Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 338 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

338 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

338 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
254
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 stars
17
1-20 of 306 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews
Great for my toddlers.
11/22/2013

Customer review by NTXmomof2

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by NTXmomof2
by NTXmomof2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 3 y/o got one of these for Christmas last year and has loved it. We have purchased cartridges, as well as downloadable apps for it, and I prefer the downloaded apps due to the fact that we have misplaced cartridges and they would be easy to damage. The tablet itself has held up great. It has been dropped MANY times, and has been repeatedly turned off and on, and it still works great. We use this on road trips and recently purchased a 2nd one so that our 18 month old could also have one to keep her entertained. I have downloaded episodes of their favorite PBS cartoons, and it keeps them very happy while traveling. I like that I can purchase an app once, and download it onto both tablets. I also like the selection of games. Even though it is recommended for ages 3+, my girls have been able to operate and enjoy using it at ages 1 and 2, even if they were not able to actually understand the games yet.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NTXmomof2
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thank you Santa!!!
2/3/2014

Customer review by sumoon

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by sumoon
by sumoon

My 2 girls love their Leappad 2. They got them for Christmas and have not put them down since. I was afraid that they wouldn't be interested in these since they are used to playing with our cell phones and ipad but boy was I wrong. My younger daughter (3 y.o.) still struggles with some of the learning activities but she loves to draw and watch the videos I purchased. It keeps them quiet when I need a few minutes to prepare dinner or they need some down time. So the flip side - I can't stand that it didn't come with an internal rechargeable battery. I bought 2 sets of rechargeable batteries because they go through batteries pretty quick. The set-up process was not super user-friendly ( I set them up before Christmas so they could go right to playing/learning.) The games are for children 4 and over. I wish they were Wifi and rechargeable then I'd given it a 5 ++++ Rating. They are still fun, entertaining and learning all in one. Overall, I am happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sumoon
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
1/19/2014

Customer review by RebaZ

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by RebaZ
by RebaZ

I got this for my daughter's 4th birthday a month ago. She uses it about every other day, and it is fantastic. She loves it. She holds the stylus well...it's helping her hold a pencil correctly more often. The math games available for download and cartridge purchase are really great. I can't believe how much more she's picked up on adding and subtracting since playing the "cooking" game. She loves the spatial skill games too, and I think it's wonderful to see her think her way through them. This is a wonderful tool for kids to have fun while truly learning. I had no interest in the new tablet version, as we don't have wifi and I see no reason for a 4 year old to be on the internet. This is a wonderful value. It's especially nice for long car rides/trips. Better than taking along a portable DVD player and watching mindless movies. Also, we downloaded a full bubble guppie episode from the leap frog website, as well as a full episode of wild animal babies, which we love. This is the best gift, and my daughter says she LOVES her leap pad!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RebaZ
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves it, mommy approved.
9/9/2013

Customer review by fireywife

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by fireywife
by fireywife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My, now five year old, loves this little system. She can play games that are of her age level and she is getting help with learning to boot. She can take her own pictures and shoot her own videos, which she loves to do. I think she's too young for the handheld devices that are pricey, so we decided on this. Couldn't be happier with this purchase; have young children then this is the right device for you.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fireywife
Silver Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Toy
11/18/2013

Customer review by Blackheart1

4.0 stars 11/18/2013 by Blackheart1
by Blackheart1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter loves it...easy to handle. Battery last all day.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blackheart1
San Antonio,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/10/2013

Customer review by FairyMommy7

4.0 stars 9/10/2013 by FairyMommy7
by FairyMommy7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome product and so happy it came with rechargeable batteries and charger. I used site to store and it wae ready the next day and I picked it up. My daughter loves it and takes it every where with her and she can almost write the whole alphabet at 3 years old. Leapfrog is awesome with all their products and games. Just wish this came with 2 or 3 games on it especially since it is so pricey and so are the games.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FairyMommy7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal for product
9/8/2013

Customer review by Momof39110

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by Momof39110
by Momof39110
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my soon to be 4 yr old. It is a great product and I love the power option! Set up on computer was easy! So far have had no problems or issues:)

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof39110
Cullman, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by Unhappy2

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Unhappy2
by Unhappy2

I bought this gift for my daughter so she would stop playing with my cell phone and sneaking off with my mothers Kindle. Sadly she is still taking my phone and my mothers Kindle because the Leap Frog 2 keeps dying very quickly on her. I have had to change the batteries three times in one day for her. This is her 4th day and already I have spent over what I paid for the dang toy in buying batteries. I even bought rechargeable batteries and that doesn't work for long. They die out before the next set of rechargeable batteries is even ready. If I knew that it didn't come with its own charger I would have never bought it for her. I would have spent my money buying her a kindle and buying the educational games that way. It would have saved me the money I have put into this tablet. This was not worth the money I spent. If you decided to buy this for your loved one be prepared to spend double what you paid just buying batteries.

Unhappy2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great learning pad for my grand daughter
12/10/2013

Customer review by IWJenn

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by IWJenn
by IWJenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this pad for my grand daughter. After reading many reviews, I decided to order the Leap Pad which has the rechargeable battery. so glad I did! my daughter won't have to buy batteries constantly! Set was quite easy and have already downloaded several new apps to the pad. Only problem I see so far is that the apps are quite expensive. I highly recommend this for anyone with small children. My grand daughter is 2 1/2 and loves it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IWJenn
West Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LeapPad 2 - A tablet newbie's perspective
1/7/2013

Customer review by Ted62

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Ted62
by Ted62

Our purchase of this device for our three year old was our first foray into the world of tablets, period. Based on our experience with the whole process and observations/comments from friends and family over the holidays, we sure seem to have made the right decision. I can't yet vouch for its ability to "grow" as our son gets older but I have no reason to doubt the claim based on playing with the built-in features and a couple of cartridges, and working through the Beginner/Expert options. The device functions well and appears sturdy enough to survive a three year old's inconsistent care. We did, however, purchase the Gel Skin covering, just in case ... Battery life is typical but sure makes one wish for a built-in Lithium Ion pack and plug-in wall wart option. (The one downside aspect of the aforementioned Gel Skin is having to remove it regularly to replace the 4 - AA batteries--this is NOT a fun process). Our 'adoption' into the LeapPad family has been a positive experience and I have already recommended it to several friends in similar circumstances.

Ted62
Norcross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Battery life would only last 30mins, returned it.
8/9/2013

Customer review by Returnedleappad

1.0 stars 8/9/2013 by Returnedleappad
by Returnedleappad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The extra games are incredibly expensive.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Returnedleappad
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Educational & Learning Toy for Children!
1/9/2013

Customer review by Ash88

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Ash88
by Ash88

My daughter loves her new LP2 pink! She says it is her favorite Christmas gift! It was expensive but I feel it was worth the price. The games that are included are very fun and since we set it up early for Christmas we got an additional 2 games! My daughter loves the music player and it is great for children, nothing too advanced or complicated. We also purchased 3 additional games (Brave, Math School, and I SPY) and the Pink Accessory/ Travel Bundle. The games are very fun and educational and the accessories were a necessity to caring for the LP2! My daughter outgrew the Fisher Price iXL and I believe this was a great next step. It was a tough decision on whether to buy the LeapPad2 or InnoTab2, but I believe I made the right decision. The LeapPad 2 has many more game, movie, song, etc. choices than the InnoTab2 and can grow with your child, whereas the InnoTab2 games are pretty standard for all ages.

Ash88
Whitehall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So disappointed
2/7/2013

Customer review by FeelingRobbed

1.0 stars 2/7/2013 by FeelingRobbed
by FeelingRobbed

LeapPad2 was a Christmas gift for five year old boy who already has a LeapFrog. This product is recommended for ages three to nine. Within a week or so he managed to shatter the screen with the stylus. Fortunately, Leapfrog offered a replacement, with the admonishment that there would be ONLY one replacement. Again, before the month was out, the screen shattered with stylus use. I have purchased several apps, rechargeable batteries, car charger, ear phones, case - pretty much the whole shebang and now I'm left with not one, but two, worthless LeapPads. For a product that is supposed to be used by young children, it is incredibly flimsy, and such a shame because it has such huge educational value. The internet is replete with similar stories of people looking for a way to replace the shattered screens. It's only a matter of time before we see a class-action suit against this company.

FeelingRobbed
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
this is GREAT!
6/26/2013

Customer review by spooktaffy

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by spooktaffy
by spooktaffy

I am not one to have all the latest gadgets nor do I think kids need moving books or other features to learn to read. Bought this for my son for a 2 day car trip (each way) and the coloring apps mean less mess in the car (chasing crayons under seats). There are so many fun activities (some are not as good, or not worth buying). I even got hooked on Roly Poly Picnic (the original) and spent 3 hours getting through all the levels, grumbling at the annoying little cute guys! (but I couldn't put it down). Had to purchase 2nd game recently for my 2.5 year old daughter so she didn't steal her brothers' game. Now they both color the same thing or watch the same video. I LOVE that you can purchase a game and load it on BOTH systems! This is probably the BEST feature I just discovered. The limited ones loaded for her can be adjusted as she grows. Normal "paper" books are best, but this provides a fun activity to vary interest for an hour or so on those indoor rainy days. ONE THING I would CHANGE is that the initial "PLAYER" settings shoudl have a LOCK on them so the child (my 2 year old) CANNOT CHANGE SETTINGS.

spooktaffy
san antonio texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the LeapPad 2!
1/30/2013

Customer review by Momof3Boyz

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Momof3Boyz
by Momof3Boyz

My three boys have every electronic device from DS3, iPad, etc. I was tired of constantly looking over my boys shoulders making sure they didn't surf the net or open inappropriate Youtube videos. I purchased 2 LeapPad 2's for my twin 4yr old boys and they loved them! My older son(6yrs) was trying to play on the LeapPad 2 and the twins wouldn't give them up. He was bummed Santa didn't bring him one. I ended up buying one for my 6yr old and I am so glad I did! The best part of the LeapPad 2's is the boys are learning with every app or cartridge and I don't have to stress about what they are doing. Also, I monitor their learning progress on-line and find out which apps they use most. Perfect device for kids older than 3yrs. Items I would recommend with the LeapPad 2: Gel skin, rechargeable battery and the Messenger Bag. I am so happy with my purchase and so are my boys!

Momof3Boyz
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Excellent!!!
2/19/2016

Customer review by Lennymomof2

5.0 stars 2/19/2016 by Lennymomof2
by Lennymomof2

I'm so glad I went with this brand of tablet it has been worth it, I bought the leappad2 for my daughter( then 3 yrs. old.) now 5... Its still in great condition, it has been through many beatings ! Shes dropped it countless times and it still works! so its VERY durable! i love that all the apps available are educational, she has learned so much from the alphabet to science and numbers.. and it will grow with her till about age 9. The tablet is the perfect size for her little hands, I will be buying my 3yr. old son one next week! THANK you leap frog for all you do for toddlers & kids! Absolutely love your products!!!

Lennymomof2
Douglas, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great gadget for young curious toddlers
11/22/2013

Customer review by Emptynstr

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Emptynstr
by Emptynstr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought this for my granddaughter who is 2yrs + and I think she is going to love using it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emptynstr
Danbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun for various ages
4/23/2013

Customer review by Lunatiff

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Lunatiff
by Lunatiff

My five year old son and 3 year old granddaughter both received a LeapPad2 from Santa. Both are able to enjoy all the apps and share with each other. I like the variety of apps although they can be a little pricey. I also like that it can play music, videos, books, and games. I have not had any issues with memory and it is straightforward and easy to use with minimal guidance. I love that the stylus cannot be lost and that it can be modified for a child's level. I would change being able to add personal music to it as my son would like to use it as a music player and listening to Jake and the Neverland Pirates over and over again is getting a little old. I think it would also be good if it could connect to wifi and play online versions of the downloadable apps rather than having to use memory to download them. Overall I would recommend this product.

Lunatiff
Leander, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fragile and not kid-friendly!!
12/30/2013

Customer review by BrightonGirl2

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by BrightonGirl2
by BrightonGirl2

Gave this to our 5 yr old daughter for Christmas. Only had it a few days before it had a little drop. The screen broke spiderweb fashion and can no longer display anything- useless. However, right on the front packaging, the product is proclaimed 'drop tested,' 'kid tough' and recommended for ages 3-9. Leapfrog customer service says they will do nothing whatever if the unit was not purchased directly from their website. Since we bought it from a physical store, we are out $100. If it had been purchased from them, they claim they will do a one-time replacement, but I'm not so sure. From what I've read and experienced, their customer service is very poor. Though my daughter liked it, I'm very hesitant to buy a another unit if they are so easily destroyed. So disappointed! One other note: the screen is easily scratched and marked. You will need to buy some kind of screen protector.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrightonGirl2
Seven Valleys, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thought on LeapPad2
12/31/2012

Customer review by Tjones

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Tjones
by Tjones

I purchased this item for my grandaughter who is age 5 & already in Pre-School. She has enjoyed the fun part of the LeapPad2 more than anything else so far. We got this for her at Christmas. She is still learning how to work, but she does enjoy it. The only suggestion would be to purchase the LeapPad2 Recharger Pack if you plan to purchase a LeapPad2. The LeapPad2 requires #4 AA batteries in order to work. I made a mistake and did not purchase the Recharger Pack. My grandaughter was using up the juice of Duracel AA batteries with in 1-day! Yes, I said 1 day! I will now be purchasing a Rcharger Pack 4-Sure! The online App Center is easy to understand & easy to order off of. Great for keeping track of your child's progress and growth and learning. I think in the long run this LP2 will be a great learning tool for my grandaughter!

Tjones
Georgetown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews