Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 38 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Philips 39" Smart LED TV
6/4/2013

Customer review by NickTrack

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by NickTrack
by NickTrack

This Philips 39" Smart LED TV was purchased for a family room at the lake. We wanted a "smart" big screen TV, but did not want to spend the money we would on a TV at home. This Philips TV meets and exceeds that goal. The color and picture is excellent, and its many options are still being explored. Most importantly, the Walmart price on this TV was very aggressive. We are extremely pleased with the quality and value of this TV.

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickTrack
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a smart tv that just isn t that smart
1/18/2014

Customer review by MMiller0808

2.0 stars 1/18/2014 by MMiller0808
by MMiller0808

I read a few reviews on this TV before I bought it as a replacement for my bedroom TV. I was looking for a no hassle smart TV to watch Netflix, Hulu Plus, HBO GO and other internet content. Yes, I was struck by the price and after reading all of the information contained on the Philips box I made the purchase. I noticed that all the reviews good and bad mentioned the lousy remote, ok I can live with that and yes it is one of the worst I have ever used. The real problem with the TV is that there aren't really any apps. It is preloaded with the usual Pandora, Netflix, Hulu Plus, You Tube and Vudu, beyond that it is slim pickins. The TV is very slow with both loading the program and with remote commands. 2 weeks ago it automatically updated the software and now Hulu Plus locks up before the program even begins. It also leads you to believe that you can control and mirror your tablet....but hold up not so! I did get WiFi Media Connect to finally work for the MAC computer, but unfortunately the delay is so bad between computer keystrokes and what mirrors on screen that it is useless. Video playback via MediaConnect is a joke also as the audio and video signals are at least 5 seconds behind one another. Bad Chinese movies dub English better then MediaConnect. Many features that Philips uses worldwide are disabled on this TV. I really thought I did my homework as I am a gadget guy, but I must say Philips pulled the wool over my eyes on this one! I should have bought a DumbTV and a Roku box, I would have been much happier.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MMiller0808
Sewell, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not to shabby. Just one problem.
6/19/2013

Customer review by Silver187g

4.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Silver187g
by Silver187g

I just got this tv today and it really looks great and the price was pretty good. The only bad thing is the sound is a little weak and the remote that it came with didn't work and turned out to be defective. Also the buttons setup isn't that great being underneath the front edge of the tv. Other than that stuff this tv is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silver187g
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Love this TV
7/13/2013

Customer review by Chas66

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by Chas66
by Chas66

We weren't familiar with this TV and there were not many reviews online, but we thought we had 90 days to see if we liked it and it was a great value for the money. We haven't even tweaked all of the fine settings on it because we have enjoyed it so much. Same for all of the smart TV features. We have only used Netflix, but will eventually try some of the other extensive apps. The sound is very adequate for us, it will blow you out if turned up to the max. I had been looking at 42" models but this 39" is great for our room. But I admit we had been watching a 19" so anything close to this size was a great improvement. Again we have not tweaked the fine tuning adjustments, but the channels with non HD are nearly as good as those with HD. When we first got it, thought we were having a big problem, but the hookup to cable box was loose and resulted in lousy picture quality. I love the convenience of having a smart TV rather than using an external source. Much easier to use than those, at least from the ones I have seen.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chas66
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wrong abput TV
7/6/2013

Customer review by lynnie64

2.0 stars 7/6/2013 by lynnie64
by lynnie64

I purchased this Phillips TV because almost every brand I have had has been Phillips and they are long lasting Great TVS. This one the Color is off and seems so grainy. I have tried to get it adjusted correctly, but it does not help. Will be bringing back to store.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynnie64
Beaumtn, texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT buy this TV!
2/11/2014

Customer review by yorkieloverrrrr

1.0 stars 2/11/2014 by yorkieloverrrrr
by yorkieloverrrrr

I purchased this TV today and returned it within 4 hours after my purchase. The interface is horrific. The only usefull apps for this TV are Netflix, hulu+, and YouTube. No amazon prime, ect. The remote is horrible. There is no volume bar to tell you how high your volume is, you just continue to push the button until it sounds right. Do not buy this TV.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yorkieloverrrrr
Marietta, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great tv
8/4/2013

Customer review by yvonnebon

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by yvonnebon
by yvonnebon

Bought this tv three weeks ago. Only complaint is the picture quality at times does not look great especially while watching Netflix. Then other times it looks good. Sound sounds very good. Walmart has the best price compared to amazon and best buy. Overall we are happy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yvonnebon
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/2/2013

Customer review by Parker9293

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Parker9293
by Parker9293

Its a perfect size and is a great picture, glad to have upgraded.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parker9293
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not have enough apps poor picture quaility
2/16/2014

Customer review by gb47

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by gb47
by gb47

I took this home to set this up and it looked great out of the box perfect size 39' for my bedroom.bra Then when I turned it on everything look fine easy to setup and simple remote but I saw only a limited amount of apps such as Netflix,youtube,vudu etc and just a few games I was disappointed with this tv.So I started watching tv on my cable box via hd channels and the color was very poor and I adjusted a few features and nothing changed so I returned it to walmart right away and they exchanged it for another tv without a problem.Do not buy this brand!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gb47
Worcester ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this TV.
2/4/2014

Customer review by Kalkar21

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Kalkar21
by Kalkar21

Exceptional picture quality, no problems with sound. It is very new so still getting used to all its capabilities. I do not use additional speaker bar, friends that have them get sound distortion. For the price I am well happy. the 39 inch is a great size for my living room.room. Iit looks sleek and was easy to hook up to my WIFI. Booklet that came with, was a little complex reading. Other than that, couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kalkar21
Carlisle PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used In Store Pickup & worked great!
9/20/2013

Customer review by Beachhuthermit

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by Beachhuthermit
by Beachhuthermit

This is a great tv/monitor for the price. I used in store pickup and the system worked without a hitch and was convenient since it was on sale.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachhuthermit
Northeast Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv. Wifi a big bonus. No Amazon Video
3/4/2014

Customer review by MidwestFamilyMan

4.0 stars 3/4/2014 by MidwestFamilyMan
by MidwestFamilyMan

This television has been a great addition to our home. The picture is good from all angles, with flexible brightness and contrast to adjust to our tastes. The sound is good, even though we have this TV in a cabinet, the remote is easy to use, and the stand was easy to assemble. The biggest plus for us is the many connections...plenty of HDMI inputs for our XBox and other gadgets, as well as the older video/audio RCA connections for older electronics. The USB is also handy. The television connects easily to your WIFI network, and is preloaded with apps including Netflix, which was a big reason we selected this tv. All the kids easily use the remote to access the shows they want on Netflix, including my 7-year-old. However, they do complain that the search function on the TV app is more difficult to use than the ROKU version, and gives less complete results. Two shortcomings...First, the television does not have an app for Amazon instant video, which is too bad. Also, I would characterize the TV overall as sluggish, with what feel like lengthy response times when changing channels, or switching input modes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidwestFamilyMan
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
:/
2/24/2014

Customer review by alextein

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by alextein
by alextein

I regret having bought much youtube and movies online freezes and does not support many video formats via USB

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alextein
calexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great buy at this price
7/14/2013

Customer review by ZirJon

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by ZirJon
by ZirJon

Wish they will some day come up with a way to type is the 'search' box as using a tiny remote is to insert each letter from close range is excruciatingly frustrating

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZirJon
woodbridge, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good bargain!
3/7/2014

Customer review by Tee129

3.0 stars 3/7/2014 by Tee129
by Tee129

Other smart tv's offer more options. I'm disappointed that many features aren't available on it. Otherwise, it has an excellent picture quality, and sounds good

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tee129
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bed room tv
3/5/2014

Customer review by Freshstart34

3.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Freshstart34
by Freshstart34

I purchased this tv about a week ago. The price and size were exactly what I was looking for. It took some time to set up a wireless connection. I had to google connection problems with Philips TV's. Turns out a simple change to my router setting did the trick. Like a few other reviews I read on here it is true that the remote is difficult to use. Not because it's complicated but because the buttons do not give a smooth reaction when pressed. Example: scrolling through Netflix movies is hard to get the button to change movie titles. It literally takes 4 to 5 button presses for the remote to work. The picture quality is at times good when watching HD movies but it seems like when there are a lot of browns, tans and skin tones appear more orange. Even with color adjustments. If you are watching cartoons it's a great picture. Human skin tones not so much. I bought this for a bedroom tv so having the sleep mode so difficult to find buried in the options menu makes it not user friendly if you use that option. This is the first tv I've had that doesn't have a sleep button on the remote. All in all for the $339 I paid for the tv it's not bad. For a bedroom tv it works good. Perfect size.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freshstart34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sleep feature is impossible to get to!
2/9/2014

Customer review by JJ222222222

2.0 stars 2/9/2014 by JJ222222222
by JJ222222222

A great tv at a great price but if you use the sleep feature regularly this is not the tv for you. You have to go to options, then select net tv, then select settings, then find sleep on the right and program it. I am wide awake by the time I find it. Smart features are fun but when I put my laptop on the tv it changes all the fonts on my laptop. It is fun that you can watch videos and pictures but wish it would not change the fonts. Had to restore my laptop to a previous time to get them back. I did return the tv and will keep looking for one that meets my needs but it really played well and was a great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJ222222222
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I hate it!
1/21/2014

Customer review by SIIMX

1.0 stars 1/21/2014 by SIIMX
by SIIMX

I bought this TV because the one I wanted wasn't available at the store and I could not come back another day since I'm from Mexico. Price was kinda fair for all the features it has, but none of them are worth it! Picture quality is bad, sound as well, the remote is a joke! Is the most unfriendly TV I ever had. I will have to make a special trip to AZ to return it! :(

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SIIMX
Nogales, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/16/2013

Customer review by coste

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by coste
by coste

TV is great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coste
Watertown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor pucture quality.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Cowboyblack

2.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Cowboyblack
by Cowboyblack

I bought this tv today and I will be returning it to the store. The tv is at a great price but you are getting what you pay for. If picture quality dont matter, this is the tv for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowboyblack
Columbus, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews