Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 442 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

442 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

442 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
231
4 stars
79
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 stars
91
1-20 of 442 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 442 total reviews
1-20 of 442 reviews
WOW! Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!!
8/27/2014

Customer review by borodi

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by borodi
by borodi

Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!! It more than meets my expectations in flexibility as we can use not only the 12-cup and the k-cup but also uses pods or ground coffee in the single/mug side!!! It does take a little long to brew the 12-cups, though we use the programmable timer and it is ready when we get up, so no big deal!!! The carafe has an awesome (my husband calls it manly) handle that ensures confidence when picking up a full 12-cup pot. And finally, the carafe has a spout that is practically spill proof, which is great especially since most pots seem to run off to the side when pouring that first cup. Absolutely our favorite coffee maker EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? (89) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
borodi
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Maybe
1/8/2016

Customer review by fearzero

3.0 stars 1/8/2016 by fearzero
by fearzero

Great Concept; a few kinks. One has to add water for every cup, using the k-cup side (or single cup ground); and initially we had trouble with different levels of return liquid, no matter how much water was put in. I found that there was a 'flap' of plastic under the drain inside the pot. The first single cup would be ok, but if you made another soon after, you wouldn't get but maybe 1/4 cup - if that. I found the 'flap' would stop up the water from going down into the water reservoir for the single cup. Sometimes I have to 'push' the flap to get the right amount of water into the single cup reservoir. The other thing is that it is loud. For a full pot, it's great; but we purchased this because we wanted to be able to use our k-cups OR the regular pot. Overall, I think it is ok. If I can get the flap removed, I don't think I'll have to return it. But, this is something the manufacturer needs to look at. It appears to be a piece from the mold that didn't come off when assembled?

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fearzero
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great idea but can't overcome plastic smell/taste
3/8/2015

Customer review by esedlin

1.0 stars 3/8/2015 by esedlin
by esedlin

Love the concept of this machine - perfect for our needs. I did the research on this product before buying, and read about the issues some had regarding the plastic smell/taste. However, I decided to take a chance and try to work out the smell if we experienced it. Well, we've tried (and tried). Countless amounts of vinegar and water going through both sides, and I think I am throwing in the towel. I could overcome the smell, but the coffee on both sides is undrinkable. I honestly wish I knew someone in a lab who could test the coffee and see what it actually contains (other than the coffee). Surely, it can't be good for you! What I can't understand is why so many have this issue, but others don't seem to have it. I am hopeful that Hamilton Beach will take notice and work to improve its product, or that a smart competitor will jump in and make a similar unit. It really would be nice if someone in a lab could analyze the coffee produced and ultimately force Hamilton Beach to fix this issue.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esedlin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Single Serve Side Stops Working
8/8/2015

Customer review by tamrootbeer

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by tamrootbeer
by tamrootbeer

We bought this because of the variety of choices we had (full pot, k-cup, single serve). After about 1 1/2 months, the k-cup side stopped working...water would not filter down properly and signaled the machine that there was too much water for a single serve. While this is a good feature because it protects you against brewing a full pot into a single cup, this prevented it from brewing single side at all. We found a piece of plastic floating in the reservoir and thought it was a defect. So, we took it back and got a replacement machine. We liked it that much. The second machine lasted about 5 months and is now doing the same thing. It won't brew a single serve cup and makes a horrendous noise. Such a shame, as it is the perfect solution for those who like a variety of options. I shall be contacting the company directly now...who knows if I will get some sort of satisfaction. This is an expensive coffee maker. Based on this experience, I would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tamrootbeer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works out wonderful
8/3/2014

Customer review by oiltank

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by oiltank
by oiltank

I Love it!---2 way is great!---great tasting coffee! Mine has a small flaw in the water window (like water is trapped), but I still give 5 stars. I bought a 12 cup filter (1 cup side came with one) and bought a travel mug. It had the smell of melted plastic on k cup side so I ran vinagar through both sides and after making 2 cups of coffee there is no bad smell now. My lid has no wrap problem like some say they have in reviews. On the k cup side I make 12oz, but you can make 14oz max, but favor is weaker. The only-- reusable k cup pod-- that I find will fit is Cafe Cup reusable pod so you can choose your favorite coffee grounds that way other than using the-- Hamilton Beaches grounds do dad (that came with the pot). Be careful-- it is sharp, but on the Hamilton Beach's k cup do dad (not the one for grounds#--- pull back #it is spring loaded) on the bottom k cup hole puncher and slip the full Cafe Cup reusable pod in. It fits. I'm very happy happy with this coffee pot! Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oiltank
Valdosta Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Good product with some design flaws
1/4/2014

Customer review by bs23

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by bs23
by bs23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: 1) only need one coffee machine on counter top; 2) has loose coffee grounds basket for single cup included and it works great; 3) it works pretty good once you understand the limitations. Cons: 1) heater under large pot comes on when using single cup side of coffee maker; 2) has problems with some K-cup brands (pods that have K-cup top but only filter on bottom, these pods appear to be over packed, which results in half a cup of coffee and steam/hot water pressure release when removing pod), but works good with normal K-cup designs; 3) can only put in max 10 ounces of water for single cup. Which means you can't have a full reservoir of water and use the single cup side of machine. It appears to be a safety feature, so it just won't work. 4) If pod clogs, be careful about removing K-cup holder. This will cause the backed up hot water to be released into the K-cup, resulting in hot water entering unsealed K-cup and washing coffee grounds out the hole in the top of the K-cup and down into your cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (340) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bs23
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Plastic taste, smell unit before purchase
1/18/2016

Customer review by Pickle

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Pickle
by Pickle

We purchased this pot because we love the dual purpose of the pot and the single cup serve. The first unit we bought, had a really terrible plastic/chemical taste to the coffee. We cleaned it, used vinegar, ran it a million times to clear the taste but no such luck. I read an amazon review and someone posted to just return it and buy a new one, but to do the "smell test". I returned the unit, opened up another box in the store and sniffed the water basin. It smelt terrible!! Two units so far were bad. I then opened up another one and WA-LA! No terrible plastic smell (had a slight hint, but seemed a normal amount since it was plastic). I took it home, brewed some coffee and it was perfect. So before you buy it, do the smell test.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pickle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't like the single side
1/12/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I find this coffe maker so messy! When you try to pour the water in from a single mug it goes all over because of course mugs don't pour very well. So your other option is measuring out your water in something that has a spout. I don't know about you but all my mugs are different sizes. I wish it could just keep water and dispense a certain amount. The next problem is that unless you only have one cup of coffee and remember to take the little filter basket out of the machine to air dry the grounds are soaking wet and get everywhere. My old machine ran hot air over the filter to dry the grounds. Today the needle did not fully puncture the k cup and I had hot water everywhere. I don't have the option of keeping the machine next to my sink so I have to keep a roll of paper towels next to the machine for all the drips and spills and overflows.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I expected
11/6/2013

Customer review by Kaybeedee

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Kaybeedee
by Kaybeedee

I was very much looking forward to a machine that could do carafes of coffee as well as k-cups. Okay, this product does both. However, I did not know until I read the care instructions that for the k-cup function you can only put in a maximum of 14oz of water; you cannot fill the entire reservoir as it will beep at you until you get rid of some of the water. I was looking for something similar to my current k-cup machine: fill the entire reservoir, then choose 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, or 10oz. Carafe coffee makers allow you to fully fill the reservoir, too. I was hoping the 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker would allow me to completely fill the reservoir and do multiple k-cups in quick succession. This is not possible and therefore inconvenient. I sincerely hope that Hamilton Beach will come out with a new machine that will do k-cups and ground coffee (as well as full carafes) that allows you to fill the entire reservoir and lets you choose how many ounces you wish to brew.

Was this review helpful? (160) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaybeedee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Needs to back to the drawing board
12/23/2015

Customer review by Carmi2GA

1.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Carmi2GA
by Carmi2GA
Walmart associate

I bought this because I didn't want to spend the money for and actual Keurig machine. Plus, I like the thought of a full pot of coffee some days. I used it primarily with K-cups when I first purchased it. I wasn't overly impressed with the quality of the coffee produced and thought it was the fact I had never used K-cups before this. I was disappointed that I could select a strong setting only when making a full pot, but I could live with that. I was also completely baffled as to why the warmer would heat up while using the K-cup side. The real problems began after I made coffee with the carafe. That pot tasted like plastic, even though I had run the cleaning pot of water through as suggested before making that first pot. I see now, that is a common problem. When I went back to making single serving, the water would still continue to go to the carafe side, even though I would check several times that it was set to K-cups. The result at times would be maybe a shot glass full of coffee at the bottom of the cup. I ended up exchanging this for an actual Keurig machine and I love it completely.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carmi2GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
Many bad online reviews
12/29/2015

Customer review by Papa

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Papa
by Papa

Plastic taste

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papa
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT what i expected
4/7/2014

Customer review by Gramd03223

2.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Gramd03223
by Gramd03223

This Product is a good idea in general, sometimes i want a full pot and other times i need just 1 cup. But it is not a Keurig. I purchased this Product yesterday and Have made several diffrent types of K-cups and none of them taste good.. I think the K-cups and designed for fast brewing times and this coffee pot take 2-3 minutes to brew a 10 oz cup of coffee. The 12 cup side brews a decent cup of coffee, but any coffee pot can do that. I was looking for the convenience of a keurig, but i guess you get what you pay for. It has some serious design flaws which i over looked in my desire to declutter my counters ( i did not want 2 pots on the counters) first you have to add water for every k-cup you make, it does not have a reservoir, and if you add to much water by accident you need to wait for the water to brew out of it on the 12 cup side, because you will get an error message. This coffee pot is going back to the store today..

Was this review helpful? (44) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gramd03223
Campton NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolute piece of C!!! Do NOT Buy!!!
2/7/2016

Customer review by 2cheap2pay

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by 2cheap2pay
by 2cheap2pay

I had such high hopes for this coffee maker. My family loves coffee. First it is slow. It takes a long time to heat up the water. The reason that I bought it was the single cup capability. However unless you use the Keurig coffee packages it is a waste of time. The single brew has its own basket, but it is a awkward to clean. This works well enough. Second, the top is cheap and flimsy. After a month or so of daily use the top started to warp. The plastic hinge tab broke. I am going back to Cuisinart brand. But I did like the carafe better than Cuisinart. It pours easier. Last but not least, the power light stays on all the time and it is bright. No night light needed in kitchen for late night snacks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2cheap2pay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful except for plastic taste and smell
1/9/2016

Customer review by Senior78

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Senior78
by Senior78

Coffee maker did absolutely everything I was looking for. You have the choice of using k cups or ground coffee and also can brew single cup or carafe. Unfortunately when I brewed my first cup it tasted terrible. So I first washed everything that was washable, then ran numerous cycles of water and vinegar and then plain water through the machine. Then I drew a plain cup of hot water to use with my tea bag. The water smelled strongly of plastic. I assume the terrible taste in the beginning was also plastic. Returned the machine. Saw many people had the same problem so didn't want the hassle of exchanging it for another one that might be the same.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Senior78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hamilton Beach 12 Cup 2 Way Flex Brew Coffee Maker
10/30/2013

Customer review by vikki60

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by vikki60
by vikki60

This Hamilton Beach not only has a nice look but is very functional! It brews 12 cups of coffee fully in about 15 minutes, no drips when I remove the carafe from the unit to pour the coffee and the carafe does not leak coffee onto the counter when being poured. The single serve side is very convenient when I would like a cup of specialty coffee or a hot cocoa. Just make sure that your cup is in place before you start the process. I pressed the lever down and some of my hot cocoa was prematurely dispensed onto the maker! I make sure my cup is in place before I start the process. The coffee tasted good from the first cup...no plastic taste at all. I used this maker to replace the Kitchen Aid I purchased and only kept for two weeks...another twenty dollars higher in price but better performance and better tasting coffee!

Was this review helpful? (376) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vikki60
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I replace it 2 times within 6 months.
12/11/2015

Customer review by Crystal

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Crystal
by Crystal

The first one was a Christmas gift from my husband. It had a VERY strong smell of plastic. Every cup of coffee I made tasted like plastic. I tried cleaning it using every recommendation I could find on the Internet. Apparently I wasn't the only person that noticed the plastic taste as there were many webpages full of people saying the same thing. So I decided to try and exchange it. The one I exchanged it for didn't have the plastic smell! Hallelujah! Then it started leaking water out of the bottom six months later. Every time I would go to pour even just a little bit of water it would leak. I have learned my lesson. No more Hamilton Beach coffemakers!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crystal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wouldn't buy it again
1/20/2016

Customer review by nancee23

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by nancee23
by nancee23

We needed a new coffee maker so I bought this one because I like that I could use the K-cups in it too. After a month went to make a pot of coffee and it started leaking all over the counter. I took it back to the store and they replaced it for me. I was just hoping that maybe it was just a flaw in that one. Well after 3 months of having the new one I went to make a single cup and the water wouldn't come out. It just sat there and steamed. I had made a pot of coffee the day before and it was fine, so I tried making a pot. Same thing water wouldn't come out, it just sat there and steamed. So disappointed. Also it takes forever for a pot of coffee or a single cup to brew. Have seen that other people have had the same problems. Never going to buy one again. Guess I'll go splurge on a Keurig.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nancee23
Would recommend to a friend? No
Plastic taste
12/12/2015

Customer review by Beth

1.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Beth
by Beth

I tried to clean this machine out according to the manufacturing instructions (vinegar and water) but my coffee this morning still tastes like plastic. I am not that picky, people, but seriously this is bad! I am sad that I ruined my coffee and wasted vinegar now that I read reviews saying it doesn't get better with multiple cleanings

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible plastic taste on K cup side
2/12/2016

Customer review by Jenn

1.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Jenn
by Jenn

Pot side has no plastic smell or taste, the k cup side does. Even after several cleanings. Thought it may have been the k cup getting to hot producing a plastic taste, but we used grounds I'm that side also in the single serve ground area, still plastic taste. Returning and getting a keurig.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't throw away old coffeemaker
12/7/2015

Customer review by mrcoffee

1.0 stars 12/7/2015 by mrcoffee
by mrcoffee

This Dual purpose coffee machine is a good concept, but poor quality and reliability compelled me to write this review. I bought this coffeemaker and it took 6 weeks to get the plastic taste out of the coffee despite following directions for initial startup and cleaning. After about 8 months of use, it started to hiss and blow steam out the top and did not deliver any hot water to the filter basket. Could not take apart the unit to investigate the problem because it is put together with special 3 point phillips type screws. Called the help center at 4:50 pm eastern time and it was closed for the day. My solution was to throw it in the trash and buy a keurig (which is what I should have done in the first place). I now use my old Mr Coffee maker to brew a pot, and the keurig for a single cup, which is why I suggest you keep your old coffeemaker when buying this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcoffee
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 442 total reviews
1-20 of 442 reviews