Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

122 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

122 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
18
1-20 of 119 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
Extremely Pleased with this Oster Toaster.
9/12/2013

Customer review by Convinced

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Convinced
by Convinced

I really liked the nice metal finish on this toaster. The blue lights on the front condirm what action you have chosen. I also liked the rubber cushion on the pushdown lever, so that I was not pushing a skinny metal or plastic control which felt cheap. Perhaps the nicest surprise was the actual toasting in an inner metal chamber, isolated from the outer metal case of the toaster. The result is a metal toaster that does NOI get hot to the touch on the outside, where people normally have to risk burning their hands OR settle for an all-plastic toaster which picks up scratches, stains, etc. This Oster toaster has made me enjoy toasting so much for a quick breakfast snack with butter (and jelly) that I make toast EVERY morning every morning. I could not be more pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Convinced
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sleek practical toaster
12/20/2013

Customer review by flo123wer

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by flo123wer
by flo123wer

I really like the sleek, neat look of this toaster. It ads to the decor of my kitchen as well as being a useful, practical toaster. It has long ,wide slots for specialty breads and bagels. It has many settings for the degree of darkness that I may want for my bagel or toast. With a little practice, I can figure just the right setting for each type of thing that I am toasting. If I want to quickly stop the process, I can cancel the toaster with just a touch of a button. I like the even toasting to the bread. No more squishing the bread into the toaster and then having the edges all burned. I could easily remove the toast and avoid burning myself trying to dig a piece of bread out of the toaster with the toast lift. Because of the sleek design, it is easy to clean and the removable tray allows for easy clean up also. My disclaimer in this review is that this was a toaster I was able to test in my home, this is not something that I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flo123wer
Cropseyville, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great toaster
4/27/2014

Customer review by grams2bee

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by grams2bee
by grams2bee

I have gone thru 3 toasters until I found this one that makes perfect toast, bagels and English muffins.

Was this review helpful? (32) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grams2bee
Houston texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bagel Function Is A Joke
9/6/2013

Customer review by BagelLover

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by BagelLover
by BagelLover

This is a great looking toaster with the stainless finish and the way the controls are laid out... it's too bad it doesn't do what it's supposed to do. Aside from uneven toasting, my biggest issue with this toaster is that the bagel function is worthless. Both sides of your bagel or roll are getting toasted whether you push the bagel button or not. I eat a good number of bagels, and also use a lot of bakery sandwich rolls, which means I cut them in half, and I like to toast the cut side and only WARM the soft outside. That's not possible with this toaster... the outside of the bagel or bun gets not only toasted, but burned. This one is going back to the store. If you like to toast bagels or bakery rolls, you are going to hate this toaster.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BagelLover
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointed
5/26/2014

Customer review by tla1971

1.0 stars 5/26/2014 by tla1971
by tla1971

I received this toaster as a gift. I liked the look of it. Unfortunately, the toaster did not perform well at all. I've had it for a week, and thought I just needed to give it a chance to "break in." On the lowest setting, it barely gets the bread warm. But, once I turn it up, even the slightest bit, it often burns. When it doesn't burn, it toasts unevenly. (Bottom corner gets much darker than the rest of the slice.) Most of the higher ratings on this product was given by consumers who, "received this product as a sample to review." I wonder if the product samples were of higher quality. I am taking it in for a return.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tla1971
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great buy ... almost perfect toaster!
7/20/2014

Customer review by HotBiker

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by HotBiker
by HotBiker

I purchased an expensive Calphalon 2-slice toaster a couple days ago based mostly on on Consumer Reports' "top rating" plus my previous confidence in the Calphalon brand, although the price was definitely more than I really wanted to pay. Unfortunately, when I got this home and put it into service, my toaster was virtually "DOA." While this Calphalon model was nice looking, I quickly determined that the inside build and slide lever were very flimsy. In fact, upon just the second use the slide lever virtually "froze" and the knob on the end of it fell off. Not only that, but the toasting quality was relatively poor. I expected more from this "major" brand. SO ... I returned this first purchase and then did considerably more research (dang ... should you have to do all this just to purchase a silly toaster??). I discovered this Oster 2-slice model specially made for WalMart -- at half the price of my previous purchase, and with a 5-year warranty to boot. Other Osters models had very good reviews on various websites, so that gave me confidence in the brand. I just brought this Oster home and put it through some testing. I found it to be of good build quality (but with a bit more plastic than I wished for -- especially left side panel), very nice countertop appearance, and an additional handy feature the more expensive Calphalon didn't have. Best of all it produced virtually perfect toasting results (bread, bagels & toaster waffles). Although the bagels were a little uneven, the toast and toster waffles couldn't have been better! Overall, I am very pleased and impressed with this model toaster. And, I have peace of mind knowing that it has a 5-year warranty ... something I didn't find with any other brand regardless of the price. Good job Oster and WalMart!

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotBiker
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't have a true bagel cycle.
6/23/2013

Customer review by jim3997

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by jim3997
by jim3997

I took this one back without even toasting anything in it. I ran it through a few cycles empty to burn off any manufacturing residue, and noticed that all the bagel button did was add a few seconds to the cycle; all the elements still came on so it would toast both sides of the bagel. The main reason I upgraded my toaster was to get a bagel cycle so I could toast them very well done without burning the backside of the bagel. I confirmed on Oster's website that this is the way the Bagel cycle operates on this model, and decided not to keep it. Otherwise the toaster looks good and seems well made, and may work very well for you if you don't toast bagels.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jim3997
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice toaster with just enough options
12/19/2013

Customer review by rveniga

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by rveniga
by rveniga

I received this toaster as a sample to try out and review so I have trouble rating "value" but if I had paid for it I think I would still feel pretty good about it. I particularly like the wider openings / amount of lift. My husband toasts a lot of homemade bread and toaster cakes. In our old toaster they would get stuck inside all the time. I think the warm option is neat and was initially excited about it, though I've found since that I don't use it as much as I thought I would. My needs are pretty basic. I want my toaster to toast things. This toaster does that with a couple of options that are handy without being annoyingly covered in buttons and dials. The look of it is appealing to me personally and it's held up well. I've bought some appliances that started falling apart after a week or so of use so this one gets points there. Overall it's a good buy and I'd recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rveniga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Never Thought I'd Use a Toaster This Much!
12/19/2013

Customer review by Lintree

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Lintree
by Lintree

I am enjoying this toaster so far, and I am using it a lot more than any other I’ve owned. The toast options are numerous, yet the controls are intuitive and it takes just an extra second to choose. I love being able to choose options like toast, bagel or frozen, then choose degree of toasty-ness from 1-7 on the dial. My favorite thing so far is the “Quick 30 Second” button that is wonderful for reheating or just yielding a hint of toast quality. I’ve used it so far with hamburger buns, English muffins and thick ciabatta bread with great results. There really isn’t a down side at this point. It’s attractive enough though nothing special; the brushed stainless steel is easy to keep clean and all the controls are front & center. It’s much lighter than I expected which is why I can’t comment at this stage on durability, though it’s been great for almost a month with no problems whatsoever. I received this product as a sample to review.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lintree
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So far, so good!
2/8/2015

Customer review by FloridaZippin

5.0 stars 2/8/2015 by FloridaZippin
by FloridaZippin

Toaster seems very durable and well made - let's hope it lasts. Looks great in my kitchen when left on counter, fingerprints don't seem to show. Cord is just the right length.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaZippin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lasts for warranty period and dies
11/13/2013

Customer review by hapzap

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by hapzap
by hapzap

I should have read reviews on this product before buying. It now toasts only on one side. The one year warranty was up last month... funny how they seem to know just how good to make them. Won't be buying Oster products anymore.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hapzap
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/16/2013

Customer review by ARHOGFAN2013

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by ARHOGFAN2013
by ARHOGFAN2013

Love the product, the look of the product is great, having different settings is great unlike the most other products you can pick the setting and not have to worry about it burning.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARHOGFAN2013
Fayetteville,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not just good lookin
1/29/2015

Customer review by Sumama

5.0 stars 1/29/2015 by Sumama
by Sumama

As far as the smell goes you should run it empty 5 or 6 times starting with defrost and toast as hot as it will on the dial.. That seemed to help the new smell wear off. I think it's a gorgeous little guy. He fits in my small kitchen well. A little over 3 on the dial gives a very brown toast. So if you like it light start with a very low setting.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sumama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Short Slot
12/24/2014

Customer review by Vooby

2.0 stars 12/24/2014 by Vooby
by Vooby

Major disappointment. Advertised as having extra long slots, but are just the standard 5.5 inch. Have to cut 1/2 inch or more off artesian slices to get them to drop to toasting position.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Oster Brand Team - 3/2/2015

Thank you so much for writing in this review. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with the toaster. We here at Oster are always happy to receive feedback so that we may better improve our products in the future.

Vooby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I must have a defective one
12/11/2013

Customer review by Walmart2Shop

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Walmart2Shop
by Walmart2Shop

I have used this toaster a few times, and it's the worst toaster I've ever had. There must be something wrong with it. When toasting, it always burns part of the bread. I turned the setting down from 5 to 3, and it burned even worse on 3 than 5! I finally put it down to the 1 setting, where it lightly toasted one corner of the bread, and the rest was untoasted. The bagel setting is a joke as it toasted on both sides and was even hotter than the toast setting, so it burnt worse. Can't wait to return this.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmart2Shop
Buckeye, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beautiful Toaster
12/22/2013

Customer review by Lindiana

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by Lindiana
by Lindiana

This is a great toaster. Not only does it make great toast but it looks great doing so. The stainless steel appearance goes perfectly with any decor. It can toast bagels just as easily as toast. My favorite part is it can toast frozen bread as I tend to stock up when bread is on sale and freeze it. DISCLAIMER: I received this product as a sample to review.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lindiana
Boonton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only available at WalMart!
1/15/2015

Customer review by SensibleShopper127

5.0 stars 1/15/2015 by SensibleShopper127
by SensibleShopper127

I did a quick search of toaster reviews and found that this model was rated quite well by GH and cost much less than similarly rated toasters. It was a bit difficult to find for purchase because it turns out to be a WalMart exclusive (who knew??)! I ordered it on-line for quick pick up at a local store, and it functions as effectively as the reviews claimed. I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SensibleShopper127
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice toaster
1/22/2014

Customer review by Golfersis

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Golfersis
by Golfersis

I like the features, especially the ability to indicate a bagel or frozen item. I also like the "cancel" feature for when I accidentally hit the wrong button. Finally, the cord comes out the back, as it should. I looked at other models, but several had the power cord coming out under the front or another awkward place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Golfersis
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best value for the price
2/2/2015

Customer review by FrannyG

5.0 stars 2/2/2015 by FrannyG
by FrannyG

Our last toaster was an Oster (had for over 10 years). We bought a different brand because there weren't any Osters in the store and took it back the next day-because it didn't toast evenly. Looked at Consumer Reports and saw this one was highly rated-so we got another Oster- love it all over again..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrannyG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good toaster, Good price
10/3/2014

Customer review by FraidKnot

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by FraidKnot
by FraidKnot

We purchased the toaster. Used about 1 month. Toasts evenly. Good with everything we've tried so far: regular sliced bread, frozen waffles, bagels*, bakery bread (Italian, French, Challah). The doneness setting of 2 - 2.5 is perfect for us. *Bagel setting: Apparently, we are not bagel aficionados, as my family likes bagels toasted on both sides. Just tried sliced bread on the bagel setting in the left slot and the inner side toasted evenly and the outer side toasted very little (was mostly white). I would expect this, because there is heat in a confined space with a metal grate. Burning off factory residue: I believe I ran it empty a few times on a couple days and the smell burned off. it was warm outside, so I put it near an open window. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and wiped down the parts it said prior to burn-off. Probably took a damp cloth to it again after some burn-off cycles. The last toaster we bought was an Oster and it lasted 15+ years (maybe 20?). Wish cord was a little longer. Remedy: extension cord.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FraidKnot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews