Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

55 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

55 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-20 of 47 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
AMAZING
5/4/2010

Customer review by KPNE

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by KPNE
by KPNE

Black and Decker Grass Hog, where have you been the past 5 years of my life?! I'm NEVER buying Weed Eater brand again! Suffice it to say that this product is more than worth the money. I have a smallish yard, but could actually do the whole yard with this without a mower. This trimmer cut through some fern that we've been unable to get even the mower to cut, let alone my old Weed Eater wouldn't even touch it and would shut down instead. This one cut through it like it was nothing. I actually enjoyed doing the job with it as it's so light weight and user-friendly. My husband is outside right now just to play with it a bit, and it's nearly impossible with the old one to get him to even touch it. Make sure you follow the directions and wear eye protection if you have a lot or tall stuff to weed. It has quite some power, and does throw it out and up, even with the large guard. Needless to say, I will be recommending this to all my friends and family. THANK YOU BLACK AND DECKER!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KPNE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better then expected
6/12/2008

Customer review by dziendobry

5.0 stars 6/12/2008 by dziendobry
by dziendobry

I bought this for the value, but I would recommend it based on performance. It rocks! I was especially surprised how well it edges. Easy to use, very light and comfortable, plenty of power to get through all kinds of growth.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dziendobry
Highland Village, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
An Excellent Value
3/7/2009

Customer review by Ilovewhatworks

5.0 stars 3/7/2009 by Ilovewhatworks
by Ilovewhatworks

I have to admit, I'm biased. Every B&D product I've ever owned has far exceeded expectations. I started out by reading all the reviews on trimmers/edgers this morning, because I needed to buy one specifically to cut down all the border grass around my and my neighbor's properties. I bought this one because I wanted quiet operation, power for tough jobs, and something that would last a few years. Well, I just spent about 5 hours outdoors working the daylights out of this thing, and it's just great! The auto-feed is perfect - no bumping! Can't wait til something grows up so I have to use it again. This would be worth twice what they're asking for it. Go For It!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ilovewhatworks
Zebulon, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Expectations surpassed!
3/30/2010

Customer review by tinyman7892

5.0 stars 3/30/2010 by tinyman7892
by tinyman7892

I just bought this trimmer today. Pulled it out of box put it together in under 5 minutes, was using it in ten minutes!. It slice through a weed that was about 12 inches tall like it was butter. I read a review about the cord comming unplugged. I bought a package of 3 8 inch extention cords for use with power adapters to plug in power strips and plastic tie straps. Secured the cord. Works great. Thank you for all your reviews. They were the deciding factor. I am glad I listened to you guys.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tinyman7892
Waxahachie Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazingly Impressed
7/1/2010

Customer review by mommylookingforadeal

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by mommylookingforadeal
by mommylookingforadeal

I was doubtful of buying a electric weedeater my mother has a ryobi and i hated it, the power on it was very weak. I do not want the hassles of gas weedeaters anymore, based on reviews i bought this one. All i can say is WOW. in 5 minutes we had it snapped together, and i used it for the first time today. very very powerful to cut the tuffest of weeds. when you have the trigger pulled all the way in, it is strong enough to chip the skirting of a mobile home ( i know i did). It also moved gravel around that was in my flower bed (pretty good size chunks of driveway gravel). Since i never used one i had to play with the trigger to get use to what speed i needed but i love it. The cord did come out on me a few times but it is a corded weedeater its the price to pay im sure there is a way to keep it from coming out, but it did not bother the performance any. All around it is a good weedeater and i wold buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommylookingforadeal
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
its ok
5/12/2009

Customer review by mrspeeperz

4.0 stars 5/12/2009 by mrspeeperz
by mrspeeperz

this thing seems like itll hold up for a while. we've owned it for a few months and it does a good job. 2 problems though...1st is the part where the extension cord plugs in...its ALWAYS falling out. ive figured out just wrapping the extension cord around the neck of the weedeater fixes this problem. 2nd is the string feeder. its ALWAYS getting tangled. i'll go half way down the sidewalk and i have to stop and fix it. SO annoying. otherwise good buy

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrspeeperz
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Problem prone
7/1/2010

Customer review by GatorTom

2.0 stars 7/1/2010 by GatorTom
by GatorTom

The automatic line feed doesn't appear to work on my unit. I have to stop every couple of minutes to remove the cap, feed out some extra line, and then put the cap back on to continue. This may be partially my fault since the line spool came loose allowing a bunch of line to unwind. I carefully rewound the line but may have not done something right. Still, at this point, the unit is barely satisfactory so that is the way I am rating it. It is unfair to the product to either recommend it or not recommend it due to not enough use but the review system won't let me leave that section blank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GatorTom
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
parts out of reach
6/6/2009

Customer review by JFaith

3.0 stars 6/6/2009 by JFaith
by JFaith

I've owned this product for a while, wonderful, except cannot finds parts when needed. Gone to Home Depot and Lowe's no parts,Not the one I need, which is the housing part, the part where the spoil set in. So i can not use the trimmer until then. Need to provide housing unit in store which can wear out in time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JFaith
Houston,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
DOESN'T HOLD UP
4/23/2009

Customer review by aquadoc

1.0 stars 4/23/2009 by aquadoc
by aquadoc

PRODUCT DID NOT EVEN LAST A SUMMER. BECAME OVERHEATED, SMOKED AND SEIZED UP. WISH I HAD NOT BOUGHT MULTIPLE SPOOLS OF LINE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aquadoc
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
doesn't feed line well
6/15/2009

Customer review by 2littlechicks

2.0 stars 6/15/2009 by 2littlechicks
by 2littlechicks

I bought this last year to replace the weed eater brand bump advance one i had for 5 years after it quit working. I don't like this trimmer. The line always gets stuck and doesn't advance properly (a problem I never had with my weed eater), and I even tried the factory wound line thinking I was winding it wrong...I wasn't, it's the trimmer. I do like the fact that the head rotates and not the handle, much easier, however that does not make up for the problem of the line not advancing correctly. I am currently online looking for a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2littlechicks
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very Cheap but Works GREAT!
5/17/2010

Customer review by ProcShop

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by ProcShop
by ProcShop

I purchased this from the store to trim around my landscaping and my walkway. My nephew used it today and he cut my backyard, trimmed out my landscaping edges and trimmed my walkway. He was very impressed with it and said it worked better than the more expensive gas trimmers. He said this item was a 10.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProcShop
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Powerful light weight trimmer,edger
12/3/2008

Customer review by july4

5.0 stars 12/3/2008 by july4
by july4

Easy to assemble. Light weight and easy to use. I am 66 yrs. young and I have no problem using it. Does a great job. I only got to use it twice before winter weather set in. But I really liked it. You can't go wrong if you buy it. Love the automatic line despence no more taping to get more line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
july4
Rutledge,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Long Time User
8/22/2010

Customer review by energytospare

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by energytospare
by energytospare

I have used a Grass Hog for 8 years and it never failed me. I bought another one for my daughter.It does a cleaner, better job than when a professional does my yard.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
energytospare
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great but buy line in bulk
5/30/2010

Customer review by teechnbiz

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by teechnbiz
by teechnbiz

I like it alot and love not having to bump to feed, but was very surprised at how quickly I run out of line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teechnbiz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Auto feed for edging is a bust!
8/16/2010

Customer review by hbm3

3.0 stars 8/16/2010 by hbm3
by hbm3

Price is great, weed eating function is great, but the edging feature is a bust. It appears the auto line feed feature only allows the line to come out about 3" from the spool which is not far enough to "edge" using the edge guard along a sidewalk or curb. I tried numerous times...the only way to get a deeper cut was to retract the edge guard and manually edge your sidewalks. Retracting the edge guard allows you to lower the trimmer closer to the ground, but now you are trying to edge a straight line with no guide. The auto line feature actually has room to feed the line out 6" before it hits the line cutter blade; so, not sure why it doesn't feed out past 3". I'm taking it back to WalMart tomorrow and finding a manual/bump type line feed weed eater!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hbm3
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product BUT......
8/15/2009

Customer review by TheBeav

4.0 stars 8/15/2009 by TheBeav
by TheBeav

I have owned this same model before. This morning it totally broke where the length adjustment is done. I was very happy with the product so, off I go to WalMart to get another. During assembly I noticed that the upper handle would not assemble properly. There is a black spacer used to grip the main tube for stability of the handle. It was impossible to use this spacer so I assembled it without it. The handle is not as secure as it could be but it will work. I noticed that I had installed the handle on my old one the same way, probably for the same reason. It makes on wonder if the mfrs ever assemble and us any of their products themselves. Overall, the product works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBeav
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
My Review
8/19/2010

Customer review by angiedelaware

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by angiedelaware
by angiedelaware

I really like the product, especially for the price. The only thing that REALLY frustrated me was the way the instructions were laid out. I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to put the thing together. The diagrams were counter-intuitive and didn't match up to the pictures. It was very confusing. I kept having to look at the box to see the picture of how the guy was using it. When I finally figured out how to use if correctly, it worked great! I'm happy with it. But, honestly, I've only used it once. But, I worked with long, thick, high, heavy weeds. It cut right through really fast and efficiently.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angiedelaware
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Grass Hog
7/12/2010

Customer review by VietnamVet1

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by VietnamVet1
by VietnamVet1

I have previously used this type of trimmer and really liked it. The motor in my other one finally burned out. It was about 5 years old. I got it from a friend. I have used it all around the house and five out buildings. As well as our patio area which is about 1,000 sq feet. So it has done it's job. I am well pleased with the Black And Decker Grass Hog 14" trimmer. I also saved money by getting it on line instead of going to a Walmart store. Thanks .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VietnamVet1
Oden, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Electric Today
6/3/2010

Customer review by YobaBB

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by YobaBB
by YobaBB

Over the years, I have owned electric and gas trimmers of various sizes. This trimmer gives you electric instant-on convenience with nearly the power of smaller gas trimmers. If you have the typical modest residential lot and Bermuda that you keep in reasonable condition, this is all the trimmer you'll need. If your lot is bigger and you keep a nice assortment of weeds, you'll want the portability of gas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YobaBB
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
looks gd. but!!
7/15/2009

Customer review by televisionpotato

2.0 stars 7/15/2009 by televisionpotato
by televisionpotato

after charging 48 hr. before using 1st. time, the battery lasted about 13 min.. will try to return today for gas trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
televisionpotato
central il.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews