Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 71 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Fan NEVER shuts off, not disclosed in description
1/14/2014

Customer review by cleansteve

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by cleansteve
by cleansteve

Got this for a great price, unboxed it to discover a label taped to the front saying that "it is normal for the fan to run continuously", it NEVER turns off, even when the set humidity level is reached! How this is Energy Star is beyond me! The only way to turn the fan off is to shut the unit off, so if it's in your basement you'd have to run there frequently to do this. And of course you have to reset the humidity level each time you turn it back on!! How long do you think the fan will last never turning off?? My last dehumidifier lasted almost 25 years, doubtful this one will do a fraction of that. What really irritates me is that none of this is disclosed on Walmart's or Danby's website. Returned it and went to Home Depot and got the GE 30 pint unit, which allows the fan to run for a few minutes after reaching the set humidity level to dry off the coils, then shuts off. Now that was a well thought-out way to do it. Paid about $20 more for the GE but I know I will make that up in lower electric bills!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cleansteve
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for unfinished basement
8/28/2013

Customer review by gottahavenow

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by gottahavenow
by gottahavenow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have an unfinshed / unliveable old basement that just has washer/dryer and furnace/water heater approx. 850 sq ft. It has always been very wet and very musty. Finally bought a dehumidifier after weeks of research. Was going to buy the 50 pint model, but according to all the specs this 30 pint should do the job for the square footage. ( plus, you cannot beat the price) Right out of the box it was so simple to set up. I bought this model exclusively due to the included 6 ft hose that I could hook up and directly drain it to my sump pump ! I have now haad it for 2 weeks and have to say it is doing it's job! The humidity level was 73 before I hooked it up, within 7 days the humidity is down to 60, and there is no musty smell at all in my basement. the best thing is I can run it 24/7 and never have to empty the bucket as the moisture is flowing directly to my sump pump. I do not hear it running at all. It does make the basement a bit warmer (maybe 5-10 degrees), but the basement is not used for anything but laundry. Love this dehumidifer, not sure if the 50 pint would have removed more moisture faster or not, but this 30 pinter is certainly doing the job ! Very Happy with this purchase !

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gottahavenow
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best I have found
8/16/2013

Customer review by Halengineer

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Halengineer
by Halengineer

This little unit is ideal. It is very, very quiet. Have it in a basement about 300 square feet (small). Controls humidity ay 50% plus or minus a couple. Have fan on low speed. I like the the temperature and humidity display. Note the fan runs ALL the time (how else would you move the air around?). For $19 you get an extra 3 years of full warranty, a no brainer for a full five years. All the others I have tried failed shortly within a year or two. Frigidaire just bought back my second one that went bad. Walmart's price is also the best and shipping to home is fast.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Halengineer
Sanford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/12/2013

Customer review by pluckyduck

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by pluckyduck
by pluckyduck

It works as expected. In the 1st 6 hours it removed over 1 gallon of water from the air and reduced the humidity 15%. It does put out some heat but that is to be expected of all dehumidifiers that do not have an outside air ventilation system.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pluckyduck
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good little machine
8/9/2013

Customer review by imaprchr

4.0 stars 8/9/2013 by imaprchr
by imaprchr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After around two weeks, I think I should have gotten a bigger capacity dehumidifer, but this 30 pt one is doing a good job. I got it for the main living area in my house, and it fills up twice a day. I just make sure to empty it in the morning and in the evenings. It is much more comfortable in the house now than it was before. I have been able to raise the AC 3* warmer and stay cool! After reading some of the other reviews I was worried it would be noisy, but that is not the case at all. This one just hums along (so far). Maybe I just got a "quiet" one. Can't really comment about dependability yet, as I haven't had it very long, but got a two year warranty from the manufacturer. We'll see. Overall? Very satisfied with this Danby dehumidifier.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imaprchr
Chattanooga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/31/2013

Customer review by Kokomo515

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Kokomo515
by Kokomo515
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first product came very fast, but unfortunately, the sensor was malfunctioning and I had to return it to Walmart. This, however, was a very easy process, so I ordered a second one hoping for better results. The next one also arrived quickly, and this time, without any problems. It is a very nice unit: quiet operation, removes large volumes of moisture from the air in a short amount of time. It has lived up to all it promised. It does put off a lot of heat as it does it's job, so if you have it in a small space, be prepared for the temp in your room to rise considerably while this is operating. I needed to remove humidity from an older home that has an earthen crawl space beneath the floors and tends to collect moisture easily. I am glad I made this purchase and would highly recommend it. My musty smells are gone and the dampness has been removed. I would purchase this again and it is a great price from Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kokomo515
Oberlin, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/22/2013

Customer review by razorace

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by razorace
by razorace
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We put this in our basement and it started working immediately removing the moisture out of the air. It runs very quiet. Does put out lot of warm air, so it will heat the room up..Shipped right away from Walmart and in great condition..

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
razorace
Siler City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dehumidifier
7/28/2013

Customer review by Beauty34

3.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Beauty34
by Beauty34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought it on july 10th. it shipped at the walmart ready to pickup on july 12th so i use it for in the basement its been 2 wks. Mold didnt disappear yet so i have to use bleach to wash it. but dehumidifier helped to stop mold from growing more. better than worse. if u have mold in the basement then i recommend u to buy it. hard to see water fill or not. it have blow out on the top and suck air in only front. its different than i tho. i tho only suck air in till i opened the product. its little heavy when water is full. but its nice to carry easy and pour water out. first day it will get water full twice a day till 2 wks later less water once in each 2 days. hope this help. im not great at english.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beauty34
Midland, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dehumidifier!
7/26/2013

Customer review by SethHC

4.0 stars 7/26/2013 by SethHC
by SethHC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After working for about 12 hours, the Danby decreased the humidity in our basement from 78% to 64%. I was really impressed by how quickly it works. It does give off a little heat, so it's not perfect to have in a living area that is already hot (like our upstairs bedroom), but it does what it's supposed to. I guess if I wanted cool air, I would have bought an air conditioner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SethHC
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really does the job !!!!
9/9/2013

Customer review by Officiallyold

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Officiallyold
by Officiallyold
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 15" of rain in July we had a problem with a WET basement. Not enough for a sump pump but just enough that the wet concrete would not dry and the drywall was growing mold. YUCK !!!! Bought this unit and it's amazing. Ran it 24/7 for about a month, never had any problems with it, and like I said .... it REALLY does the job !!!! I actually bought it because of the reviews so here's another good one. One person said that the handle on the water container broke but ours works just fine. For those (like me) who did not know anything about dehumidifiers when it says 30 pints it means in a 24 hour period it will remove up to 30 pints (not that the unit holds 30 pints. The water bucket holds about 5 quarts and if my math was correct it takes about 9 hours to fill). Again I would not hesitate to recommend this little "workhorse" !! ...and FYI I did my homework and Walmart had the best price with free shipping. You can't beat that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Officiallyold
Monticello, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality of Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifie
8/20/2013

Customer review by Starlander

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Starlander
by Starlander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Central heat / air pump went out & could not afford a new one for the apartment; I purchased a window unit and after that a Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier, my bed sheets were feeling 'water logged' I had no idea what the problem was - after researching ; knew I needed a dehumidifier, searched for the best deal, best operation one. I settled on the Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier; it is fantastic. It will pull water out of air efficiently - lately I am emptying the bucket twice daily! I had no ide there was that much H2O in the air!! Amazing. Unit is quiet; efficient, very satisfied w/ unit!! Recommend to anyone!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starlander
Calhoun GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
8/20/2013

Customer review by Binh2

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Binh2
by Binh2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I attached the hose that came with the dehumidifier and drain the water into the washer drain pipe in the basement. The humidifier is put on a shelf and is higher than the water drain, of course. It works flawlessly and my basement is made liveable again. It was so humid and funky smelling before. I did have to wipe down everything with bleach to get rid of the mold, but after that, all is well. I highly recommend this product. It's completely maintenance free with this set up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Binh2
Hudson, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2013

Customer review by RetNavyCpo

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by RetNavyCpo
by RetNavyCpo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this Dehumidifier to replace a much older one. It has meet all of my expectations so far. It has kept my basement at a nice temp/humidity level. I would recommend this item to anyone that is looking for a good value for the money. I was pleased that it came with a drain line. So all i had to do was hook it up put it in the drain and plug in the machine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetNavyCpo
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
seems to be working
8/30/2013

Customer review by hellokitty13

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by hellokitty13
by hellokitty13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for a renter that lives in our daylight basement. The renter was having to put up damp-rid bags and they will filling up! So I bought her this dehumidifier she said it was pulling water out of the air right away. It does need to be emptied every day. That could be because of the wet conditions in a basement in Seattle or the machine is just that awesome that it pulls 30 pints every 24 hours! It's too soon to tell if the dehumidifier will solve the issue. But it is placed in an area where people live, sleep, watch TV, eat etc and they said it's not too loud, like having a fan on or running a A/C So far the renter is happy or has no complaints

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hellokitty13
seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good low cost dehumidifier
9/4/2013

Customer review by SabreFanatic

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by SabreFanatic
by SabreFanatic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the dehumidifier for use in my basement. When I picked up the product from the store I could tell it had been repackaged, meaning someone else had probably returned this unit. Pros: Setup was very easy, just power it up and set the fan speed and humidity setting. Within one day it had filled the bucket with water. Cons: The instruction alluded there was a PVC hose included that could be used for continual draining. There was none in the box. I connected an old washer hose which initially did not allow for draining. Found I had tightened it too much. Loosened the connection until water would not leak and it started draining okay. Unit is noisy at times. The water bucket simply slides in and after a few hours of use becomes a little loose and something inside starts to rattle. I had a couple of small bungee cords and wrapped them around the unit to keep the bucket tight. Fan runs all the time to circulate air. I have the humidity setting set for 55% but the compressor is still running even when the display said the current humidity was at 52%. I may end up returning this unit for another of the same model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SabreFanatic
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay, but already making a strange noise.
7/22/2013

Customer review by CourtF

2.0 stars 7/22/2013 by CourtF
by CourtF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I live in MA and it's been quite humid this summer (2013). We purchased this item for our 800 square foot living room/kitchen area, and after running the dehumidifier for approx. 3 days continously (with a setting goal of 50% and the fan/motor on high), we are already noticing a strange rattling noise when it's on. If you do the gentle "technical" tap that my Mechanical Engineer husband taught me, it stops rattling for about 2-4 seconds, & then starts again. The tank will fill in about 4-6 hours if on high, set at 50% humidity, on a really humid/wet day. I'm hesitant to recommend the product fully, because I have no idea what that rattle is going to lead to.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CourtF
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
1/14/2014

Customer review by veejdare

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by veejdare
by veejdare
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just what we were looking for. We got this for our RV and are happy with it so far. No more water on the windows when we are in places with high humidity. And it does not take up a lot of space!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
veejdare
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Dehumidifier
8/30/2013

Customer review by Potter65

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Potter65
by Potter65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this in our basement which is from the 1800's and made of laid stone. It works great and really removes the dampness quickly. It currently operates in a 1000 sqft and does a superb job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Potter65
VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by jcjets

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by jcjets
by jcjets
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product for the price. Especially like the timer function.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcjets
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Dehumidifier
8/30/2013

Customer review by PP9876

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by PP9876
by PP9876
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice and small, very quiet. I gave it 4 of 5 stars because sometimes the fan will make a loud rattling noise until I move the unit but I think thats because the unit is on thick carpet and us thus not level. On a level floor it probably wouldn't do that. Has a digital thermometer which tells you the room temp and also has a digital humidistat to show you what humidity you have it on, and what the actual humidity is, which is really nice. The fan has high and low which is nice, I keep it on low, the fan is always running even when the room reaches the set humidity which I like to keep air moving in the basement. Comes with a nice long hose to make it easy to drain. Overall really happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PP9876
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews