Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
15
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
24
1-20 of 120 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
I bought 2 as Santa gifts - slow & random freezes
12/31/2013

Customer review by Llitsfamily

2.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Llitsfamily
by Llitsfamily
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My girls, ages 5 and 6, have prior versions that we have been impressed with. I felt the Ultras would be more economical than mini iPads. They were unable to play with them immediciately on Christmas because I had to perform the upgrades. After that, one continued to freeze more than the other but both were very slow downloading the already purchased apps we had from their prior leap pads in the app management system. Leap pad was running a promotion on multiple app purchases so I wanted to add some new items, this took way too long to accomplish and the apps are way over priced for the value if it continues to take up to 3 minutes to load on a strong wifi signal. I tested the wifi strength to see if this was a problem by connecting them to a direct hot spot and still experienced slowness. I think a younger child may enjoy, but if you have children who have been exposed to iPads and the learning apps like Spelling City, Hooked on Phonics, Hungry Fish, etc. this is not a close equivalent. I am waiting on the crowds to minimize for returns, and these may be on the list.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Llitsfamily
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect kids learning tablet!
8/4/2013

Customer review by TaylorsMommie

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by TaylorsMommie
by TaylorsMommie

We have had our Ultra for a few days now. We also had the LeapPad and the LeapPad 2. We decided we needed to upgrade for the bigger screen and wifi. There is so much we love about the Ultra! The screen is HUGE. The size of an ipad mini screen. The Ultra is built TOUGH. Its heavier than the LeapPad 2, but that is to be expected due to its large size. It comes with a built in battery, no need to purchase batteries or a battery pack on this device. The Ultra comes with a charger for at home, and a USB cable. You can also purchase a car charger for this device. My favorite upgraded features are the 7 inch screen, the kid safe LeapSearch which allows your child to surf content that Leapfrog has deemed safe. There are categories of video's and websites like NickJr.com, PBS kids, Barbie, ThinkQuest, Highlights Kids, Funology, NASA, and many more! I also love that there is an upgraded Pet Pad Party app which allows you to pick from a wide variety of pets, design them, design their home, play tick tack toe and all sorts of fun things! My daughter really enjoys that feature. For those who have 2 children who will have Ultras there are peer to peer features where your children can play against each other (or any other Ultra user in the same room). Games like Cart Racing and Roly Poly World, but you can select the learning level for each child so the questions will be geared for that child while they are playing on their device! Another great feature on the device is a APP CENTER APP, where you can purchase and download apps right from the device. You can only do this is parent mode of course, and you have to enter a code that you choose to purchase an app. I love that you can also purchase apps from the app center at Leapfrog.com, or from Leapfrog Connect on your computer and once the Ultra is turned on it will start downloading your purchases with no need to connect via USB. I really like the fact that the stylus is pushed into the side of the device, and that the volume buttons are at the top, and the power button is on the side. The only buttons on the front are the d-pad and home buttons. I have noticed that with the Ultra you can use the d-pad in games where you normally tilt the device to move objects or characters. I'm not sure if that was a possibility in the previous LeapPad devices? Its great to have the option. There are so many wonderful tools included, a calculator, clock, notepad, MP3 player and more! I highly recommend this device. Its perfect, safe, fun, big screen, wifi included, tough, will grow with your child, and Leapfrogs educational content can't be beat. We have tried Vtech products, and we own a Kindle Fire and Ipad, but my daughter still chooses her LeapPad to play with. I love that I don't have to worry about anything she is looking at or playing with, and I know that she is LEARNING from content designed by education professionals. I have never found the quality of content anywhere else, that LeapFrog offers. Ipad apps may be cheaper, or free, but the content is just not there. You get what you pay for with Leapfrog, they stand behind their products. I don't mind the cost to ensure that my child is learning as we use our device for educational entertainment. If you are looking at buying your child a learning tablet, this one simply can't be beat. We are thrilled with it. I'd suggest not waiting to long to purchase if you are thinking of this being a Christmas gift. Its sure to be a sell out!! Thank you for another great product Leapfrog!

Was this review helpful? (160) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaylorsMommie
Fort Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great concept, poor product!
9/19/2013

Customer review by jkcab

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jkcab
by jkcab
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my daughter for her 4th birthday. I set it up when she opened it and it worked great for a couple of days. After that, she brought it to me and it wanted to be plugged up to the computer, so I did. It said it was "tuning up" and then needed to be set up again. After that, I couldn't get past the set up stage where it asked to choose your country which is the very beginning of the set up process. I was really disappointed because the concept of the product was great but it still has some kinks that need to be resolved. I tried calling tech support before returning the product and they couldn't help me resolve the issue and wanted to send me another one. I told them no and wound up getting her a nabi jr which I should've done in the first place. We both love the nabi jr!

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkcab
statesville nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk!!!
10/16/2013

Customer review by texmomreview

1.0 stars 10/16/2013 by texmomreview
by texmomreview

We have purchased the previous 2 versions (LeapPad and LeapPad2) and love those. Once, again I preordered to receive the latest model the LeapPad Ultra, and am so glad I went ahead and gave it to my daughter when it came in instead of waiting for Christmas, because this one is junk. This is the first time we have been really disappointed by a leapfrog product. I don't generally write reviews, but felt this warranted it especially since I know this product will probably be put on Christmas lists. I think Leapfrog just rushed this "upgrade" instead of taking the time to make sure it works properly. Before I start listing it's issues, I do want to say I did contact leapfrog and did update the software, hoping this would resolve our issues, but it did not. I also do not believe we received a lemon, as I was seeing other people post with the same problems- of course these are all people who actually purchased the product- most glowing reviews I have seen are from people who were given the product for free to try out. Now for the issues: this unit is very, very slow loading everything. The previous leappads are not, but this one takes two to three minutes to load something. I don't know about your child, but mine isn't that patient and truth be told neither am I. Another quirky thing, is that you actually have to turn the leappad off to switch game cartridges and then turn it back on- you did not have to do that on previous models. The menu screen would often completely disappear, only showing you the wallpaper without anything to touch on. We had to turn off and then turn on the device, sometimes 4 times to get the menu back up on the screen. As far as the wifi goes, it was easy enough to set up, but your options on it are very limited. This model does have a bigger screen which we were excited about, but it is much slower and cost $50 more than the previous models. I was also excited about being able to charge this one, but bottom line is if you are thinking about getting a Leappad- buy one of the previous versions, you will be much happier with the product. I thankfully was able to return the ultra back to Wal-mart, and my daughter will continue to use her Leappad2.

Was this review helpful? (96) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texmomreview
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent learning product for our 4 year old!
12/27/2013

Customer review by mmid

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by mmid
by mmid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for our four year old preschooler. We love it! This product is much better than the Leappad 2. It is faster, has more storage, the screen is larger, and the graphics are improved. The Ultra connects to the internet and has kid-safe usage. The product was very easy to set up and get going. Just plug in to charge and complete the easy log-in and set up process. We also love how durable it is. We bought our kids a cheaper tablet last year and they broke right away. One of my favorite aspects of this product is the ease at which one can download apps from the LeapFrog site online. Just purchase and connect your computer to the LeapPad and it automatically downloads. This product is so kid friendly - our daughter needed no assistance figuring out how to navigate. Our daughter LOVES the games. She is already learning new things while having a blast. We also bought the accessories - the case, gel, and headphones and a couple of games. The case is great to keep the games safely stored and the Ultra put away safely when not in use. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking at kids tablets!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmid
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glitches, Glitches and more Glitches
3/3/2015

Customer review by TwinMom2012

4.0 stars 3/3/2015 by TwinMom2012
by TwinMom2012

I bought my twins both a Leappad Ultra for their 3rd birthday. My daughter I got the bundle that had headphones, case, gel casing, etc. and my son I bought the Leappad Ultra and gel casing. I thought that the controls and potential for use was awesome. It has a virtual pet, games, educational stuff, music player, BUT the loading screen takes FOREVER. Downloading apps takes FOREVER and sometimes when I turn the Leappad on, an already downloaded app won't show up and I have to download it AGAIN. When watching videos, they are very grainy, slow to load and 2 times out of 3 the video crashes after 30 seconds of watching. Selecting things with either the stylus or your finger is hit and miss....it's not very accurate. The frustrations with this product is making me wish I just spent the extra money on another tablet for them. For the amount I paid, I was hoping it would at least be relatively fast. These problems are on both Leappads so I know it's not just me.

TwinMom2012
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Highly recommend this product!
12/2/2013

Customer review by cyberprnj

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by cyberprnj
by cyberprnj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this for our 7 year old daughter (first grader) in lieu of an Apple IPad which we felt she was not quite ready to take care of. We were are first disappointed that the operating system needed an immediate update -- a firmware upgrade -- which we felt should have been notated on the box or directions, since it is a brand new product and was complicated and frustrating as the device initially froze up and had several errors. After the upgrade it works well and our daughter LOVES IT! It is built well and much less likely to break if it falls. We love all the ways it can be personalized with stickers, gel case and travelling case.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyberprnj
Princeton Junction, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is a game, not a learning device
12/27/2013

Customer review by PlasticBottle6

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by PlasticBottle6
by PlasticBottle6

Way over-priced, short on delivery of what it promises as being a learning tool for kids. The learning apps that I have purchased do not teach what they are advertised to teach - reading and math. They are video games. The small portion of content instruction that is included is presented in a quick, rapid fire manner that leaves my son saying, "What are they talking about?" The pacing of the script is far too fast for a young learner to process. I am very disappointed. I would like to return this item, but it would be difficult to do that now that my child has become attached to it. I am a teacher and expected a product that reflects an elementary curriculum given that it is marketed for that age group. Based on my years in the classroom and my own post-graduate work in curriculum development, I would say that this product is a $150 paperweight.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlasticBottle6
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Leapfrog does it again!
8/27/2013

Customer review by hhferg

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by hhferg
by hhferg

I feel like every product that Leapfrog comes out with just keeps getting better. They really know how to gear their games and products for kids. My kids got the new Ultras several weeks ago and they really love them. They feel like they have their own ipads but they are so much more kid friendly and durable. I love how educational all the games are, unlike with the ipad you can really fill those things with pointless video game apps which kids tend to gravitate towards and have no educational value. All Leapfrog products have taught my kids so many skills and basic things like alphabet and it's nice to have something educational that they can play when Mom needs some downtime. I feel like it loads a little slowly and sometimes it turns off for no reason, but other than that we've had no issues. It's nice that it has a safe WIFI so that you can download apps straight to the Leappad.

hhferg
Lehi, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leap Pad Ultra
9/13/2013

Customer review by Pheebee24

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Pheebee24
by Pheebee24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought for my 6 year old and she loves it!!!! Its cute and it keeps her busy, especially on trips :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pheebee24
Upstate,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing Christmas
12/26/2013

Customer review by Veema

3.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Veema
by Veema

Our kids have grown up with the Leap Frog products and we had not had a problem until Leap Pad Ultra. We were told that an I Pad or some thing like this would be good for children with Autism. So we wanted the look of an I Pad with the durability of the Leap Frog product. My 5 and 6 year old received their Leap Pad Ultra for Christmas. Set up was a breeze. After the initial set up the instructions are to turn off the device and restart. 1 out of 2 is not bad. The first device never came back on. All we got was connect to computer. We connected to the computer and nothing ever happened. We did this several times throughout Christmas day, 7 hours later and we were still receiving the same response. "Connect to Computer." The second device worked fine after the initial setup. Needless to say we had a very sad 5 year old on Christmas day. Hoping we can get a new one soon.

Veema
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Upgrade from the LeapPad 2
9/2/2013

Customer review by BalancingHome

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by BalancingHome
by BalancingHome

My 4 year old was already obsessed with the LeapPad 2 and I really had a hard time thinking of how it could be better. The LeapPad Ultra doesn't disappoint. The screen is a fantastic size--think iPad mini. The wifi access makes learning endless. Instead of blocking what comes in--LeapPad only allows the good stuff in. Wifi access allows for peer to peer play so you can play friends or classmates in education games. I also love that the LeapPad Ultra comes with the chargeable batteries built in and a LeapPad Ultra charger. The stylus is built in better, sliding completely in a hole for more convenient storage. My 4 year old spends hours drawing on his LeapPad Ultra, which he never did on the LeapPad 2--I think the larger screen is the reason. He really loves his LeapPad Ultra and will play on it for a long time independently. I cannot wait to explore more games.

BalancingHome
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stops Charging
2/8/2016

Customer review by Cntrygirl267

1.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Cntrygirl267
by Cntrygirl267

my son loves this Leap Pad Ultra XDi the only problem is that when you charge it and take it off it stopped holding a charge. We didn't have an option to buy the warranty when we got it. I haven't gotten a hold of the manufacture for this product yet. I am very disappointed. It is very educational and my child has learned to write his ABCs with this tablet. The problem I don't like is that it stopped worked the night I purchase the most expensive game yet.

Cntrygirl267
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra
1/16/2014

Customer review by hlaney

1.0 stars 1/16/2014 by hlaney
by hlaney

My sons brand new LeapPad Ultra won't turn on anymore. It is fully charged but when we push the power button, nothing. Before it stopped working, anytime he played a game and would press the HOME button to play something else, the screen would freeze or have strange lines on it. Before that, everything was so incredibly slow, it took forever to update and connect it to our account, and when he would start a game, it took a while to load. My daughter's pink LeapPad Ultra is also very slow, but so far, her power still works. I wanted them to have these instead of ipads. I thought having LeapPads would help them learn responsibility in taking care of expensive items. I am very disappointed in this product. It was expensive for what it is and even more so for how little it works, and the downloadable apps are expensive as well.

hlaney
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
SAVE YOUR MONEY!! BUY AN iPAD!!!
10/20/2014

Customer review by BMW13903

1.0 stars 10/20/2014 by BMW13903
by BMW13903

This thing is GARBAGE!! It's slow, it's cumbersome, not user friendly for kids OR parents. It broke and was unfixable 3 weeks after getting it.. had to ship it to California for repairs (screen went black) - their "online repair" didn't come close to fixing it - IT WAS AWFUL!!. My daughter was really upset. It ruined Christmas. The wifi connector in this thing is awful.. SO SLOW!!..it's worse than old dial-up!! .it constantly freezes and stops and restarts- frustrating my daughter. None of our other devices connected to our wifi do this (that's how we know its the LeapPad). Without wifi the thing is just a waste. I was so excited I thought this would be a nice gift for my 4 year old daughter last year for Christmas - she barely even touches it. It's so boring. The games you buy for it are expensive and barely do anything! Those are pointless too. Once you go through a couple steps in the game, you've played the whole thing and there's no further options. You just either play the same thing over and over or buy another useless game. I spent $230 on garbage. (with accessories) For another $20 I could have just gotten her an IPAD mini. I didn't because I thought she was too young. So wrong. As soon as we can afford it, we are getting her an iPad. Top rated toy. Not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMW13903
Would recommend to a friend? No
its been fun for my 5 yr old
12/8/2013

Customer review by sczy

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by sczy
by sczy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 5 yr old loves it and so do I she has started kindergarten this year and she was behind in her school and so we got her this and now she is right where she should be!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sczy
Anderson, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything I expected!!
11/21/2013

Customer review by Hopieq

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Hopieq
by Hopieq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it. But more importantly, my daughter loves it. I was pleasantly surprised at what all it can do! Very good learning tool. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopieq
Grove, Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor product
12/29/2013

Customer review by Grammyofmany

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Grammyofmany
by Grammyofmany

Way to slow to load. Apps way,way,way to expensive. I bought 3 of these for my grandkids, returning everyone of them. I would not recommend these at all

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grammyofmany
Billings mt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
no internet?
5/25/2014

Customer review by Suddieann

1.0 stars 5/25/2014 by Suddieann
by Suddieann

I wished I could have put 0 stars for meets expectations. I bought this to take on trips with my 2/3 year old grandsons. I thought I could put movies on it or videos that didn't cost 10.00 each. Some of the videos at 2.50 for 25 minutes. A little high if they don't watch it again. They really like mickey mouse club house. Tayo the city bus. There are not many videos available. They don't recognize any of the characters. I really wanted to get Mickey Mouse club house but no dice. I wanted more entertainment. Should be able to get netflix or disney movies. Didn't do my homework. Should have bought a Kindle Fire.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/27/2014

Hello,<br /><br />We apologize for your poor experience. In order to ensure a safe and secure experience for your child, LeapFrog does not offer access to Netflix or Youtube on LeapPad tablets including LeapPad Ultra. LeapFrog tablets work only with games, apps and videos approved or designed by LeapFrog learning experts to ensure your child is exposed to safe, educational content. With LeapPad tablets your child can access a library of 1,000+ games, apps and videos. On your Ultra tablet there is Wi-Fi and LeapSearch powered by Zui—a kid-friendly web environment of videos, games and more, all prescreened by LeapFrog learning experts—you can rest assured every content experience is safe and age-appropriate. All videos viewed using the LeapSearch function are free. We hope that you reconsider your 1 star review based on the lack of availability of free Mickey Mouse videos.<br /><br />Please consider all of the other functionality your LeapPad Ultra has to offer your grandsons. If you need any help with your tablet please contact our customer service department, would be happy to help troubleshoot any issues you may be experiencing. Reach out to our Customer Support team by phone or email at support@leapfrog.com or 1-800-701-5327 M-Th: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST and Fri.: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm EST.

Suddieann
Carson City, Nv.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Extreemly limited toy.
1/10/2014

Customer review by Nikole

3.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Nikole
by Nikole

Info I wish I knew prior to purchase. Wi-Fi only available at your home not in any Wi-Fi hotspot. Extremely limited web experience. Only Preloaded web material available. Same videos, pics and stories come up every time. The few pre-chosen websites included are not searchable which is vey frustrating to any child with previous computer experience. Most current flashplayer not installed and unable to be installed. The only site that is a true internet experience is the site that sells more apps. None of my Sons favorite sites included. All 3 included websites require reading...except for app site. The apps and cartridge games that you buy are very good, but can all be played on the less expensive devices. If I knew this I would have bought the cheaper game player and a tablet instead. I think this company needs to put out a fix for the leappad ultra and allow a broader web experience for kids. At least let the limited sites you included be fully functional. Not very smart to include sites that are only partially functional because this is very frustrating for children and their parents. I feel so bad for my 4 year old who keeps bringing me this pad to "fix the website" or show him how to "do it right".

Nikole
NPR, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews