Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 47 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Great for RV - no glass, lightweight, hot coffee
9/22/2013

Customer review by Thirtyeight38

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by Thirtyeight38
by Thirtyeight38
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to use in our camper, where we have limited space and avoid glass since it can break easily while we are driving. Comes with a reusable filter but you can use the small paper filters (4 cup size). It makes about five cups, but the grounds you can use are a bit limiting, if you prefer a VERY strong brew. I prefer to use a "rounded tablespoon" of grounds per cup of coffee. With the 5 cup Personal Brewer, if you use 5 rounded tablespoons, the sprayer arm is so close to the grounds that it displaces the grounds into areas that are a bit hard to clean. Solution: If you are like me and prefer a strong brew, you can make 4 cups at a time, which is about all I can drink in the mornings anyway. Or, place a small paper filter over the top of the grounds to prevent them from spraying around. Overall, I really like this brewer and it has such a nice sleek appearance.

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thirtyeight38
U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delighted With This Option...
2/27/2014

Customer review by Lv2Brz

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by Lv2Brz
by Lv2Brz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

...over the carafe models. I'd hoped to find an alternative in my online search of products, including Target's offerings. Even though there were no online Wal-Mart reviews on this product, I bought this based on the product description/specs and photo/colors. For some reason, the online reviews were about the Hamilton Beach Toaster Oven -- NOT matching the product shown. My last coffeemaker was a GE 5-cup [with carafe] which lasted almost 3 years. This attractive option, personal brewer, takes up less space on my counter top. A quirky surprise was the intermittent brewing sound, which reminds me of my mother's old olive green percolator from the 1970's. There is a slight plastic-like odor I detected during the first few processes, which fade after a few brews &/or more than a couple of plain water cycles before using for your coffee. Overall, it produces a great cup of coffee using my favorite Yuban decaffeinated coffee.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lv2Brz
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great / Basic / Fast Brewing System
2/12/2016

Customer review by Giovanni

4.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Giovanni
by Giovanni

I recently tossed out a 20-year old KRUPS 5-cup coffee maker after I broke its glass carafe and couldn't find a suitable carafe replacement. This Hamilton Beach "all-in-one" unit is a great product that works well as a basic, fast brewing system. I like how quickly it heats the water and then brews the coffee. And, for under $20, one may be hard-pressed to find a similar product that performs as well. I would have given this product five stars, but didn't do so because I think the temperature of the coffee could be a bit hotter. This is a minor issue for me and may not be significant to others. After reading some reviews of this product in which the end user indicated that coffee grinds may end up in your cup when the coffee is being poured, I thought I'd repurpose some unused paper coffee filters I had to preclude this issue. I'd previously purchased the smallest/cheapest/generic paper filters that Walmart sells in its retail store to fit the KRUPS 5-cup coffee maker I eventually tossed out. The paper filter doesn't exactly fit the circumference of this product's small mesh and plastic coffee filter. However, the paper filter can be easily formed down into the mesh and plastic coffee filter, and positioned so that the hot water dispenser arm is directly over the center of the paper filter. I've yet to find any grinds in my coffee after I poured a cup from this product when using this filter method. I'm happy with this product and would highly recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Giovanni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Small
2/8/2016

Customer review by 22SMUMU

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by 22SMUMU
by 22SMUMU

Instructions don't tell how to know coffee is ready. The 'see through' windows (3) at various places are difficult to read with them steamed over. It states it's a 5 cup but only hold 25oz of water so when it's finished there's not even enough for 2.5 8oz mugs of coffee. It's an EXCELLENT idea just wish it was a wee bit larger. Also, it has a permanent filter which is even better. Works great. Plug it in, light comes on. No auto shut off or brew, nothing fancy. Just a great LITTLE coffee pot

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
22SMUMU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Odd-looking, but a great coffee maker
8/14/2015

Customer review by JRyun

4.0 stars 8/14/2015 by JRyun
by JRyun

This silly-looking pot doesn't go with anything in my kitchen, which is black and chrome, but I needed a replacement for my Mr Coffee clone in a hurry. I didn't want the same type I was replacing, which died after one year, and this pot was about all I could find in my price range. I really like this perculater, and I love the consistency of the coffee each morning. It's called a 5 cup. I drink two large mugs, so I don't know exactly how much it holds. Now, for the downside: the cord is much too short; the pot must be carried to the sink for adding water; the opening to add water is directly in liner=e with the handle, and that makes it clumsy; the water level bubbles are difficult to see; there is no power indicator light. I use the carafe from my old 4 cup pot, and that's how I measure and pour water. When I pour my second mug, I turn off the pot and remove the lid. That way I know I turned it off when I look later. For these reasons, I cannot give 5 stars. I would certainly buy this type of coffee maker again It reminds me of my mother's perculator but without the metalic taste.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRyun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best for traveling or camping (in an RV)
10/17/2013

Customer review by pixie015

3.0 stars 10/17/2013 by pixie015
by pixie015
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This makes coffee just fine, it was easy to brew coffee in just a few minutes. Normally, I use a small french press to make coffee and this was just a bit large for my taste. The cleaning of this was also difficult since you had to wash out the part that holds the coffee, but not get the soapy water into the rest of the brewer. I prefer something a bit easier to clean or something that you can throw into the dishwasher. Not having glass parts or a carafe is nice if you're traveling on a road trip and need to bring a coffee brewer to use in a hotel (not sure why you would need to since you can buy coffee at most places), or if you're camping in an RV, or just accident prone. Unfortunately, I wouldn't see myself using this very often. I'll be sticking to my french press.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixie015
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Inconvenient
4/28/2016

Customer review by Pilar

1.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Pilar
by Pilar

I have to unplug it every time I put water in it. My plug is behind the microwave, so I am returning it today for a more conventional one. Too bad because I loved the bright cheerful color.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pilar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great coffeemaker for those quick cups!
10/22/2013

Customer review by 1BUSYCLEANER

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by 1BUSYCLEANER
by 1BUSYCLEANER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice coffeemaker... different concept from the glass carafe. Coffee still drips but stays contained in the pot, almost like an electric percolator. Makes good, hot coffee, and real easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1BUSYCLEANER
Fountain Hills, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Self shutoff
4/22/2016

Customer review by OAK1

4.0 stars 4/22/2016 by OAK1
by OAK1

I like the product but I wish it would have told if it had an automatic shutoff....other than that.....I give a 4Star rating....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OAK1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Should be called "4-cup watered-down coffee" maker
4/17/2016

Customer review by Marie

1.0 stars 4/17/2016 by Marie
by Marie

When filled to each max line, it only makes about 4.25 cups of weak coffee. The water reservoir doesn't even hold a full 5 cups before brewing. Coffee grounds always end up in the bottom of my cup. If I wanted Turkish coffee, I would've bought an ibrik. At least then, it'd taste stronger. Overall, I'm not impressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent
1/20/2014

Customer review by candyman1948

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by candyman1948
by candyman1948
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to fill and prep, and just rinse out when done. Please keep in mind that it only makes 5 small coffee cups, but fills two coffee mugs perfectly. I am extremely pleased...

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candyman1948
Huntington WV 25703
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Product
2/1/2014

Customer review by Sky2222

4.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

This pot actually does hold five 8 oz cups of water and brews those in about 3 minutes. There is a water level gauge, but it appears it's based on a 6 oz/cup. The removable basket easily holds enough grounds for five cups of coffee unless you are one who likes coffee so strong that you can walk on it. The filter has a retaining lip that keeps grounds in as coffee is poured. The electrical chord is long enough to allow for pouring with it still plugged in. It is no longer or shorter than most counter top appliances. Cleaning isn't all that difficult, either. A soft, bristle brush or sponge will work nicely. Size is the same as a normal peculator type unit. I purposely turned the pot off for an hour to see if it would keep the coffee warm. It did. Only two negatives to report and the first one lowered my overall rating a bit. That one is that the lighted, on/off switch is on the back side of the pot. Since this pot does not have an auto cut-off, I consider that an issue since you can't tell if it is on or off without turning the pot around. Secondly, red is a not a standard kitchen appliance color. Hamilton Beach should have figured that out and, at the very least, given consumers a color choice of black.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sky2222
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful decor for your kitchen.
8/30/2014

Customer review by nimblefingers

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by nimblefingers
by nimblefingers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never used a brewer before, but I was attempting to add color to a bisque kitchen. That color happens to be red. When I came across this red, white and silver brewer while browsing, I knew it would look wonderful on the kitchen counter. After purchasing this brewer, and my husband using it to make coffee, I am so happy I went for the color because the brewer makes much better coffee than the appliance my husband had been using before. We are so pleased with this purchase, not only because it makes the kitchen so much brighter, but that the coffee is delicious, per my husband.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nimblefingers
Brooksville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Travel Coffee Maker
2/12/2016

Customer review by CWINTOUCH

5.0 stars 2/12/2016 by CWINTOUCH
by CWINTOUCH

The size of this travel coffee maker was just right to fit in my luggage. It was great not to have to carry coffee filters. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CWINTOUCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
like the coffee pot
3/21/2016

Customer review by niko1130

4.0 stars 3/21/2016 by niko1130
by niko1130

I like the coffe pot heats the coffee very well, some coffee makers don't heat as well, I do wish that the cord was placed differently, i'm a lefty so when I pour the cord kind of gets in the way

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niko1130
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coffee pot
3/18/2016

Customer review by shellnskip

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by shellnskip
by shellnskip

I bought this for my camper. Works great and don't have to worry about glass breaking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shellnskip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes a good couple of cups of coffee
11/10/2014

Customer review by Idacat

4.0 stars 11/10/2014 by Idacat
by Idacat

I do like this item and would probably purchase again even realizing the points at which I found it falls short of my expectations. These are: you cannot use a disposable paper filter, you have to use the provided nylon/plastic mesh filter which requires cleaning with each use. This is part of my overall biggest complaint about the product, it is a PAIN to clean. Wash the coffee reservoir with hot soapy water, do not get hot soapy water into the water reservoir as you do this. Really? I'd rather have that carafe that I could just put in the sink and wash although yes, I might break it (I've never broken one). So- pro- it makes good coffee fast and keeps it hot. Con-total pain to clean/wash.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Idacat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast and simple.
5/29/2014

Customer review by SeaDogDye

4.0 stars 5/29/2014 by SeaDogDye
by SeaDogDye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's large, bulky and rather funny looking. But it is so easy to use and it makes two perfect mugs of coffee every morning. I strongly recommend the unit. I have discovered that it will only take four spoon fulls of grounds in the coffee basket. Any more than that and it will overflow into the dispenser. My regular coffee pot needed five to make the brew flavor / strength I enjoy. So, not only is this unit easier and faster to use but I am getting the same flavor of coffee using one less spoon full. Not a fortune in savings ... yet ...

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeaDogDye
Mount Shasta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OKAY
11/17/2013

Customer review by wishigotmystroller

3.0 stars 11/17/2013 by wishigotmystroller
by wishigotmystroller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

HARD TO POUR WITH SHORT CORD THAT IS NOT DETACHABLE, AS ADVERTISED

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wishigotmystroller
PORTSMOUTH, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You Get What you Pay For
2/16/2016

Customer review by MsGrndl

3.0 stars 2/16/2016 by MsGrndl
by MsGrndl

The coffee pot works. However, the cord is very very short, the pot must be cleaned every time and has to be unplugged to be cleaned, and it takes twice as much coffee to make a cup with the same flavor as in a standard coffee pot. It's less expensive than others, and if I had no standard coffee pots to compare it to, it would be okay, but I am getting out of it what I paid for it, and that is about all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsGrndl
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews