Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 48 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Great TV for a great price
10/29/2013

Customer review by Mateo70

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Mateo70
by Mateo70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great tv for the sale price (600) at which I got it. Didn't need a "smart" tv and this was a perfect fit. Just received it and the picture is awesome. The sound is just ok (could probably benefit from a sound-bar) but it was a present for my dad who is hard of hearing so he uses the closed captioning feature the majority of the time anyway. So far, so good...

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mateo70
Roseville, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Picture!
8/18/2013

Customer review by rainmaker2

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by rainmaker2
by rainmaker2

This is the 8th HDTV that I've bought and I still have 6 of them (a Haier model died after only 8 days and a Vizio was struck by lightning). I've owned Vizio, RCA, Hitachi and Haier brands in addition to this JVC model. As far as picture quality is concerned, this JVC is the best I've owned. Someone said that it was as good as it was going to get when it came out of the box, and I agree. I have fiddled around endlessly with the picture on my other sets. However, after taking a good look at this one, I haven't touched a thing. As far as I am concerned, it produces a stunningly beautiful picture right out of the box and I don't think there is any way for me to improve on it. However, I have some issues with the audio. It has a feature called XinemaSound™ 3D that has caused some problems. Most of the time, this feature adds theater-like quality to the sound. Occasionally though, sounds that are heavy on bass deteriorate to the point of being unrecognizable and irritating when XinemaSound™ 3D is on. I tried for several days to adjust the audio settings to eliminate this problem without success. I eventually I turned the feature off. The sound now is not quite as good overall, but at least it is consistent. Also, for this set there seems to be greater variation in audio volume when changing channels than my other sets. It has a Sound Leveler function, but it doesn't seem to do much good. It's very thin and light and has 3 HDMI ports and a USB port. I believe they are made in North America, but I don't know exactly where. I found the following info at a site called Digital Trends: "It should also be noted that JVC doesn’t actually manufacture TVs anymore, after having licensed the BlackCrystal line out to AmTran in North America. This is the same company that manufactures TVs for the Vizio brand." Overall I really like it and would buy it again, however I haven't owned it long enough to judge its durability.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rainmaker2
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/30/2013

Customer review by jojohntwo

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by jojohntwo
by jojohntwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have only had this tv for a few weeks, but it seems to be working well. It has a nice sharp picture, even when showing the standard 480p picture on plain cable signal. The HD 1080p display is just about perfect. One possible complication for those of you that want to attach external speakers. It requires a Digital connection---to a digital sound system. The standard speaker system in the set is better that many I have had, but I am disappointed I cannot connect my analog extension speakers to this set.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jojohntwo
Hudson Valley, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome TV!
12/5/2013

Customer review by Jaybird74

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Jaybird74
by Jaybird74

When purchasing this, I was pretty apprehensive. There are so many different brands and sizes of TV's now a days that your really not sure of the quality your going to get. I've owned a 32" JVC tube style TV for over 10 years and was extremely happy with it! That's the only reason I waited so long to purchase a flat screen. I'm very happy with my purchase! The picture quality is unbelievable! I was concerned because of the negative reviews about the sound quality but I have a nice stereo I've used for years but when I received the TV, I thought the sound was great! Not quite as much bass as my stereo but still great sound. I was very pleased with the shipping! Ordered it on Friday and received it Monday afternoon! Only paid $2.97 for the shipping! Arrived by fed-ex in great shape! Very happy with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaybird74
Wabasha, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/10/2013

Customer review by johns2692

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by johns2692
by johns2692
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Beautifull picture....average sound for a flat screen.....not enough volume for headphones. ....has optical/audio outlet in good location for a sound bar or home theatre set-up....very sleek in appearance with narrow frame around screen...excellent packaging from factory....very happy with product and with Walmart.com....free shipping to the house(thank you)....all at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johns2692
Dallas,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Long time JVC customer
10/5/2013

Customer review by grlab

4.0 stars 10/5/2013 by grlab
by grlab

Ok, maybe this is going to give away my age, but I have been a LONG time JVC loyalist. This TV did not disappoint me. Great value for the quality and I know it will last me a long time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grlab
san francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2013

Customer review by chuckrocker

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by chuckrocker
by chuckrocker
Walmart associate

Great TV for any fan of sports like Football,Excellent addition to any Man Cave without spending a whole lot of money!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuckrocker
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
nice tv would be great if sound was better
11/14/2013

Customer review by spyder730

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by spyder730
by spyder730
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the sound could be better

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spyder730
owls head ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good TV for the price
12/4/2013

Customer review by cyberjawn

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by cyberjawn
by cyberjawn

Good TV, Had it for a few days now and the color isn't the greatest but with a little tweaking got it looking pretty good. For the price it was a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyberjawn
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/7/2013

Customer review by Vepco

1.0 stars 9/7/2013 by Vepco
by Vepco
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Audio is not good. All spoken words begin with a whistle sound.

Was this review helpful? (12) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vepco
32712
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
happy with it overall
12/13/2013

Customer review by bamann2

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by bamann2
by bamann2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice Picture, could use a little better glare reduction, but very happy with it overall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bamann2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value on a 50 inch LED TV!
12/14/2013

Customer review by Lensmaker1

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Lensmaker1
by Lensmaker1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This TV has a beautiful picture and was super fast and easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lensmaker1
Batavia NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Is probably a good tv, but mine had a problem.
12/14/2013

Customer review by rumplesnitz

3.0 stars 12/14/2013 by rumplesnitz
by rumplesnitz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this unit online and it arrived before the projected date (despite an ice storm), however the 'input' selection button was stuck and I couldn't get it un-stuck. This caused a selection box to constantly display on the screen, with the system constantly scrolling through possible input selections. So it had to go back to the store. No problem there, my local Wal-Mart handled the exchange without a hitch. I ended up going for a larger (although more expensive) Samsung unit. I can say the unit had good picture and sound, and had it not had a problem I would have kept it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rumplesnitz
Heber Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
12/13/2013

Customer review by CLETG123

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by CLETG123
by CLETG123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Setup is very easy. Picture quality and sound are excellent. Super thin- easy to wall mount and looks just as good on a standard base mount. Colors are excellent and xinema sound is much better than standard tv audio. No other frills and menus only offer the same basic features that tvs have had for the last 20 years. But This doesn't pretend to be a smart tv- it's just huge with great picture and audio. Excellent value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CLETG123
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price. Cyber monday deal. Beautiful picture.
12/14/2013

Customer review by Redgagt

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Redgagt
by Redgagt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not a whole lot of reviews available for this tv, which had me a little worried. BUT the limited reviews were favorable, so I went for it. The picture , size and quality is perfect. Really too notch. The sound lacks in my option, not really an issue since it's set up through surround sound. But would hate it if it wasn't. Sounds like a tin can. The picture is great though. From all angles. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redgagt
Springfield mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No don't do it
1/1/2014

Customer review by Nonono123890

1.0 stars 1/1/2014 by Nonono123890
by Nonono123890
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To top it off product had late arrival it was a Christmas gift we opened it so excited the screen was broken.....it ruined everything do not care whose fault it was I just know it should have been package well enough so it would not get damage before I get it walmart should make up for this is my opinion it is a moment I can not get back.....very upset have know idea about tv quality it was damaged

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nonono123890
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first LED HDTV!!!
6/26/2013

Customer review by DrummerDude

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by DrummerDude
by DrummerDude

Yes, this JVC was purchased to replace a Hitachi 53" projection TV that was about 10 years old. I have a Samsung 43" Plasma that has been a good TV in my bedroom. I bought this for the living room. Anyway, I can say that streaming HD content thru my Apple TV is fantastic. I haven't tried adjusting the color/contrast/brightness yet as out of the Box the colors are vivid and the picture is crisp. Three HDMI inputs are perfect for my setup. Apple TV, Blueray and HD Satellite receiver. It's true this is a no frill set as it doesn't include apps or WiFi. But I don't need that clutter as everything I need is included with the Apple TV and the Blueray player. I would have liked to see the remote include back-lit buttons, other than that this set is a great buy.

DrummerDude
Jackson,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
only worked for a few hours
12/15/2013

Customer review by brenlmcm

1.0 stars 12/15/2013 by brenlmcm
by brenlmcm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

tv only lasted a few hours and then it stopped working. had to return to store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brenlmcm
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
first day was great
12/2/2013

Customer review by gregict

2.0 stars 12/2/2013 by gregict
by gregict
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

second and third day ive turned on and have a basketball sized darkspot on lower left....guess ill get to pack it back up for return...jeesh not like i have enuff to do

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gregict
wichita
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An Exceptional buy!
12/14/2013

Customer review by TipOpen

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by TipOpen
by TipOpen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The picture is EXCELLENT the audio is not (beating a dead horse here, knew audio was suspect as I went over the reviews prior to purchase). The many inputs including three HDMIs, will come in handy. The control menu is intuitive and can adjust the picture to fit almost any room, can't say the same for the audio, there's only so much controls can do IMHO for miss-placed built-in speakers. Some will be able to adjust the sets audio controls to give a acceptable sound (wife says it's ok) but others will probably want to add additional speakers to replace/augment the built in ones. Getting this for only a little more than five C notes (cyber Monday... may have gotten the last one) I can afford to buy a great sound system on par with this sets superb picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TipOpen
Nirvana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews