Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

115 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

115 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
15
1 stars
36
1-20 of 113 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
Jump On This Laptop, But Read Below First
7/30/2014

Customer review by DominickClt

5.0 stars 7/30/2014 by DominickClt
by DominickClt

I purchased this from my local Walmart for 298.00. Out of the box extremely slow, sluggish to the point of returning it. BUT, First go to programs, uninstall all bloatware. second go to the acer website and search your model under support tab, its the snid number under the laptop. Download the bios updates, there are 8 total, run them one at a time. Last download all windows updates first, then go to the windows app store and download windows 8.1 update. This laptop flies, and I mean flies, battery lasts like an easy 4 hours, runs smooth and fast. Keep in mind this is a 05/2013 model, you must do the above to get this thing to fly. It is well worth the time and effort. FYI: You don't need mcafee or any antivirus on 8.1, Microsoft has its own virus protection built in, don't waste time or extra money using antivirus. Like the macbooks, which I own, there is no virus protection, its built in to my OSX. LOVE LOVE this thing after all the above, before that I would have returned it the same day....Wife said give it a few days, tweak it up have patience....Best advice I can pass on to you. For 298.00 its a steal... Any questions on any of the above, google it or youtube it. Trust this review. LOL

Was this review helpful? (311) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DominickClt
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent laptop for simple usage-Slow but fixable
3/10/2014

Customer review by GamerGirl1992

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by GamerGirl1992
by GamerGirl1992

I originally bought this mini laptop for traveling so I could watch movies on it and surf the web when I am on the go and when I got it I fell in love! It has allot of memory and HDD space being that it is a tiny 11.6' laptop! (I chose the smallest one of the 3) I will admit it was incredibly leggy when I got it home and most of that was McAfee doing all kinds of updates. I uninstalled McAfee and went to run msconfig and disabled allot of the non windows programs to lower the CPU usage and boy that sped up the computer like crazy! Went from 99% CPU usage to 14% and now everything is incredibly fast and I am 99% satisfied. I would be completely satisfied if it had an HDMI port but I am sure I can find a compatible cord for my TV or maybe the acer website has a USB to HDMI cord or something like that. I highly recommend this mini laptop!

Was this review helpful? (113) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GamerGirl1992
Independence Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Notebook for Basic Needs
7/29/2013

Customer review by CMR630

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by CMR630
by CMR630

This notebook is very good to do basic functions, such as school work, navigating, listening to music, etc. At first, the computer was really slow in performance (opening apps, programs, etc.). However, I found what was slowing down this nice computer. After uninstalling the McAfee Anti-Virus everything started running as intended. Windows 8 comes with full Defender Security suite which is much faster and better. I recommend removing McAfee if you want to boost your performance. Either way, this is only a trial version (McAfee) and it is useless.

Was this review helpful? (78) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMR630
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow Slow Slow
7/15/2013

Customer review by Friartuck1973

1.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Friartuck1973
by Friartuck1973

I set this machine initially up and it seemed quite easy and the actual feel of the machine seemed like exactly what I had wanted. Then I began navigating Windows 8 which was a bit time consuming as I had yet to play with this, but I was moving through this as well. Then the fun began, on the tiles page every app I opened took between 45 seconds to a minute to open and I didn't see a way to close them short of going through task manager, which also took over a minute to open. Again this could be the unfamiliarity of Windows 8. I then thought perhaps opening an app initially took this long, but reopening took the same amount of time. Then it was on to the internet. Opening pages was as if I were back on dial up. I tested my internet speed with two other laptops and the issue clearly was with the Acer. The final straw came when I attempted to connect this machine wirelessly to my printer. Again I had three total computers all hooked up wirelessly. No matter what I did I could not connect. So I took this back and will try to find something new.

Was this review helpful? (129) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Friartuck1973
Alexandria Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Value! College Student
6/4/2014

Customer review by tbh1

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by tbh1
by tbh1

I bought this to replace my 15.6" Gateway about a week ago. Initially, I was shocked at how small it was, but it does have a full keyboard that is very nice. The touch screen is extremely nice and catches every finger touch, I only wish it detached into a tablet but you can only get so much with such a low price. While this laptop is small, light, and portable like a netbook, it is not a netbook and has all the functionality of a full size laptop. There are only two USB ports and it comes with a shorter power cable than I am used to. The only semi-major downfalls I have seen is the the very sensitive mouse pad, which can be adjusted in the control panel, the conversion from Windows 7 to Windows 8, and getting used to the size. Also, make sure to install all of the updates, I think there were 96 updates the first time I turned it on.

Was this review helpful? (87) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tbh1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great machine, but some technical caveats.
5/25/2014

Customer review by Samizdata

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Samizdata
by Samizdata

Runs great and is nice and light. Screen quality is very nice. Initial setup was problem free. Ended up liking the chiclet style keyboard more than I expected to. In fact, I am typing this review on said machine. Caveats: This is an ultrabook NOT a laptop. That means no optical drive. So be prepared. No wired ethernet. The unit is too thin to have an ethernet port. So if you don't have WiFi access, this is NOT the machine for you. No standard VGA port. See above. Also, be careful when unpacking. There is a DisplayPort/VGA adapter in the packaging which is easy to overlook. And remember to get the Windows 8.1 update! Not only does it fix almost all the issues I had with Windows 8 in general, but Microsoft will soon stop supporting plain Windows 8, or so I have read. It's free and easy to apply (if time consuming), so there's no excuse not to.

Was this review helpful? (69) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samizdata
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's just awesome ^.^
3/12/2014

Customer review by BlackSilverNights

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by BlackSilverNights
by BlackSilverNights

It is great for a beginner like myself so yeah...It's easy and cheap!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackSilverNights
Eagle Pass, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great size and value!
3/28/2014

Customer review by mythoughtsca

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by mythoughtsca
by mythoughtsca

I had been looking for a small laptop for a decent price and so far have not been disappointed! Some of the other reviews mentioned hours of downloading updates to window's 8. I have not had the same experience at all. Also being new to window's 8, I have found the adjustment easier by using a mouse instead of the touch screen.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mythoughtsca
san mateo, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the "Netbook" I wanted ....
4/20/2014

Customer review by CarlCC

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by CarlCC
by CarlCC

... not a "Laptop" as some ad lines say!! It is small, light, easy to handle, has keyboard AND touch screen. It does not scream like my Dell XPS w/4 processors but is great in the back yard, at my favorite coffee spot or on vacation. Win 8 takes a little getting used to but is the most stable OS I have used. This my second Acer Netbook. Older unit still running great with Win XP, but is offline cause OS is no longer supported and hardware would have tough time with Win 8.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarlCC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
4/15/2014

Customer review by LUCINTHEHOOD

1.0 stars 4/15/2014 by LUCINTHEHOOD
by LUCINTHEHOOD

I purchased this based on good reviews and the fact that it came with Windows 8 already installed. But, if you don't have access to a wireless connection you could have difficulty using this product. The outside of the box stated that you could connect via ethernet. There is a micro port for this purpose so I bought an adapter since none was included in the package. The port is not a standard size. There was little documentation and I could not find website support nor info from Acer or Gateway on where I could find an appropriate adapter for this purpose. Tried the usual box stores to no avail. Also, just as frustrating, is the fact that I cannot use the touch screen nor the mouse on pull down menus on sites that use older software. The cover is plastic and scratches easily. In short because I do not have a wireless connection, and I have to use a website that has older technology for my work. I find I cannot use this at all. I can't take it back now so it was a waste of $348.00.

Was this review helpful? (78) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUCINTHEHOOD
Hood River, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop For a College Student !!!
6/24/2014

Customer review by Queendee6164

5.0 stars 6/24/2014 by Queendee6164
by Queendee6164

My daughter loves it !!! light weight easy to carry around with windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Queendee6164
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the money
7/29/2013

Customer review by AMMO10

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by AMMO10
by AMMO10

The features that come with this notebook make it a good buy for the money. I quite happy with this product. Recommend to all. Good value

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMMO10
Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful little tool, AFTER you prepare it to be.
8/8/2014

Customer review by ates2008

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by ates2008
by ates2008

I am a systems analyst. I've used computers of all sizes, shapes, brands and power levels. However, when I'm on the go, I like lightweight devices over powerful ones. I don't need lots of "go" to attach crossover cables and do diagnostics with. So with that said here's my professional review: First thing's first, you noticed I mentioned crossover cable, but this device has no Ethernet port, that's right as the world move's more wireless small computers are not coming with Ethernet built in anymore. This one is no different. I purchased a USB 3.0 to Gigabit ethernet adapter. Walmart has lots of options there to choose from. It's worth it if you need it trust me. Next: This little laptop was VERY slow when I got it. McAfee was choking the life out of it, along with a load of other things (including Windows 8.0 trying to update) it was perpetually in a state of full processor load. YOU MUST REMOVE THE BLOATWARE, update it to Windows 8.1 (I run 8.1 Pro) and find an alternate Antivirus. Once you do this, it will blow you mind at just how fast such a tiny computer can actually be. It will stream HD content without glitches or freezes, it will operate any MS Office application without trouble as well. Be patient with it, do you part, and give it a couple days (like another poster said, it's the best advice he could've received). This little laptop is being closed out by Walmart as it's now a year old. Hurry and get one new if you still can, because the refurb unit is the same price! I love Acer brand products, good quality, great price. And finally, as is typical of most ultralights/ultraslim 11.6" notebooks, there is no optical drive. Again, if you need it (I imagine it would be rarely, even in my field we rarely use optical drives compared to days of yore) you can get an external for cheap from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ates2008
Mansfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very slow
6/3/2014

Customer review by SadCalliope

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by SadCalliope
by SadCalliope

We returned it. This computer is so slows it can't get out of its own way. All I wanted was something that could run iTunes and stream you tube. It can't do either reliably. Starting the thing was even slow. We ended up with at HP for $40 more and it's a 100 times faster.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SadCalliope
SLC UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great portable NB for school
7/31/2013

Customer review by redzone17

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by redzone17
by redzone17

This is a great little Touch NB for carrying around to class. Getting used to Windows 8 slowly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redzone17
laguna beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time
5/27/2014

Customer review by Dissatisfied24

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Dissatisfied24
by Dissatisfied24

Super slow. Returned immediately

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dissatisfied24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disapointed with performance.
5/26/2014

Customer review by aa81

1.0 stars 5/26/2014 by aa81
by aa81

extremely slow processor. Could not use this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aa81
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not even give a chance
8/17/2014

Customer review by Ryfol

1.0 stars 8/17/2014 by Ryfol
by Ryfol

I will be blunt - a 1.0 gig processor is not capable of running windows 8 and this is a perfect example. I bought this in error thinking it had the Intel 1250 processor - all I can say is thank the good lord walmarts allows for easy returns!!! This thing couldnt even load a web page let alone an app. It just lingered. I replaced it under 24 hours from purchase. STAY AWAY FROM THIS!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ryfol
Would recommend to a friend? No
don't buy
5/18/2014

Customer review by dimples8

2.0 stars 5/18/2014 by dimples8
by dimples8

only owned for 2 weeks I have had battery problems twice since I purchased this. acer help desk is not the best.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dimples8
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Slow Lap top... Do not buy
6/30/2014

Customer review by cheydeeezy

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by cheydeeezy
by cheydeeezy

I bought this lap top for $298.00 from site to store shipping. They had it ready in an hour which was awesome. However, when you get it home you have to do the initial updates, which I started on a friday and ended on a monday evening...yes it took that long. I had internet connection the whole time and did not have any other apps open during this process. Next I had to upgrade from 8 to 8.1 which was another day long process as the computer was so slow. Logging on the internet was horrible. web pages would not down load, apps were slow to open and then once they opened they would freeze. again i had excellent internet connection as my phone and tablet worked super fast. the computer is just very slow. very dissapointed as i have had an acer before which i loved. had to return. SITE TO STORE HAS A 14 DAY RETURN POLICY. I tried to return on day 15 ( so busy didnt keep track) and had a huge problem. the online people were not helpful at all but luckily my local store manager over rided it in the computer to give me the refund. also i order microsoft office which would not open if you had the internet running at the same time. but if it was the only app open it would run perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheydeeezy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews