Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

94 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 92 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
GR8 Computer, GR8 Value, Get This Computer !
7/8/2013

Customer review by HelicopterGuy

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by HelicopterGuy
by HelicopterGuy

First let me start by saying that I am by no means a techie. I struggle with "new" technology and past new Windows products. Heck I even returned my touch screen cell phone because I hated it, could never really figure it out and it was always too darn small to read. Now with that said, I was VERY apprehensive about getting this computer because of the reviews here on WallyWorld.com. But I figured "what the heck, how hard can it be"? So, I threw caution into the wind and jumped in feet first. I knew the hardware was good 6 Megs Ram, half TB hard drive good Pentium processor...all in all...good value for the $$! So, lemme say...this Windows 8 thing is not bad @ all ! If you pay attention,...Windows prompts you to do what you're looking for. For example,...if you hover your mouse up/down in the right hand corner...there's your home screen. Hover mouse in upper/lower left hand of screen...brings you back to your tiles...which by the way are customizable. Granted,...a small learning curve but U can't mess up. If you click on different stuff/tiles you can't mess things up or get lost....just go back and hover!! People, If I can do this,...so can you. For those stalwarts who can't handle the change (and believe me I get it) Microsoft has just recently released Windows 8.1 which "gets U back" to that "old" Windows look...but U already have it here in this P.C. now; just play around a little...U just may have fun. Don't get frustrated and angry....Relax,...U can't mess up ! Good Luck and Happy Computing ! :)

Was this review helpful? (78) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelicopterGuy
Norway, Maine :)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good computer for the price
3/12/2014

Customer review by ncguyca34

3.0 stars 3/12/2014 by ncguyca34
by ncguyca34

This desktop computer is a good value for the price. Model SX2110G-UW23 does not have built-in WLAN, so therefore you will need to purchase a USB wireless adapter if you want WiFi. Cost is an additional $15 to $30.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncguyca34
Morganton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Slow
9/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 9/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this computer to replace one that just died. If I have more than 1 window open it will stop operating for as much as 2 minutes, when transferring files I have trouble accessing webpages. Streaming video files stop and load, last computer streaming meant streaming. Extremely disappointed in this product, very surprised Gateway put their name on it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This computer
7/29/2013

Customer review by fodo

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by fodo
by fodo

This computer serves my needs perfectly, its fast. The only realproblem was some of the Amd chip drivers need to be updated before you could really use it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fodo
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great pc great price
7/23/2013

Customer review by Bobbieboop

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Bobbieboop
by Bobbieboop

Fast...great quality, great price, still trying to learn Windows 8, can't go wrong with a gateway

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobbieboop
Shepherd, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding value
3/11/2014

Customer review by jgfisherman

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by jgfisherman
by jgfisherman

As a very basic computer user, this Gateway more than meets my needs. It was a challenge to go from Windows XP on my 6 year old E Machine (also bought at Walmart in 2008 for $300) to Windows 8. This was at my local store for $300 but got it online for $250, delivered in 3 days to my door. Came with a keyboard although I did not need it nor did I need a monitor. Very pleased so far!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgfisherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two out of four failed within the first month.
11/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought 4 of these at Walmart for monitoring surveillance cameras, doing Quickbooks, running Netflix on a TV. Within days, the TV computer was having graphics card problems. We could see the Windows 8 Start page burned in behind the Netflix screen. It was also very choppy - even for Netflix on a 30Mb cable connection. The Quickbooks computer failed after a month (out of Walmart's 15-day warranty). One day it booted into the Gateway screen, saying "Preparing Automatic Repair" where it has remained since. That one has to get shipped to Acer's repair facility (at our expense). Hopefully, it will get better with a new hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huron, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/19/2013

Customer review by barbjune

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by barbjune
by barbjune

Bit difficult for 75 year old to learn windows 8. But shes figuring it out. Computer is smaller which is nice. On button well lit. Overall very happy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barbjune
gulfport, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good buy!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Senior101

4.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Senior101
by Senior101

I like the computer but it is missing some of the programs I enjoyed. I would have liked it better with windows 7. Windows 8 gets complicated and does not work with some of the games used on windows 7. Apps cause problems and explorer 11 doesn't work well at all. The computer it's self works well and has good download speed with cable. HDMI worked for a few days and it was necessary to download windows 8.1 as an upgrade. Apps still did not work well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Senior101
SE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the price
3/5/2014

Customer review by char27401

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by char27401
by char27401

Easy to setup, upgraded from windows XP. Purchased 2 thanks Walmart for a great price on a great computer.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
char27401
Greensboro,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Computer Hard Drive!
3/24/2014

Customer review by ranimalpals

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by ranimalpals
by ranimalpals

I love this great Gateway Computer (manufactured by Acer -- they're great) with Windows 8. There's excellent customer support with Acer for this Gateway product especially with the Warranty after you register your product. Windows 8 is so bright and colorful and it's so easy to learn and personalize. No problems with this product! I highly recommend it. It functions perfectly and for the very affordable price I just can't believe how happy I am with it. It even has a "Refresh Computer" function that will take it back to its original state (like when it was first purchased) and getting rid of any software that has come or gone yet saving personal files (it's like "Restore" only more thorough in case you need to use it -- it also has "Restore to an earlier time" of course). Great Processor -- Great Price. Unbeatable. Lovin' Windows 8. It's so much better and upgraded from Windows XP, etc. And, it has 6 GB Memory and room to add up to 8 GB if you want. Runs very fast. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranimalpals
Ariton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great general purpose computer
3/12/2014

Customer review by FlyBoyToo

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by FlyBoyToo
by FlyBoyToo

No problems setting it up. Windows 8 is a little strange getting used to, but things are getting better. The white On/Off and drive activity LEDs are extremely bright and a little annoying at night. Used for surfing, home financial, word processing and spreadsheets.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyBoyToo
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
do not like windows 8
3/7/2014

Customer review by hydepark

3.0 stars 3/7/2014 by hydepark
by hydepark

the tower is good just do not like windows we had windows xp it was great and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hydepark
denison tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/11/2013

Customer review by Viper304

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by Viper304
by Viper304

Excellent computer, windows 8 works really well here for my needs, use the computer with ham radio gear and meets all my expectations, fairly easy to use the operating system and plan on buying another gateway tower just like this one in the future. great product. Michael / S.E. Illinois

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Viper304
S. E Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great compute
2/3/2014

Customer review by Shakspeare

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Shakspeare
by Shakspeare

The Gateway is a dream, I would recommend this fine machine to any one who wants great service.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shakspeare
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done
3/9/2014

Customer review by Bob1998

4.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Bob1998
by Bob1998

Good for browsing the web, watching movies - don't expect to play fast action games. Did do the free upgrade to 8.1 and is still going to take some getting use to, quite a bit different than windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob1998
Lake Como, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
gateway
3/21/2014

Customer review by donaw

1.0 stars 3/21/2014 by donaw
by donaw

Worse I ever had. Extremely slow. Programs froze when loafing. Returned day after receivef.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donaw
north Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get a lot and a great price!
9/16/2013

Customer review by Reasonings

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Reasonings
by Reasonings

This is a really neat computer with Windows 8. With 6 GB of Ram and 64 bit operating system, it is fast and again the price can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reasonings
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by JWLL

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by JWLL
by JWLL

Very easy to set up. Like the smaller size and performs well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWLL
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like machine dislike Windows 8
12/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Generaly pleased with the computer it needs much better set up instructions. Them built in help is awkward to find and use. Microsoft Windows 8 has been over hyped and has the usual Microsoft blindness to users prewferences, I hate Win 8. The mounting of the DVD in its side is much more awkward than the usualo flat mountingt. Small discs for mounting drivers keep falliing out! Mikerosoft does try too hard to forse the user to use their browser and worried more about appearance than ease of use whe designing the interface, it stinks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Parkville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews