Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 424 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

424 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

424 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
308
4 stars
62
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 stars
17
1-20 of 391 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews
Good, if you're rich and like to burn money
9/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I researched the learning side and the durability of the LeapPad for my 2 yr old's birthday and seemed it had good reviews so I bought it. Well, then he opened it and I tried to set it up and everything changed. First it says it comes with some preloaded apps. Assuming you consider clock, calendar, and calculator apps then sure. Otherwise you get a drawing pad and a pet app that simply tries to get your kids to spend money. So I decide to load it up with apps for alphabet and numbers since it said there was an introductory special for this first session only. The first bundle I saw that looked like it had the teaching areas I wanted was $80 with the discounts!? Are you kidding me. Ok I'll go buy just a few apps we need. The first few apps that used Disney or Nick characters were $25 dollars!? I finally found some without branding for $10 dollars a piece, but no thank you. I immediately returned if for a Nabi which the Jr alone pays for the extra $30 right out of the box due to the preloaded apps. I went ahead and sprung for the Nabi 2 to get the better hardware and screen size, but its still better value than the LeapPad.

Was this review helpful? (221) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Leapfrog LeapPad for at a great price
12/26/2013

Customer review by Happy17307

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Happy17307
by Happy17307
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my 3 year old grandson for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. The apps it came with are at a level that he can work with, and there are a variety of games that are just right for his age. He accidentially dropped it from the table and it took the beating and kept working without any problems. (We had not purchased the gel cover since we bough several games for this. His parents will be purchasing this soon.) We did buy and a screen protector for for added protection, which I recommend (just as you would for any ipad/tablet/phone). So far the battery pack has lasted many hours on the single charge. I can not give an exact timeframe since they had to leave before the battery ran down and had to be recharged. I am very impressed with this item, as is my Daughter/son-in-law. My grandson loves this and takes it with him everywhere when he can, and when he can't it the LeapPad2 is the first "toy" he want's to play with when he gets home. Per my daughter the LeapPad2 is helping my grandson learn many skills. I recommend this product. It is a great learning tool, and should last for many, many years in the future.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy17307
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My 2 uear old loves it
9/24/2014

Customer review by JSGB

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by JSGB
by JSGB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this leappad as a gift for my 2-year-old son who was always taking his brother's tablet. He is really just interested in the Mickey Mouse ebook we loaded on it, but has quickly learned how to turn it on and access the book. The rechargeable battery is a nice add on too.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSGB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kind of dispaointed
1/1/2014

Customer review by greenmachine42

3.0 stars 1/1/2014 by greenmachine42
by greenmachine42

My 5 yr old loves her tablet but we were both disappointed it didn't come with Thomas that was pictured on the front of the package. I had the impression what was on the front is what came with it. This is nearly a $100 item and only came with 1 game and some learning songs that's it. A regular tablet comes with much more for less. For the $ I think it should have came with a lot more games or the capability to download free games not having to pay extra for them. Far as durability it is great since my daughter had dropped it numerous times already and it still works.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenmachine42
Marion Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Pre-school Tablet
11/6/2015

Customer review by AllyB

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by AllyB
by AllyB

I bought this tablet a while ago from Walmart so that my son could play video games but learn at the same time. I love that this comes with specialized rechargeable batteries so that you can just plug in the tablet when it dies and recharge it. There are tons of games to choose from both online for purchase and downloadable and in the store via cartridge. The games reinnforce things such as Alphabet, adding and subtracting, phonics, reading, and much more because when your child ages out of one set of games you can purchase games at a higher level of learning. I am a firm believer that any toys a child uses should reinforce learning and this tablet goes above and beyond assisting with this. We love this tablet so much that we bought an identical one for my son's best friend. Just a hit all around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Breaks easy
12/20/2015

Customer review by KnightTrain

2.0 stars 12/20/2015 by KnightTrain
by KnightTrain

So its been great except 2 months after the warranty is up the screen breaks.. rendering it useless. We have had the leapster exporer for 5 years and its gone through 2 kids and still works great! The leap pad 2 is a waste of money if you want it to last a more than a year. I will not recommend it to anyone. I give it 2 stars because the games are fun and its very user friendly. However, that is no good if the thing break easy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnightTrain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy with the upgrade
11/14/2013

Customer review by amarinakeemmommy

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by amarinakeemmommy
by amarinakeemmommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My oldest son had the leapster explorer. We've upgraded him to the leappad so he can take pictures and shoot video. He loves this function. Our youngest son likes the writing ability. I'd recommend this for any 3-6yrs old child.

Was this review helpful? (104) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amarinakeemmommy
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Somewhat disappointed
5/2/2014

Customer review by littleman3

2.0 stars 5/2/2014 by littleman3
by littleman3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great camera and video features, all of the good learning features have to be purchased separately which is not how the product was promoted.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littleman3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great learning toy
3/15/2014

Customer review by K825

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by K825
by K825
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this toy for our son's second birthday a few days ago because he is always playing on everyone's smart phones and we were afraid he might drop/throw one and break it. He loves it! He is already doing very well with playing with it by himself and rarely asks for the smart phones anymore! I recommend buying the protection plan just in case, but it seems very durable. He already dropped it on the sidewalk and it is fine, but we also bought a gel skin for it. Set up was quick and easy. The apps are expensive, but no more than the cartridges. Range from about $2.50 to $20. All-in-all, a wonderful product.

Was this review helpful? (68) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K825
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
12/1/2013

Customer review by TR11

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by TR11
by TR11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grandson will be 3, I bought 1 for grand daughter at same age, helped greatly with colors, shapes, alphabet, numbers,. Wonderful aid for learning

Was this review helpful? (62) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TR11
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recommended by teacher
12/11/2013

Customer review by GreatGrandmaCA

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by GreatGrandmaCA
by GreatGrandmaCA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Grandson is a Special young man & really dislikes to sit down & read! His teacher has recommended this tablet & it reading programs! He's totally enamored w/ computers so he should really like this! He's also very proficient w/ a camera! I ordinarily I won't get the Grand Ones electronics because I would much rather have them up off their backsides & stretch their minds & fresh air! I am confident that this tablet will get him going & keep him going! I am a retired Special Ed teacher so anything that will keep the children learning is a big OK in my books!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatGrandmaCA
Cottonwood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay but Not Okay!
12/29/2014

Customer review by KJS19

4.0 stars 12/29/2014 by KJS19
by KJS19

It works well. I Thought this LeaPad 2 would be an excellent toy for our 5 year old. However, once again, the advertisers stick it to you! "Buy this, its loaded with lots of fun games, etc.!" You buy it, turn it on, find out that you need to buy more stuff to play on it! Go to the online store and games are $25 each? WOW!!!!(even at Walmart) This model is being phased out by the Leap pad 3 and so on, but the games are pricey!!!!!!!! Holy cow!!!! Would have been more cost effective to buy my 5 year old a tablet!, then I could get games for it from the app store, maybe not for less money, but at least my daughter could keep using this tablet for longer and not age out of it! When did companies stop caring about learning and start hitting you with these huge prices for games? I would Not recommend this Leap pad, buy a tablet, at least if your child gets board with it, you can use it for something else! At these prices, you will be money ahead!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJS19
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great learning tablet for little kids
6/13/2014

Customer review by JonBoy4700

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by JonBoy4700
by JonBoy4700

The Leappad 2 Power is functionally identical to the standard (and cheaper) Leappad 2 tablet, but for the inclusion of a rechargeable battery kit and charger that Leapfrog also sells separately. The compelling advantage of Leapfrog's kit is that the batteries can be recharged in the unit, unlike conventional AA rechargeable batteries, which would need to be removed first. While it seems a money grab initially, the design prevents the inadvertent (and unsafe) recharging of alkaline batteries. In a pinch, alkaline or rechargeable AA batteries can be swapped into the unit. We bought the Leappad for our 4 year old son for Christmas. This is a great toy for the younger end of the recommended 4-9 year old age range. Older kids, or kids who've previously had much exposure to "grown-up" Apple or Android devices are unlikely to find this a compelling alternative. That said, all the content available for it is of good educational value, and without the advertising or in-app purchases so common on iOS and Android devices. Games and apps can be "installed" via interchangeable cartridges, or purchased on-line and downloaded into the unit's internal memory, which is sufficient to hold a couple dozen apps at the same time, and without risk of your little one losing the carts. The overall build quality is excellent, with commendable display and sound quality, given the selling price. Both cameras are trash VGA resolution affars that perform atrociously in low light conditions, but are commendable relative to the selling price of the unit. The unit is also suitably ruggedized for the child demographic it is targeted at, and includes thoughtful design touches as a stylus that is tethered, and which easily stores in a niche on the side of the unit. Leapfrog sells a series of rubber cases for these that add an additional layer of protection inexpensively.

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JonBoy4700
Woodbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Unhappy
12/25/2013

Customer review by Georgiareview22

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Georgiareview22
by Georgiareview22

We brought this as a Christmas present for our daughter. Nothing worked..we put the batteries in, plugged in the ac adapter and nothing..no yellow light saying it was charging. Took batteries out and plugged in cord to see if it would work then, nothing. $100.00 and you would think you would get something besides a big disappointment. If we were that upset about it, you can imagine how our 4 y/o felt. I guess I really can't write a review because NOTHING worked, which is a review in itself. I would ( will) never buy Leap Pad again! I looked at their FB page and they are getting taken apart.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Georgiareview22
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
2 year old's great learning/playing game
1/5/2014

Customer review by texarkanamomma

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by texarkanamomma
by texarkanamomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

even my 2 year old can use this! fantastic learning tool and the games keep him occupied.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texarkanamomma
texarkana, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!
11/16/2015

Customer review by dommom2010

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by dommom2010
by dommom2010

My son has enjoyed the LeapPad2 for two yrs. We've added books, games, and videos. He's advance in his class due to it. He enjoys learning with it. This system allows him to add characters that he loves: TMNT and Pow Patrol. We Love it!!

dommom2010
ATL,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
7/3/2014

Customer review by mskee

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by mskee
by mskee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our little 4yr old received this for his birthday and started tracing letters first thing! We also downloaded a ninja turtles game onto it which is 73 mins long of 3 different videos!! He loves it and so do we!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mskee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2012

Customer review by Unhappy2

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Unhappy2
by Unhappy2

I bought this gift for my daughter so she would stop playing with my cell phone and sneaking off with my mothers Kindle. Sadly she is still taking my phone and my mothers Kindle because the Leap Frog 2 keeps dying very quickly on her. I have had to change the batteries three times in one day for her. This is her 4th day and already I have spent over what I paid for the dang toy in buying batteries. I even bought rechargeable batteries and that doesn't work for long. They die out before the next set of rechargeable batteries is even ready. If I knew that it didn't come with its own charger I would have never bought it for her. I would have spent my money buying her a kindle and buying the educational games that way. It would have saved me the money I have put into this tablet. This was not worth the money I spent. If you decided to buy this for your loved one be prepared to spend double what you paid just buying batteries.

Unhappy2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Favorite Toy for 6-year old
1/7/2014

Customer review by aa67401

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by aa67401
by aa67401
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had some concerns whether the LeapFrog LeapPad2 would really be appropriate for a 6-year old boy. He became absorbed in it. The battery life was reasonable. I was very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aa67401
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great learning tool for the little ones, HOWEVER..
1/15/2014

Customer review by Mommyisoutnumbered

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Mommyisoutnumbered
by Mommyisoutnumbered

This was purchased for my 3 year old. She often feels left out since her older siblings have lots devices and video games that she cannot play with because developmentally she is not capable yet. I had a neighbor that recommended against this device and suggested a regular tablet. We have 2 tablets in our home already and they are not perfect for her. I really trust and love the Leap Frog brand so I decided to purchase the LeapPad2 and give it a try. Since she received the LeapPad2 she has played with it everyday. In our home it keeps her busy during homework time when my older children need time to focus. This holds her attention and I know she is learning something vs. just playing on some device. I have had to sit with her a few times and teach her the way around the device and games but now she can play independently for the most part. We purchased a few extra games and videos to load onto the device but really the games that already come loaded on them are a great place to start. We purchased to LeapFrog videos, The Letter Factory Game and a Team Umi Zomi Math game. Pros -The ability to buy and load Leap Frog movies directly to the device and not have the movies floating around cases around my house. I LOVE the Leap Frog movie selection. They have been a great learning resource for all my children! PROS -Easy for a little one to navigate. No more disappearing apps, being redirected to advertisements on the internet, or mysterious purchases from the app store. -LOVE the rechargeable battery feature. -Stylus is attached to device. -Durable..Has been dropped many of times. -Great apps to teach letter formation. I really love that app and it was preloaded on their -I love the big selection of Leap Frog games. -My older children (5-8) like playing with this device as well. CONS -I wish the stylus was FATTER or they sold a fatter stylus since my daughter is a learning how to old a pencil. I think a fatter stylus would help her with letter formation. -I wish on the drawing app every time a color or size was selected the device would speak the color or size to help with color and size recognition. -The "Learning Song" MP3 player it would be nice if it had pictures to go along with the punctuation song. -The games are a little more expensive than traditional apps on other devices but I KNOW I am getting quality apps so the cost doesnt bother me much. Apps I have purchased from App stores in the past have always been a gamble for me and I only have a hand full of educational apps I have loaded on other devices that I have absolutely loved. I would definitely recommend purchasing the apps in the Leap Frog app store and loading them directly on the LeapPad INSTEAD of buying the cartridges that way you dont lose them. Plus the LeapFrog store had some really good app package deals.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyisoutnumbered
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews