Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 50 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 49 reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
You Get What You Pay For!
7/7/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am so disappointed with the Sylvania DVD Media Player. The price was fantastic and my family and I were going on a 1300 mile road trip and I purchased this to keep the toddlers entertained. It worked great for the trip to the destination. The only problem is that we have to return and now we have to purchase a new system because the player randomly "died". Thinking it might be the movie that was currently in the player that was causing the problem, I changed the movie and....nothing. Considering this DVD player was $40....I guess you get what you pay for. My suggestion is pay more and get a player that is more reliable and will last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good for the price!
5/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this to keep my granddaughter occupied on a six hour car trip and to use in hotel room! It kept our trip from becoming frustrating! Walmart was the only place I could find a portable dvd player! it was easy to use and came with everything you needed for a roadtrip including the cable to hook it up to tv!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my 6 yr old!
3/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this for my 6 yr old to use on long car trips. It was easy enough for her to use w/o help and the price was good. The screen swivels around to fold flat making it easier to hold w/o accidentally hitting any buttons. FYI- when charging make sure the off/on switch is off or it won't charge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great DVD player, but controls are hard to use.
3/24/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The battery life seams a little short. Controls for volume and navigation are not as easy to use as other models I have used. On the plus side, the swivel feature works great, and as long as you plan ahead the device will have enough charge for one movie. If you forget it isn't to bad having it plugged in while driving.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price, but not great
5/21/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The player does well with most DVDs although it's a little picky about anything I recorded on my DVD recorder off TV. I never know if a home DVD is going to play on it. The truly weird thing about it, though, is that the volume controls are the same buttons as the Stop and Play buttons, so you have to hold them down to change the volume. Accidentally tap it and you've just killed your DVD! Why? I have no idea. It doesn't seem like a volume control would add that much to the size of the player! Although this works fine and was a great price, I probably wouldn't buy it again. It's just annoying. We're working on using the remote more, but who can find that in the car?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap but good
4/22/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The only problem with this little player is that the volume can`t be turned up very loud, I guess because it is low wattage or amps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Product for the money
7/6/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the fact that it came with every kind of adapter imaginable. That meant my daughter could watch in the car without me having to get a new charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good choice for an older child
4/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought it for two younger children because it was cheap and durable. I would recommend for an older child because of the volume control which is tricky for an adult to master. I do like it , the picture is good, it seems like it is a good value for the price. The battery life could be longer, but I was aware of that when I bought it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2 ports didn't work
5/19/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The AV output port did not work. The USB port recognized the drive, but could not find the movies that were on it, so maybe it does not read MP4 like it claimed to. Without these, I simply returned the device the very next day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't Bother!
7/1/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this item the first time for my five year old granddaughter to watch movies during an 18 hour trip. The screen would not even come on to play from minute one from opening the box; all we got were burned in lines across it. After driving a couple of states, we returned it and exchanged it for another. The second one would turn on and then stop playing seconds into the movie. Needless to say, it was a LONG car ride. These things obviously were poorly manufactured with no quality control standards in place. Don't even attempt to purchase this item!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought 2, both stopped working
8/8/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son is almost 6 & had the same dvd player for several years & it finally died so we bought the sylvania dvd player. The first one stopped working after 3 weeks so we took it back....by the way sylvania customer support is a joke! They wanted us to pay $7 to ship it to them to repair. We got a 2nd sylvania dvd player & it quit working after a couple of hours. Both had the same issue...you put a dvd in & it says no disc. We tried multiple discs & rebooting...still nothing. Worst dvd player I've ever owned!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what we were looking for!
9/13/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had a long road trip and a 2year old. This kept him entertained and the ride stress free. Great deal for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works better then you would think for the price. The sound doesn't get real loud but worked well with headphones.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Feel apart after 1 use
7/30/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This feel apart after one use. The entire board inside of the player shifted to where it was no longer functional. Was returned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought 2, 1 did not work
9/2/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased 2 of these, 1 did not work. Tried to return to Walmart couple weeks later, told had to go through the manufacturer as over return period for electronics. Now have to pay to ship item and for item insurance. Even though I bought the protection plan! Not covered until warranty runs out. Overall not happy. The one that works is okay, cheaply made product. What do you want for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hated it
6/12/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I didn't care for this products. I returned it after buying this for my dughter. The buttons were to confusing and it didn't come with a car charger were I use it the most. No remote and there was not a clear picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Good DVD Palyer
7/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great DVD player. We love this dvd player so much, my teenage daughter wants one for herself. It's great value. We love, love the fact that it hooks up to the TV and it comes with all plugs and even an adapter for the car. You cant go wrong with this purchase. Good sound, great quality picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesn't work
12/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Horrible! Turned on but would not play dvds. Returned for a similar Phillips brand that works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great investment!
11/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I brought this item for my grandson and he loves it .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well worth it
3/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very impressed with Walmart online mail service. This product is a lifesaver when you have a three-year-old child, especially when we were on a trip. It was great on the plane, in the car. With the extension cables. It was fantastic. Connecting to the hotel TV and on the cruise ship in our cabins television. This saved us a lot of grief with her daughter who wanted to see her favorite movies. Also, for my wife and I we enjoyed it because we got to see some of our favorite movies when we were bored. We also found a very durable especially when you have a three-year-old child handling it. I highly recommend this portable DVD player.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642852, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-