Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 44 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
GREAT BUY FOR YOUR MONEY
8/11/2013

Customer review by NEWORLEANS30

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by NEWORLEANS30
by NEWORLEANS30

I BOUGHT THIS FOR ,MY LIVING ROOM SO WE CAN SHARE AS A FAMILY BECAUSE WE ALL HAVE LAPTOPS OR IPAD'S.... THIS COMPUTER COMES WITH EVERYTHING KEYBOARD SOUND SYSTEM ALL IN ONE & NICE SCREEN ,,,, I CANT SAY ANYTHING BAD I LOVE IT ........

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEWORLEANS30
MARRERO, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Good...and the Bad
10/11/2013

Customer review by Cynnamon5Girl

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by Cynnamon5Girl
by Cynnamon5Girl

Bought this last night. I (still have) my Windows XP PC desktop & XP Net-book. This new computer is GREAT in that it is FAST, looks great with it's black, sleek look & large LCD screen. Also, it is SO quiet & I LOVE the 'small form' CPU. I have it down, sideways on top of my desk with the large (yet light weight) monitor on top of it. A real space saver!! I also bought a new black wireless Canon printer to add to Window's 8 OS (ONLY because I wasn't allowed to install my other printer (copy/scan/fax) to Windows 8. I have many programs & hardware that cannot be installed on Win 08. My printer, camera, scanner... CD label maker, etc., etc. BEWARE: This computer is NOT loaded with anything...(oh, yea...'cept notepad, I think) There are NO accessories, free-cell, magnifier, calculator, paint, clip gallery, Adobe Reader, Microsoft fax, Office, Word, etc. NOTHING. You have to buy everything online & can't install what you already have!! 'Trial' Office you can download for 9.99 a month OR 99.00 a YEAR!! Please note: NOTHING is *PRE-INSTALLED as ADVERTISED & LED to BELIEVE* only useless games, trials, Amazon, Netflix, E-Bay, Norton, Gateway Shopping etc. (But you can do that on your own! Just Google it) I'll try to transfer what I can from my XP, via flash drive, to Win 08. Oh well, I am going to keep this anyway & have added it to my network. If you have never had a computer, I would highly recommend this OS for you as you wouldn't mind buying everything to add to it; (it's a great shell) OR as a second computer to add to your network. Otherwise you will be very disappointed. User unfriendly. Have to figure out everything on your own, there are NO instructions. This would be PERFECT with Windows XP or any other REAL Windows OS.

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cynnamon5Girl
North East Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/26/2013

Customer review by SFD1971

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by SFD1971
by SFD1971

I got this computer about a month ago. It's the fastest computer I have ever used. Imagines on the monitor it came with are very sharp. If you are thinking about getting a computer I highly recommend considering this one.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFD1971
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Be Careful
1/5/2014

Customer review by USAArmyVet

3.0 stars 1/5/2014 by USAArmyVet
by USAArmyVet

This is a small, compacted system. Running slow upon installing the most basic programs one needs these days. Windows 8 is extremely, hard to setup and to work with. However, in time I think it will be a good operating system -- once learned. A lot of my programs that could run in Windows 7 will not run in Windows 8. Also, I called Gateway for assistance. I was assured they could help; however, it would cost me between $100 and $200 per year. Hows that for free support. Further, I received no information on the operation of the monitor. The monitor is excellent and works well. It was by accident, I learned its feature. It is advisable the purchaser review the computer's specs and consider why it is being purchased. I do think that an additional $100 for a larger desktop would be more beneficial.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USAArmyVet
Lumberton, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review is based on daughter's opinion.
11/22/2013

Customer review by Maizybird

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Maizybird
by Maizybird

I purchased this computer for my daughter using Walmart's wonderful in store pickup at a Walmart in a different state they live in. So handy to send to a recipient by adding the option at checkout for an alternate pickup person! But back to the computer. She just loves it and even likes the window's 8 program. She is computer savvy and had no problems with setting it up and says it's fast, the monitor display is sharp and the colors bright and so far it's running great. A very good computer for the money.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maizybird
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good fast computer
8/28/2013

Customer review by katy34

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by katy34
by katy34

Really pleased with this gateway. It has speed and plenty of memory. Takes a bit to figure out windows 8, but am getting really used to it. Good product!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katy34
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great computer
7/4/2013

Customer review by Monkeylove2013

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Monkeylove2013
by Monkeylove2013

This is a great starter computer. I mainly use it for school.

Was this review helpful? (39) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monkeylove2013
North Augusta, SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/10/2013

Customer review by munchie6

2.0 stars 10/10/2013 by munchie6
by munchie6

I had my computer for 2 days it froze up, I called online support, I was told for $199.00 they would fix it, I told the guy that I have only owned the computer for 2 days, he says "sorry best I can do" at least that's what I think he said, needless to say I got no help, none

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
munchie6
cullman al.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/12/2013

Customer review by donmag33

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by donmag33
by donmag33

amazing! best computer ever

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donmag33
hillsborough
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/15/2013

Customer review by Hafrwi

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by Hafrwi
by Hafrwi

This is an ideal computer, it is excellent,I just love itjust what I wanted and needed. I give it a 100plus. Thank you , thank you for such a marvelous computer

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hafrwi
Anderson,indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i love,love it
2/3/2014

Customer review by mongoosebike

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by mongoosebike
by mongoosebike

i love my new gate way computer and easy set up and easy to get on , and do things on it now,perfect, i learn something new about it every day, i recomed it it anyone , everyone , this is my 2nd gate way

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mongoosebike
hancock me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

There was no owner manual with this computer. Did not know that you had to download things and still having trouble getting a CD to play in computer. Called tech support they said I have the wrong kind of CDs. Did not know there was any difference in them when you buy them out of the store. Need to put the manual with computer so a person can look up what is going on with it. Still have got to all figured out but maybe someday.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bucyrus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a good computer
11/12/2013

Customer review by Vallyn

3.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Vallyn
by Vallyn

This is a good computer depending on what you use it for - for basic needs it is great and the price is great. Has a lot of memory and operates either with WiFi or Ethernet. If you use wifi u must upload the necessary program to use it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vallyn
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by qsmom1

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by qsmom1
by qsmom1

I purchased this for my almost 80 year old mother she was used to using Windows XP. After two weeks of using Windows 8 we decided to take the computer to a tech who could load XP there by voiding our warranty. Windows 8 is confusing it is hard to work with. Wish there had been an option to have a different operating system. Love Gateway computers this is the 3rd Gateway that we have owned. Love the Walmart Value along with the very affordable warranty. Just did not like Windows 8 operating system.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qsmom1
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a Gateway!
12/1/2013

Customer review by MrNewLife

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by MrNewLife
by MrNewLife

Everyone has their own opinions about computer brands. I choose Gateway because my first computer was purchased back in 1998. It was a Gateway loaded with Windows 98 SE. I replaced it with another Gateway in 2005 which was loaded with Windows XP media edition. Both computers lasted past their expectations; and I again bought a new Gateway on 11/22/13 just to have the latest version of windows which is 8. This computer is value oriented. It has nice features; one of which is that it's extremely quiet. The bundle that comes with it also good. The processor, a AMD E1-1500 is sufficient enough to multitask and provide nice graphics and good sound with a pair of external speakers. I would recommend a different computer for those looking for a gaming computer or to have more juice to do intensive CPU tasks. ( hence the four star overall rating# The AMD E1-1500 #codename Zacate) is a dual core processor It offers a relatively powerful integrated graphics card and a single channel DDR3-1333 memory controller. Compared to the old E1-1200, which is based on the same chip, the E1-1500 offers an 80 MHz higher CPU and 29 MHz higher GPU clock rate. This CPU hit the market on 1/11/13. Although this processor is new and improved, it is a entry level AMD CPU that is good for basic computing. The hard drive, manufactured by Western digital corporation of America, is 500GB. This is more than sufficient for todays computing storage requirements. Western Digital are among the top rated hard drives in the world and very reliable. The one that comes with this computer is exceptional. The Gateway monitor is crisp and clear. You can fine tune it with the controls on the unit itself and also adjust your computers graphics with the computers built in AMD Catalyst Control center. Windows 8, the default operating system is Microsoft's newest child. You can upgrade to windows 8.1 for free. Microsoft's Windows 8 do-over is jam-packed with refinements, new apps, and awesome hidden features. Windows 8.1 makes Microsoft’s formula more palatable—or at least, less bitter—for those who choose to make the leap. Windows 8.1 eases the transition for desktop diehards, granting PC enthusiasts the ability to shun most of the tablet-oriented bits. New tutorials and UI hints will greatly help displaced adoptees. And if you do decide to wade into the live tiles, you’ll find that the modern UI environment in Windows 8.1 Improves vastly over that of Windows 8. Windrows 8 and 8.1 are a new learning curve. I was distressed at first, but the new Operating system make every previous version seem dull and ancient. Have fun with this new Gateway. Remember to update the drivers as needed and use windows update. A new era has begun. One more thing: Microsoft has incorporated a new feature called puss button reset. The theory behind Push Button Reset is simple: When a user encounters a problem with their PC, be it performance related or otherwise, they can now undergo a surprisingly fast process in which Windows 8 is wiped out and reinstalled. But this doesn't require mucking around with a Setup DVD or USB media, and it won't take half the day. Instead, Push Button Reset is built right into Windows 8. And it's surprisingly speedy. Although I have never used it, it sound terrific.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrNewLife
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent computer
2/12/2014

Customer review by Motonutus

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by Motonutus
by Motonutus

Excellent computer takes a while to get used to windows 8,excellent monitor,have a hard time trying to install some of my software.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Motonutus
Mt.pleasant mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this computer!
9/30/2013

Customer review by CCSput

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by CCSput
by CCSput

Excellent for what I have to do. My son also says it beats the dinosaur we had. I'm glad I picked this computer and for the price, you just can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCSput
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Dordie

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Dordie
by Dordie

nice looking computer with a long screen. I especially like that. I don't like the Explorer 8 that is installed on the computer but I am learning to use it. It arrived quickly in fine condition.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dordie
Sumiton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
REPLACED WINDOWS 7. GOOD CHOICE.
3/26/2014

Customer review by ERNETTE

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by ERNETTE
by ERNETTE

I READ THAT AS OF APRIL 8-GOODBYE TO WINDOWS 7-WELL, I WENT ONLINE(WAL-MART) I SAW GATEWAY WHICH IS VERY REPUTABLE, REASONABLY PRICED-WINDOWS 8-ORDERED IT. PICKED UP ITEM WITHIN 12 HOURS,SET IT UP AND AM SATISFIED.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ERNETTE
LAS VEGAS, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8 operating system is a disappointment.
10/2/2013

Customer review by HeySarg

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by HeySarg
by HeySarg

Microsoft gutted a perfectly good operating system, added some top dressing and titled it "Windows 8". We've now spent two weeks attempting to set up an inexpensive, basic small business office system. Our attempts have failed. Windows 8 is all about buy, buy, buy. From Microsoft, of course.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeySarg
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews