Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

5 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

5 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-5 of 5 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

I had a Sony Xperia Play CDMA from Verizon
6/2/2013

Customer review by Johnnykansas

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Johnnykansas
by Johnnykansas

I got this kit to convert my Sony Xperia Cdma phone from Verizon to Straight Talk. I had been using a cheaper Straight Talk flip phone but using the $45 per month plan so the airtime card you get with this kit can be put onto the reserve time for next months bill. Anyway I entered my Sony smart phone meid numb into the Bring You Own Phone section on Straight Talks website. Very easy and fast. Initially my phone didn't activate so I waited till the next morning and still nothing so I decided to try a total phone factory reset and when the phone came back online, bingo, It was working great and I have had no problems at all. Every function works great. The way I understand this CDMA deal is basically it only works on Verizon phones because they use CDMA and your data speed will be 3G. The cell you use also has to be an older smartphone that uses the 3G data and wont work on the newer LTE or 4g phones. Additionally the way I understand it all At&t cell phones use the GSM technology and not CDMA. Great product and save over 50% off my cell bills and still get great service on Verizon towers.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johnnykansas
Western Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
would not buy again
5/30/2013

Customer review by lms2010

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by lms2010
by lms2010

spent over 15 hours of talk with straight talk trying to get my own phone active...I gave up, they could not port my number, had to cancel my service with current provider and still they could not get the phone on. So out the 59.88 plus have to pay to get my old service back on and they never were able to even give me a phone number, Worse service I have ever NOT had in over 20 years.

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lms2010
az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just get a Striaght Talk Phone!
6/3/2013

Customer review by MichaelLV

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by MichaelLV
by MichaelLV

I did research on this, basically, all you can really do is bring a Verizon phone with a clean esn, and it CANNOT be a 4GLte phone, which is like finding a phone from 3 years ago thats only 3g and a super slow processor like the Droid Eris for example.. It also cannot be a sprint/boost/virgin mobile, or any other cdma phone, has to be verizon. You're better off just buying the straight talk cdma phone and using it on verizon network, although im not impressed with the new phones they have out, i.e samsung showcase, LG showtime, etc. If Tmobile works good in your area, get the ST sim kit, and you can put it on your tmobile 4G phone and you get 4G service, thats probably the best deal they got out right now.

Was this review helpful? (33) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichaelLV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Saves Money
8/6/2013

Customer review by ByeVerizon

4.0 stars 8/6/2013 by ByeVerizon
by ByeVerizon

Both mine and wife's phones worked with this kit. Driod 2 global and Driod X2 both from verizon. I made the same mistake twice when I tried to bring old numbers it would give me new numbers. Had to call them but Customer Support fixed and all is good now. Takes about 3 days to finish transferring over completely. I havent noticed a difference from verizon service. I also confirmed before switching I would still be on Verizon towers and this is true.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ByeVerizon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No data on my CDMA phone
9/29/2013

Customer review by jcgreene

1.0 stars 9/29/2013 by jcgreene
by jcgreene

The byop website's phone compatibility verification doesn't actually tell you if your phone is compatible or not. The activation went smoothly on my Gusto 2 (but they changed my phone number without asking, despite what the package said). I tested it and it made calls fine. I then tested the internet connection and it failed. I called Straight Talk customer support and they asked me restart the phone, do a factory reset, etc...did nothing. She then said I'd have to call Verizon to see if the phone is locked. Verizon verified all their phones are locked. They said, unless Straight Talk can flash their own software on the phone, the internet will not work. I then called Straight Talk back, asking for a refund, and they told me they followed through on their end and that, in order to do anything but make phone calls, I'd need to get my phone flashed by Samsung (who would go to that trouble on a $20 phone?). The full BYOP CDMA plan only works with Android and select few other CDMA smartphones. This has been a huge waste of time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcgreene
San Joaquin Valley, central CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male