Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 222 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

222 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

222 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 stars
58
1-20 of 207 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
How to get it to work with iPhone 5
6/10/2013

Customer review by TheBeach24

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by TheBeach24
by TheBeach24

I was lucky I picked up the last copy at my local Walmart. I use this with my factory unlocked iPhone 5 and I will tell you how. Buy this either online or at your local walmart for $40. Inside you will get an activation card (which you need), it comes with a micro sim card so you can use that SIM if you have a phone that supports micro sim. However if you're like me and need a NANO SIM for your iPhone 5 go to a t-mobile store and request to buy a nano sim. It will cost like $10-20. (I didn't have to pay for mines because one came with my iPhone 5 when I bought it that I never used) The main things you need is the activation number, a sim card number (which is on your sim card and on the piece of paper that came with it), and your phone IMEI number. Once you have those 3 things go to https://www.t-mobile.com/shop/plans/activatecodes.aspx and input all 3 in. Then you will choose a plan and you will see the $30 5GB unlimited text, 100 min plan. You will be forced to get a new number though since that's what the plan requires. Then fill in all the stuff like adding $30 to your line and your phone is ready to go. In total it took me 5 minutes to activate this online once I had all the proper stuff.

Was this review helpful? (114) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBeach24
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Activate BEFORE leaving the store
12/5/2013

Customer review by Canukistani

3.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Canukistani
by Canukistani

Picked up my SIM in Washington State on the way to Arizona. Didn't bother to deal with signing up on the spot, put it in the vehicle and kept driving. At the next gas/food stop, I tried to activated. No dice. Tried via the t-mobile website and by phone. Would not work. After a few phone calls in Arizona I went to a local Walmart. The tech guy (very knowledgeable) explained that Walmart had to send in an activation code to t-mobile at the point of purchase. If this doesn't get sent, the SIM cannot be activated. So, I had to swap that one out for a new SIM. The sent in the code at the till, and I was up and running in less than 5 minutes. Note that you can get the same plans on a SIM from the t-mobile website too, and they often offer free SIM card & free delivery. As for the service, well, it's not the best, but it is the cheapest for what I was looking for (primarily data). Better be in a highly populated area or highway though, or you may not get coverage.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canukistani
Everywhere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Make sure it fits your phone
5/19/2013

Customer review by joeinatx

4.0 stars 5/19/2013 by joeinatx
by joeinatx

This kit comes with a Micro SIM, while my phone has a Mini SIM slot. I tried putting the Micro SIM into my phone and it got stuck; had to pry it out using paperclips. I took it to a local T-Mobile store and they were able to exchange it. Just be forewarned that since you're buying it through Walmart, the local store may not have the special $30 for unlimited text/data plan coded in their system. They were able to get it resolved for me, but the guy had to jump through some hoops, which took a bit longer than I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeinatx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy your sim card ONLY from Walmart!
11/2/2013

Customer review by Ddave55

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Ddave55
by Ddave55

The whole sight to store process was great! Buy your sim card from Tmobile and for ten dollars, you get a ten dollar sim card. Buy it from Walmart for thirty dollars and you get thirty dollars worth of airtime AND the TEN DOLLAR sim card. So, effectively, the sim card is free! And everyone likes free! Nice going Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ddave55
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great with Nexus 4
6/16/2013

Customer review by DontTreadonMe503

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by DontTreadonMe503
by DontTreadonMe503

I picked this kit up at my local Walmart for the same price. I activated a Nexus 4 I bought from the Google Play store on the $30/month T-Mobile plan and had no problems. I did the activation online and it was quick and painless; since this is a secondary line for me, I didn't have T-Mobile port my number. The $30 credit included immediately paid for my first month of service. I got this as a secondary phone/gadget, so I have no complaints. T-Mobile's service isn't as robust as Verizon's in the rural areas I sometimes frequent, but the price for data service is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DontTreadonMe503
Wood Village, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The plan is great but hard to get it to work
3/27/2014

Customer review by Tina1234567

2.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Tina1234567
by Tina1234567

I bought it online because the store didn't have it (although I explicitly checkd and it showed as in stock). I was weary about buying online because I saw some other reviews saying that sometimes someone forgets to "swipe it" and it's not in the system and doesn't work. Also it doesn't say which size it is. When I called t-mobile to activate it for the first time it seemed like everything is fine. The customer representative told me that the plan will be activated within 24 hours. I waited but neither my old phone or this new one worked. When I called t-mobile for the second time I was told in rather unhelpful way that this simcard is "cold" and I have to go back to the same walmart store where I got it to have it scanned! I don't get why they couldn't tell me that the first time. I went to the store where I had to return the card and then purchase the same one otherwise I would have to pay 30$ for it to be swiped. This eventually worked.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tina1234567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great with the Samsung Galaxy SII
9/7/2013

Customer review by rspenn

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by rspenn
by rspenn

Walmart apparently has recalled or discontinued the SIM Kit or SIM card for these prepaid plans in the stores as of Aug 31,2013 here in Southern Calif. so if you want this kit to use their plans, you have to get it online for now. The SIM card is the wrong size for the Galaxy SII so you have to go to a T-Mobile store to get the right one. They will NOT help you to activate it- just get the SIM but you can go online as has been suggested here to activate it on the T-Mobile website. T-Mobile will not do it over the phone either since it is a Walmart card. Just put the right sized card in the phone, and follow the instructions in the kit but use the new SIM card's number from the T-Mobile store instead of the smaller-sized SIM that comes with the kit. Be sure to turn off WIFI Calling on the Android OS or you may run into the issues I did thinking the card was not working. Apparently WIFI calling, stops the cellular service. This is my first Android phone so who knew?

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rspenn
Misison Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This+UnlockedAndroid+GoogleVoice=UnlmtdEverything
2/6/2014

Customer review by Andre9K1

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Andre9K1
by Andre9K1

If you buy this online, make sure it's scanned at the store or it won't activate. Install SIM card into an unlocked android and activate online. (You can also do this on an unlocked iPhone, but you'll need a 3rd party app to use Google Voice) Get a Google Voice Number and install the Voice app. Set Voice to make all calls. You now have unlimited minutes, voice-mail transcription, and you can call/text from any device with a decent internet connection. And if you have wi-fi at home and work, you'll probably never hit your 4G data limit of 5GB/month. To beat that, you'll need to spend at least $60/month. (there are $40 & $50 plans with smaller caps on fast data) You're welcome.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andre9K1
Richland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for those people that dont talk on the phone
9/13/2013

Customer review by Felipeworks

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Felipeworks
by Felipeworks

Walmart sent my package so quick it was unnecessary for me to have upgraded my shipping to 2 day express. Regardless, I'm really happy with my savings. It sure beats the alternative of paying upwards to 45-70 dollars a month. I strongly suggest this package for anyone that doesn't necessarily talk on the phone all that often but would rather text and surf the internet. I have this $30 phone plan for about two weeks and the only thing I noticed would maybe be a slight (hair) difference in the internet speeds. It could be my old phone I don't k ow but I'm happy. When I ported my number over I thought it didn't go through and that I would have a lot of problems. It took about 30 min. for my phone to go with the new service.....that was 30 min. without a phone (pretty scary in todays world).

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Felipeworks
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Plan if You dont talk much!
12/2/2013

Customer review by KSC7

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by KSC7
by KSC7

I bought this to activate my new Google Nexus 5 that I bought from the Google play store. Activated with no problem. I transferred my old cell number from a different carrier to T-Mobile. For this reason I had to speak with a customer service representative, who was surprisingly helpful. Biggest benefit of this plan is the 5Gb per month of high-speed data. Most plans only allow for 2.5Gb of high-speed data per month before throttling. T-Mobile 4G LTE is almost as fast as my home broadband connection, and coverage is better than my old carrier, Virgin mobile. Now my bill each month is approx. $33 and I do NOT have a contract!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KSC7
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
How to Activate your SIM#
10/16/2014

Customer review by ProductReviewNickName

4.0 stars 10/16/2014 by ProductReviewNickName
by ProductReviewNickName

If you order this item online and you can't get it to activate because of a SIM# is not valid error then the kit wasn't activated before being shipped to you. I took my kit to my store and had the service desk cashier refund the kit and then resell it to me. When the cashier scans it during the check out it will activate the SIM# so you can activate your phone. I e-mailed the customer service and informed them of the problem so hopefully it will be fixed soon. The kit and the T-Mobile $30. monthly plan are an excellent value if you're on a budget. Hope this review helps anyone who may have a similar issue.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProductReviewNickName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Good price, good value, allright overall signal
11/2/2013

Customer review by AlpayY

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by AlpayY
by AlpayY

I own a iPhone 4s and was worried about the mentioned 4G capability. But first the setup: The item ordered has been delivered in about 1,5 week, which is not too good, but I'm fine with that. I activated it over the internet, it was very fast and took me about 0,5-1 hours, the SIM card has been activated immediately. The item mentiones 2g and 4g but the iPhone 4s doesn't have the 1700mhz frequency which is responsible for 4G or LTE. But what did the iPhone do? It worked on a different frequency and used 3G instead. About a week later the t-mobile settings have been updated and the iPhone said: 4G! I couldn't believe it, so I made speedtests. This leads to the conclusion, that it shows 4G, t-mobile counts the traffic as 4G, but it is actually 3G speed and I am perfectly fine with that, so internet is something I don't have to worry about anymore! Texting and Calling works perfect.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlpayY
La Salle, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Detailed Info on $30 Plan
4/16/2014

Customer review by Marius666

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Marius666
by Marius666

I am writing this review as of 04/15/2014. There is a lot of confusion about this plan and I wanted to help clear some up with my own experiences. I am going to be writing a very thorough account so please bare with me. Before I begin my review, let me give a brief history of my background with T-Mobile. I was originally a contract AT&T customer. I switched to T-Mobile and ported my number by choosing a $80 unlimited everything POST-paid plan. I even traded in my AT&T-bought Galaxy Note 2 to get a T-Mobile Note 3 at the retail store. After a month of usage, I realized that I was not using my unlimited services as much as I thought and decided to switch to this plan to save money. I first read a lot of reviews and articles about this plan to make sure 1) it was still being offered and 2) it was doable for an already existing T-Mobile customer. I would recommend that if you are reading my review, you at least confirm #1 before buying this service. This $30 service is being hidden by T-Mobile since it is Walmart exclusive and they can remove it anytime. To actually get this plan is quite easy, the difficulty comes in the activation of the plan. First off, you do NOT need to buy a Walmart phone. You do NOT need to buy physically from a Walmart store (you can order online). You do NOT need to be a new customer and you can most definitely port over your current (or old) number to this prepaid plan. I was an already existing post-paid T-mobile customer with a T-Mobile specific phone that I bought elsewhere and I managed to keep my old number. Oh, and I ordered online and had it shipped to my home. The way I got this plan set up was by first buying this product. This Activation Kit came with the MICRO-sim (check your sim size please!), all the necessary resources needed to activate the sim, and $30 of prepaid service for a month. After receiving my order from Walmart in less than a week, I went online to www.t-mobile.com/prepaidactivation (it's in the pamphlet that comes in your Walmart package) and followed the instructions on the site to activate the service. Before I got to the payment portion of the site, I didn't need to pay anything and just left that section empty because my prepaid account was now active and already paid for. I then called T-Mobile customer service, had them transfer me to the prepaid department and I mentioned my story. I was a existing POST-paid T-mobile customer that needed to transfer to PRE-paid service by adding the $30 plan I got from Walmart. Lastly I needed to port over my number. This is where it gets tricky. You might get unlucky and get unintelligent representatives that do not understand your request. Or you might get lucky like me and manage to get it set up in 3 calls. If everything is done correctly, the representative should transfer your account (or create a new one) to prepaid and then you must wait 24 hours (its actually less, like 30 minutes to 3 hours) to receive a text message to confirm everything went through okay. Just make sure you replace your old sim card with the new Walmart micro-sim card and restart your phone to receive that text message. You should also test your phone by calling it from a different phone to make sure you get connection with the new sim. If everything is working, you are good to go. All in all, I had a pretty easy installation. I got my service and it's exactly as advertised. If you're coming from POST-paid like me, remember that prepaid has a lot less features than POST-paid (no caller ID for $3.99/mo, no JUMP! program, etc). Just a two final tips to those that want to save even more money: From my understanding, prepaid services include NO taxes so long as you do NOT use any t-mobile services to pay your bill (phone, internet, etc). This also includes AUTO-REPAY (auto-drafting from your bank account every month). If you auto-repay, you will have to pay tax, at least from what the representative told me. If you use an authorized reload center however (ex: a check-cashing place), then you may or may not be taxed. There's a check-cashing place that is 30 minutes away from me that reloads prepaid T-mobile free of charge. So if your lucky, you might just have to pay a FLAT $30 and avoid all taxes and charges altogether saving even more money. Lastly, all the major phone carriers charge taxes based on your AREA CODE not your actual address. Meaning if you have an area code from New York, you will be charged New York State taxes (which are high). But technically, if you can change your area code (and phone number) to a state with low state taxes, then you will be taxed less. All you have to do after that is call customer service and let them know you want to enroll in paperless billing, so they don't mail anything to your address (that is clearly not in that area code). I don't know if this is legal or not, you can research more through google. But just an added tip for you guys. Anyways, I hope my detailed review was helpful to someone. Enjoy your new savings!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marius666
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best deal for infrequent calls w/ unlocked phones
9/14/2014

Customer review by Alex21639

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Alex21639
by Alex21639

If you have an unlocked phone and don't talk that much on the phone, but instead likes to browse the web or text instead, then this is the best deal for you. Note that the 100 minutes of talk aren't counted by the seconds, so if you talk for 1 second, it is another minute used. With 5G of 4G at $30/30 days, what a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alex21639
Mercer County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing deal for a "non-talker"
11/7/2013

Customer review by Babysteaks

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Babysteaks
by Babysteaks

My husband and I went from AT&T, $190/month to $60/month with this plan! We rarely actually talk do the 100 minutes were more than enough. SOOOO easy to make the switch, kept OUR phones, YES, you DO NOT have to buy a Tmobile phone, yours just has to be unlocked. I got the unlock codes from the unlockingcompany.com for $10 each! We were also able to keep our phone numbers! I have seen others spend less money on the sim card from amazon, however this kit also includes the first $30!!! So in reality the sim is free! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!! Fast shipping. I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babysteaks
Bayville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you don't use Voice Calling...
12/20/2013

Customer review by PhoenixBWP

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by PhoenixBWP
by PhoenixBWP

This Kit is for the person who texts more than talks. ONLY 100mins then 10cents per min. The rest is unlimited Text and Data (5GB Cap on high speed 4G LTE Data). $30 per Month!!! Get this kit, visit a T-Mobile store, and make sure they rebuilt the network in your area for 4G LTE. Have them cut the SIM down to nano size to fit iPhone 5 5c 5s, the SIM card is meant for iPhone 4 4s. Last, NEVER BUY A USED VERIZON iPHONE 4s!!! As of this date, 12/20/2013, the Federal Government has asked Cell Phone Carriers to start Unlocking, Out of Contract and No Contract, phones by 2014. Verizon iPhone 4s due have both radios (GSM/CDMA), when Verizon unlocks iPhones, then you can use a 4s on T-Mobile. (http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/12/12/us-usa-wireless-unlocking-idUSBRE9BB05320131212)

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhoenixBWP
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy, Great Plan. Watch out its a Micro SIM
9/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wanted the 30$/month unlimited web/msg, 100 min talk plan and apparently to get it I needed to purchase this from Walmart so I did. The card arrived sooner than expected to my chosen store, picked it up and went home to activate. The whole process was very simple and fast even when I didn't know what to expect. In less than an hour I was all set. I want to say that even though the description does not say what size SIM this is I zoomed in at the image and was able to read it's micro and thats what I needed. Even so I was not sure until I picked the package. Great buy

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why didn't i do this sooner?!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Sylygrl

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Sylygrl
by Sylygrl

SIM card took a few days to arrive, but once I had it in my possession it was amazingly simple. Came with very easy to follow directions and the assistance from T-mobile couldn't have been better. Porting my number over was a snap. They said it would take up to 48 hours, but in only took about 3. So happy to no longer have a contract. I'm saving at least $20/month. Great costumer service from T-Mobile! When I called Verizon to cancel they told me I would miss their costumer service. Lol. What costumer service? Waiting 20 minutes to speak with someone? They also said TMOBILE was not as robust. Can't speak for rural areas, but here in the NYC TRI-state area it's perfectly fine. I know plenty of others who use it. Switching my husband and son over as soon as their new phones arrive. Can't wait to save even more money!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sylygrl
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get ready to Ask for a refund
11/29/2014

Customer review by FortWorthPhil

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by FortWorthPhil
by FortWorthPhil

I read the reviews here that said their SIM wasn't activated at the warehouse when it shipped, so I decided to save myself a trip by asking before I left the store. The folks in the cellular phone area offered to call T-Mobile for me to check on activation. Mine WAS NOT activated either. After a bit of run around on the phone with T-Mobile myself to try to get it resolved the department manager offered to do a refund, resell the kit to me and activate it. Based on other reviews here I asked if it was going to cost me more. She said they can match the online price so it would be exactly the same. I got the rest all taken care of with T-mobile at home and I am very happy with the deal and the service. So, buy this, check with the folks in the mobile phone area, or call T-Mobile yourself if you have a phone with you, and be prepared to have your kit refunded and repurchased so it can be activated. Don't leave the store without checking first and save yourself a trip back.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FortWorthPhil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY ONLINE
9/27/2014

Customer review by bernard86

1.0 stars 9/27/2014 by bernard86
by bernard86

When buying the sim card online, you are unable to activate the sim card. T-mobile said the sim card is cold status and I should go to walmart and ask them to activate. Walmart refunded me and I had to purchase another sim card activation kit. Waste of time.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bernard86
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews