Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
27
3 stars
22
2 stars
10
1 stars
26
1-20 of 190 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
My 2 year old loves it!
11/25/2013

Customer review by Catie626

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Catie626
by Catie626

I got this for my sons 2nd birthday and in just 3 months he knows his alphabet, numbers, and colors! So far we have not had any problems but I would recommend getting the warranty just to be safe. My son spends a lot of time playing with this toy and it is wonderful for long car rides. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (93) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catie626
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Item good games ..
1/3/2015

Customer review by LatinLover21

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by LatinLover21
by LatinLover21

This leappad is great kids love it .. I like it but I want more games on sales like the racing and lower more prices on the games or make them with more levels on the games ..

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LatinLover21
rialto california 92376
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Learning Tool!
8/20/2013

Customer review by algerber

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by algerber
by algerber

I love this product! I am an elementary teacher and have taught kindergarten for the past 6 years. The LeapPad has been my students’ favorite product, but this one is WAY better! First off, I love that the LeapPad Ultra has a rechargeable battery that can last up to 9 hours. My students no longer have to beg me for batteries! It is included with 11 learning apps. All of these apps hit many different curricular areas, especially in reading and mathematics. It is able to be differentiated. When you set up each child’s profile, you can select Early Pre-K level up to a 6th grade level. All of the learning apps will then adjust to that child’s level. Another neat feature is that the LeapPad Ultra has built in Wi-Fi. It is a completely kid-friendly and safe way for students to search the web, including videos and photos. Leapfrog gave me this product to test as a Leapfrog Teacher Ambassador. All I can say is, I am SO pleased and can’t wait to share this with my students this school year!!

Was this review helpful? (223) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
algerber
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5 year old loves it!
1/25/2014

Customer review by momhardyof3

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by momhardyof3
by momhardyof3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

so far we have really enjoyed the leap pad, my son has been working through the levels of his games and has taken interest in being creative with the apps. The only problem is he wants to play with it all the time now! I highly recommend this as a first tablet for your child. I was debating upgrading to a standard tablet like the apple mini or kindle and am glad that I did not invest the extra money, this is perfect. it's made for kids his age and I don't have to worry about him accessing anything that is not intended for children as he can play and create at his own free will with this tablet without me looking over his shoulder and checking up. I really like the fact that all the games have some type of educational value, not like some of the apps i've downloaded on my iPad for the kids to play that are just a plain waste of time. With the leap pad they are playing and learning at the same time. You cannot beat the bundle price at Walmart either, I couldn't find a lower price for the case/game/tablet bundle. awesome value!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momhardyof3
san diego, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/26/2013

Customer review by SingleParentKP

3.0 stars 8/26/2013 by SingleParentKP
by SingleParentKP

How I feel about this new Leap Pad Ultra. Hmm....I purchased the Leap Pad on 8/17/2013 and so far it has factory reset itself twice (automatically) since. In doing so it completely erases everything your child has saved on to the Leap Pad. All the music I took the time to upload, all the pictures he has taken, even the progression he has made on his Cars 2 cartridge game COMPLETELY GONE! Despite my current dissatisfaction, he's keeping it, because he loves it. And I don't desire to have a World War 3 on my hands. However, the day this bad boy doesn't turn on or the screen goes out (as i have had a Leap Pad 2 do on me) it goes back. If your going to make this purchase GET THE WARRANTY, KEEP THE ORIGINAL PACKAGE and SAVE YOUR RECEIPT. I have done all of the above and am fully prepared.=) SN: I thought about purchasing a few apps to go on it. Thank God I didn't. They would have been lost as well, I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? (111) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingleParentKP
Kannapolis, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be careful with the warranty.
5/15/2014

Customer review by DothebestIcan

3.0 stars 5/15/2014 by DothebestIcan
by DothebestIcan

I purchased two of these for my kids for Christmas. The set up was easy but I admit took me a minute to navigate thru all the games. What I was disappointed about was that the "Kid Friendly" web access does not allow you to go to say Nick Jr. you are only able to access LeapFrogs web. My biggest issue with this tablet that for the price you would exspect a decent warranty. After my son pressed to hard with his stylus and popped the back screen. This is not covered by the warranty. I was advised and double checked that accidents are not covered. The only thing that is covered is if the tablet it self falls apart. Think of recall status. Luckily we also purchased the store replacement warranty but am truely discouraged from purchasing LeapFrong products in the future. Especially at this price.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DothebestIcan
Would recommend to a friend? No
sadly disappointed
11/1/2013

Customer review by 4uth

3.0 stars 11/1/2013 by 4uth
by 4uth

I preordered this in July and have had many issues since. (1) The battery indicator fails miserable and caused leappad to shut off after being fully charged. (2) Leappad lags many times after being powered on sometimes freezes, causing me to power of then back on. (3) The screen randomly goes black, again needing to power off then back on. (4) Tried to fix leappad buy using their "fix" option however it stated it wouldn't delete anything on leappad but it did. These are just a few that come to mind ,my son loves his leappad but now we're stuck waiting for leapfrog to confirm leappad isn't working properly to ship me a new one back . In conclusion I'm very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4uth
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
They put down my smart phone!
8/11/2013

Customer review by Sherilaurieleahkaydav

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by Sherilaurieleahkaydav
by Sherilaurieleahkaydav

This is the only tablet you need to buy! My children put down my smart phone to text each other with the Pet Chat App. There were able to pick from pre-approved text and send it to each other as their pets! They also used the camera to put their faces on animal pictures. They were in love with the LeapPad Ultra from the moment it came out of the box. Every year I find myself buying toys to play games, art stuff, eReaders, and camera products. This toy has all of those in one box! I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone with children. I am also a working Mom and participating in the LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador Program so I receive free LeapFrog products in connection with the program. You will be glad you bought this product.

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherilaurieleahkaydav
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, durable and fun!
9/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm loving this Leappad Ultra for my son. I'm not looking for him to master an iPad because to be honest, it would end up shattered. So this is perfect because its durable while still making him feel like he's being a "big kid" using an iPad. The internet connectivity might be my favorite thing about this, it lets my son connect to a kid-safe internet. The apps are just as great as LeapPad2, just a bit of a better camera. One cool thing about this one is the peer-to-peer capability but my son is too young to use it but I'm sure we'll be using it in the future. All in all, we have been really pleased with this because it feels and acts like a tablet but still maintains the durability and youthfulness of a toy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dupont, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
colorful
11/16/2013

Customer review by naddda

2.0 stars 11/16/2013 by naddda
by naddda

The tablet is slow, often become unresponsive to the stylus pen or finger touches, slow and laggy, wifi connection purpose is to connect and send usage data back to the company. It does have a solid build and quality feel to it. The problem is only the touchscreen and slow, laggy (the apps skip a lot, like a scratched dvd movie), and unresponsiveness of the touches. with $60-$90 tablets being sold pretty much everywhere these days, this might not be most cost effective FOR the performance of this device.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naddda
westminster, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Upgrade from LeapPad 2
9/2/2013

Customer review by balancinghomereviews

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by balancinghomereviews
by balancinghomereviews

My 4 year old was already obsessed with the LeapPad 2 and I really had a hard time thinking of how it could be better. The LeapPad Ultra doesn't disappoint. The screen is a fantastic size--think iPad mini. The wifi access makes learning endless. Instead of blocking what comes in--LeapPad only allows the good stuff in. Wifi access allows for peer to peer play so you can play friends or classmates in education games. I also love that the LeapPad Ultra comes with the chargeable batteries built in and a LeapPad Ultra charger. The stylus is built in better, sliding completely in a hole for more convenient storage. My 4 year old spends hours drawing on his LeapPad Ultra, which he never did on the LeapPad 2--I think the larger screen is the reason. He really loves his LeapPad Ultra and will play on it for a long time independently. I cannot wait to explore more games.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
balancinghomereviews
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Glitches, Glitches and more Glitches
3/3/2015

Customer review by TwinMom2012

4.0 stars 3/3/2015 by TwinMom2012
by TwinMom2012

I bought my twins both a Leappad Ultra for their 3rd birthday. My daughter I got the bundle that had headphones, case, gel casing, etc. and my son I bought the Leappad Ultra and gel casing. I thought that the controls and potential for use was awesome. It has a virtual pet, games, educational stuff, music player, BUT the loading screen takes FOREVER. Downloading apps takes FOREVER and sometimes when I turn the Leappad on, an already downloaded app won't show up and I have to download it AGAIN. When watching videos, they are very grainy, slow to load and 2 times out of 3 the video crashes after 30 seconds of watching. Selecting things with either the stylus or your finger is hit and miss....it's not very accurate. The frustrations with this product is making me wish I just spent the extra money on another tablet for them. For the amount I paid, I was hoping it would at least be relatively fast. These problems are on both Leappads so I know it's not just me.

TwinMom2012
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
My six year old grew tired of it in two weeks.
1/10/2014

Customer review by PlasticBottle6

1.0 stars 1/10/2014 by PlasticBottle6
by PlasticBottle6

The games/academic apps that are available do not teach what they are marketed to teach. They are for amusement only. The ad for the $10 Planes app says that it teaches math reasoning, weather, seasons, spatial reasoning, and measurement, but it does not. It is a game that allows your child to fly a plane vertically and horizontally to hit floating circles for extra points. The speed at which you navigate the course will award you extra points also. This is not what I wanted from their learning software. My advice to you is to go to a store, and play with one for a bit to see what it would be like to own one. Then, make your decision at that point. The device has wifi access, but only to download more of their software. Other than that, you can't do anything with the feature.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlasticBottle6
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Had to be replaced after 6 monthes
8/16/2014

Customer review by Te12324

2.0 stars 8/16/2014 by Te12324
by Te12324

My son loves his Leappad Ultra but after 6 months of use if stopped working one day. We connected customer service since his was still under warranty and they sent out a new one very quickly and without any problems. I am now just a little worried if the new one is going to last.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Te12324
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to Improve on the LeapPad2, but they did it!
9/7/2013

Customer review by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker
by NotQuiteSusieHomemaker

I was sent the Leapfrog Ultra for the purposes of this review, however all opinions are my own. My son has the LeapPad 2, and it’s been a favorite around here since he got it. When we heard about the LeapPad Ultra, it was a no brainer that we needed to try it out! While the LeapPad2 was hard to improve upon, the Ultra somehow managed. One of my favorite features is the ability to connect via Wi-Fi to download apps. I always found it annoying having to connect to the computer & run the LeapFrog Connect software every time I wanted a quick new game for my son, so being able to download new apps on the device is a huge plus. &That Wi-Fi isn’t just good for downloading apps- you can play with other LeapPad Ultras that way! There’s also a kid-friendly browser that can access ONLY websites pre-selected by LeapFrog, so your kids can have fun browsing the web without you having to worry. We have two Ultras, and so I was able to race against my son in one of the racing games. It was so much fun to actually be able to interact with him while he played! It also was a great demonstration on how the LeapPad games cater to your child- we each used separate units, and in the beginning of each round it would ask you to identify numbers. My son, being just barely 4 years old, knows his numbers to about 20. The questions on his unit reflected that, asking him to identify those numbers he already knows. Mine, however, adjusted after the very first round because of how quickly I identified those numbers. Soon it went to the twenties, then the thirties, and then bigger numbers! It only took a couple of rounds to show just how quickly & perfectly the games customize themselves to suit your child’s level. They aim to teach further without challenging so much that they discourage the child, and that is definitely achieved. The screen is beautiful on the LeapPad Ultra- it’s 7 inches and hi-res, and the child version of myself that had a green-lit game system is incredibly jealous. Per usual, it has an incredibly kid-friendly design {which my son seems to want to test repeatedly as he drops this thing far too often} and includes the double camera as well. I like that you barely have to tap things on the screen to get them to work- it’s not overly sensitive but you don’t have to push down hard, which is great for little hands. &Thanks to the Wi-Fi, you can access over 8,500 games, eBooks & more, including all educator-approved & educator-created content- so no more bored kids! The LeapPad Ultra is intended for kids 4-9 but many games cater to even younger children. The Ultra really is fun for the whole family!

Was this review helpful? (119) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotQuiteSusieHomemaker
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LeapPad Ultra = Academic Success!
8/12/2013

Customer review by Kinderkonnects

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Kinderkonnects
by Kinderkonnects

As a kindergarten teacher of English Language Learners, I'm really excited about the new LeapPad Ultra. I have students who are at very different stages in their development and it provides personal skill levels for each student! It will be perfect for independent centers where each student can enjoy learning and feel successful. Things I really like: * The 7 inch screen. * The stylus slides right into the LeapPad. * The charger!! * It came with 11 apps including music! * Child friendly size and texture. I know that this LeapPad Ultra will support my students personalized instruction and lead to their academic success! I am a LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador, and receive free products for my kindergarten classroom.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kinderkonnects
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected for the price
12/27/2013

Customer review by Kayla7777

2.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Kayla7777
by Kayla7777
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I paid $150.00 for this Leapfrog Tablet for my 7 year old son. I thought it would be as good as the Kindle Fire but with more learning features and camera/video. Turns out it's nothing comparable. Every time you switch the screen or load a game, it clocks forever before it opens the program. I thought it came with reading materials and it has no books. I think you have to buy everything extra when you can get a Kindle Fire and get millions of FREE apps. The screen quality is not very good. I was just very disappointed with this for the price you pay. It's not worth it to me and I'll be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayla7777
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vetch products preferred
12/29/2014

Customer review by Cagwood

3.0 stars 12/29/2014 by Cagwood
by Cagwood

I bought this after reading an independent review of some tech toy reviewer. He preferred the LeapPad to the Vtech. I have always been a Vtech fan, but what the guy said in his review made sense. I was disappointed almost instantly. You can only use LeapPad products, whereas the Vtech you can use Android apps and you can access ABCmouse.com. You can't pdo anything like that with this. I am also disappointed in the games. They are not worth the price you pay. Right now, the only game I found worth the money is Splurgle! Vtech games are faster paced, far more interesting and fun, and just as educational. Not only that, but the system is $30 cheaper! Drawn to the 7" screen? Vtech now has one with a 7" screen and right now it's still cheaper than the LeapPad. Two days after Christmas I bought the Vtech max becauses Vtech offers a superior product all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cagwood
Would recommend to a friend? No
Another hit for LeapFrog!
8/10/2013

Customer review by Leapteacher

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Leapteacher
by Leapteacher

I receive products to test with my kindergarten class as a LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador. I love the LeapPad Ultra! This tablet is kid friendly straight out of the box! With wifi I was able to easily access previously purchased apps. The LeapPad Ultra has a beautiful 7 inch screen. I am thrilled with the built in battery. My son loves the camera and video features. The LeapPad Ultra is a perfect blend of learning and fun!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leapteacher
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolute Waste of Time & Money:
4/30/2014

Customer review by smasj8

1.0 stars 4/30/2014 by smasj8
by smasj8

We purchased this for our son for Christmas 2014 and started regretting it shortly after. The device is a great concept with poor execution. When we started to set up the Ultra, it automatically downloaded apps from the previous Leap Pad. It would have been nice to have the opportunity to decide which apps we wanted to download and which ones we did not want to download. Felt like it took a year to download them all. Finally got it working, but at times the device would run slower than molasses during a winter vortex. My wife purchased new apps recently that my son can't even use because the Ultra is too full. But it is not allowing her to delete the apps. So, I decided to install the LeapFrog app on my computer - thinking it would speed things along for setting up and managing the Ultra. NOT! After taking what felt like a century to download the apps, now the Ultra is "syncing". Started last night around 9:00 PM. Want to know what percentage was when I got up at 6:00 AM this morning to check? 15%. In the meantime, the Ultra will probably die from battery starvation, and I will have to begin the syncing process all over again. Complete waste of time and money. Not to mention that the tablet is so big, even Hagrid from Harry Potter would probably gawk if he saw it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smasj8
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews