Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 513 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

513 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

513 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
257
4 stars
90
3 stars
25
2 stars
22
1 stars
119
1-20 of 513 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 513 total reviews
1-20 of 513 reviews
WOW! Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!!
8/27/2014

Customer review by borodi

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by borodi
by borodi

Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!! It more than meets my expectations in flexibility as we can use not only the 12-cup and the k-cup but also uses pods or ground coffee in the single/mug side!!! It does take a little long to brew the 12-cups, though we use the programmable timer and it is ready when we get up, so no big deal!!! The carafe has an awesome (my husband calls it manly) handle that ensures confidence when picking up a full 12-cup pot. And finally, the carafe has a spout that is practically spill proof, which is great especially since most pots seem to run off to the side when pouring that first cup. Absolutely our favorite coffee maker EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? (133) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
borodi
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great idea but can't overcome plastic smell/taste
3/8/2015

Customer review by esedlin

1.0 stars 3/8/2015 by esedlin
by esedlin

Love the concept of this machine - perfect for our needs. I did the research on this product before buying, and read about the issues some had regarding the plastic smell/taste. However, I decided to take a chance and try to work out the smell if we experienced it. Well, we've tried (and tried). Countless amounts of vinegar and water going through both sides, and I think I am throwing in the towel. I could overcome the smell, but the coffee on both sides is undrinkable. I honestly wish I knew someone in a lab who could test the coffee and see what it actually contains (other than the coffee). Surely, it can't be good for you! What I can't understand is why so many have this issue, but others don't seem to have it. I am hopeful that Hamilton Beach will take notice and work to improve its product, or that a smart competitor will jump in and make a similar unit. It really would be nice if someone in a lab could analyze the coffee produced and ultimately force Hamilton Beach to fix this issue.

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esedlin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Maybe
1/8/2016

Customer review by fearzero

3.0 stars 1/8/2016 by fearzero
by fearzero

Great Concept; a few kinks. One has to add water for every cup, using the k-cup side (or single cup ground); and initially we had trouble with different levels of return liquid, no matter how much water was put in. I found that there was a 'flap' of plastic under the drain inside the pot. The first single cup would be ok, but if you made another soon after, you wouldn't get but maybe 1/4 cup - if that. I found the 'flap' would stop up the water from going down into the water reservoir for the single cup. Sometimes I have to 'push' the flap to get the right amount of water into the single cup reservoir. The other thing is that it is loud. For a full pot, it's great; but we purchased this because we wanted to be able to use our k-cups OR the regular pot. Overall, I think it is ok. If I can get the flap removed, I don't think I'll have to return it. But, this is something the manufacturer needs to look at. It appears to be a piece from the mold that didn't come off when assembled?

Was this review helpful? (46) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fearzero
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Single Serve Side Stops Working
8/8/2015

Customer review by tamrootbeer

1.0 stars 8/8/2015 by tamrootbeer
by tamrootbeer

We bought this because of the variety of choices we had (full pot, k-cup, single serve). After about 1 1/2 months, the k-cup side stopped working...water would not filter down properly and signaled the machine that there was too much water for a single serve. While this is a good feature because it protects you against brewing a full pot into a single cup, this prevented it from brewing single side at all. We found a piece of plastic floating in the reservoir and thought it was a defect. So, we took it back and got a replacement machine. We liked it that much. The second machine lasted about 5 months and is now doing the same thing. It won't brew a single serve cup and makes a horrendous noise. Such a shame, as it is the perfect solution for those who like a variety of options. I shall be contacting the company directly now...who knows if I will get some sort of satisfaction. This is an expensive coffee maker. Based on this experience, I would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tamrootbeer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works out wonderful
8/3/2014

Customer review by oiltank

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by oiltank
by oiltank

I Love it!---2 way is great!---great tasting coffee! Mine has a small flaw in the water window (like water is trapped), but I still give 5 stars. I bought a 12 cup filter (1 cup side came with one) and bought a travel mug. It had the smell of melted plastic on k cup side so I ran vinagar through both sides and after making 2 cups of coffee there is no bad smell now. My lid has no wrap problem like some say they have in reviews. On the k cup side I make 12oz, but you can make 14oz max, but favor is weaker. The only-- reusable k cup pod-- that I find will fit is Cafe Cup reusable pod so you can choose your favorite coffee grounds that way other than using the-- Hamilton Beaches grounds do dad (that came with the pot). Be careful-- it is sharp, but on the Hamilton Beach's k cup do dad (not the one for grounds#--- pull back #it is spring loaded) on the bottom k cup hole puncher and slip the full Cafe Cup reusable pod in. It fits. I'm very happy happy with this coffee pot! Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (36) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oiltank
Valdosta Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Good product with some design flaws
1/4/2014

