Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 830 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

830 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

830 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 stars
91
1-20 of 806 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 806 total reviews
1-20 of 806 reviews
Great Value
5/8/2013

Customer review by JeffC8504

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by JeffC8504
by JeffC8504

At this price point, the quality of this phone cannot be beaten. Nokia deserves a lot of credit for redefining this price-segment. Recommend this to anyone buying a cost-effective, first, or backup smartphone!

Was this review helpful? (484) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffC8504
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money
5/8/2013

Customer review by SmartPhoneGuru

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by SmartPhoneGuru
by SmartPhoneGuru

Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less. I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one. I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to. I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase. Enjoy it! I do.

Was this review helpful? (351) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmartPhoneGuru
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than the iphone....
11/25/2013

Customer review by ShantD

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ShantD
by ShantD

I recently had an iphone but because of the insanely high contract plan, I had to get a prepaid phone, I researched numerous phones and plans. I found that tmobile had one of the best prepaid plans and I thought the windows phones looked really nice, so I got it. It has been the best purchase I have made in awhile, some things I love about this phone is that you can edit pictures right on the phone before I had to transfer pictures to my computer and edit there, it also has microsoft word, power point and excel, but as a college student what really comes in handy is the microsoft word, because I can easily open, edit or even type up documents on my phone and you can print them from it too or easily transfer to the computer to print, Another thing that I especially like is the fact you can easily transfer music to this phone whereas with the iphone you have to go through itunes. So, I would have to say windows phone is definitely better than the iphone and its cheaper. p.s. It takes better pictures too :)

Was this review helpful? (421) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShantD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
The best phone I have ever used
5/8/2013

Customer review by Joekak

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by Joekak
by Joekak

I bough this for my wife but after using it decided to get one for myself and replace my iphone4. Nokia has done such a good job. The style is very european and windows 8 is so easy to use. I have all the apps I can use and more. Go for this phone you will be happy.

Was this review helpful? (228) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joekak
Long beach, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
12/13/2013

Customer review by tropicaleyes

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by tropicaleyes
by tropicaleyes

NOKIA LUMIA 521 The screen is very responsive and its very lightweight. Plus, it's very cute..... Love the selection of ring tones and backgrounds, as well. I am going to upgrade to a 64GB microSD, I plan to save lots of pics and data... The phone doesn't come with a lot of memory. Its a really nice phone...for everyday smartphone users.. If you play heavy duty games, you may want something else... I am so tired of my iPhone and expensive products to replace....$ 20 for a data cable. Bye, Bye Apple and Hello Nokia Lumia........

Was this review helpful? (543) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tropicaleyes
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Love this phone!
11/26/2013

Customer review by Deerock81

4.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Deerock81
by Deerock81

I got this phone for my wife and me, we both love it! Lot's of apps, love the windows 8 setup too. Some things can be tricky to learn or setup, but I still give it 5 stars. Let me make this clear, cause Walmart doesn't, It does work on Family Mobile, and it uses a micro sim card. If you are going to use on Family Mobile though, you have to change your settings under cellular and access point. Otherwise your internet/data, and picture messaging won't work.... Cellular needs to be changed to Family Mobile, it will actually search for it and show up. The harder part is Access Point, Family Mobile has it on their website, but doesn't explain where everything is supposed to go. Here goes, start a new access point, and name it whatever you want(Connection Name). Then web.omwtoday.com goes under Access Point Name, and MMS Access Point Name. Then http://wirelessfour.mmsmvno.com/mms/wapenc goes under MMSC Address. Then 216.155.175.188 goes under BOTH Proxy Address spots, and 8080 goes under Both Proxy Port spots. That is the only things you have to enter, or change...

Was this review helpful? (277) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deerock81
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More than a starter smartphone
11/16/2013

Customer review by Candylland

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Candylland
by Candylland

I have been a die hard android fan for a number of years. I really love t-mobile's plans. My old phone was an HTC sensation 4G and while it was an awesome phone when i bought it, it is a bit slow now. So, I did some research into various phones through T-Mobile and I originally bought the LG Optimus F3. It was a decent phone but for 179.00 I felt it was cheaply made and I wasn't happy with it for other reasons. So, I settled on this phone, thinking I would not be happy with a windows phone..but to my surprise, I honestly LOVE this phone! It does have small things that I liked about androids, like being able to create a contact from holding your finger ovr a number, but i am sure there is a way to do it, that i've not figured out yet. I noticed that on a few reviews that people said it was a great starter phone...and it is, but i am a very seasoned smartphone user and still find it to be very comparable to other phones. You can't beat it for the price of 99.00...so don't overlook this gem.

Was this review helpful? (392) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candylland
Ozark MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great phone
5/14/2013

Customer review by pcguy19

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by pcguy19
by pcguy19

Hoping just for a decent phone, I found this phone to be is so much more, . Took couple of days to customize screen & learn all the features (still learning) . Using t-mobile pay as you go with no data (use Wi-Fi) so monthly cost is 1/2 of what I was paying . Now I learn T-Mobile is enabling Wi-Fi calling next week. Not sure how that works but sounds promising. Apps I have added MS Office, weather channel, IMDB,Home depot, BofA ,CNN,Twitter,skype,FB, Talking Alarm Clock, Page Once,etc...I have just started trying xbox music subscription. It is like Netflix but for music so far really enjoy it, camera and automatic uploading of videos and photos to my sky drive is just spectacular. Will be getting another for wife. Price,speed, features, build just cant be beat unless you get a $400-500 "Phone" ..Hope this helped

Was this review helpful? (212) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pcguy19
ceres,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lumia 510 is an awesome smartphone for the price
5/7/2013

Customer review by sam26002

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by sam26002
by sam26002

Once cannot go wrong on this one..bought the Lumia 510 few weeks back from HSN at a higher price then what it is here on Walmart, but still a great deal..The looks are awesome and looks even better then Samsung Galaxy...its even superior on the display and camera..the best part was that the Windows 8 was super easy to use...and the biggest feature i liked is that it is lightning fast to use the Apps on this smartphone...

Was this review helpful? (401) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sam26002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
One of the Best Phones ever!.. Honestly!
7/7/2013

Customer review by Rhythm84

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Rhythm84
by Rhythm84

So I previously owned 3 android phones (2 LG's and 1 HTC) I can honestly say that I will never buy anything BUT a Nokia Lumia Phone,It was so hard to find it at my local store so i had to drive over 15 miles to go and get it but it was well worth it and I would go through the whole process again if I had to... the construction is solid,high quality plastics,the screen is ultra responsive and the sound quality out of the single speaker is quite impressive!,the OS is so easy to get used to,(Love the live tiles)also the battery life is way above average.. I would say excellent even,and last but definitely NOT least.. The Camera.. it is a Lumia so yes I was expecting good quality pictures but not this good due to the lack of flash... well,let me tell you that you will not need it at all!.. this little great phone takes great pics and videos as well (720p HD),if you get this phone you will not regret it!.

Was this review helpful? (110) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhythm84
Hoffman Estates IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone!
8/19/2013

Customer review by AFMom2boys

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by AFMom2boys
by AFMom2boys

I bought this phone for myself after my son got one. He had an iPhone and it would not work with our new plan so we had to find something affordable for him. The price was perfect, under $150. He loves this phone more than his iPhone! He loves the Windows interface and Nokia music app for getting the latest music. Playing with his phone and all the features convinced me to upgrade my old phone as well. I have been very pleased with it. I use it for email, texting, and looking things up on the web as well as for calls. It is fast and reliable and the calls are clear. The camera is also excellant matching my regular digital camera in quality. It has helped more than once when I needed a quick answer to a question from airline flight status to store hours. In truth, I never saw the need for all the extras on a phone, but I have fallen in love with this one. It takes a micro SD for expanding memory for photos and music. If you are looking for a smartphone that can keep up with the latest expensive phones without the high price, this is it!

Was this review helpful? (253) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AFMom2boys
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding phone!
5/9/2013

Customer review by dogfish54

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by dogfish54
by dogfish54

This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.) Screen is beautiful, speaker is great. Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory! The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better. This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.

Was this review helpful? (138) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dogfish54
Appleton WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beat all other entry-level smart phones
5/13/2013

Customer review by Riverake

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Riverake
by Riverake

I've been a five year iPhone user and I like my iPhone, until a few days ago. I bought 521 simply because Lumia looks pretty. But after a few days with this Lumia phone, I have to say it is way beyond my expectation and I don't want to even touch my iPhone any more. Now I use Skype to make phone call, I downloaded California's GPS map via WiFi. So instead of $85/mon AT&T bill, This prepaid phone can almost be free! Nokia has been well known for making solid and fashionable phone for many years, I guess some of its technologies are superior than iPhone because I noticed the touch screen is super sensitive and you can even use a car key instead of your finger.

Was this review helpful? (144) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riverake
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Price for a Business Oriented Phone
4/23/2014

Customer review by DForce77

4.0 stars 4/23/2014 by DForce77
by DForce77

I imagine in this current battle of smart phones the Windows 8 Lumia 521 is what Blackberry used to be, except the Windows phones are only starting to make their mark. This phone is excellent for the business oriented consumer: the Outlook (or hotmail) Contacts is a great place to organize your people; through Office you can quickly access your docs and spread sheets; and being able to organize your tiles makes accessing your stuff quick and convenient. For example, I have my tiles organized by personal finance, social media, and entertainment. This phone is also great for anyone looking for an inexpensive route into the smart phone market, and inexpensive doesn't mean cheap on the features. It takes excellent pictures and videos, runs apps smoothly, and to be honest, I've tinkered with my friends' and familys' iPhones and Galaxies, yet I prefer the interface and responsiveness of the Nokia Lumia 521 over them all. I'm please with my purchase; my Nokia Lumia 521 more than meet my needs.

Was this review helpful? (157) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DForce77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the more i use this phone the more i am loving it
12/15/2013

Customer review by Mtownguy

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Mtownguy
by Mtownguy

after being a former blackberry and owning several android devices i saw the reviews on this product at walmart's web site and was in need of a 4 g phone i had just bought a metro 3g phone and i missed the high speed of 4g and i highly recommend getting the 30 dollar plan and having a landline for making calls you get unlimited text and 5gb of 4g connection speed per month half of what you would pay with metro and it is very hard to use that much data in a given bill cycle great job t-mobile and great price walmart!

Was this review helpful? (261) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mtownguy
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny
5/31/2013

Customer review by Chasmn

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Chasmn
by Chasmn

despite my 4 star rating i will start by saying i do not regret my purchase and would do it again in a heart beat. For the $ this is an amazing handset however that doesn't mean i still can't be picky on some things. - Some apps take a little longer to load where i feel like trying to tap again. - Back cover feels a little to smooth like the phone could just slip out of my hand - Settings can be limited. For example the brightness only has a low medium or high These are all minor things however and in no way have me regret making this purchase. I would check walmart.com every hour seeing if its in stock and so glad I was able to snagged one. Within 15 minutes i was playing on it via wifi and another 5 minutes on tmobile's phone support and they had transferred my previous $30 plan to the micro sim. P.S. the nokia apps like the music are amazing. They have my accapella music like pentatonix so they have yours; plus you can download the "station" to listen without a signal!

Was this review helpful? (198) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chasmn
romeoville, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
2/15/2014

Customer review by GillyBeans

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by GillyBeans
by GillyBeans

This phone is pretty great. The Windows 8 layout is super easy to use and I actually prefer that layout a bit better then most smart phones. Also, Nokia was always known for making tough phones that can take a beating and they have NOt disappointed! Even with for a smart phone this thing is tough! I can't even count how many times I've dropped this thing from a full standing position and it still works perfectly and not one crack in my screen! I'm shocked! There are only a few minor downers, one is there aren't all the apps that I want available for this phone, like Dropbox, Instagram, etc. But, most basic apps are available. The only other thing I don't like about this phone it that the keypad is super sensitive and crazy when you let the battery get very low and plug it in to charge. When you try to use the keyboard it presses multiple buttons which is pretty annoying. But, if you have patience and wait about 10 or 15 minutes of charging then it tends to work fine. Other then that this phone is pretty awesome!

Was this review helpful? (150) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GillyBeans
Midvale, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hardware is great and windows phone 8 exceptional
5/9/2013

Customer review by foodie200

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by foodie200
by foodie200

I love windows phone 8, would have switched a long time ago if I had known. I liked this because it was affordable and no contract. I really didn't expect the hardware to be this nice at this price range. This is a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (109) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foodie200
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply the best "bang for your buck" smartphone.
6/8/2013

Customer review by PawnTakesKing

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by PawnTakesKing
by PawnTakesKing

I've had my Lumia 521 for about a month now. In the past I was a die-hard Android phone user, but everything about the Lumia has exceeded my expectations, so much so that I can't ever see myself going back to Android. What makes this phone so wonderful? Several things, actually: 1. The Windows Phone 8 is fluid and smooth. This is really the highlight and main reason to buy this phone. Even though this phone only has 512 MB of RAM, there is no slowdown or stuttering like on many similarly spec'd Android devices. Apps load quickly and snappily, and games run just as fast. The only drawback to the limited RAM is that you can't multitask with very many apps open (otherwise you'll see the "Resuming..." screen when an app reloads#. Still, this is a minor nitpick, as apps resume very quickly. And speaking of apps... 2. Nokia's built-in apps are excellent. If you're coming from Android or iPhone there is a slight learning curve, but after using the phone for a day you'll be a pro. Nokia provides a "Help & Tips" app just in case you need assistance learning the ins and outs of the OS, and their other apps such as "HERE Maps," "HERE Drive" #GPS navigation# and Nokia Music are extremely user-friendly and, in my opinion, of higher quality than other Android apps that provide the same services. Nokia also provides their own "App Essentials" pack in the Windows Phone store that you can download, which includes many other useful apps like Ringtone Maker, Photobeamer #which allows you to "beam" your photos projection-style onto any PC or Mac that has the Photobeamer website loaded#, and HERE Transit. 3. The camera takes decent, but not great, photos. If you're looking for iPhone quality photos, I'll be honest: The Lumia 521 will not cut it. There is also no LED flash included on this model, but really, what did you expect for $130? On the other hand, if you just need something for a quick point-and-shoot, then the 5MP lens on this phone does just fine. You can further enhance your pictures through Nokia's #MANY# photo editing apps if need be. I've found that as long as there is ample light, the photos turn out satisfactory. 4. Less apps than iPhone and Android. That's right, I said "LESS" apps. While most people would see this as a negative, it actually works to Windows Phone's advantage. Most major apps you would need are readily available in the Windows Store, like Twitter, Facebook, Kindle, Spotify, Pandora, etc. For everything else, you can usually find a comparable substitute that is of better quality than what's available on iOS or Google Play. For example, if you need a replacement for Google Reader - or one of its many offshoots - NextGen Reader is an awesome alternative. Because there are fewer apps available, quality apps like NextGen Reader are much easier to find. No wading through tons and tons of garbage apps just to find a diamond in the rough! 5. Call quality ROCKS. Calls are clear and loud, and I've never had anyone say that they have trouble hearing me. Voices don't sound muffled in the least. And because no product is perfect, here are some things you might not like: - The feel of the phone is very cheap, particularly the back. It's just a hard plastic shell without a good grip. You'll want to get a case for this phone soon if you consider yourself a butterfingers and don't want to risk dropping it. - The screen is nothing to write home about, but once again, what are you expecting for $130? Sure, it's not a super AMOLED like on the Samsung phones, and it's only 4", but it's definitely more than passable. It is, however, super-sensitive, although you can turn down the sensitivity in the Settings if you desire. - Only 8 GB of internal memory. This will fill up rather quickly if you download a lot of apps and music. Fortunately you can remedy this by using a MicroSD card for more storage, but keep in mind YOU CANNOT INSTALL APPS TO THE SD CARD. You can only put music, pictures, and videos on the SD card. If you're on the fence about picking this phone up, or you're hesitant to switch to a Windows Phone, then trust me: The Lumia 521 is worth it. For the price, you're getting a phone that has an awesome mix of features and apps, and if you plan on using T-Mobile's $30 prepaid plan then you're getting even more of a bargain. In fact, the only reason you should consider NOT getting this phone is if you don't get T-Mobile service in your area or if you just dislike T-Mobile altogether. There's a reason this phone is nearly sold out everywhere: it's just that good. Track one down if you can, because you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PawnTakesKing
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I just wanted a cheap phone...
7/8/2013

Customer review by HoneyBarBQ

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by HoneyBarBQ
by HoneyBarBQ

...But I got a great deal of a phone that I've dropped multiple times. I left the factory clear sticker over the glass face because it took me awhile to figure out which buttons did what. I decided to order a screen protector later. Meanwhile, I've been able to use the 4G capabilities to surf the web, watch videos and listen to Pandora. I've also tried to use the Nokia mapping function and it seems to work fine. My biggest gripe and why I give it a 4 instead of a 5, is that there's not enough internal memory. You definitely have to get a microSD card if you're going to take lots of pictures and videos with this phone. The panorama feature is great for the camera and fun to use as well as the photo animation feature. Video comes in pretty crisp and clean. I like the fresh looking user interface and the Live Tiles. Battery life, seems fine, I don't use alot of Wi-Fi and have haven't tried tethering yet. All in all, a good enough phone for me. I might upgrade to an Apple product in the future, but just not sure yet.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoneyBarBQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 806 total reviews
1-20 of 806 reviews