Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 705 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

705 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

705 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
312
4 stars
188
3 stars
77
2 stars
51
1 stars
77
1-20 of 704 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 704 total reviews
1-20 of 704 reviews
Damaged
12/22/2013

Customer review by Moogoo1

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Moogoo1
by Moogoo1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item was received with box damage,tore open , bent & appeared to have moisture damage the label was wrinkled. Doors will not close, elevator does not work. The item was received as pictures below show

Was this review helpful? (27) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moogoo1
Weesatche,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dreamy, but BROKEN!
10/6/2014

Customer review by SStheMomOf2

2.0 stars 10/6/2014 by SStheMomOf2
by SStheMomOf2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for my 6 year olds birthday. First, it was delivered after the anticiapted "site to store" date they gave me prior to paying for it. So, she got it a day late. Then, by the time we got it home and opened it... there were cracks in many of the pieces. The product is amazing for any little girl... lots of bells and whistles - really cool! We did not have heart to return it, since she already got the gift late. We were able to still put it together and did not want her gift to be delayed even further. However, after paying $160.00 for a toy, I expect it to be perfect. Wal Mart needs to be a little less careless when making deliveries site to store... this is the 2nd time a large purchase of mine from Wal Mart was damaged. I will not be ordering things from them in the future.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SStheMomOf2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
After a difficult assembly, so worth every penny!
9/30/2013

Customer review by BabyElan

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by BabyElan
by BabyElan

As with most toys these days, assembly was quite complicated until we found a YouTube video that helped tremendously. This Dreamhouse is all you could ever want in a Barbie creation for young and old. Lots of little parts, which actually make it even more fun! The sounds are fantastic, wish there were more. Once put together, it's very sturdy, enough so that we can move it from room to room. To use with Barbies or any doll that size for that matter, our daughter will be enjoying this for so many years.

Was this review helpful? (107) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyElan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An ultimate collection for kids
8/18/2014

Customer review by Juaning

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Juaning
by Juaning
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Barbie's Dream House is my daughter's dream toy. She is so happy to have it and said to me, "Papa, this is the best gift that I've ever had". Yes, it is a very nice collection for the kids. They can keep it until they become older.

Was this review helpful? (109) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juaning
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun for all Ages
9/19/2013

Customer review by MamaCat83

4.0 stars 9/19/2013 by MamaCat83
by MamaCat83

I am a member of One2One Network, I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review, and all opinions are my own. The first thing my 4 year old daughter noticed about the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse is how big it is. She stands just a few inches taller than the assembled house, which is life-size for Barbie dolls. We both love this feature because both of my girls can play side-by- side and I can even join in on the fun with plenty of room inside the house to explore. Assembly Assembling any child’s toy is probably my least favorite “mom chore”. There’s always a dozens of pieces and the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse was no exception. The included assembly instructions really need an update. Currently they offer just photos with few written instructions making the assembly process difficult to understand. I found myself extremely frustrated and ready to wave the white flag several times. There is an online instruction video available that offers a great deal of help for some of the trickier parts – like assembling the main elevator. Unfortunately, that video doesn’t cover ALL of the steps. Using both you can probably assemble the Dreamhouse in about an hour. Inside the Barbie Dreamhouse The real fun begins as soon as Barbie walks through the double doors on the first floor. There’s a working doorbell that’s battery powered and a manually operated elevator that takes Barbie through each floor of the house. As she travels through the six rooms, each with a unique theme, you’ll discover fun features. In the kitchen there’s a blender button that makes noise, in the bathroom a flushing toilet, a flip screen tv in the living room and more. I don’t want to give away all of the secrets because they’re a lot of fun to discover on your own. While there are so many features of the Barbie Dreamhouse that we love, there have been some issues along the way. Aside from the assembly instructions being difficult to understand, in the first week we had several parts break easily. The front doors tend to fall off quite easily and some of the white railings like the one in the bathroom and the balcony fall off. We also find that the main elevator get’s stuck between floors. While it’s not necessarily a problem, it should be noted that the Barbie Dreamhouse comes with a lot of smart parts and accessories (food for the fridge, hangers, dishes, cups, etc) . These can make imaginative play a lot of fun for kids but frustrating for parents when they small parts get spread throughout the house and easily lost. Overall, our 4 and 6 year old daughters have had a lot of fun playing with the Dreamhouse. It’s a huge improvement over the 2012 Dreamhouse that I think most kids will fall in love with.

Was this review helpful? (82) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaCat83
Chatham, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lots of fun for kids, hope it lasts a long time!
9/23/2013

Customer review by GirlGoneMom

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by GirlGoneMom
by GirlGoneMom

This dreamhouse is tailor-made for Barbie and I must say that it is impressive. We arrived home from the beach one summer day to find the big pink box sitting on our doorstep. My daughter was beyond excited - the box was almost bigger than her! A few days later, daddy got to work and assembled Barbie's new home. He had a hard time putting this together, but it's all worth it in the end seeing how much the kids and their friends enjoy playing with it. The 3 1/3 foot tall, six-room playhouse is very detailed and extravagant, proving the Barbie is doing quite well for herself. There is a doorbell, the toilet flushes, the television flips channels, there are even hangers in the closet and a turkey for the oven. Barbie's house is equipped with two elevators that work by pulling strings. I wasn't expecting my 16 month-old son to enjoy the playhouse as much if not more than my daughter. He absolutely loves the musical aspect to it and will dance to the music and sounds. My daughter also loves the sounds throughout the house but she especially likes that this house is made just for Barbie. Because of the small parts - and there are many - this toy is recommended for children over the age of three. I removed all of the small pieces that were loose so that Ryan can't get to them. The playhouse is not as sturdy as I would like it to be but the kids are loving it. I just hope that it holds up to their abuse! I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation and product to facilitate my review, but all opinions stated are my own.

Was this review helpful? (26) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GirlGoneMom
Southampton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Barbie dream house
5/4/2014

Customer review by Cyn1964

3.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Cyn1964
by Cyn1964
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the finished product. HAted the assembly process. Instructions are terrible needs a instructional DVD. I gave up and went to YouTube and found instructions there. I would like the elevators to slide easier and the furniture to be sturdier. My granddaughter loves it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyn1964
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult Assembly, Fun Play
9/11/2013

Customer review by CandaceApril

3.0 stars 9/11/2013 by CandaceApril
by CandaceApril

I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse as part of a One2One Network review campaign and all opinions are my own. Before my daughter could get to exploring, I had to assemble the house. I knew this would be a challenging task when I saw the included one sheet featuring Barbie and a flustered Ken, poking fun at the number of parts and stickers involved. I took one look at the printed instructions and jumped immediately to the Barbie Dreamhouse Assembly Instructional Video. A little over an hour later, I had the house mostly assembled. The lower side walls keep popping off, as do the front doors. The main elevator sticks just below the third floor. There is an included sheet that says that if the elevator is "immobile," I should "force" it back into place. After another half hour, I had all the stickers on and the furniture assembled. All that effort was definitely worth the look on my little girl's face. She's fairly tall for her age (7 years old and over four feet tall) and the Dreamhouse is huge! She immediately went right for the elevator and loved the jeweled pulls that operate it. When I asked her about her favorite feature, she said, "ELEVATOR! ELEVATOR, ELEVATOR!" After she had the elevator figured out, she decided to take her dolls (Belle and Mulan Barbie) through a typical day: waking up (there's a trundle bed for guests), brushing teeth and showering (she said the toilet makes it extra realistic), making and eating breakfast, getting dressed, and relaxing on the balcony (another favorite feature). She really loved the closet elevator idea, too. Heck, I'd like a dressing room like that! In Barbie's kitchen, there's a recycling bin--a cute touch that shows how Barbie is keeping up with the times. As a parent, I appreciate that most of the little food, decoration, and other prop accessories (and there are tons) can be snapped onto tables and counter tops and mantles. My daughter has spent about an hour rearranging and redecorating and giving her dolls elevator rides. And she's eager to find all the sounds and lights throughout the house. With lots of time, attention to detail, and a little improvisation, you can "build" this Dreamhouse for your Barbie fan, who is sure to get hours of enjoyment playing with it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CandaceApril
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worst Product Ever - Ruined Christmas
12/26/2013

Customer review by AnonHOU

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by AnonHOU
by AnonHOU

This was the main Christmas gift my daughter was looking forward to from "Santa". The fact that it came out of the box broken is not even the worst part. The instructions are utterly worthless. It is a single page of tiny pictures with no words - completely incomprehensible. They even include a 2nd set of color "instructions" that completely mock the customer. One item states "Use these simple instructions for hours......hours of fun". Nothing simple about it & yes, you will spend frustrating hours attempting to assemble. The last picture on this 2nd set of instructions states along the lines "don't give up, keep going. After assembly, then enjoy putting on a 1,000 stickers." Instead of mocking the customer, Mattel should fix the problem. Put together a comprehensive set of instructions with full-size pictures & words. Don't rely on people to figure it out either on their own or watching YouTube videos. Needless to say, we returned it despite the utter disappointment of our daughter.

Was this review helpful? (38) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonHOU
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT WORTH THE MONEY
12/30/2013

Customer review by reviewingmomof3

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by reviewingmomof3
by reviewingmomof3

It is horrible that Mattel is putting their name on an inferior product! When we opened the box, the stickers were already peeling off. The instructions were horrible! It wasn't until I called Mattel about another issue that they said they put an instructional video on Youtube. That would have been good to know when we were putting it together. The Dream House is more of a Nightmare. If you had or ever played with a Dream house from the 80's you will be very disappointed. The plastic is VERY cheap. for $150+ you would expect it to be made from a sturdy plastic. It will be broken within 6 months. From the time of assembly the elevator won't work. The front doors popped off the first day. The supports for the bed and table broke when I was putting it together and not using a lot of force. Mattel is replacing my unit but I have no doubt that it will be the same issue. I told them I would give them one more chance. DO yourself a favor and go to ebay or craig's list and buy an original dream house. It will be worth the money

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewingmomof3
Norwich,CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a HUGE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Twins4me1

1.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Twins4me1
by Twins4me1

We purchased this for my daughter who is 4 1/2. This is all she asked for for Christmas. It took my husband hours to put it together. Then another hour for us to finish with stickers and adding the little pieces on Christmas Eve. The elevator has never worked right, after it was played with for an hour or so, it now is broken! A piece on the wall falls off continuously! The doors fall off continuously ! The sad part is, she really likes it! She loves the flushing toliet, singing shower and the elevator(that Does not work) This was $149.00!!!!!!! A complete waste of money! I am now trying to convince her that Santa has it set up with Walmart that you can return the toys if they are broken so you can get a new or different one? What are you supposed to tell a 4 year old that so believes in Santa? We are hoping to take this back and exchange for a wooden dollhouse! Just waiting on her approval! It is a cute product, but someone needs to make things better!

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twins4me1
Midlothian,Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My granddaughter loves it
9/26/2014

Customer review by Homealone63

5.0 stars 9/26/2014 by Homealone63
by Homealone63

My nine year old granddaughter fell in love with this dollhouse the first time she saw it. When she came home from school on yesterday, she was very surprised and excited to see that I had bought it for her. I told her that we had to hire someone to assemble it. She told me that she could assemble it. I told her that she could not do it, because I had read the reviews and people were stating that it was very difficult to assemble. I told her if adults found it hard to assemble, a nine year old would never be able to do it. She kept asking and I finally agreed to allow her to do it. To my surprise, this little nine year old assembled this dollhouse, with no help from me. The finished product is beautiful. My granddaughter is spending hours playing with it. The toilet is flushing, there is singing in the shower, and the elevators are working. I am so amazed. I have sent pictures of the assembled dollhouse to all my friends and family. She has received so many compliments.

Was this review helpful? (151) (165)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Homealone63
Tyler, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
every girls dream
8/31/2015

Customer review by rhopet4

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by rhopet4
by rhopet4
Spark Reviewer - received free product

this dreamhouse is huge make sure you have plenty of room for it. it's very easy to set up the instructions have pictures and it's in color my daughters could have set up its more durable then I thought it would be and her house comes with every thing you need it's truly move in read for barbie it has plenty of rooms for barbie to have all her friends over all three of my kids love this I have two girls and one boy ages 1,4, and 5 they play with this every day it has fun furniture for the kitchen bathroom bedroom living room and it even has a little vanity that makes noises like flushing sounds for the bathroom faucet sounds a sizzling grill even fish tank that you can hook up and comes with a bunch of little accessories plates and food for the kitchen even a TV that you can slide your phone into so Barbie can watch your videos with you remote even a tablet, shoes and hangers for all barbies things she even has a garage and a fold out pool the only thing it doesn't come with is barbie herself

rhopet4
canton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
LOVE!
8/23/2015

Customer review by leonm

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by leonm
by leonm
Spark Reviewer - received free product

As a child I always dreamt of being able to own my very own barbie dream house. I was never able to but I recently got this for my niece and the expression on her face was absolutely priceless. It took us about 30-50 minutes to put together, I could have done it in about 20 minutes but she really wanted to help. The instructions to put it together were very clear and all you had to follow were picture instructions, which made it even easier for my niece to be able to help. After it was all put together my niece had a blast playing with it. There are so many small little details that she absolutely loved. The sink in the bathroom actually makes noises when you install the batteries and the elevator actually moves up and down! This house is very realistic for young girls who love barbies. She has played with it non stop ever since she put it together. This is an amazing addition for all young girls who love playing with barbies and I can guarantee that your child will be so thrilled with this item!

leonm
Sacramento, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
LOVE THIS!
8/31/2015

Customer review by LK21

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by LK21
by LK21
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My 5 year-old daughter has been wanting the Barbie Dreamhouse for at least a year. It is everything she has been wanting and more! When I took it out of the box, I was a little hesitant about putting it together. There was a bunch of pieces and the instructions are just pictures. After sitting down and following the instructions, the Dreamhouse really was that easy to put together. No screwdrivers necessary, it all snaps in place! My daughter has lots of favorite things about this Dreamhouse including the working elevator and garage, as well as the table that you can switch out pieces with. She LOVES getting the fish tank to light up and she loves all of the sounds that it makes. One of my personal favorites of the Dreamhouse was the "big screen TV" where you can fit your actual smart phone in as if it was a TV. I thought that was clever! If you are on the fence about purchasing this, I'd say you should definitely get it! It has surpassed our expectations. My daughter wants to play with it all day!

LK21
North Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
My daughter's favorite toy.
8/25/2015

Customer review by Pauallen91

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Pauallen91
by Pauallen91
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My daughter loves this Barbie house. The elevator it’s one of her favorite features. It has an awesome button to bring the doll up of down which is better than the string that the other Barbie houses have My favorite part was how easy it was to put together because when kids get a toy they don't really know how to wait for the whole putting together part of it. You can put an iPhone in the tv that’s in the living room, how awesome is that. Very updated! The bathroom is probably the best room in the doll’s house, it makes the most realistic noises ever, and the features in the bathroom are awesome. This Barbie house has exceeded my expectations because the features are so thoughtful and everything works together. I’m very happy with this toy and I believe my daughter is even happier. She has been asking for the dream house for 2 years now and I feel like the wait was worth it. It’s also very trendy, but hey we are talking about Barbie's house, what can we expect?

Pauallen91
Ithaca, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Over the Top Pink Awesomeness
9/17/2013

Customer review by AmysFinerThings

4.0 stars 9/17/2013 by AmysFinerThings
by AmysFinerThings

I am a member of One2One Network,and received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review. All opinions are my own. We're somewhat new to Barbie~anything, as I had to pack away all Barbie paraphernalia a couple years ago with babies in the house, and we usually keep toys simple around here. My big girls (ages 10 and 6) are beyond excited! We could barely get past the box. "It has a flat screen tv! It has an elevator! It has a doorbell! This is way nicer than our house, mom!" Well, of course. Because we STILL have little people in the house, I'm excited about the "lock" feature for the small items, keeping them in place and not scattered all over the floor. All the different sounds in the house were a fun surprise, too, that make the whole experience interactive. My girls could play for hours, dreaming up scenarios from morning until night, with the dreamhouse. As expected with a huge toy, lots of pieces, and many details, assembly is quite time consuming. There is a helpful youtube video out there, though.

Was this review helpful? (9) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmysFinerThings
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Every Barbie Lover's Dream
9/5/2015

Customer review by cateachermom

5.0 stars 9/5/2015 by cateachermom
by cateachermom
Spark Reviewer - received free product

The dream house was the house I wanted to have when I was a child, but could never convince my parents to purchase. As a mother now, I have had so much fun watching my young girls play and can only imagine how much fun they will have as they get older. Where to begin? The house is three stories tall and each story has its own unique and fun features. The house comes with many accessories your child will enjoy playing with over and over again. My children enjoying playing with the "smart" accessories that make different realistic sounds and light up. We also love the working elevator that can go from the ground floor to the top floor. Another great feature is the "TV" that includes a space for your smart phone so that Barbie can enjoy a movie and relax. The playhouse comes with so many great accessories and furniture pieces that really makes this dollhouse come alive. I am excited for the years of the fun that I know this will bring. What a great product!

cateachermom
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
A toy that brings me back to my childhood
8/26/2015

Customer review by KimmyBlair

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by KimmyBlair
by KimmyBlair
Spark Reviewer - received free product

As I felt my daughter was finally old enough to appreciate Barbie dolls, I thought this would be a great opportunity to get her a Barbie Dreamhouse. I was not disappointed in this choice. As a parent in was excited to see the Dreamhouse came with a lot of accessories and furniture. At this price point I would be disappointed if I had to spend a ton in addition to the price of the house to furnish it. The "smart accessories" were an extra great touch. This dollhouse is big. While it does take up a lot of space I find that there is no wasted space in the setup. I enjoy that the garage gives me a space to store my daughter's Barbie car. I was intimidated initially by the setup, but it was easier than I anticipated. I appreciated the fact the many of the prices snapped together without a need for screws. My daughter loves her Barbie Dreamhouse. She enjoys decorating the house over and over again. She also enjoys pretending with her dolls as she moves them throughout the house. I can tell she will enjoy this for many years.

KimmyBlair
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Oh my Lord what a house!
12/30/2014

Customer review by JaiToy

5.0 stars 12/30/2014 by JaiToy
by JaiToy

This item is a young girls dream house. My granddaughter is seven years old and it was at the top of her list. She told me repeatedly that Santa got it wrong last year and left her the wrong doll house. So when she got up and saw it she squealed rolled on the floor and said thank you Lord!! Itis three stories tall about her height which is great. It was easy to assembly even for her dad. The working elevator is magnificent. Every little aspect of this house is very detailed and a little girls delight. Definitely not for the very young because of the many small pieces as the box recommends. My two and a half year old granddaughter played with the seven year old and she loved it. My son and his daughter put all the stickers on because what young kid doesn't like stickers. Overall rating is a ten with that being the highest rating. By the way you do need to buy the dolls. Even my older granddaughters loved this house including me. Never have seen anything quite like it. It's very durable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaiToy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 704 total reviews
1-20 of 704 reviews