Customer review by bs23

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by bs23
by bs23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: 1) only need one coffee machine on counter top; 2) has loose coffee grounds basket for single cup included and it works great; 3) it works pretty good once you understand the limitations. Cons: 1) heater under large pot comes on when using single cup side of coffee maker; 2) has problems with some K-cup brands (pods that have K-cup top but only filter on bottom, these pods appear to be over packed, which results in half a cup of coffee and steam/hot water pressure release when removing pod), but works good with normal K-cup designs; 3) can only put in max 10 ounces of water for single cup. Which means you can't have a full reservoir of water and use the single cup side of machine. It appears to be a safety feature, so it just won't work. 4) If pod clogs, be careful about removing K-cup holder. This will cause the backed up hot water to be released into the K-cup, resulting in hot water entering unsealed K-cup and washing coffee grounds out the hole in the top of the K-cup and down into your cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (369) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bs23
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't like the single side
1/12/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I find this coffe maker so messy! When you try to pour the water in from a single mug it goes all over because of course mugs don't pour very well. So your other option is measuring out your water in something that has a spout. I don't know about you but all my mugs are different sizes. I wish it could just keep water and dispense a certain amount. The next problem is that unless you only have one cup of coffee and remember to take the little filter basket out of the machine to air dry the grounds are soaking wet and get everywhere. My old machine ran hot air over the filter to dry the grounds. Today the needle did not fully puncture the k cup and I had hot water everywhere. I don't have the option of keeping the machine next to my sink so I have to keep a roll of paper towels next to the machine for all the drips and spills and overflows.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I expected
11/6/2013

Customer review by Kaybeedee

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Kaybeedee
by Kaybeedee

I was very much looking forward to a machine that could do carafes of coffee as well as k-cups. Okay, this product does both. However, I did not know until I read the care instructions that for the k-cup function you can only put in a maximum of 14oz of water; you cannot fill the entire reservoir as it will beep at you until you get rid of some of the water. I was looking for something similar to my current k-cup machine: fill the entire reservoir, then choose 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, or 10oz. Carafe coffee makers allow you to fully fill the reservoir, too. I was hoping the 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker would allow me to completely fill the reservoir and do multiple k-cups in quick succession. This is not possible and therefore inconvenient. I sincerely hope that Hamilton Beach will come out with a new machine that will do k-cups and ground coffee (as well as full carafes) that allows you to fill the entire reservoir and lets you choose how many ounces you wish to brew.

Was this review helpful? (171) (87)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaybeedee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Absolute piece of C!!! Do NOT Buy!!!
2/7/2016

Customer review by 2cheap2pay

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by 2cheap2pay
by 2cheap2pay

I had such high hopes for this coffee maker. My family loves coffee. First it is slow. It takes a long time to heat up the water. The reason that I bought it was the single cup capability. However unless you use the Keurig coffee packages it is a waste of time. The single brew has its own basket, but it is a awkward to clean. This works well enough. Second, the top is cheap and flimsy. After a month or so of daily use the top started to warp. The plastic hinge tab broke. I am going back to Cuisinart brand. But I did like the carafe better than Cuisinart. It pours easier. Last but not least, the power light stays on all the time and it is bright. No night light needed in kitchen for late night snacks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2cheap2pay
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT what i expected
4/7/2014

Customer review by Gramd03223

2.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Gramd03223
by Gramd03223

This Product is a good idea in general, sometimes i want a full pot and other times i need just 1 cup. But it is not a Keurig. I purchased this Product yesterday and Have made several diffrent types of K-cups and none of them taste good.. I think the K-cups and designed for fast brewing times and this coffee pot take 2-3 minutes to brew a 10 oz cup of coffee. The 12 cup side brews a decent cup of coffee, but any coffee pot can do that. I was looking for the convenience of a keurig, but i guess you get what you pay for. It has some serious design flaws which i over looked in my desire to declutter my counters ( i did not want 2 pots on the counters) first you have to add water for every k-cup you make, it does not have a reservoir, and if you add to much water by accident you need to wait for the water to brew out of it on the 12 cup side, because you will get an error message. This coffee pot is going back to the store today..

Was this review helpful? (48) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gramd03223
Campton NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great concept but poor quality
5/4/2016

Customer review by RWIllgen

1.0 stars 5/4/2016 by RWIllgen
by RWIllgen

I have gone thru 2 of these coffee makers in 3 years. The 1st one I had was less troublesome then the 2nd one. The problem always seems to be the single service side is very temperamental and chooses when it wants to operate properly. What I end up having to do is pull the kurig cup out of the holder, cut open the top and empty it into a filter and run a single serve into the pot a lot of times. For whatever reasons sometimes too when I move the coffee maker, there seems to be a lot of old coffee that leaks from the bottom of the coffee maker. There is some bad defects with this coffee maker, but as I said earlier, it's a great concept, when it chooses to function properly. But, honestly, it is not work $80, sorry.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RWIllgen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hamilton Beach 12 Cup 2 Way Flex Brew Coffee Maker
10/30/2013

Customer review by vikki60

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by vikki60
by vikki60

This Hamilton Beach not only has a nice look but is very functional! It brews 12 cups of coffee fully in about 15 minutes, no drips when I remove the carafe from the unit to pour the coffee and the carafe does not leak coffee onto the counter when being poured. The single serve side is very convenient when I would like a cup of specialty coffee or a hot cocoa. Just make sure that your cup is in place before you start the process. I pressed the lever down and some of my hot cocoa was prematurely dispensed onto the maker! I make sure my cup is in place before I start the process. The coffee tasted good from the first cup...no plastic taste at all. I used this maker to replace the Kitchen Aid I purchased and only kept for two weeks...another twenty dollars higher in price but better performance and better tasting coffee!

Was this review helpful? (381) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vikki60
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plastic taste, smell unit before purchase
1/18/2016

Customer review by Pickle

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Pickle
by Pickle

We purchased this pot because we love the dual purpose of the pot and the single cup serve. The first unit we bought, had a really terrible plastic/chemical taste to the coffee. We cleaned it, used vinegar, ran it a million times to clear the taste but no such luck. I read an amazon review and someone posted to just return it and buy a new one, but to do the "smell test". I returned the unit, opened up another box in the store and sniffed the water basin. It smelt terrible!! Two units so far were bad. I then opened up another one and WA-LA! No terrible plastic smell (had a slight hint, but seemed a normal amount since it was plastic). I took it home, brewed some coffee and it was perfect. So before you buy it, do the smell test.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pickle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love love my coffee making buddy!
7/6/2016

Customer review by Alyssa

5.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Alyssa
by Alyssa

I love my coffee machine! My husband bought this for me a year ago! It works fantastic! I was very skeptical about spending so much for a coffee maker, but I'm so glad he did! I absolutely love the single serve side. (It's my most used side) the big pot is great for when I have company. I enjoy the strong brew option most when using the big pot side. I Kinda wish it was available in the single serve side. I think if I had to point out something I didn't like about it, I'd have to say the dripping after its beeped that it is done on the single serve side. I have to keep up with keeping it clean on that side, but it's still totally worth it to me! I tend to use the basket to brew my own single cup vs. the kcup side.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alyssa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
K-cup stopped working, very disappointed
7/5/2016

Customer review by Bill

1.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Bill
by Bill

About 6 months after we bought this coffee maker, the K-cup brewer started malfunctioning. It would randomly shut itself off after a few seconds of making brewing noises. Now, it will make all the brewing noises and sound like it's brewing, but it won't actually brew anything! We spent many frustrating mornings trying to get it to brew a K-cup but we've finally just given up. Our last coffee maker lasted 15 years (Mr. Coffee) and we only paid $20 for it, and this one didn't even make it a year. We were hesitant at the cost of this thing being 4 times as expensive as our last coffee maker, but I would have gladly paid more for a coffee maker that, you know, actually brewed coffee...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? No
All around good coffee maker
11/11/2013

Customer review by Sadie44

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Sadie44
by Sadie44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is a great coffee maker. It has met my expectations and exceeded them. I've made half and full pots of coffee, used k-cups, made single serve with scooped coffee grinds and have also made tea using k-cups. I've had the pot 2-3 weeks and have yet to find any flaws but because of the small amount of time owning it I can't comment on it's durability hence I've given it four out of five stars. It makes a hot pot of coffee and keeps it that way, shuts off after two hours as stated, makes hot k-cup or single serve, is programmable so you always wake up to a nice hot pot of coffee. As far as value, expectations, and appearance go I would definitely recommend buying this coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (130) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadie44
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not real simple
7/6/2016

Customer review by Toad

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Toad
by Toad

First of all...this is not a standard single-cup brewer with a reservoir of waiting water. The biggest drawback is that you can only put the amount of water for the individual cup in it at one time. So for every cup you want to brew, you put that amount of water in just before you brew. The same reservoir is used whether you are making a 10 oz. cup, a 14 oz. cup or a 12 cup pot. It brews the whole amount of water, so make sure you have the selector switch in the right position before you start it. I do like having the option of cup or pot, but it's not quite as convenient as a K-cup brewer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love everything about it.
11/17/2013

Customer review by daws1979

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by daws1979
by daws1979
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this coffee maker for a few weeks now and really can't find anything negative to say. I have use the both sides numerously and they both perform very well. The k-cups work very well on the single serving side as well as the grounds on the single serve side. The 12 cup pot is great when you pour your coffee- it doesn't leak or drip. The look is great with the stainless and black look, it matches my appliance perfectly. I have not had a problem with the k-cup dripping when I empty it like other reviews. The only thing I am watching is when I put grounds in the single serve side there is a little condensation that forms above the k-cup insert coming up from the insert and forming on the brew button. If any problems occur I will let you know in an update, I simply make a point to wipe it dry after every use. I would differently recommend this coffee pot.

Was this review helpful? (61) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daws1979
redding, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use.
7/16/2016

Customer review by lupybell

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by lupybell
by lupybell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this coffee maker. Since I am able to make 1 cup to 12 cups. I like the way I can make a pot of coffee or just 1 k-cup. I can use the pods or my own coffee for a single cup. Easy to clean and looks good too. Coffee stays hot for about 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lupybell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super deal!
7/17/2016

Customer review by lenartd

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by lenartd
by lenartd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so surprised that this was so inexpensive and better than the Kuerig.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lenartd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 513 total reviews
1-20 of 513 reviews