Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 437 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

437 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
248
4 stars
127
3 stars
27
2 stars
11
1 stars
24
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 370 total reviews
Perfect for dorm room!
2/2/2008

Customer review by faceitimawesome

5.0 stars by faceitimawesome

I scoured the internet, looking for an affordable trunk to buy for my dorm room, that I could also lock up to keep all of my stuff safe. If I found a trunk that locked, it was ridiculously expensive, and the ones that I could afford didn't lock. Bottom line, this was the only trunk I found that didn't bite into my very small budget and is sturdy and lockable. The molded handles on the side make it easy to carry and prevent it from being extremely unweildy. The wheels also make it so easy to slide up under the bed, no matter how much junk you cram into it. One tip: never lose the keys or combination you keep for the lock that you use on the trunk, because I swear, you CANNOT BREAK INTO THIS THING! I love it! I would recommend it for storing just about anything!

Was this review helpful? (192) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
faceitimawesome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great value!
1/13/2010

Customer review by Judge47

4.0 stars by Judge47

These are much better priced than most footlockers of similar size. The only caution I might add is that the plastic is a bit more flexible/thin than it should be, resulting in a bit of awkwardness when lining up the edge to latch it shut. The rear hinge is merely protruding plastic pieces that snap together, rather than a true hinge with metal pin. The price at my local store was under $20, so check your local store first. The local Walmart also had the similar sized Sterilite footlockers for about $16, and I bought some of them as well. They seem a bit more solid, but they come in light colors that I didn't like. (I may do some spray painting). Both Contico and Sterilite footlockers are great values, but you trade durability for color with the Contico.

Was this review helpful? (87) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Judge47
Rock Island,IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Quality Product
3/17/2008

Customer review by Laura519

5.0 stars by Laura519

I purchased this to keep disaster emergency items together and dry. Good size, sturdy, easily manuevers, (wheeled on one end, built in handle), inexpensive and light-weight. THis product would also be good for travel...win win any way you look at it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Laura519
Washington CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Strong & Locks Perfect for Kids at Camp
7/12/2009

Customer review by ChristineMM

5.0 stars by ChristineMM

This is the product recommended by all the Scout leaders for Scout summer camp. They swear they last for years. I did go crazy trying to find this at Wal Mart as I was looking in the wrong department. This is in AUTOMOTIVE DEPT not sold with all the plastic home storage where the zillion other bins of every shape and size are sold. It has built in holes to add a padlock to. This makes this product different than some others on the market including other models made by CONTICO. These are strong. The kids sit on them as seats, and use them as a step up to the top bunk bed. They are thick and resist rain. The black dark color is a bonus for use outdoors, putting on dirt ground temporarily etc. Other brands sell light colored plastic which would look horrible after one use at camp and could stain. The price for this product is up to half of what some similar plastic boxes with locking ability sells for, a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChristineMM
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
better!!
7/24/2007

Customer review by cybergoober

5.0 stars by cybergoober

A few years ago we used a (fiberboard) trunk for a trip. It was good for the short term, but we punished it more than it could bear and the hinge began to give way. It had a small toy-like lock and key. We needed a replacement. This item is stronger, seems more durable. At your option, you add a padlock of your choice. Travels well (with a 40-50 lb. load) and is good-looking!

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cybergoober
Cooperstown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not as good as it looks
5/15/2009

Customer review by ArmyTraveler

3.0 stars by ArmyTraveler

I bought my first Contico to carry all my personal stuff over seas. It did not make the flight over, so I bought another one. It did not last a year. I have bought at least 6 of these in the past 5 years and they all have cracked at the corners and were unusable within a few months. But if you are going to keep it in one location and not let any one sit or stack heavy things on it, go for it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ArmyTraveler
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Contico Storage Locker
8/24/2009

Customer review by Aliveandwellness

3.0 stars by Aliveandwellness

We purchased this "locker" to send to college with my daughter so she could lock up valuables when desired. It is made of a heavy duty plastic, and very durable. However, there are two problems with it. 1. When closing it, it is difficult to get the buckles to line up, and fasten shut. 2. A standard pad lock does not work with this trunk. It needs a longer "necked" lock. This bit of info would have been greatly appreciated. All in all, it's a pretty good deal if you need something sturdy instead of the press board lockers.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Aliveandwellness
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job
12/18/2009

Customer review by CowboyBebop

5.0 stars by CowboyBebop

Use this to lock away things we don't want our little daughter finding in our closet : ) Large capacity and fits a standard size combination lock.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CowboyBebop
Alpharetta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
NOT accepted by airlines
12/16/2011

Customer review by jubiladopkc

1.0 stars by jubiladopkc

These trunks are wonderful - except for air travel. I have used these trunks many times on many airlines but things seem to have changed. American Airlines - and possibly other carriers have decided these trunks are "plastic boxes" and will not check them for trips to many locations in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Mexico during certain times called "embargo periods". American Airlines defines excluded "boxes" as ..... "A "box" is defined as a six-sided container of any size, constructed of cardboard, wood, plastic or metal, which is either square, rectangular or cylindrically shaped and is not normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel. Plastic tubs/containers and/or coolers are considered to be boxes." A vague description at best. Apparently these fine trunks are not considered " normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel". Walmart should reconsider claiming that these containers meet airline regulations - - or, better yet, complain to air carriers starting with American Airlines. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jubiladopkc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken Wheels!
4/6/2013

Customer review by SKlineLine

1.0 stars by SKlineLine

I ordered seven of these to use for international travel. Five of the seven had broken wheels when I took them out of the box. The wheel housing is brittle and useless! I returned all of them. Contico needs to re-engineer this product and Walmart needs to discontinue offering it online. Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SKlineLine
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mission friendly
9/21/2008

Customer review by beetlebailly

5.0 stars by beetlebailly

For the last 4 years I have recommended this product (or the similar one without wheels) for use on missions trips to Haiti. We have taken close to 100 of them. They are extremely strudy and hold a lot of stuff. The airlines have no objections to them and they stack well. In addition, the missionaries love them as perfect for storage and security.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
beetlebailly
Snohomish, WA USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for an overseas move!
6/2/2012

Customer review by llnrk

5.0 stars by llnrk

We have 4 of these and are planning on buying 3 more to move house hold goods overseas. They are the max dimensions allowed to check by the airlines. They are sturdy and are prefect to transport things that need extra protection. My sewing machine fit perfectly in the middle of one of these. The only thing you have to consider is they weigh about 10 lbs empty, so you can only pack them to about 40 lbs. But it's a trade off. Also, consider buying some tie wraps (you know those plastic zip ties) to run through the lock portion for transport.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
llnrk
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
locker
2/8/2008

Customer review by sassy724

3.0 stars by sassy724

Purchased three and one of them had to be returned due to the wheels were broken off.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sassy724
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly what I needed
9/26/2012

Customer review by lodidodi

4.0 stars by lodidodi

All I needed was a lockable storage container to put in my closet. This is perfect. It is a bit flexible, the plastic is not rigid enough and the lid does need a bit of guidance to allow the latches to line-up and lock properly. But if your not using it to travel, or going to be putting it through a lot of abuse, its fine. Another review said they had a hard time finding a lock that fits it, I had no issues, I simply bought a 1-1/2" padlock and it fits perfectly well. I also read a review that said they had quality issues getting it shipped to them, but I had no issues there either, my container arrived undamaged. I can't review the quality of the wheels on the unit, because I haven't and probably won't ever be rolling it around anywhere, they look a bit cheap, but like I said this product doesn't seem like one I'd choose for travel so I can understand why the wheels wouldn't be awesome. All in all if your looking for a super affordable locking storage unit for around the house, this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lodidodi
minneapolis, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good storage locker.
10/13/2009

Customer review by Lenalou

4.0 stars by Lenalou

So, I bought this storage locker for my dorm room because it had the feature of attaching your own lock, but I was unhappy to see that the hole for the lock is...particular. The lock has to be JUST right. I have bought two locks already for this unit and neither has worked so far. I suggest a lock that has a very skinny hook, in which case it's probably going to be one with a key, because no combination lock I've seen has a skinny enough hook for the hole in this storage locker. If anybody's found one, good on you. However, despite this peculiar issue, the actual storage locker is great. Good capacity, easy closures, has wheels for easy moving. Great locker for the price, since I couldn't find one that was lock-able until this. Good product, I'd recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lenalou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Arrived with a broken wheel
12/11/2013

Customer review by OctoberFox

1.0 stars by OctoberFox

This locker arrived and I heard loose pieces rattling around inside the box in which it was shipped. When I opened the box and removed the locker I found a washer and a small jagged plastic chip inside the box. I immediately inspected the locker for damage and found the housing for one of the two wheels had broken and was falling out. The box it shipped in was undamaged save for a long very fine, very clean cut along one side. Reading other reviews I can safely say it's a manufacturing flaw that needs fixing. Pics included.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OctoberFox
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It's the right one!
7/8/2010

Customer review by StevieY

5.0 stars by StevieY

We've purchased 14 of these storage trunks and have taken them on 3 trips to the other side of the world as our luggage. I highly recommend them! They've held up great! Now, there's 2 different kinds. One, they are making now, have these cheapo plastic snap-on hinges in the back. Bad idea, Contico! There's another style with a metal rod through the hinge. They're great! - and now even better when they added wheels. We'll see how the wheels hold up. But, when I ordered 3 more online, I was stoked to get the right kind - with the metal rod! Of course, the plastic hinge kind is <$18 in a store, but $35 was still a decent price for the metal hinge model.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StevieY
North Berwick, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Excellent!!
8/2/2014

Customer review by lpg0599

5.0 stars by lpg0599

I just bought this for my youngest son to take to college. My oldest son has had his since 2006 and used it for years of boy scout camping. He's been using it for college the past 2 years. The wheels and handle are still strong, the latches still work, and it seems far more durable than the $130.00 trunk I bought for my daughter (which I returned because the top didn't close evenly). It doesn't have a built-in lock, but there is a place for a padlock. It's extremely light and holds a lot of stuff. I gave it an average rating on appearance because I've only been able to find it in black and girls like colors.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lpg0599
Westerville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
8/22/2010

Customer review by TammL

5.0 stars by TammL

The trunks were just what I needed to get some of my items shipped from overseas back to the states.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TammL
Baghdad, Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
foot locker
7/18/2010

Customer review by scouterE

5.0 stars by scouterE

Great product right price and super delivery to summer camp. Our Boy Scout Troop has purchased over 50 of these in the past 3 years! on the web www.bsatroop356.com

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scouterE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 370 total reviews