Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 178 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

178 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

178 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
7
1 stars
16
1-20 of 172 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
A decent little phone for the money.
4/4/2014

Customer review by markpr73

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by markpr73
by markpr73

If you're looking for the latest phone with multi-megapixel camera features and other fancy apps, then this is probably not the phone for you. But, if you're looking for a good phone to use simply to make calls, and to be able to be reached by someone in an emergency, then this phone is perfect. I recently started a new job that is 45 minutes away from my house, and I needed a simple phone that would allow me to call my work if I get stuck on the highway for any reason, or call my wife to see if she needs something at the store, and this phone is perfect for those uses. It cost less than $10, but , of course, you'll need to buy extra minutes periodically. But , you're not locked into a 2 year contract of any kind, and, at the price point, if the phone dies for some reason, you can just buy another one for $10. It has a decent speaker (although I would have liked it if it was Bluetooth-capable) and is a good deal for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (330) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markpr73
Sun Valley,Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tractphones
11/8/2013

Customer review by gizzymo1

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by gizzymo1
by gizzymo1

Great product for a senior like myself. Don't need a lot of bells & whistles.

Was this review helpful? (186) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gizzymo1
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simplicity Finally
8/1/2013

Customer review by AnnDee3349

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by AnnDee3349
by AnnDee3349

You will love this nice large button basic phone. It's menus are logical and its fixtures are kept at a minimum. Good phone strength. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (146) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnnDee3349
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/28/2013

Customer review by tnelson67

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by tnelson67
by tnelson67

This phone has great reception and is user friendly. Plus it is very durable. This phone went through the whole cycle in the washing machine and still works great.

Was this review helpful? (154) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnelson67
powell tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone for the cost
12/4/2013

Customer review by vskimb

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by vskimb
by vskimb

I bought this phone for my 9 yr old granddaughter for emergency situations. I paid 9.88 online. Its a light weight inexpensive phone but for that price I'm just happy that it works! The sound quaility is very good, you get double minutes with this phone for every card you redeem. I would'nt buy this phone if you are planning on using it all the time, go for the pricier one. The only problem I noted are the buttons feel like they may not last a very long time and thats the reason for the 4 stars....but hey again 9.88...I'll just buy a new phone. It also comes with both home and auto chargers and those alone are worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (157) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vskimb
GREENVILLE, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First phone for middle schooler
7/16/2014

Customer review by SDB72

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by SDB72
by SDB72

We were looking for an easy way to put a phone into the hands of our 13 year old daughter. She's very responsible, we just needed a way for her to call when she needs a ride from practice after school and so on. Easy to set up, just followed the directions. Came with 20 minutes already and a coupon book. I haven't had to add any minutes yet.

Was this review helpful? (81) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDB72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Simple Prepaid Cell Phone!
10/11/2013

Customer review by JanetSez

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by JanetSez
by JanetSez

Great for a person who doesn't use a cell phone often. Great for a kid for emergencies. This phone has GREAT reception and a decent loud speaker phone and for $9.99 comes with hands free ear set and a home & CAR CHARGER! Having problems setting the clock but I really don't need a clock and I may just need to try harder. This is a great deal especially if you don't want to be stuck with a contract, which is why I bought it. I am now back to buy 2 more for the family :) ALSO ....I activated it at tracfone.com and got more than 120 days with a 60 minute 90 day card.

Was this review helpful? (136) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JanetSez
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Great emergency phone
3/13/2014

Customer review by L1C4Mike

4.0 stars 3/13/2014 by L1C4Mike
by L1C4Mike

My second job requires travel and is located in an area where Verizon doesn't reach very well. I have a Straight Talk CDMA phone a la Verizon towers and went with this one for my backup because it's GSM. Here are my first impressions about the S150G. Pros: Cheap. Built like a tank. (literally, I think Samsung is becoming the new Nokia) Gets service where my Blackberry won't. Costs less than $7 a month to maintain. Double minutes. Battery life seems good so far. Cons: Candy bar design (prone to butt-dialing) I got a telemarketer call the day after I'd signed up for service. With that in mind, it's a good idea to put any new number on the Do Not Call list, seeing that I got a telemarketer call the next day after I'd activated my phone. Docked a star for that. Feel free to look around elsewhere for this phone. You simply aren't going to find it for less than at Walmart. I'd recommend the S150G to anyone looking for a good emergency phone.

Was this review helpful? (148) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
L1C4Mike
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
A cheap replacement phone, but....
2/2/2014

Customer review by TennesseeTeacherDave

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by TennesseeTeacherDave
by TennesseeTeacherDave

My Samsung smartphone had to be returned to the factory for a repair, and during the two week interval, I needed an emergency replacement. This phone (also a Samsung) perfectly filled that need. With the double minutes and the minimum minute purchase, I had over two hours of talk time. The activation process (online) was seamless and easy. Also, the voice quality is fine and the phone is small and fits in a shirt pocket. However, Tracfone started sending numerous text messages (no deduction of time if from Tracfone) and emails with offers and "reminders." I contacted them, and they stopped these notifications; however, this should be an option during setup. Nonetheless, I will keep this phone for any further emergency issues.

Was this review helpful? (140) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TennesseeTeacherDave
Brighton MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a Phone
5/9/2014

Customer review by Redlyn

3.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Redlyn
by Redlyn

The phone is pretty basic; sound quality is fine; no camera. What I don't like is that TracFone kept sending text messages and voice mail messages regarding adding minutes, etc. I got six in two days. It costs minutes to listen to them and it took me awhile to figure out how to delete them without listening to them. I finally called customer service and told them to stop sending them but this is a sales practice on TracFone's part that I don't like.

Was this review helpful? (116) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redlyn
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT phone for the price....
11/27/2013

Customer review by MrsErnieD

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by MrsErnieD
by MrsErnieD

I purchased the phone for my grandmother. She's very independent and likes to do things on her own. It's very easy to use. The double minutes are an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (81) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsErnieD
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A simple, but great phone
9/14/2014

Customer review by Steyraugsa

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Steyraugsa
by Steyraugsa

This is a simple, inexpensive, yet terrific emergency telephone. I, unfortunately, have the ability to lose stuff as I'm getting older, and I don't like buying a more expensive phone that I MAY have to replace in short order. This phone does the trick for me. It doesn't have the features the super phones have, but it has enough for me. The calls are crystal clear, which is terrific since I live in a very rural area where cell phone reception can be somewhat problematic. I even get great reception inside my ridge-top home, where my other Tracfone (a different brand) gave me nothing. It was easy to set-up, and it performs flawlessly. My only issue with this phone is an inability to find a cover or case specifically for the phone. I'd like to cover it in a florescent orange case so it's always visible, but so far, no luck, and this has nothing to do with the phone itself. If you need an emergency, "go-to" phone, you should give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? (84) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steyraugsa
Halifax, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of Tracfones better Entry-Level phones
9/15/2013

Customer review by HockeyGuyJason

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by HockeyGuyJason
by HockeyGuyJason

I am used to the Android style of phones, but now that I'm really hurting financially I had to scale back. I did not want anything more then a phone I could make calls with now and then. Well this particular phone does a great job of making calls and has a good legible screen and nice size text. Has some nice ring tones and graphics, but the thing that shines with this phone is that you can use a Mini USB cable to transfer your own graphics and ringtones onto the phone. The phone does not have that much memory so you will have to watch it or reduce the audio quality of the audio files and the compression size of the jpeg images you are transferring through Micro USB cable. The phone does have voice command capability but you have to access it through tools to get to it. One thing that annoys me is how close the browser button is to the power button. I've already accidentally hit it a couple of times, but you can usually exit out of it quickly by repeatedly hitting the end button before the browser loads a page and charges airtime for being on it. As far as accidental dialing of numbers this particular phone has a lock that kicks in after awhile so you don't hit them. Previous models of Samsung phones of this nature had some kind of SOS function that you could access by pressing a combination of buttons while it was in lock mode but they removed it in this particular model to prevent accidental calling of emergency services. Porting my number over from Virgin Mobile to Tracfone took less then 45 minutes. Currently subscribed to their 10 dollar a month plan which doubles the amount of minutes I get to 100 minutes instead of 50. Overall this is certainly one of the best basic phones Tracfone has out for the money but if you are looking for a camera or anything else, this is not the Tracfone for you.

Was this review helpful? (92) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HockeyGuyJason
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Great Phone - Great Service
10/11/2014

Customer review by hiphoptwo

5.0 stars 10/11/2014 by hiphoptwo
by hiphoptwo

We have a cell phone and an internet phone. Recently I had to go out of town and my wife had to take me to the airport. I needed the cell phone at my destination and I was worried at the possibility my wife could have a problem on the 45 minute drive home and not have a way to call for help. The Tracfone was the answer. For eleven bucks I got peace of mind. Then while I was gone, our internet phone started acting up. I walked her through a reset to no evail and now she was dependent on the Tracfone. I extended her minutes over my phone for another ten bucks and we had more peace of mind. My wife is a technophobe, but she had no problem using the features of the Tracfone. Also, I found their support to be prompt, courteous and effective. I was unable to register the phone on the website and when I called support we were up and running in less than three minutes. We might cancel our other cell phone service and keep this as our only cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (67) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hiphoptwo
Clemmons, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good phone for emergencies.
8/17/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/17/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this phone for myself because, as a college student, I cannot afford a regular cell phone with monthly bills. The phone comes with 20 minutes on it and additional minutes are inexpensive with the "double minutes". It is a nice small phone to use for emergencies or when I am out on the go and do not have access to my home phone. I would recommend it for anyone who cannot afford monthly cell phone bills or it would also be a great phone for children that are not ready for a "big kid" phone.

Was this review helpful? (88) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone except for one thing
8/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone as a replacement for an LG. I was getting increasingly poor reception from the LG phone in the more rural MN area I live in. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this phone had better reception. It is also easy to use. The buttons work well. There is just one problem. The microphone doesn't seem to work too well and the voice quality it transmits is muffled and has an echo or tinny sound. The voice quality it receives is fine, just the voice quality it transmits. People receiving calls from this phone notice poor quality. Also, the battery doesn't last as long as I would have expected, but that's really minor. If it wasn't for the voice quality I would probably give it 5 stars (especially given the price). Sigh. Back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? (113) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Stillwater, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good choice for the money
7/27/2014

Customer review by SeniorSdaughter

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by SeniorSdaughter
by SeniorSdaughter

Nice phone. Bought for a very senior citizen to use in case of emergency. Nicest bargain I could find and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeniorSdaughter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What was needed
1/1/2014

Customer review by eb28

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by eb28
by eb28

I bought this phone for my 88 year old mother who hardly ever used her old cell phone. We were paying almost $30/mo for that one which was a waste. I heard about this and it seems to be the answer. The sound quality is good and it's not complicated. I just have to remember to add the service and minutes when needed because that is too complicated for her but that won't be a problem.

Was this review helpful? (80) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eb28
Annandale, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a deal!
2/1/2014

Customer review by Route3

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Route3
by Route3

I am so pleased with this phone! A great buy and though I've only had it a few days and cannot speak to long term use, a Samsung with home and car charger and ear buds is really a steal! Setup was a breeze, transferring the number and service with tracfone from old phone was not that difficult, and the battery seems to hold a long charge. I don't really need a lot of bells and whistles, just a good, practical phone for occasional use that won't cost the farm.

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Route3
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Basic Tracfone
1/27/2014

Customer review by TheMortal

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by TheMortal
by TheMortal

I've never had a cell phone and was told to get one from girlfriend, so I chose one that has basic features and not loaded with any extra apps and/or internet browsing. I did not want to spend a whole lot of money on one either. The Samsung S150g is perfect for those who need a cell phone for just calling someone or for an emergency. I recommend that u purchase the extra protection plan and to spend an extra $100 for the... Tracfone 1 Year of Service & 400 Minutes card. You will get 1 year of service & 400 minutes, well 800 minutes cause this "TracFone Samsung S150G Bundle, Double Minutes", doubles your minutes anytime u add airtime. Again, great Tracfone deal for anyone who just need a phone for calls or emergencies.

Was this review helpful? (79) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMortal
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews