Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
1-20 of 34 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Sound turns off
5/12/2013

Customer review by Cuity

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Cuity
by Cuity

I would rate the unit 3.5 to 4 stars if the sound didn't turn off every 15 to 20 minutes for no reason. The video continues to show, the unit appears to still be on.....but.....NO SOUND. The only way to make the sound come back is to turn the system off, then turn it back on. Very annoying and ruins the home theater experience. Hopefully it is just this one and not a common malfunction. Good luck with yours.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Home theater system, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Home theater system.

Cuity
Show Low, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good!!
5/25/2013

Customer review by Reviewer12344321

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by Reviewer12344321
by Reviewer12344321

I had the 2911 box deal which had the problem with sound dropping out and died after only 60 days. So I bought this unit on a whim - it cost the exact same price so trying it didn't cost anything after I returned the other unit (hassle free I might add). I was REALLY hesitant to buy this though given my already somewhat disappointment with RCA. But I did. I still hold that this is the best box deal for the $$. Everything hooked up easy, and once I made a few easy adjustments to the sound, everything sounded GREAT! I just finished setting it up and have had it running audio/video for the last 2 hours strait - NO PROBLEMS! No sound drop out, no issues what so ever. The improvement in the AV receiver was immediately noticeable. The 5 second delay of audio video is still present when you first start an HDMI AV throughput, but with my experience that's normal behavior for an AV receiver. Long term I'm not sure what to expect. BUT...if it keeps going like this, I'll be VERY happy for a long time with this setup. Nice speakers, nice hardware, overall GREAT deal!

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviewer12344321
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, but...
3/26/2014

Customer review by yajstylez

3.0 stars 3/26/2014 by yajstylez
by yajstylez

This unit is literally the cheapest (lowest cost) of home theater system out there WITH a Receiver included that can hook up to anything. I yanked the speakers up to volume 40 (very loud) and it still sounded pretty clear considering its low cost. The bass is at best 'okay'; it works, but if you turn the bass any louder (deeper sound) it would just start to rattle instead of having the clear deep bass sound. 3 stars because the unit died on me. I just bought the item and hooked it up, played songs for about 2-3 hours, and the unit just turned off on me. Tried powering it back on, stays on for about 5 seconds, turns back off (with red light indicating). Sometimes, if you're lucky, it tells you there's an error code 02, then turns off. I tried checking online if there's any info of that error code and absolutely nothing. Triple checked the wires if anything is wrong and definitely nothing wrong. Unit just died on me.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yajstylez
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound. But other issues make it a bad system
2/16/2014

Customer review by 3inSlugger

3.0 stars 2/16/2014 by 3inSlugger
by 3inSlugger

I have had this system for about half a year. Mixed opinion of it. First problem is that the system annoyingly shuts off after about a second of silence. The system then takes a couple seconds to turn back on, therefore you miss about 2-3 seconds of usually important dialogue after a silence. I have yet to find a way to turn this off. Second problem is that the cooling fan has begun to make loud grinding sound after start-up. It does go away after several minutes of being on, but that doesn't bode well for the future of the system. The sound quality is excellent, however. I listen to dubstep and metal, and this system handles the bass really well. I'm impressed with the system's ability with music, it just makes some movies un-watchable. CONCLUSION: I cannot recommend as a general system. It is OK with music and video games (anything that doesn't have pauses), but you will miss audio watching movies.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3inSlugger
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like!
6/25/2013

Customer review by pooh2000bear

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by pooh2000bear
by pooh2000bear

I brought this device 2 days ago and it seems to work fine sound is perfect for the type of system it is. You can change the bass settings and also change the type of sound that comes out. The only thing that seems to be a problem is not having a controllable EQ. If you want a low cost system for one room use this is it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pooh2000bear
Newkirk, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not work well with HDMI
6/17/2013

Customer review by Overcomer68

3.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Overcomer68
by Overcomer68

I purchased this system in the store. I had it a few hours and the hdmi connections would make me lose video or sound or both. I loved the features. Tuner was HUGE plus. All other inputs great. The soud was more than adequate for main floor home stereo and home theater sound....at times a little too much power. The problems with hdmi really bothered me though. I would have to turn off and on the unit 3 to4 times in order to watch a full movie. I tried 2 units and then returned for a full refund. I found a refurb Panasonic on Walmart.com to replace it. Price is great!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Overcomer68
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wowwww broke in 5 mins
7/28/2013

Customer review by AckAck93

1.0 stars 7/28/2013 by AckAck93
by AckAck93

I was very happy with the sound for the first 5 mins. I was playing ps3 spent a long time setting it up and making it all pretty then... i heard a pop and saw it say error and then it shut off and now when i turn it on it turns off. The volume was only on 4! Taking back to walmart right now! i wanted to post a review asap so then no one would buy this piece of junk. How can a company even make something like this? Waste of my time i will never buy another electronic from walmart.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Home theater system, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Home theater system.

AckAck93
berea ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Satisfied
6/28/2013

Customer review by IAMhpyhpyhpy

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by IAMhpyhpyhpy
by IAMhpyhpyhpy

I am satisfied with this system, It is easy to use and setup!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAMhpyhpyhpy
Pekin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do Not Waste Your Time Or Money
3/18/2014

Customer review by 10080813

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by 10080813
by 10080813

I should have known better then to get a home theater system from Walmart. When I got home and hooked it up it played for a few seconds then read error 02 and shut itself off. Did this multiple times. I even unhooked everything and hooked it all back up again. Please do not waste your time or money. Took it back and went to Best Buy (which I should have to begin with).

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Home theater system, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Home theater system.

10080813
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Glad it's a stand in only
6/24/2013

Customer review by Heyyouthatguy

2.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Heyyouthatguy
by Heyyouthatguy

The EQ is not customizable in this. The best you can do is turn up each speaker individually and define whether you want 'Powerful' 'Normal' or another type of EQ function. I don't like that. Rooms aren't all made identical and they need to have individual settings... This system is way too bass-y. Not the good kind either. The kind that makes everyone's voice sound like you are plugging your ears and they're yelling at you. Not only that, but this system has a sort of auto-detect feature where it turns off power to the speakers if there is an extended silence of like 3 seconds or more. So if you're watching a movie with a lot of quiet scenes, or playing a game with loading screens right before important dialog, don't expect to hear the first second or so of what is being said, cause it has to turn back on.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Home theater system, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Home theater system.

Heyyouthatguy
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defective Product
4/14/2014

Customer review by zombieresponseteam

2.0 stars 4/14/2014 by zombieresponseteam
by zombieresponseteam

Initially I was pleased with this system; however, when powered on it began to make a whirring or grinding noise. This began as lasting only two or three seconds, then progressed to much longer. It also, initially would only do it the first time it was powered on in the day, it has not begun to do it each time it is powered on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

zombieresponseteam
Would recommend to a friend? No
love it
11/4/2013

Customer review by meatclerk44

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by meatclerk44
by meatclerk44

i love this surround sound the 3 hdmi input is awesome and i can easily hook up my u verse xbox and bluray all to one system since my tv only has 2 hdmi inputs

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meatclerk44
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
take off the shelves horrible product
1/14/2015

Customer review by United123456789

1.0 stars 1/14/2015 by United123456789
by United123456789

Sound and picture goes in and out. I even bought new HDMI thinking cord was bad. And then learned after reading reviews this problem is common with this system. Do not buy horrible product

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 1/19/2015

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

United123456789
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great sound, and very afforable
7/11/2014

Customer review by daffyduck1234

4.0 stars 7/11/2014 by daffyduck1234
by daffyduck1234

I looked and looked for something that I could afford, and low I found it. I have used RCA in the past and always had good luck. I have had this unit now for 4 days, and it does a fine job. I don't use the pass through for the HDMI, I use the analog settings and the coaxial input for the dvd. The sound is good, this was a replacement from a Sony that I have had for 10 years, and I paid more for the sony all those years ago, the I did for the RCA today. I like the settings for the subwoofer so that I don't blow the people downstairs away at night. Hook-up was easy, and everything was color coded so it was a no brainer. I have read all of the reviews and I was leary of the unit, but I have 90 days to see it its going to make the grade, I am tempted to buy the extended warranty plan, $18.00 for 3 years. I have a few days before I have to make up my mind. One of the other draw backs is that it doesn't do DTS, and as far as features go, the DTS thing is my only hang up. I would recommend this unit to a friend It has all the features that my Sony had, minus the DTS. The prologic II sounds good and I have had great luck with the digital input from my DVD blue ray. If your looking for something that has decent sound and something that wont empty your wallet, give it a try you can always return it if you don't like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daffyduck1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the price
1/17/2015

Customer review by Harleyrose1

4.0 stars 1/17/2015 by Harleyrose1
by Harleyrose1

Over all sound is good for the price. Easy set up only took a few minutes, everything is color coded. Can easily adjust the sound to what ever you prefer, stereo, movie, or hall sound. Jazz, rock, studio, very easy. Very small speakers but put out a lot of sound. Over all, very satisfied with the sound and can connect other items, DVD, Blue ray. Good Buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 1/19/2015

Great Review! Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Home Theater System.

Harleyrose1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great to wast time
9/28/2013

Customer review by MrSirR

2.0 stars 9/28/2013 by MrSirR
by MrSirR

took one hr to set up.. the only thing that worked was the radio turner. wouldnt read the cables connected to the tv and just not good. taking it back to wally world and going back to sony products

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 3/30/2015

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Home Theater System. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Home Theater System, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Home Theater System.

MrSirR
houston tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
One star is too much!
10/9/2013

Customer review by Duner269

1.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Duner269
by Duner269

I bought this for our tv in the bedroom. I had read the reviews on it and paid no mind to them thinking, "these people don't know how to hook the system up right or they don't know how to adjust the settings correctly."Well, I went to Walmart and bought this system, went home and installed it. Easy set up, color coded for those who aren't keen on hooking up stereo systems. Remote: most times it worked but had its moments to where it did not respond. Purchased three new HDMI gold plated $9 a piece cables for optimal sound and picture. After setting the distance, treble and bass it sounded pretty good. I was happy until football came on. On the full Dolby surround, no sound was present. Played with the configuration and found that I had to use the "stereo" function, the front speakers only, to get sound. After football, I noticed that most HD channels on the "Dolby surround" mode the voices would either be muffled or staticky. Putting it back to "stereo" mode and the voices were clear, on the front speakers only! After one day, the wife and I were watching a program and the sound cut out. I thought, "I should have taken the reviews seriously." Turned the system off and back on, and the sound came back. About an hour into our program, again, the sound goes out. I looked at my wife and said, "It's going back!" Save your pennies and purchase something better. RCA, what happened to you guys on this one?

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 3/30/2015

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com.

Duner269
Yuma, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA RT2781H has had static in surround since day1
3/3/2014

Customer review by MJ010

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by MJ010
by MJ010

Purchased in January 2014 for a media wall. Hooked up to use before media wall was built, it was full of static when playing with a Sony Blueray, thought it was because it was in a temporary setting. After the media wall was completed and the system hooked up permanently, the system has so much static it is un-useable. Tried to call the Customer Service at RCA, bur they never pick up the phone. The RCA manual also requires you to ship it back in the original packaging which I don't have. This will go into recycled electronics - do not buy this Home Theater System.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJ010
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Far So Good
12/2/2014

Customer review by oke100

5.0 stars 12/2/2014 by oke100
by oke100

This system was easy to setup and te sound is great. I have no issues with this system thus far, but I have not have it long enough to really test it, too. Oh yeah, the shipping was fast!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/12/2014

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your RCA Product.

oke100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No better systyem under $200
3/22/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/22/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

As everyone else has said this system is very easy to install. I have had it for 1 week and have put it thru the test of cranking it up for a few hours at a time in FM mode and playing stations on Directv radio stations. Cranked it up while watching Batman - The Dark Knight with no problems and GREAT SOUND. My only draw back is hooking up my Directv receiver with HDMI cables into the receiver shuts down my television speakers and the receiver must be turned on to watch tv , if you just wanna watch normal tv without the Home Theater System you can't do it, but who wants to do that anyways. I have and will continue to reccomend this system to all my friends

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 3/27/2015

Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Home Theater System.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews