Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 55 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Didn't last long
5/13/2014

Customer review by Jenn1212

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Jenn1212
by Jenn1212

My daughter is 5 and very careful of her tablet only playing with it while sitting. After 2 months of owning the charger cord stopped working. Replace that to wait another 2 months for the tablet to lose the touch screen. everything still works but the screen will not respond to touch. it is now useless. I do not recommend.

Jenn1212
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value for price
4/23/2014

Customer review by MLCU

3.0 stars 4/23/2014 by MLCU
by MLCU

Cool product, nice protective case and educational apps (bought for a 6yo). You get all the Spanish and English - which makes it a little "busy" for kids to choose items. Tech support is not great - emailed 2 wks ago and never got a response - having issues downloading google play apps.

MLCU
NL, Canada
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great tablet for kids and parents!
10/7/2013

Customer review by DaddyDen

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by DaddyDen
by DaddyDen

Easy setup, great parent control for internet and apps alike and a very good performance make it the best tablet for the familly. The battery life is pretty good as well.

DaddyDen
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great features
1/4/2014

Customer review by tam33

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by tam33
by tam33

I bought this for my 7 year old daughter for Christmas and she loves it. Pre programmed apps and features alone are great and tons of free apps to add through google.

tam33
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Poor Product
5/26/2014

Customer review by Geena

1.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Geena
by Geena

I bought this product for my daughter used only a few times and it just stopped working.

Geena
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing Educational + Fun Tablet!
7/28/2013

Customer review by mommymod

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by mommymod
by mommymod
Walmart associate

I have 2 kids and they are fighting over it and the apps that are on this device are packed with lots of learning. I know that when my kids are playing with it, they aren't just passively watching videos, they are getting a lot of good stuff. I love the different dreams and the fact that I can track how much time each child is spending on each dream. My daughter has spent the most time in the "Artist" dream so I know she really leans toward the arts. My son is addicted to the "Gears Love" app. Only thing is, if you're kids used to an Ipad, then every once in awhile you have to help them know which is the "home" button, but otherwise, it's great. Android is different than Apple so you just need to get up to speed. There's so much included and I can also use it in the parental mode for myself to surf the internet. Great parental controls that are super easy. Great value!! I would totally recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (69) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommymod
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
OK Tablet but XO Not Up to Par
8/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an OK low price tablet hardware wise, but it's become obvious that the company was not ready for it's release. Pros; price, excellent protective sleeve, HDMI port, Micro SD slot, OS designed for kids with full Android available when needed. Cons; Poor to non existent support, anemic speaker, XOTablet.com site incompatible with android, no user manual (as indicated in the quick start manual) no contacts app, advertised with OS 4.2 but is actually 4.1.1 Remember that it also has no GPS nor Bluetooth Support request sent over a week ago still unanswered. Four questions to voice support answered with either incorrect information or not answered... agent asked if call could be transferred to "supervisor" but I gave up after on hold for over 20 minutes. Tips... "gContacts" from play store provides a good contacts replacement. Green sleeve hides the fact that there is a removable protective sheet over the screen that should be removed... "bubbles" started showing up on screen.

Was this review helpful? (29) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Includes some fun (& educational) games
9/4/2013

Customer review by Dentarthurdent

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Dentarthurdent
by Dentarthurdent
Walmart associate

We've only had this a few weeks, so I haven't tried all of the features. I like that it was easy to set up for different users, so I can sign in with password protection and have full access to the device, but my 5-year old can just swipe to her name and start it up without a password (and she only has access to appropriate features). There are a few games on there, such as Dragon Box, that she really enjoys playing. I'm pretty sure she's missing the fact that it's teaching her the fundamentals of algebra, but she's having as much fun beating the levels in that as her mother is having playing Candy Crush. I can also use apps such as the music keyboard to entertain my 1-year old. The price may be a little high if you're just comparing hardware features to other tablets, but the fact that they've built a somewhat kid-friendly home page ("The Dream Interface"), included fun & educational apps and books, and that OLPC is helping donate technology to classrooms around the world (including the USA) may make it worth the extra few bucks.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dentarthurdent
SF Bay Area, California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
DO NOT BUY THE XO Tablet. Froze after 1 month
2/18/2014

Customer review by mindab

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by mindab
by mindab

DO NOT BUY THE XO Tablet!!! We bought this tablet for our 4 year old for Christmas. He loved it. By Jan 24th it began to freeze up and would not hold a charge. By Jan 31st the XO Tablet completely froze. We could not even turn it off. You have 2 choices to get the XO Tablet fixed. 1) call the 877 number & 2) got online to their website. On Feb. 1st I filed an issue report on their website. It is now Feb 18th and I have not heard anything from them. I called the 877 number. It goes to India. It was very loud in the background and the person who answered the phone could not understand me well. He told me to reset the XO Tablet but that I would lose everything that was not pre-programed. He said it would take 20 seconds. I reset the XO Tablet and we waited a minute or so. Nothing was fixed. He then said it would take a while to reset (although he would not define a while) and I could call back if I had any issues. It has been over an hour and nothing is fixed. The XO Tablet is still frozen and cannot be used. My son was only able to use it one month. DO NOT BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mindab
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great learning system for kids
8/19/2013

Customer review by OneSmart

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by OneSmart
by OneSmart

Definitely it's one of a kind tablet designed/customized mainly focusing on kids learning. It came with so many Pre-loaded apps and books for kids. User interface looks cool and very easy to use. It took very little time for my kids to start exploring it on their own. Content is well organized into areas of interest and by skill level. (It would have been much better if there is option to choose skill levels based on age as well). Parental controls are very easy to setup and feature to review kids progress is very useful. Last but not least, it is also a full pledged Android tablet with Mico SD slot for expanding storage and Micro HDMI port to connect to TV, which can be used by adults as regular tablet, if kids permit :) I would definitely recommend this one for anyone looking for their kids to have fun while learning.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneSmart
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
There are so many uses for this tablet!
8/12/2013

Customer review by 7352

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by 7352
by 7352

I’m a teacher at an elementary school in Minnesota, and this is the best tablet/learning tool/classroom purchase I’ve ever seen! The reviews I’ve read so far and blog posts are really about using the tablet at home, but as a teacher, I think there’s a huge opportunity for tablets in classrooms and there are some key features on this tablet that make it perfect for school AND home… 1. Comes with a TON of apps, games, ebooks, etc, all focused around a particular subject area (ALREADY ORGANIZED! Perfect for teachers!). We do a unit on the solar system and the Astronaut “Dream” category is perfect as a supplement to my teaching and as something for kids to explore at home. We do a unit on bridges, and the Engineer category has an app for that! The science apps in the Scientist category are extremely useful, especially for kids who are really into science but whose parents don’t want to be building volcanoes and whatnot at home every night! I can keep going on and on about the various category and how robust the content offering is… from programmer, to photographer, to environmentalist, to artist… so much variety! I can easily think of a way to incorporate each of the categories into my existing lesson plans and really enhance the learning experience since kids love tablets and technology so much. Best part for teachers: content is already organized by subject AND by level, so your kids can really explore/learn at their own pace… For example, some of my gifted students need to be able to work on more challenging activities, and they could easily use the “Advanced” category and be very satisfied! 2. With that said, I can see how it would be perfect for families and home use… if a student is struggling in math, they can use the tablet at home and use the mathematician category to practice math, all while having fun. In my own classroom, sometimes students who are struggling in match can feel singled out, but if everyone is using their tablet at the same time, the students who need the math help can use it for math and no other students will need to know. Again, since the apps are organized by subject and level, very easy for whole families with kids of varying ages to use it and share it. 3. Comes with a “journal” so I can see how a student is using the tablet. I can understand why a teacher or parent might be a little nervous about giving an elementary-aged child a tablet. There are parental controls that I set up in under a minute (set up a parental control password, turned off the browser/internet and turned off the Google Play Store), but even better, there is a “journal” so I can see how each child is using the tablet. For example, a child might use the tablet in my classroom for awhile and I want to know what they were working on… I go to the journal and I can see what percentage of time they were spending in a particular area. It can be hard to really understand what a child is interested in at times, but I can go to the journal and see that she/he is spending a lot of time in the doctor category, for example, that would help me connect to the child and tailor the lesson plans to their interests. I can also see it being very useful at parent/teacher conferences because I can share insight into the child’s interests with the parents, in addition to their strengths and weaknesses. 4. Has a great case that comes with it for free! The case is textured (I’m assuming to help kids grip it better) and seems to be very shock-absorbing. I was at first a little critical of the case because I didn’t know if it would be thick enough padding for classroom wear-and-tear, but once I saw my 9-year-old nephew using it, I realized that the size is perfect for smaller hands and it isn’t too bulky or heavy. Of course, it still will need to be treated with respect and care in the classroom, but I prefer that and I’m glad that it will fit comfortably in their hands. 5. Overall value is AMAZING! I don’t know how it is possible for this tablet to cost less than $150! It is an Android tablet and is very responsive to touch (what you would expect from an iPad or any tablet, but half the price). Again, comes with a ton of apps and eBooks (forgot to mention that the content is available in English AND Spanish… I need to show our English Language Learners teacher because she will LOVE it)! Perfect for classroom, perfect for home use, perfect for a variety of ages. My only criticism is that I went to their website and I wish they had some materials for teachers to use to help write a grant, because I really want a tablet for each student in my classroom!

Was this review helpful? (46) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
7352
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Money
8/2/2013

Customer review by oohlala17

4.0 stars 8/2/2013 by oohlala17
by oohlala17
Walmart associate

This tablet is great for the entire family. It has lots of apps and learning games that are great for kids. There is also a parental mode that gives you access to the entire Android shop. Great value for the money, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oohlala17
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Dead 2 days after christmas
12/27/2013

Customer review by Tarheel2122

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Tarheel2122
by Tarheel2122

Brought by dad for our son. Opened Dec 25, AFTER 7pm. Died Dec 27 @ 11am. Was using it with 58% battery left with no problems. Set it down and came back to it literally 3min later and screen was dead. Tablet was still on bc i could still hear the beeping when i turned the volume up or down. Pressed the power button and now its totally dead. Also tried to reset it (found instructions to do this on a forum on their FB web page NOT in the booklet). Instructions in box says for problems DO NOT take back to store(only sold at Walmart and select smaller stores & online) but to call the number. YEAH RIGHT. This is the first generation for this tablet and i'm not taking my chances. Don't want to keep putting my information in tablets and sending them back in. I was ok with it for my son until it went dead. Dream thing is a little weird tho, especially the platform and layout. Would have also liked to have seen something concerning being productive and doing something everyday to better yourself(ie, play, homework, bible study, brush teeth, walk dog, help siblings, etc)

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tarheel2122
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good Kid Tablet
11/16/2013

Customer review by RDone

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by RDone
by RDone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Parental controls are easy to set up. I handed this over to my 6yr old with no guideance and within a couple of hours he found his way around. The tablet has "2 sides". The Android side is for parents and has full access to to Google Play. This is also where you would purchase apps for yourself or child. All of the apps are here and parent apps are mixed with the kid apps. Have not tried to create folders to separatre them. The kid side is loaded with apps. Some too yong and others too mature for my 6 yr old. Before handing this over criuse through the apps and deny access to any you feel are not appropriate including the books. Most were too mature for my son so I disabled those apps. You must give permission to apps you download. Kids do not automatically have access to them. I have two main complaints: 1) many of the apps in the learning groups need wifi to work like the science group. Fustrating when we are traveling. Wish they had a basic function without wifi. 2) The small finger handle is worthless. It broke within the first week. It's not needed but if you're going to put it on the tablet kid test it first. To reinforce what others have said this is not an Ipad or Sampgung quality tablet, but works well enough for searching the web and reading email. I bought this to get my tablet and phone back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RDone
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved this for its apps
9/10/2013

Customer review by Venkyz

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Venkyz
by Venkyz
Walmart associate

To me the apps that come with it is the clear differentiator. It has apps for many things the kids love.. Pretty simple to use, very responsive screen. I will definitely recommend this to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Venkyz
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great concept, poor execution!
12/25/2013

Customer review by guana7

2.0 stars 12/25/2013 by guana7
by guana7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really wanted to like this tablet! I love that this company is supporting education around the world, which is a big reason I chose this over other tablets. I also like the case that it comes in. I love the idea of this tablet, but in reality I found it very lacking. The "dreams" are a great concept, but most of the apps within each dream are poor quality, boring, or hard to use. Also, you can't customize the dreams, you can only customize the level of access for each user. If you choose to download additional apps you can't access them from the "kid" side--they are only accessible from the parent side, which requires unlocking the parent side with a password every time. The 100 books are great, but they are for older kids. I would loved to have seen some good reading apps, phonics, story books, etc. for early readers, or links to sites like starfall or pbs kids. Also, this tablet is bi-lingual, but it would be nice if there were actually some good spanish-english apps, not just switching from one language to the other. Again, I'm sure I could find and download the apps, but then there's the problem of locating them on the tablet. Also, with only 4MB of storage, you don't want to download too much! I was hoping the pre-downloaded content would be sufficient, but I found it lacking. This seems like a tablet designed for younger children, however the features are geared for older children. But I doubt older children would want a tablet that is so limited in features and use. ALSO, the charging port/cord have broken within 2 weeks of normal use and we're no longer able to charge the tablet. I agree with another commenter who said that for a tablet designed for kids, it should be a little tougher! Battery life was about 5 hours, as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guana7
Fruita, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the best tablet for kids
9/9/2013

Customer review by bedad

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by bedad
by bedad
Walmart associate

this was a great tablet for the kids to review, easy set up and go play type of electronic. All you need is your email account as a parent, Takes pictures, watched you tube, games aready builld in and they only complaint that the games where a little to kiddy for them in their age group 6-9 yrs old overall it was good product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bedad
san bruno,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Did not work
12/28/2013

Customer review by DDaley

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by DDaley
by DDaley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tablet did not work. It froze to never move again. I will return it and get a different one. After seeing all that it does, I was very disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDaley
Ocala, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We've had some problems but...
11/7/2014

Customer review by Twinzmom10

4.0 stars 11/7/2014 by Twinzmom10
by Twinzmom10

I purchased 2 of these for my 4 year old twins last Christmas. They really like them and I can put all kinds of different apps from the Play store on them. One of them got a "dead spot" on the screen so the only way to exit an app was to completely shut the tablet off. I called Vivitar customer service and they had me do a factory reset. That didn't solve the problem so I called back. They gave me the return address and told me to send the defective one in and they would send a replacement. I did and received a replacement shortly. The problem was the day it was delivered, it was -10 degrees outside and the package sat outside almost all day. I let everything warm up before I even attempted to charge it, but the thing never charged. I called Vivitar again, explained what happened and again returned it and got a replacement. The replacement has been working fine with no issues. Now the 2nd kid's one won't charge. It is still under warranty and I will be contacting Vivitar again but I anticipate I will not have any problems getting a replacement. I did purchase the Walmart protection plan so if I have any issues with Vivitar, I will just contact Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twinzmom10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DON'T BUY THIS TABLET
12/9/2013

Customer review by DIIImommy

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DIIImommy
by DIIImommy

I bought this tablet for my two year old son and when I opened the boxes the 100 books it says it has are chapter books. The screen started to FREEZE up and I had to take the battery out to get it to work. Needless to say I took it back to Walmart and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIIImommy
Grovetown,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews