Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
42
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 119 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
Great priced TV
1/1/2014

Customer review by BigO64

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by BigO64
by BigO64

Purchased this JVC for my Christmas gift. Very satisfied with the picture quality, However due to the design of the TV the sound is average. I had to purchase a soundbar to hear the TV correctly. overall its a good TV for my living room thats installed in my entertainment center.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigO64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good value, very good picture; 1 set-up issue
1/2/2014

Customer review by Richard77

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Richard77
by Richard77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, easy set-up with one exception. There is a common issue with this set - when you first hook it up, it comes on with the JVC logo, then goes straight to the set-up wizard (as it's supposed to do) but then immediately cuts itself on, then come back on and does the same thing, over and over, The remote won't stop this and neither will unplugging the set, then plugging it back in. I checked online and this has happened to other customers as well. After no luck with online support or online solutions, I spotted the power switch on the side of the set - it was not readily identifiable but it was indeed shown on the quick start guide. I held this switch in until the set went off, then turned it back on and the TV then operated as it should - so, an easy fix but timely to find. Since then, no problems at all, and once we got the HDMI cable, we have an excellent picture from our DirecTV HD receiver. This television is excellent for the price, a very good value and an excellent picture and good sound. The set is easy to hook up, has 2 HDMI connectors, and the remote & menu is easy to use. No problems with ordering from Walmart, and delivery was on time.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard77
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the money, this unit is an excellent buy
1/25/2014

Customer review by Bisjack

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Bisjack
by Bisjack

I've had this TV for nearly a month and am totally satisfied with it. The picture is clear, the colors are crisp and accurate. A lot of reviews have complained about the sound quality on these lower priced units. This TV has great sound. All in all, I have no complaints and I highly recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bisjack
Dunedin, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good basic TV.
12/17/2013

Customer review by zpxrty

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by zpxrty
by zpxrty

This TV has excellent picture quality and average sound quality. It is just under 35" wide so it fits in some older entertainment centers. The remote is plain looking but easy to use. Two HDMI ports. Good value for a basic TV of this size.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zpxrty
Tulsa,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
For $299.00 you cant go wrong!
1/9/2014

Customer review by Tomctc11

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Tomctc11
by Tomctc11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've purchased JVC products in the past and always had bad luck. I decided to give them one more chance after searching for a 39" 1080P TV for under $300. After turning the backlight to about 50℅, and changed the color temperature to warm, under Custom setting,I was very pleased with the picture. The remote is a little cheap feeling, and most adjustments have to be made by hitting the Menu button. Listen folks, this is no $899 Samsung! But if I can get 10 years out of this TV, it will be worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tomctc11
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice picture, not a bad price
1/20/2014

Customer review by Bama642

4.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Bama642
by Bama642
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It has a great 1080i picture, and the sound isn't bad. It was easy to set up but I wish it had more connection options. Only 1 back HDMI connection, and 1 side. The only other side connections are USB, headphones and optical sound. The back has a coaxial input and a combo of component/composite. I would have liked at least one other back HDMI and separate component(RBG) and composite (RWY). A side composite for easy analog video game connection would have been nice too. But overall it allows me to connect my DVR and DVD/VHS/ burner combo and with some more work I should soon have my stereo connected with RW analog sound. So, it does decently bridge the gap for those who have a full digital Home Theater type house and those with older analog components. Just barely, but it does as long as two HDMI connectors is enough and you don't mind the component/composite connections being linked. I probably could have found one that had everything I wanted, as I wanted them, but this was something I bought in a hurry because my other TV died and I didn't have a lot of time to prepare and do a lot of shopping. In retrospect since it does have the things I need and the price was pretty good I can't complain.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bama642
Cordova, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV
4/3/2014

Customer review by BABny

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by BABny
by BABny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipping was prompt and the TV was very easy to set up. The menu is easy to navigate and understand, and there are settings for just about everything you need. The picture and sound are both crisp and clear. I read some reviews that complained about the sound but no one has griped about it at my house. The volume goes pretty loud, I haven't had to set mine even above 20 really, and that's only when there's a lot of background noise in the house. I haven't experienced 'tinny' sound or anything like that. Of course you're not going to get surround-sound mega quality from a television set alone unless you're dishing out a lot more money than what this set costs. I think some just have higher expectations than should be warranted for this purchase. I have already recommended this TV to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BABny
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for the money.
12/31/2013

Customer review by Evan999

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Evan999
by Evan999

This is my first LED/LCD TV because I just wasn't going to spend $700-$1,000 for a TV. However, the price finally came down enough for me to purchase one with a nice size screen. I had an old JVC set in college and it was fine, so I felt comfortable buying their products again. I'm not the most technically savvy person, but I use Direct TV instead of cable, and all it took to set up were two calls to Direct TV on what to connect where. Picture is good, sound is good, and if anything goes wrong in the future, I got the 4 year warranty from WalMart. Overall, I think I got a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evan999
Waseca, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returned
11/25/2013

Customer review by Morgan99

2.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Morgan99
by Morgan99

I've always loved JVC tv's, but this one right from the start gave me problems, started changing the component selection on its own, would be watching tv then it would say No signal, setting changed to video on its own, woke up one night to find the TV turning itself on then off!!! It would Not respond to remote so being Tired and very crabby at that point, had to unplug it!! Returned to the store the next day!

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Morgan99
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK
12/12/2013

Customer review by NEDC2

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by NEDC2
by NEDC2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had it two weeks. So far, great picture and sound.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEDC2
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective on arrival
1/3/2014

Customer review by Bubbadude

1.0 stars 1/3/2014 by Bubbadude
by Bubbadude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon receiving this tv in a very timely manner I found upon plugging it in that the tv would cycle on and off about every 5-10 seconds and could not be corrected. I attempted to contact JVC service and after waiting a long period of time gave up. This tv was returned as defective. I read afterward that another customer had the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbadude
Bubba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JVC is back!
9/25/2013

Customer review by ceasar92801

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by ceasar92801
by ceasar92801

I really love my new JVC EM39T TV, the picture looks grate and at a price, thats its a win win. I have had JVC products in that past and they have always been high end quality and this tv is no different. I was going to get a smart tv but I already have a xbox and roku so paying extra for a smart tv was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ceasar92801
Anaheim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great flat screen TV Fit the wall exactly like we
11/25/2013

Customer review by HAPPYHARRYIII

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by HAPPYHARRYIII
by HAPPYHARRYIII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So easy to put up and sound is great, picture great. Glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAPPYHARRYIII
VESTABURG, MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective upon powering up
12/17/2013

Customer review by walmartshopper1938

1.0 stars 12/17/2013 by walmartshopper1938
by walmartshopper1938

I picked up the tv at the Walmart store. There was no damage to any part of the package. I powered the set up and it just would turn on and then cycle off. I could not break the on/off cycle. Returned set to the store.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshopper1938
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Awful TV
12/29/2013

Customer review by Nicka1

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Nicka1
by Nicka1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The TV cut on and off without any human interaction. The remote control had nothing on it I had to go to the menu to make any changes. Even simple changes like Closed Caption. I would not recommend this TV to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicka1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/9/2013

Customer review by Unpacked37

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Unpacked37
by Unpacked37
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used the "Dynamic" picture mode and micro-adjusted it to our liking. We're extremely happy with it. It's now as good as our Samsung downstairs which I paid $500 more for but it was a 40 inch set w/internet-capability vs. 39 inch. We were home all day when it was delivered but our doorbell was never rung nor was our door knocked on to make us aware of its arrival. Walmart needs to give a lecture to their delivery boys~ It's not asking too much for the delivery boys to ring our doorbell & knock on our door. I noticed the TV sitting on the front porch in the evening when I went to check mailbox.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unpacked37
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
12/14/2013

Customer review by jsmak

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by jsmak
by jsmak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered this for the mother-in-law. She is very happy with the picture and sound plus it hangs on the wall for her and frees up floor space.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jsmak
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality (so far) for the price
12/19/2013

Customer review by Migesh

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Migesh
by Migesh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have only just begun using the TV, and so far it has a very high quality picture with adequate audio. Time will tell if this was great bargain or a mediocre one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Migesh
Morton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JVC Television
11/5/2013

Customer review by BBJG

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by BBJG
by BBJG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The picture and sound are excellent. It's an outstanding value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBJG
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for a small room.
12/19/2013

Customer review by alleyrally

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by alleyrally
by alleyrally
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really happy with this TV. No problems, beautiful picture, great sound, shipped fast.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alleyrally
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews