Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 528 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

528 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

528 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
271
4 stars
145
3 stars
47
2 stars
20
1 stars
45
1-20 of 460 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews
Broken Wheels!
4/6/2013

Customer review by SKlineLine

1.0 stars 4/6/2013 by SKlineLine
by SKlineLine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered seven of these to use for international travel. Five of the seven had broken wheels when I took them out of the box. The wheel housing is brittle and useless! I returned all of them. Contico needs to re-engineer this product and Walmart needs to discontinue offering it online. Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SKlineLine
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived with a broken wheel
12/11/2013

Customer review by OctoberFox

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by OctoberFox
by OctoberFox

This locker arrived and I heard loose pieces rattling around inside the box in which it was shipped. When I opened the box and removed the locker I found a washer and a small jagged plastic chip inside the box. I immediately inspected the locker for damage and found the housing for one of the two wheels had broken and was falling out. The box it shipped in was undamaged save for a long very fine, very clean cut along one side. Reading other reviews I can safely say it's a manufacturing flaw that needs fixing. Pics included.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OctoberFox
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Product, Horrible Shipping
1/14/2014

Customer review by GruntCop

3.0 stars 1/14/2014 by GruntCop
by GruntCop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered 2 of these and had them sent to my son stationed overseas. One of them arrived utterly destroyed. Not a huge deal if he were here in the states, however he can't just go to the local post office to have it shipped back to Walmart. I know the item is decent quality as GI's are using the heck out of them all over the world. Let's see what Walmart will do for this one...

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GruntCop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mission friendly
9/21/2008

Customer review by beetlebailly

5.0 stars 9/21/2008 by beetlebailly
by beetlebailly

For the last 4 years I have recommended this product (or the similar one without wheels) for use on missions trips to Haiti. We have taken close to 100 of them. They are extremely strudy and hold a lot of stuff. The airlines have no objections to them and they stack well. In addition, the missionaries love them as perfect for storage and security.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beetlebailly
Snohomish, WA USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed
9/26/2012

Customer review by lodidodi

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by lodidodi
by lodidodi

All I needed was a lockable storage container to put in my closet. This is perfect. It is a bit flexible, the plastic is not rigid enough and the lid does need a bit of guidance to allow the latches to line-up and lock properly. But if your not using it to travel, or going to be putting it through a lot of abuse, its fine. Another review said they had a hard time finding a lock that fits it, I had no issues, I simply bought a 1-1/2" padlock and it fits perfectly well. I also read a review that said they had quality issues getting it shipped to them, but I had no issues there either, my container arrived undamaged. I can't review the quality of the wheels on the unit, because I haven't and probably won't ever be rolling it around anywhere, they look a bit cheap, but like I said this product doesn't seem like one I'd choose for travel so I can understand why the wheels wouldn't be awesome. All in all if your looking for a super affordable locking storage unit for around the house, this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lodidodi
minneapolis, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Contico vs Sterilite, side by side review.
8/23/2015

Customer review by BurfordP

4.0 stars 8/23/2015 by BurfordP
by BurfordP

I bought both lockers before sending my student off to college. The special order Contico Storage Locker(C) is a little stronger than the Sterilite (S) unit, sold in stores. S unit comes in different colors. Both show a front handle to lift the locker if empty. Contico is 2.5 inches longer but S unit is about an inch taller. Base on C model mates into a slot on its lid making a sturdy seal all around. S model only mates partially around lid. Both lockers have molded plastic hinges. Contico has one metal hinge rod that would be more secure if the ends were bent in an L shape, to prevent removal. Sterilite has two short hinge pins. Both units would be strong enough for a kid to stand on, probably not strong enough for a college student. Neither unit is bullet (or hammer) proof for security. That's why I only gave a 4 star rating. $10 less, color choice, and an 'in store' purchase may make the Sterilite better for you. Order the Contico unit early, 'ship to store' is free.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BurfordP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong & Locks Perfect for Kids at Camp
7/12/2009

Customer review by ChristineMM

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by ChristineMM
by ChristineMM

This is the product recommended by all the Scout leaders for Scout summer camp. They swear they last for years. I did go crazy trying to find this at Wal Mart as I was looking in the wrong department. This is in AUTOMOTIVE DEPT not sold with all the plastic home storage where the zillion other bins of every shape and size are sold. It has built in holes to add a padlock to. This makes this product different than some others on the market including other models made by CONTICO. These are strong. The kids sit on them as seats, and use them as a step up to the top bunk bed. They are thick and resist rain. The black dark color is a bonus for use outdoors, putting on dirt ground temporarily etc. Other brands sell light colored plastic which would look horrible after one use at camp and could stain. The price for this product is up to half of what some similar plastic boxes with locking ability sells for, a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristineMM
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect for dorm room!
2/2/2008

Customer review by faceitimawesome

5.0 stars 2/2/2008 by faceitimawesome
by faceitimawesome

I scoured the internet, looking for an affordable trunk to buy for my dorm room, that I could also lock up to keep all of my stuff safe. If I found a trunk that locked, it was ridiculously expensive, and the ones that I could afford didn't lock. Bottom line, this was the only trunk I found that didn't bite into my very small budget and is sturdy and lockable. The molded handles on the side make it easy to carry and prevent it from being extremely unweildy. The wheels also make it so easy to slide up under the bed, no matter how much junk you cram into it. One tip: never lose the keys or combination you keep for the lock that you use on the trunk, because I swear, you CANNOT BREAK INTO THIS THING! I love it! I would recommend it for storing just about anything!

Was this review helpful? (242) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
faceitimawesome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great value!
1/13/2010

Customer review by Judge47

4.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Judge47
by Judge47

These are much better priced than most footlockers of similar size. The only caution I might add is that the plastic is a bit more flexible/thin than it should be, resulting in a bit of awkwardness when lining up the edge to latch it shut. The rear hinge is merely protruding plastic pieces that snap together, rather than a true hinge with metal pin. The price at my local store was under $20, so check your local store first. The local Walmart also had the similar sized Sterilite footlockers for about $16, and I bought some of them as well. They seem a bit more solid, but they come in light colors that I didn't like. (I may do some spray painting). Both Contico and Sterilite footlockers are great values, but you trade durability for color with the Contico.

Was this review helpful? (122) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Judge47
Rock Island,IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
NOT accepted by airlines
12/16/2011

Customer review by jubiladopkc

1.0 stars 12/16/2011 by jubiladopkc
by jubiladopkc

These trunks are wonderful - except for air travel. I have used these trunks many times on many airlines but things seem to have changed. American Airlines - and possibly other carriers have decided these trunks are "plastic boxes" and will not check them for trips to many locations in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Mexico during certain times called "embargo periods". American Airlines defines excluded "boxes" as ..... "A "box" is defined as a six-sided container of any size, constructed of cardboard, wood, plastic or metal, which is either square, rectangular or cylindrically shaped and is not normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel. Plastic tubs/containers and/or coolers are considered to be boxes." A vague description at best. Apparently these fine trunks are not considered " normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel". Walmart should reconsider claiming that these containers meet airline regulations - - or, better yet, complain to air carriers starting with American Airlines. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jubiladopkc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value for the money!
8/18/2011

Customer review by ScoutMom7

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by ScoutMom7
by ScoutMom7

I purchased this storage locker for my son to take to Boy Scout camp. I did have the benefit of having seen it in person prior to purchase as other Scouts have them. However, one of the qualities that I believe set this trunk apart from others I found while shopping the built in handle on the short side of the trunk (opposite the wheels). Other trunks I saw had the wheels on the long side and the handle in front, which would be very awkward to try and wheel around. The wheels and handle work great and the height makes it handy to tote behind you. Also, the construction of the lid and how it connects to the body (with a metal rod) make it far more durable than one that just snaps in place. If I hadn't waited to order it so close to camp, then I could have just had it shipped to the store, but since I had to have it shipped - it cost just under $50. I believe it will stand up to many trips to camps and then some, maybe even off to college.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScoutMom7
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good storage locker.
10/13/2009

Customer review by Lenalou

4.0 stars 10/13/2009 by Lenalou
by Lenalou

So, I bought this storage locker for my dorm room because it had the feature of attaching your own lock, but I was unhappy to see that the hole for the lock is...particular. The lock has to be JUST right. I have bought two locks already for this unit and neither has worked so far. I suggest a lock that has a very skinny hook, in which case it's probably going to be one with a key, because no combination lock I've seen has a skinny enough hook for the hole in this storage locker. If anybody's found one, good on you. However, despite this peculiar issue, the actual storage locker is great. Good capacity, easy closures, has wheels for easy moving. Great locker for the price, since I couldn't find one that was lock-able until this. Good product, I'd recommend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lenalou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great storage container!
9/13/2016

Customer review by Tailgate

5.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Tailgate
by Tailgate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use it for my tailgating storage!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tailgate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality Product
3/17/2008

Customer review by Laura519

5.0 stars 3/17/2008 by Laura519
by Laura519

I purchased this to keep disaster emergency items together and dry. Good size, sturdy, easily manuevers, (wheeled on one end, built in handle), inexpensive and light-weight. THis product would also be good for travel...win win any way you look at it.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laura519
Washington CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Disappointed
9/6/2016

Customer review by dp73115

1.0 stars 9/6/2016 by dp73115
by dp73115
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These storage containers are fine if you just need a storage container, but they are no longer suitable if you intend to fly with them. As an overseas oil worker, I have been using Contico storage lockers for the past 15 years as luggage. These used to be the container of choice for those of us traveling internationally into remote locations because of their lightweight design with moderate durability at a reasonable cost. However the most recent design changes have resulted in an inferior product that is no longer suitable for my travels. The new style latches are flimsy and not nearly as strong as the previous versions used. I traveled to West Africa with three of these storage lockers on August 25, 2016 . Besides relying totally on the latches and padlock to secure the lid, I had also installed 2 nylon web luggage belts per storage locker to add additional support. When the boxes arrived at my final destination, the belts and padlocks were intact but 3 of the 6 latches were either broken or missing. Another problem is the elimination of the strap handle that was previously located below the padlock hasp. This was an ideal location to secure the airlines baggage tags. Since this handle has now been eliminated, one has to rely on the baggage tags adhering to the storage locker. Unfortunately the three boxes I purchased must have had some traces of mold release agents on them because even packing tape would not adhere to them without first washing them with soap and water. If the tags adhesive fails to adhere to the bag during the travel, you will have a lost bag. I sure wish Contico would offer the original design, even if it did result in a nominal cost increase to the consumer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dp73115
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Contico Storage Locker
8/24/2009

Customer review by Aliveandwellness

3.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Aliveandwellness
by Aliveandwellness

We purchased this "locker" to send to college with my daughter so she could lock up valuables when desired. It is made of a heavy duty plastic, and very durable. However, there are two problems with it. 1. When closing it, it is difficult to get the buckles to line up, and fasten shut. 2. A standard pad lock does not work with this trunk. It needs a longer "necked" lock. This bit of info would have been greatly appreciated. All in all, it's a pretty good deal if you need something sturdy instead of the press board lockers.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aliveandwellness
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect size
9/2/2016

Customer review by Traycgue

5.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Traycgue
by Traycgue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect size to fit in daughter's closet in dorm room. Liked that she could use a lock to keep her things secure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traycgue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Expectations was not met
8/27/2016

Customer review by Homeowner

3.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Homeowner
by Homeowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Contico Storage lockers (2) have looked solid on the picture but quickly lost rectangular shape after loading with My Record books and tools. As it lost its shape after loading with goods it was really hard to lock .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Homeowner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for an overseas move!
6/2/2012

Customer review by llnrk

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by llnrk
by llnrk

We have 4 of these and are planning on buying 3 more to move house hold goods overseas. They are the max dimensions allowed to check by the airlines. They are sturdy and are prefect to transport things that need extra protection. My sewing machine fit perfectly in the middle of one of these. The only thing you have to consider is they weigh about 10 lbs empty, so you can only pack them to about 40 lbs. But it's a trade off. Also, consider buying some tie wraps (you know those plastic zip ties) to run through the lock portion for transport.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llnrk
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not as good as it looks
5/15/2009

Customer review by ArmyTraveler

3.0 stars 5/15/2009 by ArmyTraveler
by ArmyTraveler

I bought my first Contico to carry all my personal stuff over seas. It did not make the flight over, so I bought another one. It did not last a year. I have bought at least 6 of these in the past 5 years and they all have cracked at the corners and were unusable within a few months. But if you are going to keep it in one location and not let any one sit or stack heavy things on it, go for it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArmyTraveler
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 460 total reviews
1-20 of 460 reviews