Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 23 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
9/14/2013

Customer review by Fairybitz

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Fairybitz
by Fairybitz

My 5 year old and 8 year old love this lego set. Easy enough for them to build themselves but gave them hours of fun to build and play.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fairybitz
Belleville, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fun for the lego builders
11/26/2013

Customer review by mjlrp

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by mjlrp
by mjlrp

This was purchased for my grandson as a Christmas gift. Lego is a brand that is well trusted and my grandson has just about every lego set that has come out. I'm sure this one will be as great as all the others that he has. He wanted this lego set more than the larger size because it was the only set that had the red dragon. I would recommend the lego products highly, they are well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjlrp
Delmar, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grandson's Christmas Choice
10/22/2013

Customer review by Glorene

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Glorene
by Glorene

Three of my Grandson's are in Love with Lego's, so it is easy to shop for them when all their Mom has to do is give me the item description. I am a great hit at Christmas time I can tell you that! Walmart had the best prices I could find on-line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glorene
Hamilton, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I got this for the American Legion Toy Drive
12/18/2014

Customer review by Dith

5.0 stars 12/18/2014 by Dith
by Dith

And so know of no one with experience with playing with it. However, judging by the box , it will be a great deal of fun!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So much FUN!!!
10/29/2013

Customer review by ZoiesMommy

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by ZoiesMommy
by ZoiesMommy

My husband bought this set along with another Castle on and our daughters loved them once he built them. Our 3 year old plays with it constantly! The dragon is a lot bigger then we thought it would be which is great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZoiesMommy
Oakdale CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Legos are simply awesome
1/10/2014

Customer review by VirgoGoddess

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by VirgoGoddess
by VirgoGoddess

Dragon, castle, great value and free shipping. Doesn't get much better than that for an 8 year old and his mom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VirgoGoddess
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cool dragon
12/26/2013

Customer review by Lela30

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Lela30
by Lela30

Cool set. The dragon is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lela30
Rosepine, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought as a gift
1/6/2014

Customer review by Maelstrom13

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Maelstrom13
by Maelstrom13

This was purchased as a gift for my son. He absolutely loved it, but I knew he would because he wanted the Red Dragon! He took the dragon out and has been playing with it, except the wings. I didn't look hard enough to find them, and he doesn't seem to care to find them. Either way, he was very happy with the dragon!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maelstrom13
OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good
7/8/2013

Customer review by Gjabe35

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by Gjabe35
by Gjabe35

Very good set. I will not say this is a bad set because of the price because there are a lot of big molds on this set on the Dragon and the rocks. And there are also two exclusive mini figures that come with this set the princess and the wizard and the wizard in my opinion is the best mini figure in the entire castle series. I cannot find anything to dislike about this set. So if your considering getting it I know there are a lot of cooler bigger sets in the 50$ range or whatever the currency is in Canada but this set is very nice and is quite popular and I think it will become a LEGO classic so if you want too you could buy it and then when it's retired sell it on a website for double or triple the price so i would definitely recommend it.

Gjabe35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DRAGON MOUNTAIN FUN
8/8/2013

Customer review by LEGOCITY2713

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by LEGOCITY2713
by LEGOCITY2713

I received this set for my birthday and it was the greatest set I have received in the castle theme. Pros: HUGE dragon Great playability Great/rare pieces Wizard Cons: NONE!!!

LEGOCITY2713
New Rochelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dragonz!!!!!!
5/28/2013

Customer review by DavorinLord

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by DavorinLord
by DavorinLord

I like this set because of the terrifying Dragon and the cool mountain Lair. It also comes with a Catapult that can fling rocks at the enemy. It comes with five minifigures two lion knights one dragon solider a wizard and also a princess is included in the set. These are reasons why I like this set.

DavorinLord
Brampton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally, a dragon!
8/21/2013

Customer review by AndrewO

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by AndrewO
by AndrewO

I was so excited to see the Castle series come back. I like the LOTR and Hobbit, but I'm also a fan of the original Castle stuff. The building itself is a tad skimpy, there are a few very tiny rooms. The minigs, namely the very evil wizard and princess are a good addition, and of course, the dragon! The dragon is large and very playable. Like the Dinosaurs from the Dino series, it's more of a toy. If you missed out on the previous dragon sets, here's your chance to get one.

AndrewO
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice set
12/16/2013

Customer review by Expresso

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Expresso
by Expresso

This set is a great one for those who already have started collecting LEGO Castle sets, whether classic or modern. I love the potion room, spiral staircase, and mini-figures. I for one always love the heavy armor pieces, so I like the main lion soldier. The set's spiral staircase works exceptionally well and can hitch on so that it wont collapse back together. I also like the keys, as they help make the potion room look more realistic. The wizard is also nice, since he has red gloves, cape, and cool wand. The only issue is that the dragon is somewhat bulky looking, and is overly large comparatively to the the mountain. On the other hand, the catapult matches size exactly and comes with cool gold spears attached to the front. It is a great set overall, especially for Castle collectors.

Expresso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent edition to the Castle Series!
3/2/2014

Customer review by Officer

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by Officer
by Officer

When I first saw this set, I instantly thought of Lego 6082 Fire Breathing Fortress, and specifically, 6076 Dark Dragon’s Den. I wasn’t a huge fan of the Dragon Masters subtheme in the early 90s, but the dragon sold me on it. I have to say compared to the old dragon of the 90s, this new one looks amazing, and very sinister. The colors, the detail, and definitely the wings, are superb. Boy, that tail. I had that tail smack down the Kings Knight a few times already. Overall, the figures are great. I liked the design of the princess, and without doubt, the best was the wizard. The detail was amazing. The older wizards looked like they were tinkering in magic and they were novice. This wizard looks professional, and will take care of business if threatened. The detail is amazing on him. I would have like to have seen one additional minifigure in this set; perhaps a Kings Knight archer. We are fighting a dragon aren’t we? Also, a horse would have been nice. What is a knight without a horse! I’m trying to be conscious of the price point, but the set would have greatly benefited from those additions. The set itself is definitely pretty to look at. I love the spiral staircase, and the design of the outpost in general, but it feels a bit small. It doesn’t feel complete. However, within its size, the attention to detail is great. The construction of the outpost almost feels to me like whoever designed it grew up with the classic castle sets. Certain Lego element usage and some of the details made me feel that way. It’s definitely a plus. I love the catapult. The design is perfect. I wish I had 15 of them. The wizard and the dragon sold me on the set. They are the stars of the show. This is definitely a set to get. I love it. A nice play experience would be to mix 70401 Gold Getaway and 70400 Forest Ambush with this set.

Officer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oh, the dragon!
4/19/2014

Customer review by RakishLas

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by RakishLas
by RakishLas

I bought this set for my husband's 30th birthday. We had seen it assembled at our local Lego store, and were blown away by the dragon. The size, articulation and detail of the dragon compared to the Lego dragons of our youth was amazing, and made it a worthwhile purchase on it's own. He was thrilled with it, and out it and the catapult together in record time. I assembled the castle portion, and while it wasn't hard or time consuming, I did enjoy some of the details like the spiral staircase and spiderweb door. This set is great, has a lot of playability, and great potential to be turned in to something else.

RakishLas
Edmonton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dragons at last!!!!!!!
6/19/2013

Customer review by Protoman3000

4.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Protoman3000
by Protoman3000

Well, although this is a small set for a lot of money, the dragon makes it up. that thing is probably the lego group's best dragon they've made. also, you get a princess, and a wizard, which is nice.

Protoman3000
lititz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It grows on you.
6/3/2013

Customer review by JacobtheCollector

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by JacobtheCollector
by JacobtheCollector

When I first saw this set, I was very iffy. I loved the fact they still included the dragon and the evil wizard like the old Castle theme, but the tower seemed tiny, and very unfinished. I wasn't too pleased when I finished building it, because of that very reason. The main tower seemed really unfinished. It is only "half" finished, so the back of the jail is open and the tower doesn't have a backside. It almost begs you to buy a second so you can finish it yourself. That's what I thought at first, but after a few days of fiddling around with it and looking at it every time I enter my room, it really has grown on me. The Dragon is fantastic, I like the new design for the head, and the minifigures are great. I like the new variation of the Dragon Knight and the two Lion Knights that are included are great as well. I think the one soldier with all the armor should have had a horse, but the catapult included makes up for that. The Princess has a hairpiece used in the Friends line to make use for the small crown piece. I think it works and looks great. Better than the overused brown/black braided hairpiece. The Wizard is by far my favorite part of the set. It too had to grow on me but now I really like it. I really like the slimmer black beard that used and the torso and leg printing is AMAZING. Even his eyes have red lining on them; he looks evil- and he should. I love his staff as well. *If you read his character description on the Castle website, it says he uses potions to control his army.* (More on that later.) The tower/bridge section: On ground level there is a rat and a hole in the wall for the rat, I like the minor attention to detail there. Behind the entire tower (still on ground level) is a small table with a goblet and piece of cheese. I am very glad they included this in the set. There is a nice, sturdy staircase that fits the tower well that leads to the jail. The jail is very simple, you can fit the princess in there very nicely. The biggest con here is there is no back wall- but that's a sacrifice used for playability. One more level up, there is a room with a giant red crystal sitting on a stand. I like to imagine that is what allows the Wizard to control the dragon. Why else would it be there? On that same level there are two flags and a shield used for decor; very nice. The top part of the tower is an empty place for the wizard to stand. The bridge is one of my least favorite parts of the set. It looks great and would potentially work great, but there is one problem. There is no way for anyone to get across. If it was extended a little outwards, so there was room for the soldiers to cross it, it would be fantastic. On the bridge there is a small catapult. The dragon's "nest" is my favorite part of the set. There is a lot more to it than it seems. Of course there is the big empty spot to place the dragon, but below that is a treasure chest filled with gold. A few more gold coins wouldn't have hurt to fill it up, but oh well. It doesn't feel too lacking. Now behind all that is the best part- if you pull down the spiderweb, there is an entire laboratory for the wizard to mix the potions I mentioned earlier. There are two jars, one green and one red, a skeleton leg torch, and two keys inside. You can easily fit the wizard inside and I feel Lego went above and beyond including this. The Knight's catapult that is included is also very nice, it looks perfect and works like a charm. The only thing I would like to change about it is if it could have swiveled. Overall, this set is definitely a set I recommend getting if you're collecting the Castle line. It's essential and is a set that really will grow on you. The minifigures are fantastic, the dragon and catapult are great additions are the tower is a decent outpost for the Dragon Knights.

JacobtheCollector
Tooele
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Move Over Kingdoms, Castle Is Back!
5/28/2013

Customer review by LegoRon83

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by LegoRon83
by LegoRon83

Finally, Lego revives the Castle theme with it's fantasy aspect included. I think most would agree with me when I say Kingdoms was dull, unimaginative, lacked creativity and in general was expensive for what was given. Not to mention some horrible design choices for some of their features. Please see "Prison Tower Rescue" review . Since as long as I can remember collecting Lego Castle (1989), there has always been various factions battling against each other. Aside from Kingdoms each faction always had different helmets, armor and weapons that identified with the respective faction, that was until Kingdoms. Aside from the coloring both armies had exactly the same weapons, armor etc. There was no distinction and you could have easily made the Dragon Knights the good guys. Thankfully Lego listened to people when we said we wanted Castle Fantasy back. This set reminds me of set# 7093 Skeleton Tower accept no hanging cage, skeleton features, and a lot smaller. The dragon is an upgraded version of that set but the jaw has been redone and the front of the mouth accommodates the huge flames instead of the small ones. I like the new design a lot better. You don't get a decorated horse but you do get a siege catapult and additional knight. You still get an evil wizard but this time he's just a dragon wizard not a necromancer. The color schemes chosen are a nice touch. Blue and silver for the good guys and red and black for the bad guys. This theme seems to borrow elements from previous Lego factions. The lion shield of the good guys is the same decor as the Royal Knights in 1995. The Dragon knight design is similar to the Dragon Masters back in 1993 . Yes I have those sets and I remember when they came out. You get a princess, two good knights, a good siege catapult, a evil knight, and an evil wizard for mini figures. A lot of play value and five figures is good for a $50 set. My only grip about this set is the price per piece ratio. It's 376 pieces at $50. I do take into consideration that yes, the dragon has some large molds that are going to make the price more expensive. Even with that being said, there are a lot of really small elements to this set and it would have been nice to have gotten at least 400 pieces. I also would have liked some larger base plates and a bit more bulk to the set. There's not really any base to play on and solid large plate would have made the foundation more firm. It's got a lot of small details but this is supposed to be "Dragon Mountain" and this is more like a small fort. If you missed out on Skeleton Tower this is the next best thing as far as evil forts go. I would definitely pick this over any of the Kingdom sets. If this set had a bit more in structure and pieces it would be worth the $50. For that it gets a 4/5.

LegoRon83
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's All About the Dragon
8/6/2013

Customer review by stevesheriw

4.0 stars 8/6/2013 by stevesheriw
by stevesheriw

I bought this set for the kids, because there is a lot for them to do with the features included. In one set, you have several crucial elements of good castle and fantasy playability. You have the fierce beast, evil wizard, princess who needs to be rescued, a small fortress, treasure, a large catapult, and good and bad soldiers (including the brave knight with armor). The minifigure selection is good. You have two Lion soldiers, one being the knight. They have a sword, shield, and spear among them. I really like the metallic helmet rather than just a gray color. The bad guy soldier comes with an interesting helmet and a large sword. Then there is the evil wizard with a unique hat to complement his outfit. He also has an nice staff, which you build. Finally, you have the princess with a small crown and two different faces. All of the minifigures are quite colorful compared to some themes. The boys really seem to enjoy them. The star of the set is of course the dragon. It is fairly large once put together. The wings can move along with the mouth and arms and legs. It is quite posable and is made from several pieces. A good chunk of the value of the set is in the dragon. A small fortress is also included. It has several small chambers. Most of these little rooms can only accommodate one minifigure. The setup with the cheese and goblet on one side with the rat outside is a bit amusing. Spiral steps lead up to the small prison chamber. Above that is a small room with a mysterious red crystal, and above that is the top, where a minifigure can stand. Another section includes a small potion room hidden by a spider web. Above this is the platform where the dragon can be mounted. A bridge with a small catapult connects the two larger sections. This is likely going to be one of the more popular sets in this line, because only here can you get the dragon and the wizard. You have lots of interesting elements such as the treasure, crystal, and weapons. There are certainly a lot of scenarios which children can act out in this set. Combined with other sets, there are even more possibilities. This has been an instant hit with the kids.

stevesheriw
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HANDS OFF MY TREASURE
1/7/2014

Customer review by nutragz

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by nutragz
by nutragz

all in all a lovely box set, put it together with my eldest son who loves it and will play with it for hours, lovely little detail pieces in this, i like the wizard dude myself and the mouse with its mouse hole. only thing i would say against it is the amount of other things you can make with this set, your a bit limited, but with other lego bits it has some dream bits in to use, very happy with it

nutragz
sunderland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews