Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 900 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

900 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

900 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
472
4 stars
230
3 stars
48
2 stars
46
1 stars
104
1-20 of 876 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 876 total reviews
1-20 of 876 reviews
Great Deal for the Money
12/23/2014

Customer review by TheBrickPsycho

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by TheBrickPsycho
by TheBrickPsycho

I bought this phone about 9 months ago, and it does pretty much everything I need it to do. I mostly use it to play games, listen to music, edit Word and Excel documents for school, text, and use social media apps. I have never actually used it to make calls, because I don't have a SIM card or service plan. My parents paid for my older sister's iPhone service plan and SIM card, so I'm not sure why they won't pay for mine. So for now, I'm using it like an iPod pretty much. I can do a lot with it, but I can't make calls, though I could if my parents would pay for a service plan. I really like it though. Windows Phone is very different from Android and iOS, and it's refreshing. A lot of people say that Windows Phone does not have nearly as many apps, which is true. But since buying this phone 9 months ago, I have seen MANY apps from other platforms be developed for Windows Phone. Pretty soon, the app gap on Windows Phone will be closed.

TheBrickPsycho
Unbelievable value
2/13/2014

Customer review by BobNameAlreadyTaken

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by BobNameAlreadyTaken
by BobNameAlreadyTaken

I bought this a few months ago for the going price at the time (higher than it is now), and I do not regret it at all. This phone is an unbeatable value (especially now). It is very responsive, though there are some stutters here and there from the low amount of memory (Only 512 MB RAM compared to other Windows Phones with 1 GB or more). The UI is clean, fluid, responsive, and, most-of-all, intuitive and easy to use. Things are self-explanatory or are explained clearly by the OS. Call quality is clear and the speaker when using the speakerphone function is loud. It comes bundled with a free copy of Office (with OneNote), and syncs to SkyDrive. It can sync contacts and e-mail with Google (which is important to me since I used to be a big Google user). Internet Explorer feels incomplete, however, with some basic-seeming functionality missing, but I believe the new Windows Phone update is right around the corner, and this may get updated. Very good and useful phone for an amazing price. The T-Mobile network has some great service resellers (MVNOs), so you pretty much have your pick for your voice and data needs.

BobNameAlreadyTaken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Windows Phone, Affordable Average Camera
7/31/2014

Customer review by windaddy

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by windaddy
by windaddy

I couldn't be happier with my Windows phone, except for the camera, which, given the cost of this phone, can be overlooked. The installed apps leave no argument for paying hundreds more for an iPhone... I'm constantly showing my wife that "anything she can do [with her iPhone5] I can do better [with my Windows phone]". The apps are improving on a daily basis, as developers like myself learn the way. There are more than enough out there now to get you going. Call clarity is good, even with speaker option in a car. I connect my phone to my car aux audio and use the speaker option with car radio aux for audio. Hands free! All-in-all, this phone is a very affordable platform that works well with Windows. You're not paying for extra real estate or camera features, but what you're given is suitable for most daily wants and needs.

windaddy
terrible phone
3/17/2014

Customer review by jdbj36m

1.0 stars 3/17/2014 by jdbj36m
by jdbj36m

i bought this a couple months ago. it had wireless issues and i was told the phone needed to be in network in order to use the wifi capabilities reliably. which defeats the purpose of the phone.i also tried to get a hold of microsoft but they told me to talk to my wireless provider but they didnt know either. it took several calls and multiple people before someone who just happened to have a background in this explained about the whole wifi connection issue. right about that time the whole microsot nsa relationship came out.i was just fed up with microsots handling of its customer's.so i sent it back as a huge loss in a trade in and am glad i do not have a windows phone,went back to android.i just want a simple phone with wifi capability that i dcan use where i love(no other cell service).

jdbj36m
pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great smart phone that can use some improvements.
9/9/2014

Customer review by TJEN

4.0 stars 9/9/2014 by TJEN
by TJEN

I've got this phone for more than 6 months now and I still love it. Of course, it can be a little faster, have bigger internal storage, with more RAM, etc. but, for the super low price, I'm very pleased with most performances as a smart phone so far! WP8 has many good features, that iPhone and Android don't, and I really like them. The only thing I hope MS can improve is to have an OPTION, in the email settings, NOT to delete emails from the email server once I delete them from the phone to save storage on the phone! At this time, WP8 will not save emails on the email server once I delete them from the phone and there is no options to save them on the server! Hope MS will issue an update to correct the issue...otherwise, it's almost perfect especially, for the price.

TJEN
An excellent entry level smart phone
2/16/2015

Customer review by TeeH

5.0 stars 2/16/2015 by TeeH
by TeeH

When my beloved Nokla flip phone was lost almost exactly a year ago in February 2014, I started looking for an entry level smart phone. First I wanted a phone that would let me resume my existing T-Mobile pay-as-you-go plan (now called legacy). Secondly I wanted GPS navigation and internet capability without having to subscribe to a data plan. So I got these features, and to my delight I also got WiFi calling and a choice of good smart apps. After upgrading to 8.1, I got Cortana though without a data plan I must be WiFi connected for it to work. The GPS receiver is excellent, finds and locks onto satellites quickly and securely, and is accurate to within a few yards. However, the Here route planning app sometimes take me on a circuitous path, and via local streets rather than main city routes. There are other maps and nav apps that might work better, but the Here system can't nearly replace my Garmin Nuvi 2460. But it's very handy when I don't want to mount the Garmin and is very handy for finding my car in a large distant parking field. Once set up, it's nice about remembering previously used WiFi networks and when I'm near one, it automatically connects and switches from cell tower to WiFi calling and internet connectivity...very nice. Oh, the internet explorer app also works well.

TeeH
This is a great phone for beginners
1/1/2015

Customer review by cmiller56

4.0 stars 1/1/2015 by cmiller56
by cmiller56

Once you get the hang of the Windows operating system, it is a quality phone. Some problems though No front facing camera No flash Sometimes hangs and lags when doing simple tasks(going home, turning off then on again quickly) The phone overheats not on the battery, but behind the camera lens,I don't know if this happens to other people orrr Wi-Fi calling is iffy on many different connections, sometimes it will connect and other times it will give an error and won't work until you get into a different connection Overall this phone is mainly a phone for beginners or for people looking to buy a great priced phone

cmiller56
Worst Phone Ever, and I've had bad ones
11/11/2014

Customer review by nos302002

1.0 stars 11/11/2014 by nos302002
by nos302002

This phone is so aggravating! It randomly drops calls all the time. When I dial out, it will say "dialing" for ever, if I hit it it will say "ending" forever until I restart the phone. My friends report a very distracting echo when they talk to me. Certain numbers will not stay connected at all. 3 phone numbers will drop after 45 seconds of talking. The camera will snap 5-10 unfocused pictures before finally snapping a decent one. I HATE THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!! They fixed all the problems the last Nokia Lumia had, but an entirely new, even worse set of problems came with this one! Avoid.

nos302002
Great Starter for Windows Phone
4/10/2014

Customer review by JGMo

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by JGMo
by JGMo

I grew tired with Android and wanted something a bit more "grown up" and chose the 521 to start with. It wasn't so expensive that if I didn't like it-it wouldn't a great loss. This phone is great! I have had it for 5 months and I am hooked on Windows Phone and ready to upgrade. I have access to all my MS Office apps and docs including One Note and they sync with all my devices. More and more apps that I want and need are coming to the market. Great phone for an adult who doesn't want to root or jailbreak their phone but wants a functional phone and useful for everyday work.

JGMo
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wi-Fi Calling!
2/18/2014

Customer review by Deodar

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Deodar
by Deodar

I live in a hilly area with poor cellphone signal reception. The Wi-Fi calling feature on the Lumia 521 allows me to make and receive calls with excellent clarity and no dropouts at last! The build and call quality are excellent - as good as smartphones that cost four times more. I like how Windows Phone is a breeze to navigate and organize - I no longer have to dig for settings or hunt for information like on my old smartphone. Don't let the low price or budget status deter you... this phone is a real sleeper! I'd recommend it for all but the most demanding power users.

Deodar
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wi-Fi Calling!
2/18/2014

Customer review by Deodar

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Deodar
by Deodar

I live in a hilly area with poor cellphone signal reception. The Wi-Fi calling feature on the Lumia 521 allows me to make and receive calls with excellent clarity and no dropouts. The build and call quality are both solid - as good as smartphones costing many times more. Its interface is easy to navigate and organize - I no longer have to dig for settings or hunt for information as with my old smartphone. The missing features are so few that it doesn't affect me, an above average user. Therefore I'd recommend it for all but the most demanding power users.

Deodar
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A real bargain
8/21/2014

Customer review by bobisr23

4.0 stars 8/21/2014 by bobisr23
by bobisr23

I bought this phone to replace my Apple IPod Touch which needed a new battery. This phone cost less than the new battery for the Touch and I was told by the rep at Apple that I would have to turn in my device and get a reconditioned Touch with a good battery as opposed to replacing just the battery. That would mean starting over adding and restoring apps and data. This phone has more capacity, has a better camera, and plenty of free apps. I like it more every day and will be delighted if it ever gets to 8.1 with Cortana.

bobisr23
MY PHONE! MY phone.
5/17/2014

Customer review by My1phone

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by My1phone
by My1phone

I gotta love it. should have bought it in the first place instead of wasteing money on a nokia Nseries phone I broke the slide lock in a month. but this phone is my every desire for a phone, I would have however liked to see more Ram for memory, and the fact that it 8 gb hard drive space. plus the micro sd slot for more drive space, Plus the sky drive. and phone locate and lock features...I LOVE MY PHONE IT'S SUPER GREAT IF YOU THINK IS A BIT MUCH, THEN ALL I GOT TO SAY IS BUY ONE AND YOU'LL BE RANTING THIS WAY TOO!.

My1phone
Why would you want anything else?
5/5/2014

Customer review by bayquae

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by bayquae
by bayquae

I'm a big WP fan, mostly because it's the easiest phone to use on the market. When you look at the specs, yeah it's not much different than the 2nd gen iPhone, but you won't have to pay what those users did. Removable memory is HUGE for me, so I like that it uses a MicroSD card. No front facing camera, but really, who uses that anyways? Most people I know text anyways. It feels good to hold and WP8 is so easy to customize. It's pretty fast too and I have no problems with lag. All in all, a great phone

bayquae
More then what you pay for!
2/24/2015

Customer review by Robert518

4.0 stars 2/24/2015 by Robert518
by Robert518

I bought this phone last year and every thing still works great and after it falling many times the only problem is that the lock button broke off. When I got this phone their was only one case I could find. This phone is a very durable windows phone and is like the others but just less memory and no front camera. The software has not slowed down at all. Their are a lot of good apps on the windows store and some good apps that are copies of popular apps.

Robert518
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ITS A NOKIA REBORN!!
12/12/2014

Customer review by Tk9Pony

5.0 stars 12/12/2014 by Tk9Pony
by Tk9Pony

i bought this a month a ago, and sadly it slipped out of my pocket and slid down hill into the street, as I watched so helplessly, 8 cars drove by, I was furious at what happened, I picked it up and put the phone back together, I checked the screen calibration, the sound, the mic, the cam, and video, nothing is broken on this phone, my screen is shattered, but no internal, the plastic casing isn't even cracked, this phone brings back nokias strength

Tk9Pony
Great but... Locked
7/28/2014

Customer review by win8by8

3.0 stars 7/28/2014 by win8by8
by win8by8

Great NO Contract Phone, but it is still Locked and can only be used with T-Mobile. Unless you can get it unlocked some how. I assumed that it was unlocked since it was a NO Contract phone. My intentions was to use it when I travel overseas which I do a lot. Well that Idea is shot unless I can get it unlocked. Thanks God U.S. government is passing a bill that would make it legal for consumers to unlock their phones.

win8by8
Honestly...
4/8/2014

Customer review by macbirt

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by macbirt
by macbirt

I bought this phone about a month ago and I absolutely hated it...for about a week. It has grown on me. I love the Windows options, the Nokia Mix Radio and being able to have my files from my PC. I was surprised at the camera, it takes great photos for NOT having a flash, but I do miss the flash and I mostly miss my apps. I am hoping that the apps catch up because right now it is very lacking in the apps department.

macbirt
Rockland, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome Phone!!!!
11/30/2014

Customer review by tuffpuppy24

5.0 stars 11/30/2014 by tuffpuppy24
by tuffpuppy24

I bought this phone in August and it is a pretty decent phone. Until I heard about the Cyan update, Windows 8.1, I was dying to get this update!! I got it in late September and now I'm completely in love with this phone. Its awesome because Cortana is included and I get to use transparent tiles so I can see great backgrounds of my favorite wallpapers. I couldn't ask for a better phone than the 521.

tuffpuppy24
Fantastic smartphone
4/12/2014

Customer review by Lily

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Lily
by Lily

This is the best, most accessible, and reasonable cellphone. After trying samsung for two painful years-sufferred by its super slow speed, and the expensive iPhone, Nokia really makes me find home. I will definitely recommend this phone to my friends. Thanks for offering such great smartphone in nowadays market. I feel tech can really make life easier with cheap payment.

Lily
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 876 total reviews
1-20 of 876 reviews