Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 28 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
It's a diet, people!
5/2/2013

Customer review by KGZville

4.0 stars 5/2/2013 by KGZville
by KGZville

I am on day 4 of the 5 day plan, and I have followed the plan to a tee. The first day was the hardest (very hungry in the afternoon), but I have since been fine. The program works by giving you a base meal, and you add additional items. Typically, you add in 2 proteins, 3 veggies, and 2 carbs a day. So here is an example of my day: Breakfast: provided meal and Greek yogurt - protein #1 Snack: an apple - carb #1 Lunch: provided meal with a salad containing chicken or hard boiled egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, and a light vinaigrette dressing - veggie #1 and protein #2, Snack: carrots and celery - veggie #2, Dinner: provided dinner, and add canned pineapple and steamed broccoli - carb #2 and veggie #3 There is also a dessert, which I have only eaten once because I haven't been hungry after dinner and I forget about it. Is the food good? Some is and some isn't. It's a diet! Last I checked, diet food is a always a compromise. I was not a big fan of the lasagna, but I could eat it. The beef and potatoes is gross, but I added S&P, and it was tolerable. I thought the pizza was pretty good for microwaved pizza. The rest of the meals so far are fine. Since I add a salad with chicken or an egg, I don't miss a "meal" when the provided lunch is a meal bar. And I'm not hungry! I was SURE I was going to be starving on this plan. I'm not. I just picked up another 5 day pack to continue with the plan for another few days before deciding whether to sign up for the regular Nutrisystem plan. I am leaning towards doing it. I've lost 2 lbs. in 3 days, and my weight doesn't typically fluctuate, so I know it is real weight loss. For ease of use compared to other diets I've done, this is definitely worth it. If I could spend hours planning and prepping my own food, I'd skip this. But even with the prep time needed for the food like chopping veggies, cooking chicken/eggs, etc., it is worth it for me to use the plan. I'd recommend trying it. The worst you could lose is the money spent on the meal plan. Or, you might lose some weight!

Was this review helpful? (194) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KGZville
Zionsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tastes Great
4/26/2013

Customer review by NutsforChocolate

4.0 stars 4/26/2013 by NutsforChocolate
by NutsforChocolate

Both my husband and I think the food tastes great for the most part. The chicken alfredo tastes okay but is nut the best. The peppermint cook was really good. I would recommend it to anyone who is serious about weight loss. Yes, the portions are small but we aren't starving either. You have to have the will to do the program and loss the weight.

Was this review helpful? (75) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NutsforChocolate
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
lost 12 lbs in 10 days
5/6/2013

Customer review by laat

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by laat
by laat

I loved it I did not have to think. I bought 2 weeks worth and made ten piles. no thinking about what to eat or when.I used the food additions for the extras.I went to site and print out the additions made shopping easy. wish there were more to chose from. I had far worse diet food. I really liked most of it ( couple of the dinners were pretty bad so I added the morning and afternoon snacks to these witch I saved for the nighttime most days as this is when I want to eat. yes the portions are small but the food is nutrient dense so I was not hungry in between most of the time. the object was for me to loose some weight I had gained. and it worked great. I took a break for two weeks and maintained I'm going back to day to get some more I would have stayed on it if there were more to chose from

Was this review helpful? (69) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laat
Canton GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/20/2013

Customer review by ooka

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by ooka
by ooka

I used this kit to jump start getting some pounds off quick. I found the food to be very palatable. I was never hungry and lost 3 pounds the first week. It is easy to follow. I think those who gave bad reviews just aren't willing to sacrifice their favorite junk foods or large portions which got them into trouble in the first place. I am very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (53) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ooka
lockport, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great jumpstart!!!!
5/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I needed a weight lost success. Having tried lots of other pills, potions, fasts, etc... I was at my wits end. Before Nutrisystem I thought prepackaged food diets were awful. To my surprise, the food in this kit was pretty good and satisfying. Even with the extra purchase of fresh items, the plan was affordable. It was a bit disappointing to find that Walmart only carries one kit because mail order plans are much more expensive. My solution... Get another jumpstart kit and switch the meals around for week two. :-). Overall my success in just the first week was worth far more than the price of the kit.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lakewood, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/2/2013

Customer review by lisisme

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by lisisme
by lisisme

I was thinking about signing up for the regular Nutrisystem program when I saw this 5 day kit at Walmart. I was grateful for the chance to try the food before going all in on the expensive monthly plan. I lost 6 pounds the first 5 days, which is great but I felt a little weak and really hungry when following it to a T. I decided to go another 5 days and add an "extra" each day (usually a smart carb or powerfuel). That second week I still lost 3 pounds and I didn't feel so deprived of calories. I think it's a great system to teach portion control. It is convenient and easily adjustable to your personal goals. Some of the food is pretty decent for what it is. My favorite dinner (well, the only one I really like I should say) is actually the lasagna, which I see some reviewers have not cared for. For me every other dinner is tolerable and the rest of the meals are pretty good. I do have a sweet tooth so I appreciate the little bit of chocolate every day. Anyway, I'd recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lisisme
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nutrisystem Works and most of it is totally edible
8/1/2013

Customer review by Thetodd2

4.0 stars 8/1/2013 by Thetodd2
by Thetodd2

Pros: It works, but so would any program that feeds you less than 1500-1800 calories a day everyday. The food is filling if combined with the appropriate add ins such as fruit and vegetables. Some of the food is very good tasting. Cons: You have to like vegetables and be able to prepare them for yourself in large quantities in order to stick to this plan. Some of the food is very bad tasting. To many of the snacks that taste good are chocolate or too sweet. They need more food that doesn't require "sweet" to make them edible. Nutrisystem requires a lot of added food. Typical day: Breakfast: One egg + one egg white + 1/8 cup of instant grits + a Nutrisystem breakfast bar, cup of coffee Late morning: One fruit typically a pear Late Lunch: 1-2 cups of steamed then slightly pan fried vegetables (pre-prepared# + Nutrisystem entrée, if I eat a Nutrisystem Lunch Bar, I will typically eat the veggies then wait about 30 mins and eat bar. LOTS of water or water with Mio during lunch and up to about 4-5pm to off set hunger. Afternoon: If hungry another piece of fruit #10-15 frozen grapes, etc.) or spoonful of peanut butter or couple pieces of beef jerky or handful of cashews 6pm Dinner: 1-2cups of vegetables prepared various ways, Nutrisystem entrée 7-8pm Nutrisystem snack/dessert 9-10pm 2nd Nutrisystem snack/dessert with a cup of decaf coffee Using this method and exercising about 3 times a week I lost 40lbs. over approximately 3 months. I am currently maintaining so I don't do Nutrisystem everyday which makes these Walmart packs very handy, so I don't have to order a full month supply from Nutrisystem. When I feel my portions are getting to big or if I pig out over a weekend. I like to go back to a strict Nutrisystem diet for a week to remind me what it takes to keep weight off.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thetodd2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nutrisystem Sample
7/28/2013

Customer review by Bearskin2005

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Bearskin2005
by Bearskin2005

I have purchased this packet for 3 weeks. I have followed it almost to the letter. There have been a few slip ups and I have swapped out a vegetable they recommend for one I love. I have lost 18.5 lbs. That is also buying it, using it for 5 days then my own food for 2 days then back on for the next 5, etc. I am pleased with the food. Very surprised. The only one I could live without and am not too fond of is the chicken alfredo. I do add a tad bit of garlic powder to it and that makes a world of difference. The rest of the food is pretty darn good. I'm so thrilled with my overall outcome of this sample packet, I'm biting the bullet and joining NutriSystem next week. Good luck to everyone. I know what a battle this is and I'm excited about this. Thanks WalMart and NutriSystem for giving us the opportunity to try it before we buy it. :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearskin2005
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/22/2013

Customer review by kfiddler

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by kfiddler
by kfiddler

I have been on nutrisystem in the past and it has worked great for me. It keeps me full all day long with more energy. I lost 3 lbs in a week. It's great to help break plateaus too! I'm so glad that wal-mart has it now so I can get it whenever I want to and not have to call and cancel auto ship directly from the company because it's sometimes hard financially.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kfiddler
White House, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mixed Review
5/27/2013

Customer review by azmolliesmom

2.0 stars 5/27/2013 by azmolliesmom
by azmolliesmom

I had high hopes for this kit and was ready to begin to lose weight. After all the advertisements on TV, I was sure this was the ticket for weight loss but wanted to try the kit before ordering $262/month of food. The breakfast and lunch items are pretty good but the dinners are just plain awful. I understand this is packaged food and do not expect it to taste homemade. However, they should taste somewhat good. Glad I tried and did lose weight but I will not continue with their monthly plan as cannot see paying for a meal I cannot eat. The Lasagna, Chicken Alfredo and Rotini are gross even when I tried to add seasoning or cheese! Terrible!! I would recommend trying the kit first if you are considering the monthly plan and then you can determine if you want to continue once you sample their meals.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azmolliesmom
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/31/2013

Customer review by cfmom2

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by cfmom2
by cfmom2

I have lost 8lbs in three weeks only eating the nutrisystem 5 days a week. I am a very picky eater and did not think I would like the food but it wasn't that bad. I will be going on their website soon to order a personalized meal plan because after 3 weeks of eating the exact same meals it is getting old.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cfmom2
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Inedible
4/23/2013

Customer review by Littlepaw

1.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Littlepaw
by Littlepaw

I can see why people lose weight with this product. The portions are small in relation to the calorie content. I haven't eaten all of the products in the box, but the ones I have tried were next to inedible. That cheese pizza? While the sauce was kinda tasty, the crust was awful. My dog wouldn't even eat it. I would never purchase this product again.

Was this review helpful? (52) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littlepaw
Evanston, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Food
6/30/2013

Customer review by deedee615

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by deedee615
by deedee615

1st week on NS I've lost 3.5lbs I LOVE NOT HAVING TO MEASURE my foods. its very easy to follow. my first day i wasnt hungary AT ALL....if you drink 12 oz hot tea, coffee, or 8oz of water before your meal is ready it would help not to feel hungary...Eating NORMAL portions is key. the food is good. i've not had anythang that I didnt like. I love the choices and the chocolate. :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deedee615
Hawthorne, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this program!
6/20/2013

Customer review by fitdivayogaguru

4.0 stars 6/20/2013 by fitdivayogaguru
by fitdivayogaguru

I have been thinking about trying Nutrisystem for a few months now. I finally saw this package and decided to buy it. They where out of the regular package so I got the nutrisystem D package. I was surprised that some of the food is very tasty. My favorites are the potatoes, thin mint bar, rice and beans, and the lasagna. There where a few things that I did not find tasty but it was still edible. I love that you can add some of your own foods. If I get hungry I add a protein shake, low fat yogurt, and/or some fruit and veggies. This is not a starvation diet. In the first 4 days I've lost two pounds. That is amazing to me since I've tried other programs and have even gained weight instead of lost them. I hope to lose one more by the end of the week for a total of three pounds and feel like it is doable on this program without feeling deprived. It is also teaching me how to eat the proper portion sizes so I can still eat what I want within moderation. I will be buying another pack this weekend and then I'm going to sign up for the program so I make sure I keep getting the foods and don't run out.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fitdivayogaguru
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Okay if you can stand 5 days of awful food
5/1/2013

Customer review by Espie

1.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Espie
by Espie

I'm just on day three but I already am totally disappointed. I dont have much of a sweet tooth so I'm not thrilled about the amount of sweet 'meals' are in the package. I just now finished the Beef and Mashed Potatoes dinner and it was AWFUL. I doused it in hot sauce and forced it down. The Lasagna with Meat sauce was just okay and the pizza was flavorless and gummy. I still have a couple of dinners to go but I'm not expecting much. There are two savory lunches, both bland, and the rest are "nutrition bars" that are certainly not my idea of a lunch - regardless of what fresh foods I'm supposed to add. I refuse to throw money away and luckily, am not that picky of an eater so I will consume the entire package and take advantage of the weight loss aspect. However, I will not spend money on this awful tasting food again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Espie
Carrollton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5LBS LOST IN 5DAYS !
6/28/2013

Customer review by MarieLuna

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by MarieLuna
by MarieLuna

I tried because my friend tried it & lost 4lbs with no excerise. I tried it & lost 5lbs in 5days i did 10min excerise ONCE. Im def. buying another box & this time with more excerise :D. I give it 4 stars because there was one thing i didnt like but it doesnt matter it was worth it :D I will update.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarieLuna
Kearny,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sample Pack!
8/15/2013

Customer review by Better1

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by Better1
by Better1

I was on Nutrisystem 8 years ago and had good results, but I wasn't sure I wanted to try it again because the food was not very good. I was happy to find this box at Wal-Mart to try it out again since they said the food has improved. I have to say that compared to 8 years ago, the food is MUCH better! Does it taste like other diet foods in the freezer section? No, but they don't come with a program sheet to help you plan your meals for the day which is what I need. The chart is easy to follow and if you go on line as they instruct you to in the kit, you will see all the substitutes that you can make. I need to know what and how much I can eat to be successful. The box kit also gives you a number to call for a free counsel session, which I have not called, but it's nice to have if I have any questions. I am finishing day 3 and have lost 5 pounds! The second day I had lost 3 pounds and I did not recall that quick of a drop when I was on it years ago. My eyes were wide as saucers! Can I eat so-so tasting food for a 3 pound drop in a day! YOU BET I CAN! The following day dropped another 2 pounds! I can't wait to see the final count on day 5! Yes, I did get hungry the first night and woke up hungry but the last 2 days have been better. Yesterday, I skipped a few vegs due to time and wish I could have eaten them, and I probably wouldn't be feeling the deficit today if I had. My advice would be to follow the program chart exactly and not skip if you can help it because I wish I hadn't. However, the plan is very easy to follow. I think some people are under the impression that everything is in the box, but you have to fix a few things to add to the meals they provide you, mostly vegetables, fruits and dairy/protein products but it's not an overwhelming amount and it's not difficult to do. Look at the list, plan ahead, go to the store and buy things you want to eat such as 2 TB of almonds as your mid-morning snack, which has been my work break lifesaver. I will do this for 5 days and decide if I want to join again but the idea of having food delivered and storing the food again does not appeal to me when I don't have the space for it. I like the little box because it's so convenient. I wish they had more variety boxes at WM that would cover a month. Overall, I am very pleased and results are far beyond my expectations. The food is tolerable and better than it was 8 years ago. I'm sharing my review for those of you who are sitting on the fence but want/need to lose weight, go ahead and give it a try. I have no doubt you will lose weight if you follow the program. If I could lose this much in a few days, which I have never experienced in all my dieting plans through my life and there have been many, I know you'll lose, too. I am very happy I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Better1
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/9/2013

Customer review by 777jokerjoe

4.0 stars 8/9/2013 by 777jokerjoe
by 777jokerjoe

So far I have lost 6 lbs without exercising. Start weight was 339lbs. My goal is to lose 100 lbs before July/2014. I have not tried the diabetic kit but I am very interested. I am using the regular 5 day kit. I find that it has too much of sugar and sodium for my liking, so i may switch to the diabetic kit! I am confident that I will lose 100 lbs with the simplicity of the 5 day kit. I actually eat 5 days of the provided food and for two days I drink protein shakes. This way it saves me a little bit of money and I am sorta fasting at the same time. I am losing at my own pace and i love it that way. I can't wait until there are more variety of kits to choose from such as a vegetarian kit. But I do recommend this meal plan!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
777jokerjoe
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I have tried many diets.I love this one!
8/6/2013

Customer review by SouthernSilverfox

5.0 stars 8/6/2013 by SouthernSilverfox
by SouthernSilverfox

I am on day 2. I stick to the daily diet and add the options as shown. I lost 1/2 lb. the first 24 hrs. I hope to lose 3 lbs. per week. I exercise, by dancing to some of my CDs and videos, just regular fast dance moves, with side to side arm moves, front to back arm moves, a few jumping jacks, twisting moves, kick moves, touch toe moves...in a mixed order...moderate to slow speed..15- 20 minutes each day..or you can walk in place, high stepping..for few minutes. The first diet day was the hardest and I did get hungry, but I did not go off diet. I ate 1/2 cup of my yogurt as a snack at 9 p.m. and drank a full glass of water. Felt full. The food is palatable and spiced a little more than I like on couple of dishes, however, very filling. This 2nd day is much better. I really had to force myself to finish all of the lunch, very filling. The snacks are terrific. You can save them to eat later, if not that hungry. The main thing to remember, eat all the food for that day. By choice, I walk in place, or exercise a few minutes, helps me energy-wise, do it, if you can. If you go online to the address on the box, and look around the site, you will find a coupon for $5.00 off your next box, good til 9-15-13. I plan to stay on the diet for a month. I plan to lose 15 lbs. within this month. I will average, with veggies, fruits extra, about $55-$60 a week for food. It is reasonable for me. I can use the regular box of food, or the one for diabetics. I have TYPE II, which is controlled. I might try that box-D- next. I will buy the boxes at the Wal-Mart. Check your local Wal-Marts to see which ones have them in stock before you go. I love not having to measure, plan, cook, etc. I eat and go! Less dishes to wash, too! I got lots of living to do, as yet. I am 70 years young! Do not start this diet w/o planning to give it at least the 5 days commitment. You are worth it. READ THE BOX BEFORE BUYING AND BE SURE YOU LIKE THE FOODS AND not allergic to them. I love food, hate dieting, this works for ME. GIVE IT A REAL TRY! I weighed first thing in the morning, on my digital scale, before starting diet! Weigh each day at same time...but give it the full 5 or 6 days for true test!! Enjoy and smile at the end!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernSilverfox
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Glad I Did it
7/23/2013

Customer review by Smish72

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Smish72
by Smish72

So far I love the program and the food is way better than expected!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smish72
Garland,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews