Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
42
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 114 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
They should call this WowTec
10/22/2013

Customer review by SFSharksFan

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by SFSharksFan
by SFSharksFan

I am really impressed by this shaver. As someone that has mostly shaved manually in the past, I was skeptical at first, but the closeness of the shave is better than I thought it would be, and the cooling technology is amazing! Of course it isn't as close as a razor blade shave, but I like the dual blades. It gives you the ability to change the angle of the shave better than with other electic razors. After I'm done, my skin feels better. Not sure if its because of the cooltec or what. In an industry where everything has seemed the same for YEARS, this is truly innovative technology, and I am loving it so far. I gave it 4 stars for 'Ease of Use' because most razors are plug and play. This one has a cleaning system too #which is awesome#, but you need to read the instructions. LOL.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFSharksFan
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Razor Close Shave with No Razor
10/28/2013

Customer review by rsttoy

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by rsttoy
by rsttoy

Love the CoolTec! It limits the irriatation and the occasional razor burn feel and redness. Another bonus is the charging and cleaning station so it is always charged and cleaned before use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsttoy
San Bruno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a difference!
10/16/2013

Customer review by FriendlySloth

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by FriendlySloth
by FriendlySloth

I've used a manual razor for most of my life and wanted to make the switch to something electric. Did some research and went with this brand and model... WOW. Shaving is so quick and painless now that I'm kicking myself for not switching sooner! My skin feels great after shaving which is something I never thought I'd experience. I don't know if it is because of the cooling technology or switching to electric, but it feels GREAT. The piece of metal that runs on your skin as you shave is definitely noticeable and part of the reason why I chose this shaver. The trimmer on the reverse side is great - I find myself using this just as much as the main razor. Works well for a stubble look or to get rid of the longer hairs on the back of the neck. The only downside I have with this is that the battery has to be charged well to get the best use out of it. I can feel it start to slow down as the battery gets low. Still useable, but not quite as effective. Would recommend this shaver to anyone. Affordable, durable, functional.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FriendlySloth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Greate Shaver
9/26/2013

Customer review by MomShopping

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by MomShopping
by MomShopping

I got this shaver for my husband and he loves it. It provides a clean shave and is very easy to use. I love the Clean & Renew system. I feel that it hygienically cleans the item. I love it that the shaver can be charged in 5 minutes. The price of the item is bit expensive, but the item is definitely high quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomShopping
San Mateo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Staff sparks
Top 500 contributor
A very good shaver, albeit gimmicky
12/9/2013

Customer review by Snausages

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Snausages
by Snausages

For me, nothing will replace shaving with a razor, but sometimes I just want a quick touch-up before heading out the door. That's where Braun comes in. I've had many Braun shavers over the years, and this is by far my most elaborate shaver: It has a charging & cleaning station, and something called "CoolTec" technology. Certainly this adds to the price, but is it worth it? Um, sort of. First, the razor feels good in my hand - it's a nice, comfortable weight with a sturdy grip. That for me is very important because, if it doesn't feel good, I won't use it. The motor is surprisingly quiet for its larger-than-average size. (See photo.) But the shave? Oh it's fine. I can't say it's closer than it is with other razors I've used, but I wasn't disappointed with it. The cooling bar is... interesting. It took some getting used to because at first it felt like I was pulling a dry ice cube across my face (which I found distracting). But after a few uses and one late-night comparison, I couldn't deny the absence of that hot, raw feeling I sometimes felt with my old shaver. So the CoolTec feels good (and MAYBE it reduces bumps?), but is no means essential for a comfortable shave. My first impression of the cleaning station was that it was excessive: You put the shaver in the station, press a button, and it cleans and lubricates the device. It extracts hair back into the disposable cartridge in the base, so the shaver is essentially like new each time you use it. That would be fine if it weren't for the cartridge, which isn't expensive to replace but is a consumable nonetheless. That's just one more thing to maintain. The cleaning cycle takes about three minutes, though you'll need to set the shaver aside to dry for a few hours before its next use. Still... I had no problem with tapping out my old shaver on the sink; as helpful and efficient as the cleaning station is, and despite the sense as it makes, I still think it's a bit ridiculous. If I purchased this shaver at a lower price and without the CoolTec technology and cleaning station, I would be happy with it. It handles well. As it is, the cooling is a luxurious add-on, and is potentially worth the extra expense for someone who shaves daily. The cleaning station is a great idea and it does work very well, but, since I don't have the counter space to keep it out all the time, I have a feeling it will end up in a closet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snausages
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Trusted reviewer - received free product
The cooling feature actually works
10/24/2013

Customer review by MDBROCK

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by MDBROCK
by MDBROCK

The pros: -Very well built. It feels durable and not cheap or flimsy. -The grip on the shaver is very ergonomic. It's a huge difference in shape from my old Braun which felt like holding an original Nintendo controller to this one which is like holding a Playstation controller. -Comes with an additional smaller cradle to charge instead of always having to use the cleaning station. -The trimmer on the back is either a pro or a con depending on your perspective. It nice that it's there but it seems smaller an underpowered compared to my old Braun's trimmer. -The cooling feature really works, no joke, no gimmick. It's a very unique sensation that feels like cold water being splashed on your skin without wetting your skin at all. The cons: -You'll see in my picture that the cooling strip is a piece of metal in the middle of the foil. What you don't see is that it extends into the handle. That means the head of the shaver doesn't pivot. Not a huge deal breaker but if you're used to a pivoting head, you're giving this up. You'll probably need to rework your shaving technique to get the results you'd expect. -The cleaning station is much larger than my old Braun shaver. So if you're cramped for counter space, this could be an issue. On the plus side, there is always the cradle for charging and you could just store the cleaning station until needed. Verdict: -The closeness of the shave, in my opinion, is what you'd expect out of an electric shaver. The closeness isn't going to blow your mind, but it gets the job done efficiently and cools your face at the same time. I love well engineered, geeky, products and this definitely meets my standards.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDBROCK
Pacifica, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Braun CoolTech cuts five day whiskers!!
11/26/2013

Customer review by LookingforBeth

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by LookingforBeth
by LookingforBeth

I am not an everyday shaver, and I shave about every five or six days. The new Braun gave me a great close shave with no pain. I have a drawer full of razors which would pull whiskers out by the roots after several days of growth. Some are less than a year old.. The Braun CoolTech has some weight to it, and feels good in the hand. It has a low hum when in use, and little vibration. When the razor encounters whiskers, it makes a rustling sound which I rather like. You know when you're getting a close shave. The trimmer also cuts close, but since it extends only slightly beyond the cutter foil. you cannot see what you're cutting. It's OK for sideburns, but not the moustache! The cleaner/charging unit seems to work well, so I've been leaving the razor in it. I wish there could be something to put over it to keep stuff from falling in. No problem so far... The 'cooling' function really surprised me! I does cool the cutter foil quite well, but then, it never did feel hot. I use a 'pre-shave' product before I use the shaver. The rotary head razors I've used over the years, really needed such a treatment. Most of the 'pre-shave' brands have a light lubricating oil, plus a skin conditioner. Nice! It seems to work well with the Braun as well. I mentioned earlier, that I had a drawer full of razors... Some are less than a year old. They never worked well. Consider value. I have spent close two hundred dollars on extinct razors in the last 18 months and I believe this new razor is good investment!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LookingforBeth
North East Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Trusted reviewer - received free product
Electric shavers are definitely the way to go!!
11/14/2013

Customer review by JBusta

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by JBusta
by JBusta

For years, I've been looking for an alternative to using regular razors but have been hesitant to put in the money for an electric shaver. This shaving system definitely is worth it's weight in gold and it couldn't have made my transition more seamless. It shaves really close with no problems and I don't have to worry about accidental cuts again. The shaver has a great weight to it and the rubber grip makes the shaver feel secure and natural in your hand. The shaver also has a trimming extension that allows you to shave lines or trim around sideburns. I found the CoolTec feature to be a little bit weird at first but after several shaves, I've found it to be very refreshing. The cleaning base is so convenient and really takes all the fuss out of cleaning and maintaing the shaver. I also love that it comes with a travel case. I recently went on a trip and having the travel case really beats packing the shaver by itself. This shaving system is a great value and has all the features that you could want in an electric shaver. And when you include the fact that it comes with a bunch of extra accessories, it made switching over that much sweeter!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBusta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
best electrical shaver I've ever used
10/25/2013

Customer review by OMGLOLSMH

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by OMGLOLSMH
by OMGLOLSMH

This shaver works very good, is gentle to the face and leaves a smooth shave. I especially like that its water proof, which makes it convenient to use in the shower and its easy to clean. Also, the quick 5 minute charge time is great so you dont have to wait long to use it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OMGLOLSMH
San Bruno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Electric Shaver
10/1/2013

Customer review by BigShot13

4.0 stars 10/1/2013 by BigShot13
by BigShot13

This shaver provides smooth and clean shave. Charges quickly, nice design and easy to hold. I would recommend this product to the people who feels burn after shave.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigShot13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Staff sparks
Top 1000 contributor
This is a great product
9/26/2013

Customer review by SMLBmama

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by SMLBmama
by SMLBmama

My wife gave me this to use. I have never tried an electric razor before. It is very easy to use and quick. It provides a very close shave. I have used it with and without electric pre-shave lotion and the cut is almost the same. The automatic cooling system, makes for a very comfortable experience. The only downside is when using the cleaning and charging unit, that unit takes up quite a bit of counter space. Otherwise I would highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a close, comfortable shave

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMLBmama
Half Moon Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Great shaver! very well designed... excellent gift
10/23/2013

Customer review by bascowasco

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by bascowasco
by bascowasco

Very quick to charge - It took only an hour to give you full battery. This shaver provides a close smooth shave and the cooling effect is a pleasant sensation. Well-built with large buttons and contours; has a high quality look and feel. Has soft touch grippy material and fits in large/clumsy hands nicely. Can be used in the shower without fear of dropping it. Power lock button is convenient for travelers (hold button for 3 sec). Hint: Stretch out skin for best results

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bascowasco
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Great product
1/4/2014

Customer review by Jlovebar

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Jlovebar
by Jlovebar

The product was a Christmas gift for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jlovebar
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Braun CoolTec Shaving System-Great gift!
10/29/2013

Customer review by productholic

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by productholic
by productholic

Gave to my husband to try who usually uses a rotary or manual razor. -Great presentation of item and accessories with a quick start guide -Is ready to use in only an hour -No mess because it keeps shaved hair inside instead of all over the sink -Nice weight and comes with a travel case -The cooling feature is nice for longer shaves when head of shaver sometimes gets too warm

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
productholic
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Cool Shaver
10/31/2013

Customer review by GCS1

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by GCS1
by GCS1

The first time I used this shaver I was amazed at how close it shaved. I've been using a Norelco for years so this was a great surprise. The "cool technology" is also a great bonus as it really adds comfort while shaving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GCS1
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Braun CoolTec is Cool!
9/5/2014

Customer review by Saffron101

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Saffron101
by Saffron101

The two blades contour nicely to your face, or legs, without much effort. The cooling feature is refreshing and feels especially nice if you're in a hot shower, and the handle fits easily in my hand and has enough weight to feel a little luxurious. I never knew that shaving at such cooler temperatures could make such a big difference but it does. This new technology is amazing. The closest shave ever with no irritation to talk about.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saffron101
San Francisco, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Didn't know I needed it
11/20/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Shaving is a hassle and I have never met anyone that enjoys it. I own a Braun 9595 electric shaver and I love it. I have had it for many years and it has been great. When Braun asked me to participate in a trial of a new razor, I was excited because of the experience I have had with my previous razor. They told me I was receiving a CoolTec razor that kept my face cool during shaving. I didn't know that my face was hot and the feeling of an electric shaver was better than trying not to cut my face with traditional razors. I received my CoolTec razor and read about it. I let the cooling bar cool off before I started to shave. I was amazed by how if felt on my face. It originally felt like the razor was wet and water was dripping on my face keeping it cool. I wiped my face with my hand and no water was there. I kept shaving and my face stayed cool. It was awesome. Like I said in my title, I didn't know that I needed this until after I tried it and now I love it. I tried my old razor the next day just to see the difference and I could really tell how hot my face got during shaving. What a great idea. I even shaved with my CoolTec on my days off and I don't think I have ever done that. The only negative comment I have about the razor is that with the cooling bar in the middle, the 2 blades are pretty far apart and the head is quite larger than my 9595. When I was shaving my upper lip, I was only using the top blade which took a little longer than with my previous razor. I like the fact that it is a quieter razor than my 9595, I only wish the head was smaller. Great invention Braun, you kept me as a customer.

An anonymous customer
Katy, TX
Great for a close, cool shave
11/20/2013

Customer review by jwoolwine

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by jwoolwine
by jwoolwine

As a Norelco shaver user, I have never tried a Braun shaver until now. I am amazed at the closeness of the shave and the CoolTec system was a surprise! My face felt much better after shaving with the Braun shaver over my old shaver. Much less irritation and less repetitious motion to finish the job. Great product!

jwoolwine
Kirkland, WA
braun cool tech shaver
11/19/2013

Customer review by mikecass742

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by mikecass742
by mikecass742

thanks to braun for the oppurtunity to try the braun cooltec shaver it worked ing system gave me a great shave with no irritation i would definetly reccomend to seasoned and new shavers great productreat the coolin flelt good. the 3 stage curt

mikecass742
New Bedford, MA
Technology Helps Shaving Burn
11/20/2013

Customer review by csw5ea

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by csw5ea
by csw5ea

I was given the chance to try out the new Braun CoolTec Shaving System, through a program run by Braun. I was skeptical at first since I have always had problems with electric shavers. I've used the CoolTec several times now and the cooling system has had an enormous impact! My skin doesn't chafe right away and it's a positive experience overall. You definitely feel the cooling the entire time you're shaving. The only downside I've seen is that it sometimes takes two passes at neck hair to get everything. Great product, great new technology -- I definitely recommend it.

csw5ea
Kansas City, MO
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews