosby, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/5/2013

Customer review by weekenddecorator

4.0 stars 8/5/2013 by weekenddecorator
by weekenddecorator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only had the laptop for a couple of weeks, this is my first Gateway, and my first refurbished. So far, everything is good, price was right.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weekenddecorator
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy this thing! Big Bang for the price!
4/15/2014

Customer review by JIGGAisJC

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by JIGGAisJC
by JIGGAisJC

Love it. Powerful graphics. Pimpin..... Sharp looking too. Gateway is cheaper in their construction methods though, and has limited BIOS

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JIGGAisJC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied -tech guy
12/3/2013

Customer review by Hydroarslan

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Hydroarslan
by Hydroarslan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The laptop matched te listed specs and was in perfect condition. Shipment on time. The laptop runs most badass games/apps no problem(need for speed rivals, adobe illustrator and suite etc). I overclocked my and gpu by 200 MHz to get smoother and faster gaming graphics. Processor is fast. Very happy with this purchase. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hydroarslan
Vernon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy
11/22/2013

Customer review by yaaas1

1.0 stars 11/22/2013 by yaaas1
by yaaas1

Acer has taken over Gateway and if you call about warranty on something breaking on the outside of your laptop then you will be told that physical damage voids the warranty, even if you have not damaged the laptop yourself. So any manufacturing defects in your screen, hinges or drive doors will not be covered. Beware, the quality is not there. Do not buy recommendation..

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yaaas1
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Lap Top!
2/28/2014

Customer review by RasheedN

4.0 stars 2/28/2014 by RasheedN
by RasheedN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This lap top performs very well. Just three criticisms: The speakers are super weak. Upgrading to Windows 8.1 will take about 8 hours to complete. The pad for selecting something as opposed to clicking the mouse is super sensitive; I ended up turning that feature off. Other than that, great lap top!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RasheedN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/3/2013

Customer review by Jstx972

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Jstx972
by Jstx972
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great buy, couple blemishes here and there, but can't beat the price

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jstx972
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought it to learn Win 8
10/2/2013

Customer review by MonRiverFan

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by MonRiverFan
by MonRiverFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this machine for several reasons, but an important consideration was to learn about Windows 8. You can say it was a great purchase and I am learning things I did not expect, like how to close an application. The only hardware related inconveniences I have encountered is that it will not run some of my favorite software hold-overs from Win 95. I still have not gotten to testing it as a platform for video editing on which I was more limited under Win XP.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonRiverFan
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hate it
8/23/2013

Customer review by JustmeinLVNV

1.0 stars 8/23/2013 by JustmeinLVNV
by JustmeinLVNV

I am 26 which means I grew up with computers and I consider myself tech savvy. This computer looks nice but Windows 8 is so far from user friendly it is not funny. I have had this thing for about 6 months and play with it from time to time, but I still revert back to my 5 year old Toshiba for everyday use. Save your frustration, save your time, save your money and by something with a different platform!

Was this review helpful? (4) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustmeinLVNV
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days