Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Works Great.
5/29/2008

Customer review by Chiefsfan1

5.0 stars 5/29/2008 by Chiefsfan1
by Chiefsfan1

I recently purchased this at a local WalMart and have to say it is one of the best string trimmers I have owned. It is lite weight and well balanced. I have a bad back and with the long shaft I am able to stand up straight when I am weed eating, instead of being bent over with the curved shaft models. It is also very easy to start. I would recommend this product to anyone that is looking for a new string trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chiefsfan1
Gardner, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a major pain to start
4/22/2009

Customer review by iowaprelaw05

3.0 stars 4/22/2009 by iowaprelaw05
by iowaprelaw05

i liked the idea of a gas weed eater, but other than being cordless this machine is a pain. It takes a lot to start it, and for almost 100.00 i expected more. We could have purchased a much cheaper one for the same quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iowaprelaw05
lufkin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Weed Eater
5/29/2009

Customer review by camocav

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by camocav
by camocav

Great powerful product. Saves your back..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camocav
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hard to Do Better in a String Trimmers
6/7/2008

Customer review by SparxeNJ

4.0 stars 6/7/2008 by SparxeNJ
by SparxeNJ

When my seven year old gas trimmer started to need parts replaced, I started looking before I got stuck. The old unit was a standard WeedEater curved shaft that survived two new constructed homes and tough mountain terrain. I can't imagine anything any tougher in the US. It tamed both properties and I got a lot out of my $79.00 investment. Even though I wanted to get another WeedEater, money was not the object and i decided to look arund online a read reviews. At the end of the day a Popular Mechanics review had me looking at the SST. However owner reviews were sparse and not too positive. I decided after looking that there was not much more you can get with a trimmer and the weight difference was obvious. So I bought the SST. After one run around heavy brush in the back and refined flower / shrub displays in the front, I am 100% satisfied and highly recommend the product. Its powerful, its quiet and its easy on string. Its also pretty low emissions for those of us who must use gas tools at our chagrin. Overall value is outstanding. One tip for any sting trimmer. Do not assume full choke is needed to start. I read all these tales of people who go crazy starting things. This unit likes to be in partial choke after you try a few in full choke. Don't flood it with the primer and its starts right up. Once running adjust the choke as you trigger it, for smooth power.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparxeNJ
Western NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very displeased!
8/10/2008

Customer review by Woodybird9

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by Woodybird9
by Woodybird9

I bought this product because I owned a Weed Eater brand prior to it. I read reviews and this seemed like a slam dunk. The unit does start easy and is very well balanced. The problem? The head rotates counter-clockwise! I am right handed and have NEVER seen a weed eater cutter rotate clounter clockwise. If you are right handed and walking left to right as the manual says you will get blasted with material! I thought maybe it was put together wrong until I saw the blade on the shield that cuts the line was made for a counter clockwise rotation. Also, walking left to right on a unit going this way lesses the cutting effectiveness. I took it back today and paid to have my old one repaired. STAY AWAY FOR THIS THING!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woodybird9
Muscatine, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/14/2008

Customer review by jeepthumpin

4.0 stars 4/14/2008 by jeepthumpin
by jeepthumpin

I have only one problem, fuel line in fuel tank is not a good idea.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeepthumpin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
4/9/2009

Customer review by anynicknameleft

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by anynicknameleft
by anynicknameleft

The shaft is just long enough and the unit itself light enough that it does not put a great strain on your back. Very good product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anynicknameleft
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Affordable and Great
7/6/2008

Customer review by JustAnotherRandomGuy

5.0 stars 7/6/2008 by JustAnotherRandomGuy
by JustAnotherRandomGuy

I was looking for a gas trimmer because i didn't want a corded one because of the limits as to where they can go, and the cordless are limited by battery life, so i started looking around. This weed eater was cheap, had good power, and got good rating at consumer reports. I bought it and got it started pretty quickly off the cold (even though it did take a little effort). I used it to knock out some extremely tall weeds on my property. The weeds wrapped around it one time which i thought was pretty good for 90 dollars. I then used it for trimming and it performed great. I stopped for a little while and came back to it and the trimmer started in one pull. This trimmer is lightweight, can handle the heavy stuff, and trim the light stuff nicely. If you don't want to spend the 150 to 200 dollars on the echo, husqvarna, or stihl then you cant go wrong with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustAnotherRandomGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use
5/21/2009

Customer review by gemini2264jt

5.0 stars 5/21/2009 by gemini2264jt
by gemini2264jt

I bought this item so I could start weed eating our yard so my husband wouldn't have to and so I could also weed eat my parents yard. I've used it 4 times so far and every time it has started right up and done a great job. It is lightweight and easy to handle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gemini2264jt
Chesapeake, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
He likes it!!!!
3/24/2009

Customer review by Happybabyhappymom

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by Happybabyhappymom
by Happybabyhappymom

I purchased this for my husband and he loves it. Its very easy to work and light weight as well. If my husband is happy than I am happy too!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happybabyhappymom
Bossier City, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Well Worth It
2/8/2009

Customer review by davislandscaping

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by davislandscaping
by davislandscaping

As a landscaper for many years i've used MANY of the high end brands but starting my own business a year ago i bought cheap. I bought this trimmer in march of 08 and mow up to 12 yards a day 5 days a week and this sucker is still kickin. I've never had it repaired and only have had to replace a $10 air filter. This year i'm upgrading my mowers and chansaws but my truck and my trimmer are here to stay. A great buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davislandscaping
ft worth tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weed Eater Featherlite SST Gas Trimmer
4/29/2009

Customer review by Mullthing

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Mullthing
by Mullthing

Extremely lightweight. Easy to handle. Seems to have no problem on light weeds, but is a little sluggish on the larger stuff. However, would highly recommened for anyone trimming light grass.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mullthing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Trimmer
4/29/2009

Customer review by TheUsualSuspects

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by TheUsualSuspects
by TheUsualSuspects

Really like this trimmer. When I pulled it out of the box and noticed there was no shoulder strap, I immediately started trying to figure out how I would get one attached. However, after the first use, it is very lightweight and balanced and does not need the extra support. Was a little quirky to get started first time out, but once up and running, it runs very smoothly without much vibration. Only real complaint is that even as a straight shaft, it is a little shorter than I would prefer (I'm about 6'1"). Overall a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheUsualSuspects
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fuel line
6/30/2008

Customer review by weedpuller

4.0 stars 6/30/2008 by weedpuller
by weedpuller

Ive had mine 5 years and the fuel line just now messed up.Its been a pretty good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weedpuller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good WeedEater
7/9/2008

Customer review by GrifDog

4.0 stars 7/9/2008 by GrifDog
by GrifDog

The only complaint is that when you do tall grass or weeds. The weeds wrap around the shaft and stall the trimmer. If they could make a shield that would not allow this it would make the trimmer great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrifDog
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does the job!
5/17/2009

Customer review by michellewindle

4.0 stars 5/17/2009 by michellewindle
by michellewindle

The weed eater does the job but could have better handling on it. I do like it though and for the price it does great. i would def recommend this product. thanks blessings

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michellewindle
KC , MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
SST Gas Trimmer
9/6/2009

Customer review by Electronron

3.0 stars 9/6/2009 by Electronron
by Electronron

Pros & Cons. It was hard to start at first and sometimes wants to die out.probably the gas mixture? It has to be mixed just right.The auto feed feature is very touchy and releases the line faster then you may wish. When it runs right,it does a good job. I had an older weedeater before this one and it was much easier to crank and ran much better.Over all, this is a good value.Just expect to have a few cranking problems until you get the right fuel mixture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Electronron
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month