Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 74 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Need Extra Battery for this Drill?
2/23/2015

Customer review by wjhrb3

4.0 stars 2/23/2015 by wjhrb3
by wjhrb3

If you have read the reviews on this Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver you can see that the all round performance is good, especially when you consider the value of it's price at $17.19. Nevertheless, consumers reviews acknowledge the fact that there is NO Replacement battery to use as a secondary back-up power source, if the primary battery's charge is depleted. Reviews comment that a spare battery is not available anywhere, even from the manufacturer. However, this statement is not entirely true. You can purchase a replacement battery for back-up, and it is sold at a very reasonable price when compared to the standard average price of replacement Ni-cad batteries on the market today. For a great price you can purchase a secondary battery, that comes with charger and it's only $17.19. In addition to the battery and charger, a new drill is also included, and sold at your local Walmart store.. It is listed as "Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver" and you can purchase it for the price of $17.19, at - Walmart #: 551142549.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wjhrb3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Drill for 25 Dollars
4/14/2014

Customer review by FordMechanic83

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by FordMechanic83
by FordMechanic83
Top 1000 contributor

When I went to the store looking for a drill I was really contemplating whether I wanted to spend the extra 30 dollars for a Black and Decker drill or just take my chance on the 25 dollar drill. I thought what the heck for twenty five dollars I'll take the chance and if I don't work I'll throw it away and buy a Black & Decker. Well I just use this around the house for some basic things and maybe if need to rebuild a cabinet or something. Now I have had this handy little drill for a little over a year and it has not failed me yet. One thing I really like is it has a l.e.d. light on it that lights up the area you are drilling when pull the trigger. I did not see this on any of the Black and Decker drills. Now I am sure it will not last 10 years like a Black and Decker; howerver, for 25 dollars if it last two years I will be happy. The only thing I did notice is if you charge it and leave the battery off the charger after two days it will be dead so I just leave it on the charger and take it off once in a while for a couple of days while not using it. For 25 bucks worth the money and has served me well!!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FordMechanic83
Cape Coral, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
Good for the small stuff...
10/17/2015

Customer review by mskitty8556

3.0 stars 10/17/2015 by mskitty8556
by mskitty8556

I bought a new B&D 4AMP corded drill/driver. While I was at WalMart, I saw the UltraSteel NI-CD 12volt cordless drill on clearance for $9...I bought the only 2 the had ( was going to gift the other one). Good points...it's light weight and has a work light that makes seeing those screw holes easier in dim light. This works great on tightening those drawer pulls or putting hinges on door frames but for heavy duty, no way. Drawbacks...only 550 RPM, not much power and if you don't keep it on the charger all the time, the battery goes dead. This just doesn't have the power ( even though it has the torque clutch) to keep up with continual use. You can NOT purchase a spare battery, the manufacturer does not offer them for sale. So if you need a spare "back up" drill for miscellaneous projects, this will work. After a few days, I returned both of these... I'll stick with my Black & Decker corded drill/driver with 1250 RPM, it get's the job done right the first time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mskitty8556
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice features, but lacks in power
12/5/2014

Customer review by pokechopsnapplesauce

3.0 stars 12/5/2014 by pokechopsnapplesauce
by pokechopsnapplesauce

I wanted to try this, because it's smaller in size than the 18v units. The rubberized handle, smallish battery, (somewhat dim)led light and overall feel were nicer than the price would suggest. The charger was very nice as well, with an led charge level indicator. I returned it, because, when fully charged, it just didn't have the torque I was looking for. I instead bought the 18v B&D unit for 10 bucks more at Walmart. Yes, it's more bulky, but the thing is a beast in the power department. Another thing I like far more about the B&D unit, is that the power button can gradually be pushed, greatly metering the power and speed. On the UltraSteel, it was basically on and off, without the precision of the B&D. The other reason I traded over, was that my last B&D bought around 2003, just died last year. I just don't know about the UltraSteel's longevity.The ultrasteel did feel better in my hand though. Also, while the UltraSteel charger was full featured, while the B&D simply comes with a cord, and basically no way to tell when it's fully charged. I would have happily kept this drill, if I used it only for light duty work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 12/8/2014

Pokechopsnapplesauce-<br /><br />Glad to hear you like the fit and features of the Ultra Steel 12v Cordless Drill/Driver. I definitely understand that some task require a bit more "power." Walmart now offers the new Ultra Steel 18v Cordless Drill/Driver with two speed setting to ensure that you have the right drill for the job. Great features and value!

pokechopsnapplesauce
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Totally Surprised! Very impressed!
6/10/2014

Customer review by BiffGibblets

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by BiffGibblets
by BiffGibblets

I rarely am moved by a product enough to bother to review it... but Wow! This is the little drill that could! It's very light, but very powerful. I doubt your going to drive 8" lag bolts through a 4x4 with it... but for dry wall or a decking... This is one tough little unit! I just redid my 50 foot dock with inch & a half treated lumber, and it made it 3/4 the way on the charge out of the box! That was counter sinking the heck out of 2" deck screws. Then I used it to do drywall in a 12x14 room and it made it all the way to the last sheet before it died! My craftsmans (which I've had for 7 years) batteries are toast, waiting for replacement batteries. So I grabbed this unit for $14 at Wal-Mart to fill in. I like this $14 drill better than that $150 craftsman! Love it even.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BiffGibblets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This drill works better than expected!!!
6/9/2014

Customer review by coryw77

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by coryw77
by coryw77

I bought this drill to replace an old drill I had with a built-in none changeable battery. I liked the drill also because it has a light to light up your work area. I used this to put in and remove screws for locks and doors. When it worked great for that, I then used it in my car for unscrewing the factory screws to remove old radio. Finally...it was time for the real work... I used this drill in combination with my drill bit sets, to make the holes in the wall through the wooded studs to mount a TV! Worked great on ALL of these projects...only charged the battery ONCE when I first got it and these jobs all spanned over a week!

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coryw77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap and Works Great!
7/4/2013

Customer review by T7102001

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by T7102001
by T7102001

Cheap and Works Great! I'm a Scrapper and it takes longer to unscrew and take apart items the ol' time way...lol...this drill is nice!!

Was this review helpful? (57) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T7102001
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good product
5/21/2014

Customer review by Shakahari

4.0 stars 5/21/2014 by Shakahari
by Shakahari
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

for the price i paid, i think i cannot get any better product. works great and get the job done. i bought it for drilling the kitchen cabinets to install handle in them. it workedddd..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shakahari
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WELL I'M A SATISFEID CUSTOMER.
10/11/2015

Customer review by PHILL

5.0 stars 10/11/2015 by PHILL
by PHILL

IT'S GREAT FOR LIGHT DUTY, AND MED DUTY WORK. LIKE HANGING CEILING FAN'S, HANGING KITCHEN CABINET'S, MOUNTING TV'S ON WALL'S, PUTTING DOOR'S ON DOOR HINGES, PUTTING FURNITURE TOGETHER, PUTTING OUTDOOR DECK'S TOGETHER WITH LONG DECK SCREW'S AND IT'S GREAT WITH SMALL SPADE DRILL BIT'S IT IS NOT BUILT FOR HEAVY DUTY JOB'S AT ALL. I TRYED ALREADY . I HAD THIS DRILL FOR 5 MONTH'S AND IT'S STILL WORKING STRONG WITH A STRONG LASTING BATTERY LIFE. AND I LOVE IT. THANK'S ULTRA STEEL.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PHILL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great drill and "cordless screwdriver"
7/22/2015

Customer review by refbum

5.0 stars 7/22/2015 by refbum
by refbum

The power of the drill plus a cordless screwdriver for $19.88. This came charged right out of the package. It came with the charging cord and adapter. I had some screws on a loose rail leading to the basement steps. What a pain to try and do with a screwdriver. I got longer screws and they went in fast and tight. No more hazard. I liked this so much I bought another one as a gift. You can't beat a $20 bill for this drill. I mainly bought it as an electric screwdriver to save my hands when a project calls for it. It works great. I have been taking advantage of the $35 free shipping. Now I don't have to drive across town, park the car, wade through the store, stand in line, come back home. I wasn't in a rush so ordered it online and it was here within the timeframe and I was happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
refbum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great drill
5/22/2014

Customer review by pdoo

5.0 stars 5/22/2014 by pdoo
by pdoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought this drill for only twenty bucks was a little worried about the price but to my surprise it is an excellent drill with a lot of features

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pdoo
saratoga springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little drill
6/4/2015

Customer review by Joseph

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Joseph
by Joseph

I use this mainly for twisting, and or straightening Kanthal wire when making coils for e-cigarette atomizers, and the occasional quick fix for things around the house. Very good little drill, the built in light it pretty handy, and the way I use it, the battery lasts for a long time. Very good deal for the money

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joseph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice drill
11/16/2015

Customer review by FUZZY12345

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by FUZZY12345
by FUZZY12345

It is perfect for around the house use. Heavy duty--NO.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FUZZY12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME!
8/14/2015

Customer review by monsterfreak

5.0 stars 8/14/2015 by monsterfreak
by monsterfreak

I bought this drill because it was cheap & i own other Ultra Steel items & love them so i REALLY reccomend it!! (expecially for vape people that love to twist their coils)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monsterfreak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great drill
12/17/2013

Customer review by Echer

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Echer
by Echer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great drill, easy to use and durable. my husband loves the drill.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Echer
Cleveland,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I know, what do you expect for $19.
10/20/2015

Customer review by Fool4Tools

1.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Fool4Tools
by Fool4Tools

Bought the 12v UltraSteel cordless drill. The keyless chuck was stripped and would not tighten. It also had no 120v adapter to charge the battery. Tried to contact the company customer support to get parts. Found it doesn't exist. Returned it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fool4Tools
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
10/24/2015

Customer review by Khakolo

5.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Khakolo
by Khakolo

Great drill and great price!!! I love it! I use it to make jewelry but I see how it can be used for around the house jobs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khakolo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could not get in touch with manufacturer
1/21/2014

Customer review by longthumbs

3.0 stars 1/21/2014 by longthumbs
by longthumbs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted to buy a second battery but the manufacturer will not respond to my online requests. Because of that I do not recommend this drill. It seems to work fine but if it fails where will that leave me?

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
longthumbs
Sanibel Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Price, decent product for my needs
5/25/2014

Customer review by Grammie72

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Grammie72
by Grammie72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can find nothing wrong with this product, was what I expected and needed. I do not use a lot but nice to have something around when needed..

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grammie72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap and easy use
9/27/2015

Customer review by Liqun

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by Liqun
by Liqun

Cheap and easy use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liqun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews