Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 621 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

621 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

621 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
242
4 stars
174
3 stars
77
2 stars
51
1 stars
77
1-20 of 620 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 620 total reviews
1-20 of 620 reviews
Gift
8/30/2013

Customer review by LadyWhat

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by LadyWhat
by LadyWhat

I got this as a gift for my daughter who lives with her father and she loves it more than anything we have ever bought her including the dolls. She is totally fascinated with this dream house. By the way she is only ten years old.

Was this review helpful? (186) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyWhat
Hinesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
After a difficult assembly, so worth every penny!
9/30/2013

Customer review by BabyElan

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by BabyElan
by BabyElan

As with most toys these days, assembly was quite complicated until we found a YouTube video that helped tremendously. This Dreamhouse is all you could ever want in a Barbie creation for young and old. Lots of little parts, which actually make it even more fun! The sounds are fantastic, wish there were more. Once put together, it's very sturdy, enough so that we can move it from room to room. To use with Barbies or any doll that size for that matter, our daughter will be enjoying this for so many years.

Was this review helpful? (105) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyElan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An ultimate collection for kids
8/18/2014

Customer review by Juaning

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Juaning
by Juaning

Barbie's Dream House is my daughter's dream toy. She is so happy to have it and said to me, "Papa, this is the best gift that I've ever had". Yes, it is a very nice collection for the kids. They can keep it until they become older.

Was this review helpful? (105) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juaning
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun for all Ages
9/19/2013

Customer review by MamaCat83

4.0 stars 9/19/2013 by MamaCat83
by MamaCat83

I am a member of One2One Network, I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review, and all opinions are my own. The first thing my 4 year old daughter noticed about the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse is how big it is. She stands just a few inches taller than the assembled house, which is life-size for Barbie dolls. We both love this feature because both of my girls can play side-by- side and I can even join in on the fun with plenty of room inside the house to explore. Assembly Assembling any child’s toy is probably my least favorite “mom chore”. There’s always a dozens of pieces and the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse was no exception. The included assembly instructions really need an update. Currently they offer just photos with few written instructions making the assembly process difficult to understand. I found myself extremely frustrated and ready to wave the white flag several times. There is an online instruction video available that offers a great deal of help for some of the trickier parts – like assembling the main elevator. Unfortunately, that video doesn’t cover ALL of the steps. Using both you can probably assemble the Dreamhouse in about an hour. Inside the Barbie Dreamhouse The real fun begins as soon as Barbie walks through the double doors on the first floor. There’s a working doorbell that’s battery powered and a manually operated elevator that takes Barbie through each floor of the house. As she travels through the six rooms, each with a unique theme, you’ll discover fun features. In the kitchen there’s a blender button that makes noise, in the bathroom a flushing toilet, a flip screen tv in the living room and more. I don’t want to give away all of the secrets because they’re a lot of fun to discover on your own. While there are so many features of the Barbie Dreamhouse that we love, there have been some issues along the way. Aside from the assembly instructions being difficult to understand, in the first week we had several parts break easily. The front doors tend to fall off quite easily and some of the white railings like the one in the bathroom and the balcony fall off. We also find that the main elevator get’s stuck between floors. While it’s not necessarily a problem, it should be noted that the Barbie Dreamhouse comes with a lot of smart parts and accessories (food for the fridge, hangers, dishes, cups, etc) . These can make imaginative play a lot of fun for kids but frustrating for parents when they small parts get spread throughout the house and easily lost. Overall, our 4 and 6 year old daughters have had a lot of fun playing with the Dreamhouse. It’s a huge improvement over the 2012 Dreamhouse that I think most kids will fall in love with.

Was this review helpful? (80) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaCat83
Chatham, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
gift givers BEWARE!!
11/18/2013

Customer review by DIANNA63

2.0 stars 11/18/2013 by DIANNA63
by DIANNA63

Gift givers BEWARE!! This product is delivered in the original packaging! It ruined the Santa gift!!!! Will review again once I get it together, just wanted to give a heads up so it does't happen to anyone else!

Was this review helpful? (48) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIANNA63
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My daughter has last year's (or the year before's maybe?) Barbie Dreamhouse. There are some definite improvements to this newer product. The curved pink faux-glass elevator is much more fab than the old elevator. The closet in the upstairs bedroom is great! We never had anything to do with all the barbie clothing hangers before... now there is a solution! My daughter loved the pet bed and the living rooms built in wall seat. The pictures on the walls were awesome too. Only downgrade from the old dream house is that this one lacks a hot tub and the upstairs deck is so much smaller and weaker. Overall awesome though.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
What a HUGE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Twins4me1

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Twins4me1
by Twins4me1

We purchased this for my daughter who is 4 1/2. This is all she asked for for Christmas. It took my husband hours to put it together. Then another hour for us to finish with stickers and adding the little pieces on Christmas Eve. The elevator has never worked right, after it was played with for an hour or so, it now is broken! A piece on the wall falls off continuously! The doors fall off continuously ! The sad part is, she really likes it! She loves the flushing toliet, singing shower and the elevator(that Does not work) This was $149.00!!!!!!! A complete waste of money! I am now trying to convince her that Santa has it set up with Walmart that you can return the toys if they are broken so you can get a new or different one? What are you supposed to tell a 4 year old that so believes in Santa? We are hoping to take this back and exchange for a wooden dollhouse! Just waiting on her approval! It is a cute product, but someone needs to make things better!

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twins4me1
Midlothian,Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the cost.
7/4/2013

Customer review by Lexxus12315

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Lexxus12315
by Lexxus12315

This item is very frustrating to put together. The design of the elevator does not allow it to work properly, especially for a child. There are too many very small pieces. The rooms are too small for full size, typical size Barbie and/or friends. It is no where near what I expected for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (53) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lexxus12315
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst Product Ever - Ruined Christmas
12/26/2013

Customer review by AnonHOU

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by AnonHOU
by AnonHOU

This was the main Christmas gift my daughter was looking forward to from "Santa". The fact that it came out of the box broken is not even the worst part. The instructions are utterly worthless. It is a single page of tiny pictures with no words - completely incomprehensible. They even include a 2nd set of color "instructions" that completely mock the customer. One item states "Use these simple instructions for hours......hours of fun". Nothing simple about it & yes, you will spend frustrating hours attempting to assemble. The last picture on this 2nd set of instructions states along the lines "don't give up, keep going. After assembly, then enjoy putting on a 1,000 stickers." Instead of mocking the customer, Mattel should fix the problem. Put together a comprehensive set of instructions with full-size pictures & words. Don't rely on people to figure it out either on their own or watching YouTube videos. Needless to say, we returned it despite the utter disappointment of our daughter.

Was this review helpful? (37) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnonHOU
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/19/2013

Customer review by yourmoney

3.0 stars 7/19/2013 by yourmoney
by yourmoney

this Barbie dreamhouse should have come with better instuctions on putting it together.i think its priced to high 100.00-110.00 would have been priced high enough instead of 160.00plus tax.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yourmoney
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of fun for kids, hope it lasts a long time!
9/23/2013

Customer review by GirlGoneMom

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by GirlGoneMom
by GirlGoneMom

This dreamhouse is tailor-made for Barbie and I must say that it is impressive. We arrived home from the beach one summer day to find the big pink box sitting on our doorstep. My daughter was beyond excited - the box was almost bigger than her! A few days later, daddy got to work and assembled Barbie's new home. He had a hard time putting this together, but it's all worth it in the end seeing how much the kids and their friends enjoy playing with it. The 3 1/3 foot tall, six-room playhouse is very detailed and extravagant, proving the Barbie is doing quite well for herself. There is a doorbell, the toilet flushes, the television flips channels, there are even hangers in the closet and a turkey for the oven. Barbie's house is equipped with two elevators that work by pulling strings. I wasn't expecting my 16 month-old son to enjoy the playhouse as much if not more than my daughter. He absolutely loves the musical aspect to it and will dance to the music and sounds. My daughter also loves the sounds throughout the house but she especially likes that this house is made just for Barbie. Because of the small parts - and there are many - this toy is recommended for children over the age of three. I removed all of the small pieces that were loose so that Ryan can't get to them. The playhouse is not as sturdy as I would like it to be but the kids are loving it. I just hope that it holds up to their abuse! I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation and product to facilitate my review, but all opinions stated are my own.

Was this review helpful? (26) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GirlGoneMom
Southampton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT WORTH THE MONEY
12/30/2013

Customer review by reviewingmomof3

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by reviewingmomof3
by reviewingmomof3

It is horrible that Mattel is putting their name on an inferior product! When we opened the box, the stickers were already peeling off. The instructions were horrible! It wasn't until I called Mattel about another issue that they said they put an instructional video on Youtube. That would have been good to know when we were putting it together. The Dream House is more of a Nightmare. If you had or ever played with a Dream house from the 80's you will be very disappointed. The plastic is VERY cheap. for $150+ you would expect it to be made from a sturdy plastic. It will be broken within 6 months. From the time of assembly the elevator won't work. The front doors popped off the first day. The supports for the bed and table broke when I was putting it together and not using a lot of force. Mattel is replacing my unit but I have no doubt that it will be the same issue. I told them I would give them one more chance. DO yourself a favor and go to ebay or craig's list and buy an original dream house. It will be worth the money

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewingmomof3
Norwich,CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Doll House, Lousy Delivery
12/18/2013

Customer review by snowbird1962

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by snowbird1962
by snowbird1962

The Doll house is very nice and luckily survived the delivery. My daugher said that Fed Ex literally just opened the door and tossed it out in the middle of the drive way and drove off. No care if it got damaged or anyone was home to receive it. I have had that same type of care with other things sent/delivered through Fed Ex and think WalMart should consider another carrier.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowbird1962
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't Wait!
11/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I cannot wait to give this to my ten year old girl. I always wanted to get one of my own when I was a little girl, but never did, so, when my ten year old asked for one I ordered it from Wal Mart right away. I also ordered on a day that Wal Mart slashed the price for an early bird special. Thank you Wal Mart. Oh and I am getting me and my older daughter Barbie dolls because it is never too late to play!

Was this review helpful? (33) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged
12/22/2013

Customer review by Moogoo1

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Moogoo1
by Moogoo1

Item was received with box damage,tore open , bent & appeared to have moisture damage the label was wrinkled. Doors will not close, elevator does not work. The item was received as pictures below show

Was this review helpful? (26) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moogoo1
Weesatche,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/26/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/26/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My daughter could spend hours playing with the house. It has some elevator issues and does not seem as sturdy as the dream house I had when I was a child. But...it has some cool new features and my daughter loves it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
great product very poor instructions.
11/19/2013

Customer review by greenrover

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by greenrover
by greenrover

the people who wrote and set up the instructions forgot we live in america.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenrover
lakeland,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My granddaughter loves it
9/26/2014

Customer review by Homealone63

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by Homealone63
by Homealone63

My nine year old granddaughter fell in love with this dollhouse the first time she saw it. When she came home from school on yesterday, she was very surprised and excited to see that I had bought it for her. I told her that we had to hire someone to assemble it. She told me that she could assemble it. I told her that she could not do it, because I had read the reviews and people were stating that it was very difficult to assemble. I told her if adults found it hard to assemble, a nine year old would never be able to do it. She kept asking and I finally agreed to allow her to do it. To my surprise, this little nine year old assembled this dollhouse, with no help from me. The finished product is beautiful. My granddaughter is spending hours playing with it. The toilet is flushing, there is singing in the shower, and the elevators are working. I am so amazed. I have sent pictures of the assembled dollhouse to all my friends and family. She has received so many compliments.

Was this review helpful? (151) (165)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Homealone63
Tyler, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Difficult Assembly, Fun Play
9/11/2013

Customer review by CandaceApril

3.0 stars 9/11/2013 by CandaceApril
by CandaceApril

I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse as part of a One2One Network review campaign and all opinions are my own. Before my daughter could get to exploring, I had to assemble the house. I knew this would be a challenging task when I saw the included one sheet featuring Barbie and a flustered Ken, poking fun at the number of parts and stickers involved. I took one look at the printed instructions and jumped immediately to the Barbie Dreamhouse Assembly Instructional Video. A little over an hour later, I had the house mostly assembled. The lower side walls keep popping off, as do the front doors. The main elevator sticks just below the third floor. There is an included sheet that says that if the elevator is "immobile," I should "force" it back into place. After another half hour, I had all the stickers on and the furniture assembled. All that effort was definitely worth the look on my little girl's face. She's fairly tall for her age (7 years old and over four feet tall) and the Dreamhouse is huge! She immediately went right for the elevator and loved the jeweled pulls that operate it. When I asked her about her favorite feature, she said, "ELEVATOR! ELEVATOR, ELEVATOR!" After she had the elevator figured out, she decided to take her dolls (Belle and Mulan Barbie) through a typical day: waking up (there's a trundle bed for guests), brushing teeth and showering (she said the toilet makes it extra realistic), making and eating breakfast, getting dressed, and relaxing on the balcony (another favorite feature). She really loved the closet elevator idea, too. Heck, I'd like a dressing room like that! In Barbie's kitchen, there's a recycling bin--a cute touch that shows how Barbie is keeping up with the times. As a parent, I appreciate that most of the little food, decoration, and other prop accessories (and there are tons) can be snapped onto tables and counter tops and mantles. My daughter has spent about an hour rearranging and redecorating and giving her dolls elevator rides. And she's eager to find all the sounds and lights throughout the house. With lots of time, attention to detail, and a little improvisation, you can "build" this Dreamhouse for your Barbie fan, who is sure to get hours of enjoyment playing with it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CandaceApril
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Barbie dream house
5/4/2014

Customer review by Cyn1964

3.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Cyn1964
by Cyn1964

Love the finished product. HAted the assembly process. Instructions are terrible needs a instructional DVD. I gave up and went to YouTube and found instructions there. I would like the elevators to slide easier and the furniture to be sturdier. My granddaughter loves it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyn1964
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 620 total reviews
1-20 of 620 reviews