Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 836 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

836 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

836 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
438
4 stars
216
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 stars
92
1-20 of 812 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 812 total reviews
1-20 of 812 reviews
awesome
12/13/2013

Customer review by tropicaleyes

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by tropicaleyes
by tropicaleyes
Top 1000 contributor

NOKIA LUMIA 521 The screen is very responsive and its very lightweight. Plus, it's very cute..... Love the selection of ring tones and backgrounds, as well. I am going to upgrade to a 64GB microSD, I plan to save lots of pics and data... The phone doesn't come with a lot of memory. Its a really nice phone...for everyday smartphone users.. If you play heavy duty games, you may want something else... I am so tired of my iPhone and expensive products to replace....$ 20 for a data cable. Bye, Bye Apple and Hello Nokia Lumia........

Was this review helpful? (543) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tropicaleyes
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
the more i use this phone the more i am loving it
12/15/2013

Customer review by Mtownguy

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Mtownguy
by Mtownguy

after being a former blackberry and owning several android devices i saw the reviews on this product at walmart's web site and was in need of a 4 g phone i had just bought a metro 3g phone and i missed the high speed of 4g and i highly recommend getting the 30 dollar plan and having a landline for making calls you get unlimited text and 5gb of 4g connection speed per month half of what you would pay with metro and it is very hard to use that much data in a given bill cycle great job t-mobile and great price walmart!

Was this review helpful? (261) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mtownguy
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very fast responce to comands.
6/15/2014

Customer review by jamalot

3.0 stars 6/15/2014 by jamalot
by jamalot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

for the money its good at most. Two weeks and the camera button already having problems feels cheaply constuccted.camra is simple to simple the apps take time to get use to if your a android owner and switch. id give 3 out of 4 stars

Was this review helpful? (94) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamalot
fred va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price for a Business Oriented Phone
4/23/2014

Customer review by DForce77

4.0 stars 4/23/2014 by DForce77
by DForce77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I imagine in this current battle of smart phones the Windows 8 Lumia 521 is what Blackberry used to be, except the Windows phones are only starting to make their mark. This phone is excellent for the business oriented consumer: the Outlook (or hotmail) Contacts is a great place to organize your people; through Office you can quickly access your docs and spread sheets; and being able to organize your tiles makes accessing your stuff quick and convenient. For example, I have my tiles organized by personal finance, social media, and entertainment. This phone is also great for anyone looking for an inexpensive route into the smart phone market, and inexpensive doesn't mean cheap on the features. It takes excellent pictures and videos, runs apps smoothly, and to be honest, I've tinkered with my friends' and familys' iPhones and Galaxies, yet I prefer the interface and responsiveness of the Nokia Lumia 521 over them all. I'm please with my purchase; my Nokia Lumia 521 more than meet my needs.

Was this review helpful? (157) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DForce77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than a starter smartphone
11/16/2013

Customer review by Candylland

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Candylland
by Candylland

I have been a die hard android fan for a number of years. I really love t-mobile's plans. My old phone was an HTC sensation 4G and while it was an awesome phone when i bought it, it is a bit slow now. So, I did some research into various phones through T-Mobile and I originally bought the LG Optimus F3. It was a decent phone but for 179.00 I felt it was cheaply made and I wasn't happy with it for other reasons. So, I settled on this phone, thinking I would not be happy with a windows phone..but to my surprise, I honestly LOVE this phone! It does have small things that I liked about androids, like being able to create a contact from holding your finger ovr a number, but i am sure there is a way to do it, that i've not figured out yet. I noticed that on a few reviews that people said it was a great starter phone...and it is, but i am a very seasoned smartphone user and still find it to be very comparable to other phones. You can't beat it for the price of 99.00...so don't overlook this gem.

Was this review helpful? (392) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Candylland
Ozark MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth every penny
5/31/2013

Customer review by Chasmn

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Chasmn
by Chasmn

despite my 4 star rating i will start by saying i do not regret my purchase and would do it again in a heart beat. For the $ this is an amazing handset however that doesn't mean i still can't be picky on some things. - Some apps take a little longer to load where i feel like trying to tap again. - Back cover feels a little to smooth like the phone could just slip out of my hand - Settings can be limited. For example the brightness only has a low medium or high These are all minor things however and in no way have me regret making this purchase. I would check walmart.com every hour seeing if its in stock and so glad I was able to snagged one. Within 15 minutes i was playing on it via wifi and another 5 minutes on tmobile's phone support and they had transferred my previous $30 plan to the micro sim. P.S. the nokia apps like the music are amazing. They have my accapella music like pentatonix so they have yours; plus you can download the "station" to listen without a signal!

Was this review helpful? (198) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chasmn
romeoville, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than the iphone....
11/25/2013

Customer review by ShantD

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ShantD
by ShantD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor

I recently had an iphone but because of the insanely high contract plan, I had to get a prepaid phone, I researched numerous phones and plans. I found that tmobile had one of the best prepaid plans and I thought the windows phones looked really nice, so I got it. It has been the best purchase I have made in awhile, some things I love about this phone is that you can edit pictures right on the phone before I had to transfer pictures to my computer and edit there, it also has microsoft word, power point and excel, but as a college student what really comes in handy is the microsoft word, because I can easily open, edit or even type up documents on my phone and you can print them from it too or easily transfer to the computer to print, Another thing that I especially like is the fact you can easily transfer music to this phone whereas with the iphone you have to go through itunes. So, I would have to say windows phone is definitely better than the iphone and its cheaper. p.s. It takes better pictures too :)

Was this review helpful? (421) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShantD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Great phone
2/15/2014

Customer review by GillyBeans

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by GillyBeans
by GillyBeans

This phone is pretty great. The Windows 8 layout is super easy to use and I actually prefer that layout a bit better then most smart phones. Also, Nokia was always known for making tough phones that can take a beating and they have NOt disappointed! Even with for a smart phone this thing is tough! I can't even count how many times I've dropped this thing from a full standing position and it still works perfectly and not one crack in my screen! I'm shocked! There are only a few minor downers, one is there aren't all the apps that I want available for this phone, like Dropbox, Instagram, etc. But, most basic apps are available. The only other thing I don't like about this phone it that the keypad is super sensitive and crazy when you let the battery get very low and plug it in to charge. When you try to use the keyboard it presses multiple buttons which is pretty annoying. But, if you have patience and wait about 10 or 15 minutes of charging then it tends to work fine. Other then that this phone is pretty awesome!

Was this review helpful? (150) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GillyBeans
Midvale, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I just wanted a cheap phone...
7/8/2013

Customer review by HoneyBarBQ

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by HoneyBarBQ
by HoneyBarBQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

...But I got a great deal of a phone that I've dropped multiple times. I left the factory clear sticker over the glass face because it took me awhile to figure out which buttons did what. I decided to order a screen protector later. Meanwhile, I've been able to use the 4G capabilities to surf the web, watch videos and listen to Pandora. I've also tried to use the Nokia mapping function and it seems to work fine. My biggest gripe and why I give it a 4 instead of a 5, is that there's not enough internal memory. You definitely have to get a microSD card if you're going to take lots of pictures and videos with this phone. The panorama feature is great for the camera and fun to use as well as the photo animation feature. Video comes in pretty crisp and clean. I like the fresh looking user interface and the Live Tiles. Battery life, seems fine, I don't use alot of Wi-Fi and have haven't tried tethering yet. All in all, a good enough phone for me. I might upgrade to an Apple product in the future, but just not sure yet.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoneyBarBQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone!
8/19/2013

Customer review by AFMom2boys

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by AFMom2boys
by AFMom2boys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for myself after my son got one. He had an iPhone and it would not work with our new plan so we had to find something affordable for him. The price was perfect, under $150. He loves this phone more than his iPhone! He loves the Windows interface and Nokia music app for getting the latest music. Playing with his phone and all the features convinced me to upgrade my old phone as well. I have been very pleased with it. I use it for email, texting, and looking things up on the web as well as for calls. It is fast and reliable and the calls are clear. The camera is also excellant matching my regular digital camera in quality. It has helped more than once when I needed a quick answer to a question from airline flight status to store hours. In truth, I never saw the need for all the extras on a phone, but I have fallen in love with this one. It takes a micro SD for expanding memory for photos and music. If you are looking for a smartphone that can keep up with the latest expensive phones without the high price, this is it!

Was this review helpful? (253) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AFMom2boys
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cell Phone
8/13/2013

Customer review by Crazyducklady

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by Crazyducklady
by Crazyducklady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read reviews and I rely on customer feed back. Everyone was right about this phone. I would say I am not electronic savy and I enjoy this phone very much. It is very easy for me to use and there are mulitple ways to get to one place and I personally like that. I don't know much about space or function. All I know is it does what I need it to and it works very well. I have no problem with reception. I live in Whittier, Ca. It takes great pictures, i think the camera is a little slow but then again I could be doing something wrong. Like I said before, I am not very "electronic". The battery lasts me two and half days. I really like that. I like to text message, before I had a key board and I wonderdered if I would like the touch screen key pad, Well I DO. the great thing about this phone is that if offers words. It is used to how I txt and words I use all the time pop up so txting is much faster. I think anyone would be happy with this phone. I know I am. My phone before was an Android, the first one. I really hold onto my phones.

Was this review helpful? (81) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazyducklady
Whittier, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Phone at an Outstanding Price.
5/18/2013

Customer review by roughdraft7

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by roughdraft7
by roughdraft7

At this price, I really would challenge anyone to beat this phone. Sound quality truly is amazing (both for calls and music--it's one of the loudest and clearest phones I've ever heard). I love the look and feel of the phone and OS--just very classy. It would be nice to have an additional case, but okay without it. Screen is not the best, but still very decent and sensitive enough to use with gloves on. App selection is continuing to grow and for me it honestly has been more than sufficient. I love the way that it lets you organize people. Be sure to watch a video or two about "pinning" on YouTube to better understand the full potential of the phone. I've watched Windows phones for a while wanting to get one, but as a "poor college student" not wanting to spend a lot of money, it's been hard for me to convert to a smart phone. I've been extremely happy with my phone (which I'm running 100% on WiFi) and am excited to see it keep growing!

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roughdraft7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One of the Best Phones ever!.. Honestly!
7/7/2013

Customer review by Rhythm84

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Rhythm84
by Rhythm84

So I previously owned 3 android phones (2 LG's and 1 HTC) I can honestly say that I will never buy anything BUT a Nokia Lumia Phone,It was so hard to find it at my local store so i had to drive over 15 miles to go and get it but it was well worth it and I would go through the whole process again if I had to... the construction is solid,high quality plastics,the screen is ultra responsive and the sound quality out of the single speaker is quite impressive!,the OS is so easy to get used to,(Love the live tiles)also the battery life is way above average.. I would say excellent even,and last but definitely NOT least.. The Camera.. it is a Lumia so yes I was expecting good quality pictures but not this good due to the lack of flash... well,let me tell you that you will not need it at all!.. this little great phone takes great pics and videos as well (720p HD),if you get this phone you will not regret it!.

Was this review helpful? (110) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rhythm84
Hoffman Estates IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this phone!
11/26/2013

Customer review by Deerock81

4.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Deerock81
by Deerock81

I got this phone for my wife and me, we both love it! Lot's of apps, love the windows 8 setup too. Some things can be tricky to learn or setup, but I still give it 5 stars. Let me make this clear, cause Walmart doesn't, It does work on Family Mobile, and it uses a micro sim card. If you are going to use on Family Mobile though, you have to change your settings under cellular and access point. Otherwise your internet/data, and picture messaging won't work.... Cellular needs to be changed to Family Mobile, it will actually search for it and show up. The harder part is Access Point, Family Mobile has it on their website, but doesn't explain where everything is supposed to go. Here goes, start a new access point, and name it whatever you want(Connection Name). Then web.omwtoday.com goes under Access Point Name, and MMS Access Point Name. Then http://wirelessfour.mmsmvno.com/mms/wapenc goes under MMSC Address. Then 216.155.175.188 goes under BOTH Proxy Address spots, and 8080 goes under Both Proxy Port spots. That is the only things you have to enter, or change...

Was this review helpful? (277) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deerock81
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does The Job
7/6/2014

Customer review by 4boys4life

3.0 stars 7/6/2014 by 4boys4life
by 4boys4life

I was hesitant to buy a Windows Phone, but I have had it nearly a year now and I am overall pretty pleased with it. The thing I am most impressed with is its durability. I have dropped it many many times and it has never cracked or broken even though I have deserved it. It took some getting used to, but I have now mastered it and enjoy using it. I also like the size and weight and look of the phone - I think it is big enough to use easily, looks sharp and is very easy to carry. The things I don't like: Limited apps - I am a Realtor and my Realtor key will not work with it - uggggggh! Notification Sounds are not customizable & the ones they give you to choose from are boring and hard to hear. Battery Life is AWFUL unless you dim the screen so you can hardly see it at all which is really tough if you are outside! Camera is less than stellar - not great resolution but what do you expect from a $150 phone? Hope this is helpful!

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4boys4life
Sandy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Works amazingly well. Cannot believe the price!
5/30/2013

Customer review by AaronPM

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by AaronPM
by AaronPM

Summary: For $130 you get 99% of what you get with a $600+ phones. I bought this for my father in law, but I went ahead and opened it to try it out. I'm amazed at what this phone can do for the price. First off, what don't you get for $130? There is no Front Facing Camera and no NFC. I have these features on my current high end smartphone, but I find they are almost never used. But what do you get for $130? A fully functional smartphone that runs as fast and smooth and does 99% of the things that $600 smartphones do. Heck I would argue it can do more, since iPhones and HTC One cannot swap out batteries or SD cards. I've looked at some of the budget Android phones, and most of them seemed to run a little slow and they were running older versions of Android (2.0). This guy is running the latest WP8, which is incredibly fast and smooth. It has the same excellent Nokia Drive GPS application you get with their high end Lumia line.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AaronPM
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blown Away!
7/9/2013

Customer review by KatyT92

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by KatyT92
by KatyT92

I've been wanting a windows phone for a really long time. My old phone was android and was okay but it was slow, and had no space. This phone is o-m-g! It's fast, has like 8gb of space (plus I also have a 16gb micro sd card to expand it even further) and it's amazing! I have all the apps, music, and photos I want and still have room for more! It's fast because it'll actually scroll or unlock when I want it to without me having to slow down. I love the customizable homepage where you can decide the size and location of the tile. Sound is great! Everyone keeps telling me how good I sound with this phone! Gosh I love everything about it! Theres only one thing. The buttons on the bottom don't light up (or at least i haven't found out how to make them light up yet) It's not major and I can do without but that's the only real complaint I have. This phone is amazing and I can no longer live without it. It's my new best friend! <3

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatyT92
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Almost perfect!
6/27/2013

Customer review by danraccay

4.0 stars 6/27/2013 by danraccay
by danraccay

This is an excellent value, everything that they say it can do, it does. I haven't had any problems with the tmobile network either however, I haven't used cellular data, I just use wifi since my plan requires extra money to include data for now, but this phone still works beautifully. My only issue is that my old excel files can't be edited in this version of office, they can be viewed, but not edited. So I have to do some copying and pasting to a new file to get them to work the way I want. I also hoped that the mobile version of office could support more features. If you plan to use it for anything even remotely complicated, save your money and get a more powerful windows device that runs office rt rather than the mobile phone version. This is more of a Microsoft issue but still applies since office is the number 1 reason that I selected this phone. Using excel to budget on the go is awesome! Connect it to skydrive and you are golden!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danraccay
Vernal, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a phone
9/4/2014

Customer review by WILLIAMGOAT

5.0 stars 9/4/2014 by WILLIAMGOAT
by WILLIAMGOAT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first smart phone so I really don't have anything to compare it to but this phone. Considering the low cost it far exceeds my expectations. Checking around the $30.00 a month plan is the lowest I have found. It only includes 100 minutes of talk which is more than enough for my use. I'm mostly interested in the other features. The map feature works perfectly. Tried it out and the turn by turn gps feature was everything I expected. Before I bought the phone I was going to buy a gps system but don't have to now. As a traveler and a camper the hot spot feature is something that will definitely come in handy. Many parks do not have wifi so this way I can use my tablet (which is only wifi) anywhere. The internet is fast enough for me. Have only had the phone for 2 weeks so have not tried everything but I'm sure everything will work great. As a first time smart phone I would recommend this one to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WILLIAMGOAT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Depends on if you need wifi calling
7/9/2013

Customer review by TheMommio

3.0 stars 7/9/2013 by TheMommio
by TheMommio

I bought three of these for my son, my husband, and me. We all like the windows OS, but we have to have reliable wifi since T-Mobile has no reception in our home. Unfortunately, my son and I have both spent multiple hours with T-Mobile's customer service trying to get the wifi to work consistently. It shuts off randomly throughout the day, and we have to turn the wifi off and on a few times a day. If you look at the reviews with the lower ratings on here, you'll see that we're not alone. If you google it, you will see that the Nokia 521 has a known issue with its wifi reception. I wish they'd told us this during one of our many calls; it would have saved a lot of frustration. My son has already exchanged his for the next one up - the LG Android L9 - and it works great. I will be returning the other two Nokias tomorrow and getting two more L9s. :/ If you don't have to have wifi calling, it's a great phone! I would keep it if I didn't have to have this function.

Was this review helpful? (35) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMommio
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 812 total reviews
1-20 of 812 reviews