Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

40 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

1.5 stars

40 reviews | 1.6 out of 5

15%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
33
1-20 of 40 total reviews
15%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Great product for the price.
1/4/2014

Customer review by TONYBRONX

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by TONYBRONX
by TONYBRONX

I bought this BlurRay player for the good review that it had for streaming internet programing!, Ie: Netflix and others. I was having allot of problems with a Samsung Bluray player streaming Netflix video, I was told it was my internet provider by Netflix and that it was a Netflix problem by my internet provider. I heard that this Samsung player had many problems by website alerting these problems with Samsung and their poor customer services. So before I gave up entirely and cancelled everything I bought this Toshiba player and it woked great, and recieves and holds very stable streaming video signals really well, and I can enjoy uninterupted movies and TV series that I was not able to before. I now know that the Samsung will make a great fishing sinker when I go deep sea fishing(SMILES!)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TONYBRONX
KENNETH CITY FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
manual
10/5/2013

Customer review by Portlandtransplant

3.0 stars 10/5/2013 by Portlandtransplant
by Portlandtransplant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It lack instructions for a person who isn't tech savie, otherwise it was awesome once i figure it how to work it

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Portlandtransplant
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Password Interface and e-Portal Navigation
6/12/2013

Customer review by Maggie

1.0 stars 6/12/2013 by Maggie
by Maggie

I was really trying to like this product. The DVD player worked well and I got it connected to my wireless network quite quickly. I bought it to have a wireless interface between TV and internet with the DVD Player being a nice extra. The marketing on the box and on Toshiba's website looked like this was the product I had been hoping for. Not true. While using the Portal, I found the "return" button does not work A LOT of the time requiring one to turn off the device and start over. A major show stopper for me is that several of the password interfaces do not have the ability to use upper case (e.g., Picasa Web Albums) and I am not willing to change passwords/update other devices to work around this. The assistors insist there is an up arrow for upper case but that was true on only one app that I looked at. I do not yet have a hulu or Netflix account so I was not able to test the video streaming.

Maggie
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great player
10/24/2013

Customer review by ddj57

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ddj57
by ddj57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great player for the price, great color and picture.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddj57
Grove, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do Not Buy
10/20/2013

Customer review by GoingWithSony

1.0 stars 10/20/2013 by GoingWithSony
by GoingWithSony

When I first fired it up, it worked decent enough. I was pleasantly surprised that the responsiveness of the interface to the remote was much more rapid than another I had tried. It connected to the WiFi easily enough, but that's as far as I can honestly highlight the positives for this box. The interface is poorly designed, lacks clarity of purpose, and the functions of the remote are non-intuitive. The browser is even less so. Then the trouble started with the remote itself. It simply stopped working. I thought it was just a faulty remote until I discovered that the player itself simply did not want to respond to ANY remote (such as universals), much less its own. Not only that, it wouldn't even respond to the front buttons aside from power and eject. I returned it and got a Sony BDP-S3100, which is about the same entry-level as this one, and works a 100% better.

GoingWithSony
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
11/11/2013

Customer review by GAPreacher

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by GAPreacher
by GAPreacher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to setup, works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GAPreacher
Blakely, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy!
6/25/2013

Customer review by scintodj

1.0 stars 6/25/2013 by scintodj
by scintodj

I had received this player as a gift and for the first few days it was perfect. However, shortly afterwards the player would no longer connect to my wifi network. I tried EVERYTHING! Toshiba's forums are a joke and the website provides no troubleshooting outside of basic steps which are no help. Brought the first player back and got a replacement and the same thing happened. Player worked perfectly and then just stopped connecting to the network. I consider myself pretty tech savvy and know my way around a network. If you are going to buy a media enabled player, the media should work! Save yourself the time and patience, buy a basic blu-ray player and follow it up with a Roku. I wish I would have done that to begin with. Never again buying Toshiba.

scintodj
Sunrise, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
the unit did not work in most modes
10/10/2013

Customer review by Fastfritz

1.0 stars 10/10/2013 by Fastfritz
by Fastfritz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

came in ahead of schedule and packaged fine but when hooked up to tv which was very easy only one thing in the menu worked all the others froze and I had to unplug the unit to get anything back called the manufacturer and they were very helpful and simply told me to return the unit so I did and will not be buying anything for a while i'll have to do more homework on this or other items.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fastfritz
Scotia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Got a dud ?
12/2/2013

Customer review by gunnyboy

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by gunnyboy
by gunnyboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The actual player we got did not work. Had to return to store. Got a totally different player

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gunnyboy
Plymouth, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
12/22/2013

Customer review by Jazziekee

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Jazziekee
by Jazziekee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wifi stop working one week later!! Not a good brand at all

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jazziekee
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Product
5/31/2013

Customer review by Tony

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Tony
by Tony

This is a "Blue-Ray Player", so starting with that. The look of the box is nice, small and sleek. That is the only good thing about this box. Takes several seconds to load and start-up, and when you play a DVD, it makes a horrendous noise the whole time the disc is spinning. With minimal buttons on the unit, use of the control is mandatory. Problem is that the IR control must be pointed dead onto the sensor, or it will not respond. Usually, controls have a range where you dont have to be perfectly on the sensor. Now, onto the "media box" aspect of this unit. The interface is horrible, starting you off on a bland blue screen where you can scroll through options ranging from Settings / Music / DVD / Apps Section. If you want to continue onto the Apps section, be ready for a 30 to 90sec wait. In a matter of using the unit for an hour, it updated 3 times, and that was another 2min wait. Loading an app like netflix takes another minute. If you exit an app, reloading the "home page" , same idea. Internet speed has nothing to do with the lag time, as I have an XBOX and Smart TV running on the same Wifi with 1/8 the lag. Will not talk about the internet explorer, it is embarrassing trying to use it. Wifi speeds are terrible, so you can imagine the problems using Youtube or downloading movies. Did not get to try the networking options, as the media box aspect of the unit is so disappointing. It is more practical buying a Blue-Ray player and a separate media box that performs extremely better.

Tony
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor performance
6/8/2013

Customer review by JG

1.0 stars 6/8/2013 by JG
by JG

Looks good on the box and from the outside but functions very poorly in every aspect. Very slow going through apps and always have to start over when browsing the Internet which takes several minutes to load. I initially used the wireless Internet feature but had to use a Ethernet cord and it was still poor. No flash or media function so you won't be able to view or use most websites. Toshiba should start over and do it right if they are going to sell a product. Very poor quality unit.

JG
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rubbish! Don't buy!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Mslftrue

1.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Mslftrue
by Mslftrue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

On the surface, this should have been a great product. However, my excitement of finally having access to Netflix was foiled by this purchase. After plugging this baby in it worked once...yes only once! It now won't access any wi-fi networks, it may or may not play a Blu-Ray disc (depending on its mood I assume). And now it's apparently gone completely on strike and won't even turn on (in spite of the usual unplug/reset etc) either from the remote or the power button on the front of the unit. Will be returning it immediately!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mslftrue
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
looks are decieving
7/27/2013

Customer review by supra43

2.0 stars 7/27/2013 by supra43
by supra43

Ive had this player for over a month now. Very poor interface. Biggest problem I have is the player turns off on its own about 2-3 times while playing bluray/dvd. Tried doing an upgrade to the system to see if it would fix problem but system says no update available. Another problem is sound and image tend to skip. Words are not sync'd with actors voices. Internet app is useless and very hard to use. In general Toshiba makes great products but this one they BOTCHED completely.

supra43
Oxnard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Upset.
10/27/2013

Customer review by Saxodavid

1.0 stars 10/27/2013 by Saxodavid
by Saxodavid

I was really upset with the equipment. It's really hard to set up and was never able to connect it to internet. I called Toshiba and the costumer service is terrible, they never answer or they transfer you somewhere else but nobody is going to help you. I think Toshiba did a poor design and they need to make it somehow more user friendly. I just returned it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saxodavid
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality?...Not these
12/5/2013

Customer review by scan

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by scan
by scan

Bought 2 of these and have returned them both for replacements. That was not an issue but so far 1 of the replacements is having an issue and I would assume the 2nd is not far behind. Issues: drops the network connection, loading is super slow and while playing a DVD the sound becomes off with the picture. I will not but another and most likely will not even send these back for a replacement. Just buy something with better ratings.

scan
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Toshiba product Ever!
9/16/2013

Customer review by Rhino

1.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Rhino
by Rhino

I purchased this blue ray player because I have a wonderful Toshiba 55'" TV, and Satellite lap top. This product will be returned. The WiFi connected with no problem, and the blue ray plays well. The other apps are unbelievably slow, and the open web browser is essentially useless, very slow to load, and once it's up, you really cant surf the web since you cant easily select the site you want to go to. A totally embarrassing product.

Rhino
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't bother
7/11/2013

Customer review by tvnerd

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by tvnerd
by tvnerd

Not ready for prime time. Apps are incomplete, firmware won't let you set your time and time zone. No more apps than displayed on the box. Totally not up to other manufactures products. I own 9 Toshiba products, 4 TV's 3 blu-ray players, 2 laptops. They all seem to be one upgrade from fixing simple things that buyers complain about. Not a buy. OBTW I have 5 EMMY's for outstanding technical achievement.

tvnerd
henderson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wireless Connection Almost Impossible
6/6/2013

Customer review by Jeff

1.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Jeff
by Jeff

First getting the wireless set up complete took forever and then kept dropping out. (I have plenty of bandwidth and no issues with any other devices). Secondly, it is slow to load a disk and makes a terrible sound while it tries to read the disk. Third, trying to use the instructions provided or on the settings screen - HA! Unless you really know what you are doing don't buy this product.

Jeff
Oak Creek, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
I will not buy a Toshiba product again
12/27/2013

Customer review by XUK Buzz

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by XUK Buzz
by XUK Buzz

I am so disgusted with this product I will not buy Toshiba again. Replaced once due to failed WIFI interface. The new box failed again within a week. The software is terrible, It locks up on the internet and sometimes the only recourse is to unplug the box from the outlet. I kept expecting an software update because it was so bad and I felt sure one would be rushed out, but no.

XUK Buzz
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews