Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

183 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
49
3 stars
23
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 177 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews
Great Little Emergency Phone
1/6/2015

Customer review by hdwhit75

5.0 stars 1/6/2015 by hdwhit75
by hdwhit75

I have a regular post-paid cell phone account, but regularly travel to places where one or more of the major carriers do not provide service. Since TracFone uses the network of more than one carrier, it will work in all of these places. I bought this phone for emergency use when I am in one of these "dead zones". The phone itself is a solid Samsung unit that can make phone calls, send text messages and supposedly do limited internet access (although I haven't tried that). The bundle I bought included the phone, wall charger and car charger. When activated, the phone includes 20 minutes of talk time which I figure is enough to call the auto club if I have trouble. TracFone doubles any additional minutes you buy so a 60 minute card actually gets 120 minutes. The phone displays the number of minutes you have left so you know when you're getting near the end of your time. I just charge this phone up every week or so and drop it into the console of my car for very inexpensive peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hdwhit75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Phone - Great Service
10/11/2014

Customer review by hiphoptwo

5.0 stars 10/11/2014 by hiphoptwo
by hiphoptwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a cell phone and an internet phone. Recently I had to go out of town and my wife had to take me to the airport. I needed the cell phone at my destination and I was worried at the possibility my wife could have a problem on the 45 minute drive home and not have a way to call for help. The Tracfone was the answer. For eleven bucks I got peace of mind. Then while I was gone, our internet phone started acting up. I walked her through a reset to no evail and now she was dependent on the Tracfone. I extended her minutes over my phone for another ten bucks and we had more peace of mind. My wife is a technophobe, but she had no problem using the features of the Tracfone. Also, I found their support to be prompt, courteous and effective. I was unable to register the phone on the website and when I called support we were up and running in less than three minutes. We might cancel our other cell phone service and keep this as our only cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hiphoptwo
Clemmons, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A simple, but great phone
9/14/2014

Customer review by Steyraugsa

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Steyraugsa
by Steyraugsa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a simple, inexpensive, yet terrific emergency telephone. I, unfortunately, have the ability to lose stuff as I'm getting older, and I don't like buying a more expensive phone that I MAY have to replace in short order. This phone does the trick for me. It doesn't have the features the super phones have, but it has enough for me. The calls are crystal clear, which is terrific since I live in a very rural area where cell phone reception can be somewhat problematic. I even get great reception inside my ridge-top home, where my other Tracfone (a different brand) gave me nothing. It was easy to set-up, and it performs flawlessly. My only issue with this phone is an inability to find a cover or case specifically for the phone. I'd like to cover it in a florescent orange case so it's always visible, but so far, no luck, and this has nothing to do with the phone itself. If you need an emergency, "go-to" phone, you should give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? (91) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steyraugsa
Halifax, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great emergency phone
3/13/2014

Customer review by L1C4Mike

4.0 stars 3/13/2014 by L1C4Mike
by L1C4Mike
Walmart associate

My second job requires travel and is located in an area where Verizon doesn't reach very well. I have a Straight Talk CDMA phone a la Verizon towers and went with this one for my backup because it's GSM. Here are my first impressions about the S150G. Pros: Cheap. Built like a tank. (literally, I think Samsung is becoming the new Nokia) Gets service where my Blackberry won't. Costs less than $7 a month to maintain. Double minutes. Battery life seems good so far. Cons: Candy bar design (prone to butt-dialing) I got a telemarketer call the day after I'd signed up for service. With that in mind, it's a good idea to put any new number on the Do Not Call list, seeing that I got a telemarketer call the next day after I'd activated my phone. Docked a star for that. Feel free to look around elsewhere for this phone. You simply aren't going to find it for less than at Walmart. I'd recommend the S150G to anyone looking for a good emergency phone.

Was this review helpful? (153) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
L1C4Mike
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
A decent little phone for the money.
4/4/2014

Customer review by markpr73

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by markpr73
by markpr73
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're looking for the latest phone with multi-megapixel camera features and other fancy apps, then this is probably not the phone for you. But, if you're looking for a good phone to use simply to make calls, and to be able to be reached by someone in an emergency, then this phone is perfect. I recently started a new job that is 45 minutes away from my house, and I needed a simple phone that would allow me to call my work if I get stuck on the highway for any reason, or call my wife to see if she needs something at the store, and this phone is perfect for those uses. It cost less than $10, but , of course, you'll need to buy extra minutes periodically. But , you're not locked into a 2 year contract of any kind, and, at the price point, if the phone dies for some reason, you can just buy another one for $10. It has a decent speaker (although I would have liked it if it was Bluetooth-capable) and is a good deal for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (401) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markpr73
Sun Valley,Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not a bad phone for the money-compact and simple
7/27/2014

Customer review by UrbanEscapee

4.0 stars 7/27/2014 by UrbanEscapee
by UrbanEscapee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this phone to augment service of the Straight Talk LG phone I recently bought. Verizon always has been "optimistic" about coverage in my area, and I found that my new "smart phone" didn't have the reception that my old flip phone had. I bought the Samsung (a brand I have had good luck with) with AT&T service, since AT&T website map indicated that my rural location was well within their coverage area. I get a little better service with the Samsung TracFone, but it is still somewhat "spotty". Still looking for a better solution, but this little TracFone will do for now. Gets slightly better service than the "smart phone". Both phones are probably pretty good. If the providers would be a little more honest about their coverage, or work a little harder to assist the consumer with problem issues, I would be better able to offer an objective review of the equipment, I suppose.

Was this review helpful? (40) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UrbanEscapee
Montgomery County, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A cheap replacement phone, but....
2/2/2014

Customer review by TennesseeTeacherDave

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by TennesseeTeacherDave
by TennesseeTeacherDave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Samsung smartphone had to be returned to the factory for a repair, and during the two week interval, I needed an emergency replacement. This phone (also a Samsung) perfectly filled that need. With the double minutes and the minimum minute purchase, I had over two hours of talk time. The activation process (online) was seamless and easy. Also, the voice quality is fine and the phone is small and fits in a shirt pocket. However, Tracfone started sending numerous text messages (no deduction of time if from Tracfone) and emails with offers and "reminders." I contacted them, and they stopped these notifications; however, this should be an option during setup. Nonetheless, I will keep this phone for any further emergency issues.

Was this review helpful? (146) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennesseeTeacherDave
Brighton MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone except for one thing
8/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone as a replacement for an LG. I was getting increasingly poor reception from the LG phone in the more rural MN area I live in. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this phone had better reception. It is also easy to use. The buttons work well. There is just one problem. The microphone doesn't seem to work too well and the voice quality it transmits is muffled and has an echo or tinny sound. The voice quality it receives is fine, just the voice quality it transmits. People receiving calls from this phone notice poor quality. Also, the battery doesn't last as long as I would have expected, but that's really minor. If it wasn't for the voice quality I would probably give it 5 stars (especially given the price). Sigh. Back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? (118) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Stillwater, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good phone for the cost
12/4/2013

Customer review by vskimb

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by vskimb
by vskimb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for my 9 yr old granddaughter for emergency situations. I paid 9.88 online. Its a light weight inexpensive phone but for that price I'm just happy that it works! The sound quaility is very good, you get double minutes with this phone for every card you redeem. I would'nt buy this phone if you are planning on using it all the time, go for the pricier one. The only problem I noted are the buttons feel like they may not last a very long time and thats the reason for the 4 stars....but hey again 9.88...I'll just buy a new phone. It also comes with both home and auto chargers and those alone are worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (166) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vskimb
GREENVILLE, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Basic Tracfone
1/27/2014

Customer review by TheMortal

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by TheMortal
by TheMortal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've never had a cell phone and was told to get one from girlfriend, so I chose one that has basic features and not loaded with any extra apps and/or internet browsing. I did not want to spend a whole lot of money on one either. The Samsung S150g is perfect for those who need a cell phone for just calling someone or for an emergency. I recommend that u purchase the extra protection plan and to spend an extra $100 for the... Tracfone 1 Year of Service & 400 Minutes card. You will get 1 year of service & 400 minutes, well 800 minutes cause this "TracFone Samsung S150G Bundle, Double Minutes", doubles your minutes anytime u add airtime. Again, great Tracfone deal for anyone who just need a phone for calls or emergencies.

Was this review helpful? (81) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMortal
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First phone for middle schooler
7/16/2014

Customer review by SDB72

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by SDB72
by SDB72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were looking for an easy way to put a phone into the hands of our 13 year old daughter. She's very responsible, we just needed a way for her to call when she needs a ride from practice after school and so on. Easy to set up, just followed the directions. Came with 20 minutes already and a coupon book. I haven't had to add any minutes yet.

Was this review helpful? (92) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDB72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Simple Prepaid Cell Phone!
10/11/2013

Customer review by JanetSez

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by JanetSez
by JanetSez
Top 1000 contributor

Great for a person who doesn't use a cell phone often. Great for a kid for emergencies. This phone has GREAT reception and a decent loud speaker phone and for $9.99 comes with hands free ear set and a home & CAR CHARGER! Having problems setting the clock but I really don't need a clock and I may just need to try harder. This is a great deal especially if you don't want to be stuck with a contract, which is why I bought it. I am now back to buy 2 more for the family :) ALSO ....I activated it at tracfone.com and got more than 120 days with a 60 minute 90 day card.

Was this review helpful? (146) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JanetSez
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Just a Phone
5/9/2014

Customer review by Redlyn

3.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Redlyn
by Redlyn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone is pretty basic; sound quality is fine; no camera. What I don't like is that TracFone kept sending text messages and voice mail messages regarding adding minutes, etc. I got six in two days. It costs minutes to listen to them and it took me awhile to figure out how to delete them without listening to them. I finally called customer service and told them to stop sending them but this is a sales practice on TracFone's part that I don't like.

Was this review helpful? (136) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redlyn
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simplicity Finally
8/1/2013

Customer review by AnnDee3349

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by AnnDee3349
by AnnDee3349

You will love this nice large button basic phone. It's menus are logical and its fixtures are kept at a minimum. Good phone strength. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (183) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnnDee3349
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT phone for the price....
11/27/2013

Customer review by MrsErnieD

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by MrsErnieD
by MrsErnieD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the phone for my grandmother. She's very independent and likes to do things on her own. It's very easy to use. The double minutes are an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (85) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsErnieD
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good phone for emergencies.
8/17/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/17/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this phone for myself because, as a college student, I cannot afford a regular cell phone with monthly bills. The phone comes with 20 minutes on it and additional minutes are inexpensive with the "double minutes". It is a nice small phone to use for emergencies or when I am out on the go and do not have access to my home phone. I would recommend it for anyone who cannot afford monthly cell phone bills or it would also be a great phone for children that are not ready for a "big kid" phone.

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a deal!
2/1/2014

Customer review by Route3

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Route3
by Route3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so pleased with this phone! A great buy and though I've only had it a few days and cannot speak to long term use, a Samsung with home and car charger and ear buds is really a steal! Setup was a breeze, transferring the number and service with tracfone from old phone was not that difficult, and the battery seems to hold a long charge. I don't really need a lot of bells and whistles, just a good, practical phone for occasional use that won't cost the farm.

Was this review helpful? (74) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Route3
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/28/2013

Customer review by tnelson67

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by tnelson67
by tnelson67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone has great reception and is user friendly. Plus it is very durable. This phone went through the whole cycle in the washing machine and still works great.

Was this review helpful? (189) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnelson67
powell tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tractphones
11/8/2013

Customer review by gizzymo1

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by gizzymo1
by gizzymo1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product for a senior like myself. Don't need a lot of bells & whistles.

Was this review helpful? (222) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gizzymo1
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good choice for the money
7/27/2014

Customer review by SeniorSdaughter

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by SeniorSdaughter
by SeniorSdaughter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice phone. Bought for a very senior citizen to use in case of emergency. Nicest bargain I could find and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeniorSdaughter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews