Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 50 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Amazing Educational + Fun Tablet!
7/28/2013

Customer review by mommymod

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by mommymod
by mommymod

I have 2 kids and they are fighting over it and the apps that are on this device are packed with lots of learning. I know that when my kids are playing with it, they aren't just passively watching videos, they are getting a lot of good stuff. I love the different dreams and the fact that I can track how much time each child is spending on each dream. My daughter has spent the most time in the "Artist" dream so I know she really leans toward the arts. My son is addicted to the "Gears Love" app. Only thing is, if you're kids used to an Ipad, then every once in awhile you have to help them know which is the "home" button, but otherwise, it's great. Android is different than Apple so you just need to get up to speed. There's so much included and I can also use it in the parental mode for myself to surf the internet. Great parental controls that are super easy. Great value!! I would totally recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (68) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommymod
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
There are so many uses for this tablet!
8/12/2013

Customer review by 7352

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by 7352
by 7352

I’m a teacher at an elementary school in Minnesota, and this is the best tablet/learning tool/classroom purchase I’ve ever seen! The reviews I’ve read so far and blog posts are really about using the tablet at home, but as a teacher, I think there’s a huge opportunity for tablets in classrooms and there are some key features on this tablet that make it perfect for school AND home… 1. Comes with a TON of apps, games, ebooks, etc, all focused around a particular subject area (ALREADY ORGANIZED! Perfect for teachers!). We do a unit on the solar system and the Astronaut “Dream” category is perfect as a supplement to my teaching and as something for kids to explore at home. We do a unit on bridges, and the Engineer category has an app for that! The science apps in the Scientist category are extremely useful, especially for kids who are really into science but whose parents don’t want to be building volcanoes and whatnot at home every night! I can keep going on and on about the various category and how robust the content offering is… from programmer, to photographer, to environmentalist, to artist… so much variety! I can easily think of a way to incorporate each of the categories into my existing lesson plans and really enhance the learning experience since kids love tablets and technology so much. Best part for teachers: content is already organized by subject AND by level, so your kids can really explore/learn at their own pace… For example, some of my gifted students need to be able to work on more challenging activities, and they could easily use the “Advanced” category and be very satisfied! 2. With that said, I can see how it would be perfect for families and home use… if a student is struggling in math, they can use the tablet at home and use the mathematician category to practice math, all while having fun. In my own classroom, sometimes students who are struggling in match can feel singled out, but if everyone is using their tablet at the same time, the students who need the math help can use it for math and no other students will need to know. Again, since the apps are organized by subject and level, very easy for whole families with kids of varying ages to use it and share it. 3. Comes with a “journal” so I can see how a student is using the tablet. I can understand why a teacher or parent might be a little nervous about giving an elementary-aged child a tablet. There are parental controls that I set up in under a minute (set up a parental control password, turned off the browser/internet and turned off the Google Play Store), but even better, there is a “journal” so I can see how each child is using the tablet. For example, a child might use the tablet in my classroom for awhile and I want to know what they were working on… I go to the journal and I can see what percentage of time they were spending in a particular area. It can be hard to really understand what a child is interested in at times, but I can go to the journal and see that she/he is spending a lot of time in the doctor category, for example, that would help me connect to the child and tailor the lesson plans to their interests. I can also see it being very useful at parent/teacher conferences because I can share insight into the child’s interests with the parents, in addition to their strengths and weaknesses. 4. Has a great case that comes with it for free! The case is textured (I’m assuming to help kids grip it better) and seems to be very shock-absorbing. I was at first a little critical of the case because I didn’t know if it would be thick enough padding for classroom wear-and-tear, but once I saw my 9-year-old nephew using it, I realized that the size is perfect for smaller hands and it isn’t too bulky or heavy. Of course, it still will need to be treated with respect and care in the classroom, but I prefer that and I’m glad that it will fit comfortably in their hands. 5. Overall value is AMAZING! I don’t know how it is possible for this tablet to cost less than $150! It is an Android tablet and is very responsive to touch (what you would expect from an iPad or any tablet, but half the price). Again, comes with a ton of apps and eBooks (forgot to mention that the content is available in English AND Spanish… I need to show our English Language Learners teacher because she will LOVE it)! Perfect for classroom, perfect for home use, perfect for a variety of ages. My only criticism is that I went to their website and I wish they had some materials for teachers to use to help write a grant, because I really want a tablet for each student in my classroom!

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7352
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Money
8/2/2013

Customer review by oohlala17

4.0 stars 8/2/2013 by oohlala17
by oohlala17

This tablet is great for the entire family. It has lots of apps and learning games that are great for kids. There is also a parental mode that gives you access to the entire Android shop. Great value for the money, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oohlala17
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Includes some fun (& educational) games
9/4/2013

Customer review by Dentarthurdent

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Dentarthurdent
by Dentarthurdent

We've only had this a few weeks, so I haven't tried all of the features. I like that it was easy to set up for different users, so I can sign in with password protection and have full access to the device, but my 5-year old can just swipe to her name and start it up without a password (and she only has access to appropriate features). There are a few games on there, such as Dragon Box, that she really enjoys playing. I'm pretty sure she's missing the fact that it's teaching her the fundamentals of algebra, but she's having as much fun beating the levels in that as her mother is having playing Candy Crush. I can also use apps such as the music keyboard to entertain my 1-year old. The price may be a little high if you're just comparing hardware features to other tablets, but the fact that they've built a somewhat kid-friendly home page ("The Dream Interface"), included fun & educational apps and books, and that OLPC is helping donate technology to classrooms around the world (including the USA) may make it worth the extra few bucks.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dentarthurdent
SF Bay Area, California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
A great learning system for kids
8/19/2013

Customer review by OneSmart

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by OneSmart
by OneSmart

Definitely it's one of a kind tablet designed/customized mainly focusing on kids learning. It came with so many Pre-loaded apps and books for kids. User interface looks cool and very easy to use. It took very little time for my kids to start exploring it on their own. Content is well organized into areas of interest and by skill level. (It would have been much better if there is option to choose skill levels based on age as well). Parental controls are very easy to setup and feature to review kids progress is very useful. Last but not least, it is also a full pledged Android tablet with Mico SD slot for expanding storage and Micro HDMI port to connect to TV, which can be used by adults as regular tablet, if kids permit :) I would definitely recommend this one for anyone looking for their kids to have fun while learning.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneSmart
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Loved this for its apps
9/10/2013

Customer review by Venkyz

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Venkyz
by Venkyz

To me the apps that come with it is the clear differentiator. It has apps for many things the kids love.. Pretty simple to use, very responsive screen. I will definitely recommend this to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Venkyz
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Staff sparks
DO NOT BUY THE XO Tablet. Froze after 1 month
2/18/2014

Customer review by mindab

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by mindab
by mindab

DO NOT BUY THE XO Tablet!!! We bought this tablet for our 4 year old for Christmas. He loved it. By Jan 24th it began to freeze up and would not hold a charge. By Jan 31st the XO Tablet completely froze. We could not even turn it off. You have 2 choices to get the XO Tablet fixed. 1) call the 877 number & 2) got online to their website. On Feb. 1st I filed an issue report on their website. It is now Feb 18th and I have not heard anything from them. I called the 877 number. It goes to India. It was very loud in the background and the person who answered the phone could not understand me well. He told me to reset the XO Tablet but that I would lose everything that was not pre-programed. He said it would take 20 seconds. I reset the XO Tablet and we waited a minute or so. Nothing was fixed. He then said it would take a while to reset (although he would not define a while) and I could call back if I had any issues. It has been over an hour and nothing is fixed. The XO Tablet is still frozen and cannot be used. My son was only able to use it one month. DO NOT BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mindab
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK Tablet but XO Not Up to Par
8/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an OK low price tablet hardware wise, but it's become obvious that the company was not ready for it's release. Pros; price, excellent protective sleeve, HDMI port, Micro SD slot, OS designed for kids with full Android available when needed. Cons; Poor to non existent support, anemic speaker, XOTablet.com site incompatible with android, no user manual (as indicated in the quick start manual) no contacts app, advertised with OS 4.2 but is actually 4.1.1 Remember that it also has no GPS nor Bluetooth Support request sent over a week ago still unanswered. Four questions to voice support answered with either incorrect information or not answered... agent asked if call could be transferred to "supervisor" but I gave up after on hold for over 20 minutes. Tips... "gContacts" from play store provides a good contacts replacement. Green sleeve hides the fact that there is a removable protective sheet over the screen that should be removed... "bubbles" started showing up on screen.

Was this review helpful? (28) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
XO: Well-designed software, but cheap hardware.
9/24/2013

Customer review by JDKennedy

3.0 stars 9/24/2013 by JDKennedy
by JDKennedy

We bought this to replace a 6-mo old Kurio 7 which was buggy and eventually died because it couldn't stand up to regular use by kids. (Hmmm) Different story, but we were able to get a credit through the extended warranty that covered the cost of the XO. Although it falls short of the design concept (mostly because of hardware limitations), it is still a pretty cool idea... until it dies. Which it will. It's only a matter of when. For us it was about 2 weeks. Just stopped working. The little light would come on to indicate it was charging, but it wouldn't respond to anything. I've been dragging my feet buying an iPad for the kids, thinking that these lower-cost tablets would be a good compromise. I may just have to bite the bullet and get an IPad. PROS: I like the design of thie XO software, and how it is educationally stimulating based on interests. Also, it allows you to install apps from the Google Play Store, which the Nabi and Kurio are lacking. We have 6 kids, and this allows you to create and customize accounts for each of them. That's one of the main reasons we got the Kurio, but this one is SOOOOO much easier to set up. It took me hours to set up the Kurio each time it would reset itself and lose my settings.(ARrrgh!) CONS: Unfortunately, the Vivitar hardware is junk (see other reviews). It looks nice and seems well built, but either they don't have a QC department, or they are all smoking dope. I just wish there was a way to get the software and load it on the tablet of your choice. I would probably replace this with a Nabi, if it weren't for the Play store limitation. Dealing with the Kurio Store and Amazon Store were such a pain, I don't really want to deal with that on the Nabi. I have to say that a lot of the pre-installed apps on the XO are pretty lame. My kids started losing interest even before the hardware crapped out. I was willing to overlook that, since I could install whatever apps I wanted and control access very easily. But you can't enjoy the software if the hardware doesn't work. Took it back to Wal-Mart, took the cash and will probably put it toward an iPad with an OtterBox case. Maybe one day if they come out with a 10" from a different company (more like the concept), I might try the XO again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDKennedy
Freeland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DON'T BUY THIS TABLET
12/9/2013

Customer review by DIIImommy

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DIIImommy
by DIIImommy

I bought this tablet for my two year old son and when I opened the boxes the 100 books it says it has are chapter books. The screen started to FREEZE up and I had to take the battery out to get it to work. Needless to say I took it back to Walmart and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIIImommy
Grovetown,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best tablet for kids
9/9/2013

Customer review by bedad

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by bedad
by bedad

this was a great tablet for the kids to review, easy set up and go play type of electronic. All you need is your email account as a parent, Takes pictures, watched you tube, games aready builld in and they only complaint that the games where a little to kiddy for them in their age group 6-9 yrs old overall it was good product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bedad
san bruno,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Staff sparks
Pretty Good Kid Tablet
11/16/2013

Customer review by RDone

4.0 stars 11/16/2013 by RDone
by RDone

Parental controls are easy to set up. I handed this over to my 6yr old with no guideance and within a couple of hours he found his way around. The tablet has "2 sides". The Android side is for parents and has full access to to Google Play. This is also where you would purchase apps for yourself or child. All of the apps are here and parent apps are mixed with the kid apps. Have not tried to create folders to separatre them. The kid side is loaded with apps. Some too yong and others too mature for my 6 yr old. Before handing this over criuse through the apps and deny access to any you feel are not appropriate including the books. Most were too mature for my son so I disabled those apps. You must give permission to apps you download. Kids do not automatically have access to them. I have two main complaints: 1) many of the apps in the learning groups need wifi to work like the science group. Fustrating when we are traveling. Wish they had a basic function without wifi. 2) The small finger handle is worthless. It broke within the first week. It's not needed but if you're going to put it on the tablet kid test it first. To reinforce what others have said this is not an Ipad or Sampgung quality tablet, but works well enough for searching the web and reading email. I bought this to get my tablet and phone back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RDone
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a kids Tab not a powerhouse.
8/7/2014

Customer review by TechyDad1978

4.0 stars 8/7/2014 by TechyDad1978
by TechyDad1978

So I got the XO Tab for my 7yo (in 2013) as an introduction to having her own, expensive electronics. I did a ton of research and this fit the bill at the time (don't know the current offerings). It has a great "What do you want to do?" driven GUI to start and kind of guide her into getting used to it, but she ended up finding things she wanted to do in the apps menu. The career based menu is great though. The exposure to future careers was better than the standard "what do you want to be when you grow up?" followed by the standard "Cop, Firefighter, President" conversation you usually have. And the choices change every time you turn it on. It actually lead to some really interesting conversations about growing up, education, and possible careers. I learned a lot, not just about what kind of jobs are out there, but about my kid and her interests too. I love the ability to lock/block apps so that I don't have to be over her shoulder making sure she's not doing something she shouldn't and offered me opportunities for rewards and discipline. Giving and taking certain apps (non-ed games mostly) as I saw fit. The Spanish apps were great too, since I'm Latin and we want the kids to learn Spanish. The parental access was on par with a lower grade android tab and I used it for myself when the wife was hogging ours. The fact that it is entry level was frustrating for me, because I'm used to having a powerhouse in my hands, but it was perfect for her first venture into mobile electronics. Played Netflix, youtube and surfed the web just fine and the video quality was better than you'd expect. The screen was crisp and I did not notice anything that I would take issue with. I do wish it had an additional higher quality front facing cam, but again entry level and she was content with selfies and pics with her siblings. Bluetooth would be nice too, for speakers and such, but again, entry level. The rubber case was nice for bumps/scrapes and prevents the tab from being set down on it's screen (mostly). Never tried the HDMI, but I'm sure it does what it's supposed to do. All in all it's a good entry level tab and has some decent features and apps preloaded. It's was worth what we paid and it gets plenty of use, but is susceptible to normal damage, like loose usb port from not being gentle plugging it in or cracked screen, so get the protection plan. Just sent ours in for screen damage. Lastly, the fact that OLPC is also trying to do good things around the world is an added benefit. You may not see it happen, but you can at least feel good about helping those in need when you buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechyDad1978
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great concept, poor execution!
12/25/2013

Customer review by guana7

2.0 stars 12/25/2013 by guana7
by guana7

I really wanted to like this tablet! I love that this company is supporting education around the world, which is a big reason I chose this over other tablets. I also like the case that it comes in. I love the idea of this tablet, but in reality I found it very lacking. The "dreams" are a great concept, but most of the apps within each dream are poor quality, boring, or hard to use. Also, you can't customize the dreams, you can only customize the level of access for each user. If you choose to download additional apps you can't access them from the "kid" side--they are only accessible from the parent side, which requires unlocking the parent side with a password every time. The 100 books are great, but they are for older kids. I would loved to have seen some good reading apps, phonics, story books, etc. for early readers, or links to sites like starfall or pbs kids. Also, this tablet is bi-lingual, but it would be nice if there were actually some good spanish-english apps, not just switching from one language to the other. Again, I'm sure I could find and download the apps, but then there's the problem of locating them on the tablet. Also, with only 4MB of storage, you don't want to download too much! I was hoping the pre-downloaded content would be sufficient, but I found it lacking. This seems like a tablet designed for younger children, however the features are geared for older children. But I doubt older children would want a tablet that is so limited in features and use. ALSO, the charging port/cord have broken within 2 weeks of normal use and we're no longer able to charge the tablet. I agree with another commenter who said that for a tablet designed for kids, it should be a little tougher! Battery life was about 5 hours, as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guana7
Fruita, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not work
12/28/2013

Customer review by DDaley

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by DDaley
by DDaley

The tablet did not work. It froze to never move again. I will return it and get a different one. After seeing all that it does, I was very disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDaley
Ocala, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/21/2013

Customer review by Agood12

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Agood12
by Agood12

This tablet is easy to use and kid friendly. It has a touchscreen and built-in WiFi, which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Agood12
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Staff sparks
Great Tablet for Kids !!!
8/26/2013

Customer review by BigShot13

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by BigShot13
by BigShot13

At first I was not comfortable with the price but after looking at the Pre Loaded Apps, it turned out to be a good deal. This tablet is truly built by keeping kids in mind - Nice parental control, quality educational apps and nice protective cover. Provision to setup multiple profiles is also a nice feature. Easy to use/navigate and good battery life.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigShot13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Staff sparks
Top 1000 contributor
8/20/2013

Customer review by Adureviewer

3.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Adureviewer
by Adureviewer

Product is ok not great. It has so many apps for kids and touch screen sensitivity is good. On the flip side sound , brightness are not good. It would be nice if the price is low.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adureviewer
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
8/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I can finally have my kids practice their Spanish more! This is the only tablet I have seen so far that you can switch it to Spanish. The kids can enjoy fun plus learn at the same time...it can not get better then this! Must have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
9/3/2013

Customer review by Kotzebuelonewolf

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Kotzebuelonewolf
by Kotzebuelonewolf

This is a great tablet for any child........there are so many things to do on it that you better get one for each kid.....I actually have to make them turn it off and go play at some thing else....a great, great, product.......

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kotzebuelonewolf
Kotzebue, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews