Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 150 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 148 reviews
1-20 of 148 reviews
Perfect Phone Protection
12/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you value your new Samsung Galaxy S4 you would be foolish not to protect it. This OtterBox Defender Case although slightly bulky provides the necessary protection for your phone. You definitely can't go wrong purchasing an OtterBox Defender Case. The case fits the S4 as tight and seamless as possible. Two piece hard case plus rubberized exterior pull-over provide protection that is the best I've found available. It is easy to assemble and take apart when you do need to get the phone out. It has the proper openings for camera, flash and speaker on the back and for sensors and speaker in front. It has pull out tabs for headphone and mini-USB jack, which helps in keeping dust out. These tabs are now reinforced with plastic, an upgrade from my last Defender case purchased. The bottom of the case does not interfere with the home key or soft touch keys at the bottom of the phone. The raised lip on the case surrounding the screen provides perfect protection from scratching and it comes with a built in screen protector that doesn't affect the sensitivity of the screen whatsoever. I did come across one minor issue, when pressing the side buttons you do have to press a little hard, but for the protection you get, it's fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good protection; difficult to open case
12/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Am glad I purchased this case for my Samsung Galaxy S4. It fits perfectly and seems to provide increased protection from daily wear and tear--time will tell. I like the exterior texture which makes the phone less slippery. Also happy with the built-in screen protector. The case does increase overall bulk of the phone; not a problem in a purse, but maybe too large for a pocket. Very difficult to separate/open the two sections of the inner case and the directions that accompany the case are no help. I wish Otterbox would provide specific written instructions (not only photos/videos) on how to separate the two sections.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty and Protective
11/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This cover is very protective for my phone. I do not have any concerns about dropping it or scratching it. It is easy to hold and nice to look at. The color choice and cost is much better than the same brand and style of cover available at Best Buy. Only issue is overall cost. It is the market value for this type of cover, but phone covers seem to be expensive for what they are.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It does a great job of protecting my Galaxy!
11/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It fits perfectly, it was easy to put on and I feel secure that my phone is protected with this case. I like the fact that I can put on the belt clip part if I am not wanting to carry a purse. Everything works through the screen protector and I have no problem plugging in the charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great!
5/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm known as the phone killer in my family. Two weeks after getting my new phone, it fell out of the car into a gutter. The Otterbox protected the phone. There wasn't a ding or scratch on it. Yes the OtterBox Defender makes the phone bigger and heavier, but if you are tough on phones or have kids that are, this is the case to get.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Armor plated, shock resistant protection
2/27/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my 2nd Otterbox...first lasted a year until I broke a retainer clip when it got caught on something I was walking past. I dropped my Galaxy phone at least 20 times this past year...usually on concrete or asphalt. Not a scratch or chip in the glass on the phone. Yes it is bulky...but if you are hard on your phone...this will protect it no matter what. Superb value and ultimate protection against broken glass or case on the phone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great phone protection
1/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Otterbox is the best phone protection without making the phone too bulky. I had one for my Droid X and now for my Galaxy S4. WalMart's online price cannot be beat, even in the store. Do yourself a favor and order it online with a ship to store option.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job
6/27/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The case is easy to handle and grips nicely. It does the job it's supposed to.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product for Samsung Galaxy S4
2/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As per other reviews, the setup instructions are inadequate. But I was able to easily figure it out. Haven't had the chance to check for its' protective features (knock on wood) but it seems to provide a good barrier for accidental drops. Doesn't seem to cause any problems with using the touch screen as I was concerned about. All touch commands are easily executed. I would recommend to a friend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finally got it right!
1/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This purchase is worth the money enough said! I'm a mom who is always on the go and has a lot to carry which in turn ends up dropping my phone all the time. With otter defender I no longer worry about that issue. One less thing to worry about! When you open for the first time just have patience it is tough to open when getting to the inside of it, like previously stated in other review. But I also like is that it has its own little shell inside of it to help with impact. I personally went to the website to use instructions on how to open it. Don't forget to put the memory card in to avoid the time of reopening it all over again. The screen that is attached to the phone case is awesome! My other half was touching it and was impressed with the screen quality and the case to its entirety, and usually hassles me about keeping the phone protected two thumbs up from him. I personally use just the phone with its smooth rubber grip case by itself and rarely use the phone holster which tends to make it very bulky. All in all to sum it up, do not hesitate to make this purchase like I did you truly are going to love this product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Defender
9/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
what a great case that includes a built in screen protector. This is my second Otterbox and I will continue to rely on them in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too bulky and heavy
5/11/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Defender case made my phone too heavy and big. Definitely not for someone who keeps their phone in a pocket. I keep mine in my purse and even then it was too bulky and hard to fit. It is of very good quality and I'm sure it would be a good fit for a construction worker, a farmer, or someone who needs extra protection and carries their phone on their belts, for example. I also disliked the screen protector. I returned it and got the Prefix Otterbox, which I loved it. It kept my phone protected and sleek, for half of the price of the Defender series.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The otter box has the been the best case protector I've ever had. When my husband bought my first otter box I thought he was crazy spending so much money. After dropping my phone several times and nothing I mean nothing not even a scratch was on my phone. That's when I said I will never bought anything but an otter box case. With Cell phones being so experience you want to protect it at all times.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great quality.
8/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is well worth the money. Don't waste your time on the look alikes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Holds up
12/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this case from previous experience with otterbox of another phone. This one is much slimmer and better clips that keep it together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Case
8/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is one excellently built phone case for my Galaxy S4 Has easy access to all your ports as well as for covers for them
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great protection for my phone
6/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good protection short of being waterproof. I had a Defender case for the previous two years with my Galaxy S2 phone which was great except for the belt/pocket clip (which failed repeatly.) This new model appears to have a greatly improved belt/pocket clip, so far so good on the new clip design. I work in construction and service work, and so far the defender cases have worked for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Seems to be ok
10/18/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've only had it for a month - it was a real bear to separate the plastic inner case - must have watched a video a dozen times and shredded 3 fingernails. Finally got it open, and it was easy to assemble after that. Knock on wood..I haven't dropped the phone yet, so can't vouch for the reliability of the case, but others I know who have an OtterBox are satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor quality piece
6/9/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have purchased these before with out complaints, the otter box is fine except for the outside rubber piece, it doesnt fit properly, its oversized in the corners and flips off easily
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT PRODUCT... IT'S AN OTTERBOX
1/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
EXCELLENT fit & protection for your valuable G S4. I've owned anOtterbox for my IPhone 5 which protected the "HOME" KEY but with the S4 the key is exposed. However, I realized the design of the phone would not allow the key to be protected because of the menu & back button location. The phone didn't seem as bulky as I thought it would be, with such a solid case. It is a Galaxy S4 which is why I wanted a bigger screen with the freedom the DROID SYSTEM allowed over its competitors so this OTTERBOX meets all my needs in protecting my investment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-