Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 39 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
6/2/2013

Customer review by lisisme

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by lisisme
by lisisme

I was thinking about signing up for the regular Nutrisystem program when I saw this 5 day kit at Walmart. I was grateful for the chance to try the food before going all in on the expensive monthly plan. I lost 6 pounds the first 5 days, which is great but I felt a little weak and really hungry when following it to a T. I decided to go another 5 days and add an "extra" each day (usually a smart carb or powerfuel). That second week I still lost 3 pounds and I didn't feel so deprived of calories. I think it's a great system to teach portion control. It is convenient and easily adjustable to your personal goals. Some of the food is pretty decent for what it is. My favorite dinner (well, the only one I really like I should say) is actually the lasagna, which I see some reviewers have not cared for. For me every other dinner is tolerable and the rest of the meals are pretty good. I do have a sweet tooth so I appreciate the little bit of chocolate every day. Anyway, I'd recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (396) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lisisme
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Enjoying not having to think about food plans
7/1/2016

Customer review by Tiffany

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Tiffany
by Tiffany

I have been using the plan for 3 full days now, I am going on day 4. I have lost 3 pounds and I find myself having to really think about wanting to eat. I am really excited about continuing to use the product atleast for a while longer. Maybe will just continue forever because it teaches you how to eat smaller meals as well as better foods and includes foods you would normally eat, such as peanut butter, apples, cheese sticks, cottage cheese, almonds, and many more. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who eats impulsively.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiffany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Plan to Follow
9/13/2013

Customer review by LifetimeDieter

4.0 stars 9/13/2013 by LifetimeDieter
by LifetimeDieter

If you've been on other diets, you can expect much of the same with this Nutrisystem 5-day plan. It's easy enough to add in some protein and veggies, the food isn't bad, and I wasn't hungry between meals. The bars taste like all the other bars, the dinners were okay...except for the Chicken Alfredo. Smelled bad, looked bad, tasted bad. Haven't had the Rotini yet, and after last night, I'm a little afraid. I was disappointed to find, however, that the Nutrisystem D 5-day plan (marketed to diabetics) contained all but two of the same meal choices. I bought the Diabetic plan to try next week, hoping there would be different meals with lower carb content (more like Atkins bars and meals). Everything was exactly the same except the Chocolate Muffin was exchanged for the Blueberry Muffin, and the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bar was exchanged for the Trail Mix Bar. In any case, it's a great jump start to get your eating under control, and I will do it next week, but skip the Chicken Alfredo!

Was this review helpful? (122) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifetimeDieter
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
when you are desperate to lose weight
3/31/2016

Customer review by Cheri

3.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Cheri
by Cheri

I bought the Nutrisystem 5 day weight loss kit. Some of the stuff is really good and some of the stuff is not. I am only on my second day, I'm hoping that I can lose the 7 pounds it says I will. What brought me here to comment is the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. It was so horrible. I mean, I had to force myself to eat it.Im hoping that was beef I ate because it looked and tasted like dog food. The lunch I had was three cheese chicken which was a half cup of noodles but it was pretty good even though it did not fill me. I had a salad on the side. The chicken pot pie wasnt great either but i added some seasoning to it which made it better. It's great because you learn how to eat smaller portions. But if you're a cook like me and you love food and flavor, then it's difficult to eat this food. On the brighter side, the desserts and breakfast are great.

Was this review helpful? (82) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly Recommend this Starter Program!!
7/25/2013

Customer review by Fluffyissofluffy

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Fluffyissofluffy
by Fluffyissofluffy

This five-day starter box was a great start to a great program. As with any diet, the first couple days are the hardest, but the meals are packaged wonderfully and are very convenient. The five-day starter box has a variety of different food types to give an idea of the tastes. After completing my five-day starter program, I decided to order a month supply directly from Nutrisystem. This allowed me to customize the food choices I wanted for each meal and was very inexpensive as it only averaged about $8 per day!! If you have never tried Nutrisystem, I think the starter box is a great way to get introduced. However, if you try the box and like some but not all the foods, then keep going and sign up for the service on-line to customize your food. Everyone's tastes are different so being able to customize what foods you want is a very nice feature of ordering on-line after you've tried the starter program. This program has taught me portion control and I'm losing weight and feeling better. I would highly recommend this program to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (119) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fluffyissofluffy
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth a try!
3/14/2016

Customer review by JackieB

5.0 stars 3/14/2016 by JackieB
by JackieB

I bought the Nutrisystem Homestyle box and absolutely loved it. The convenience of all the meals apart from the extras is a huge plus for me. I like simplicity and eliminating guess work when I'm dieting. I lost 5 lbs in 5 days. I bought a second box and look forward to see how much more I have lost. I have tried every diet you can name. Name it, I have done it. The tastes of these meals were just fine for me. I only have 10 more lbs to lose, so I will probably just keep buying from Walmart, until I reach my goal. This was a great idea for those who have been wanting to give NutriSystem a try.

Was this review helpful? (124) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackieB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good way to try Nutrisystem
4/3/2016

Customer review by Barbamatt

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Barbamatt
by Barbamatt

I've been curious about Nutrisystem for awhile now and wanted to try it. So far I've tried both the Jumpstart and Home Style kits sold at Wal-Mart. I did lose weight on it. The food is easy too prepare and tastes OK... the worst foods items are the meatloaf and potatoes meal and the turkey and stuffing meal. Most of the other food is good. I want to sign up on a Nutrisystem plan now because I have a lot of weight to lose and want more variety. The kits at Wal-Mart is a good way to introduce yourself to the products and see if the diet will work for you.

Was this review helpful? (65) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbamatt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product & easy to follow plan
3/11/2016

Customer review by GRANNY4RIP

4.0 stars 3/11/2016 by GRANNY4RIP
by GRANNY4RIP

I am on the 5th day of the 5-day start up plan. I weighed in this morning and was 5lbs lighter!. I was skeptical that this plan would not work but I was prove wrong. The food is really, really, good. You may have to add a little pepper or garlic to some of the meals but they taste great. I just purchased another 5-day start up plan and hope to see even bigger and better results in the next 5-days. Will keep you posted!

Was this review helpful? (74) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GRANNY4RIP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nutrisystem Sample
7/28/2013

Customer review by Bearskin2005

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Bearskin2005
by Bearskin2005

I have purchased this packet for 3 weeks. I have followed it almost to the letter. There have been a few slip ups and I have swapped out a vegetable they recommend for one I love. I have lost 18.5 lbs. That is also buying it, using it for 5 days then my own food for 2 days then back on for the next 5, etc. I am pleased with the food. Very surprised. The only one I could live without and am not too fond of is the chicken alfredo. I do add a tad bit of garlic powder to it and that makes a world of difference. The rest of the food is pretty darn good. I'm so thrilled with my overall outcome of this sample packet, I'm biting the bullet and joining NutriSystem next week. Good luck to everyone. I know what a battle this is and I'm excited about this. Thanks WalMart and NutriSystem for giving us the opportunity to try it before we buy it. :)

Was this review helpful? (198) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearskin2005
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mixed....
3/21/2016

Customer review by Rose

4.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Rose
by Rose

Getting ready to buy my 3rd box. My first box was the Jumpstart...everyone's right, the chix Alfredo was tasteless. Other then that everything was good. I was full after eating but noticed my stomach was growling after about 2 hours. Ok, so fruit, yogurt or shake time. (Loved the tuna salad.) 2nd week I got the Homestyle box. Again everything was good except for the chix pot pie. It was kinda gross. Watery and the crust you get....like a big cracker you put on separately and microwave for 15 sec's was hard in the middle and got mushy and gummy. Had to choke that one down. Thinking of getting the Diabetic box next, after I check what the difference is. Wish they would come out with more varieties. I like the convience of the boxes. Did I lose 5 lbs? Not sure, I don't have a scale, yet. Am I sticking to it? Yes. Do I go nuts sometimes craving a nice greasy slice of pizza? Or some fattening candy or chocolate? Oh yes! Do I drink all the water recommended? No. I'm not a big water drinker. Trying to change that. But all in all, a weeks worth of food ( not including fruit and veggies) is worth the 40.00. Way less then you would spend buying it separately. You will adjust to the portion control, and adding a cup of veggies and a salad, beleive it or not...is filling. Just be ready in a couple of hours to be hungry again. But maybe that's the point....keep your metabolism going. I'm 53 y/o, gone thru menopause, my metabolism has basically stopped. So may weight loss may take longer, but starting at the gym next week!

Was this review helpful? (49) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let's Try This!!
5/19/2016

Customer review by GrammyGiGi

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by GrammyGiGi
by GrammyGiGi

I did not know anything about that different boxes!! I passed a Yellow box in Walmart, bought it and was pleased with the convenience. When I went back I saw a Red box and Blue box. I read that the Blue boc was designed for diabetics. I tried that one and was pleased. Then I went back to the Yellow because that was the only one on the shelf. Then I found the Red box. I am still confused. I think you are supposed to start with Red then yellow then purple!!! I lost some weight and it is cheaper than signing up with Nutrisystem! I need to eat less carbs and don't know which box to buy and eat!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammyGiGi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Learning not to overeat
3/21/2016

Customer review by Bootsgirl

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Bootsgirl
by Bootsgirl

I bought my meal plan at Wal-Mart and have found it a good way to keep from over eating just because my choices outside the house are so poor. I am very sad to hear that they have decided to stop stocking it, now where do I go? I don't want to buy it from the company and pay $300.00 a month.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bootsgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this program!
6/20/2013

Customer review by fitdivayogaguru

4.0 stars 6/20/2013 by fitdivayogaguru
by fitdivayogaguru

I have been thinking about trying Nutrisystem for a few months now. I finally saw this package and decided to buy it. They where out of the regular package so I got the nutrisystem D package. I was surprised that some of the food is very tasty. My favorites are the potatoes, thin mint bar, rice and beans, and the lasagna. There where a few things that I did not find tasty but it was still edible. I love that you can add some of your own foods. If I get hungry I add a protein shake, low fat yogurt, and/or some fruit and veggies. This is not a starvation diet. In the first 4 days I've lost two pounds. That is amazing to me since I've tried other programs and have even gained weight instead of lost them. I hope to lose one more by the end of the week for a total of three pounds and feel like it is doable on this program without feeling deprived. It is also teaching me how to eat the proper portion sizes so I can still eat what I want within moderation. I will be buying another pack this weekend and then I'm going to sign up for the program so I make sure I keep getting the foods and don't run out.

Was this review helpful? (83) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fitdivayogaguru
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
lost 12 lbs in 10 days
5/6/2013

Customer review by laat

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by laat
by laat

I loved it I did not have to think. I bought 2 weeks worth and made ten piles. no thinking about what to eat or when.I used the food additions for the extras.I went to site and print out the additions made shopping easy. wish there were more to chose from. I had far worse diet food. I really liked most of it ( couple of the dinners were pretty bad so I added the morning and afternoon snacks to these witch I saved for the nighttime most days as this is when I want to eat. yes the portions are small but the food is nutrient dense so I was not hungry in between most of the time. the object was for me to loose some weight I had gained. and it worked great. I took a break for two weeks and maintained I'm going back to day to get some more I would have stayed on it if there were more to chose from

Was this review helpful? (190) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laat
Canton GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better then I expected...
7/26/2013

Customer review by mrshatesdiets

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by mrshatesdiets
by mrshatesdiets

Ok first of all... Come on people with the bad reviews its a DIET... Its not suppose to taste amazing... It does taste fairly good thou. I loved the breakfast and lunch bars so far I was worried it wouldnt fill me but it was ok. I thought I would hate the beans and rice lunch but it was actually pretty good. I had the alfredo noodle dinner tonight and added some seasonings to it to help the taste.. I didnt like it but it was edible... Im alittle worried about the pizza... I think im going to put my pineapple on the pizza and some red onions... and bake it instead for nooking it. Over all Im very happy with this. I love that its a 5 day kit so i can do my diet during the week and just watch what i eat on weekends with my family. :) I really do recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (79) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrshatesdiets
middle of nowhere, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great jumpstart!!!!
5/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I needed a weight lost success. Having tried lots of other pills, potions, fasts, etc... I was at my wits end. Before Nutrisystem I thought prepackaged food diets were awful. To my surprise, the food in this kit was pretty good and satisfying. Even with the extra purchase of fresh items, the plan was affordable. It was a bit disappointing to find that Walmart only carries one kit because mail order plans are much more expensive. My solution... Get another jumpstart kit and switch the meals around for week two. :-). Overall my success in just the first week was worth far more than the price of the kit.

Was this review helpful? (115) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lakewood, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/20/2013

Customer review by ooka

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by ooka
by ooka

I used this kit to jump start getting some pounds off quick. I found the food to be very palatable. I was never hungry and lost 3 pounds the first week. It is easy to follow. I think those who gave bad reviews just aren't willing to sacrifice their favorite junk foods or large portions which got them into trouble in the first place. I am very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (147) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ooka
lockport, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Losing weight and having fun
8/2/2015

Customer review by Annie

5.0 stars 8/2/2015 by Annie
by Annie

I love the new nutrisystem plans and love the boxes they come in. i tried nutrisystem 10 years ago and did not enjoy the food. Now I am loving all of the meals and losing weight easily. i am eating very healthy and following the plan is so easy. The food is delicious and filling. I do not feel hungry and i am feeling so much better physically. 12 down, 30 to go!!!

Was this review helpful? (57) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a diet, people!
5/2/2013

Customer review by KGZville

4.0 stars 5/2/2013 by KGZville
by KGZville

I am on day 4 of the 5 day plan, and I have followed the plan to a tee. The first day was the hardest (very hungry in the afternoon), but I have since been fine. The program works by giving you a base meal, and you add additional items. Typically, you add in 2 proteins, 3 veggies, and 2 carbs a day. So here is an example of my day: Breakfast: provided meal and Greek yogurt - protein #1 Snack: an apple - carb #1 Lunch: provided meal with a salad containing chicken or hard boiled egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, and a light vinaigrette dressing - veggie #1 and protein #2, Snack: carrots and celery - veggie #2, Dinner: provided dinner, and add canned pineapple and steamed broccoli - carb #2 and veggie #3 There is also a dessert, which I have only eaten once because I haven't been hungry after dinner and I forget about it. Is the food good? Some is and some isn't. It's a diet! Last I checked, diet food is a always a compromise. I was not a big fan of the lasagna, but I could eat it. The beef and potatoes is gross, but I added S&P, and it was tolerable. I thought the pizza was pretty good for microwaved pizza. The rest of the meals so far are fine. Since I add a salad with chicken or an egg, I don't miss a "meal" when the provided lunch is a meal bar. And I'm not hungry! I was SURE I was going to be starving on this plan. I'm not. I just picked up another 5 day pack to continue with the plan for another few days before deciding whether to sign up for the regular Nutrisystem plan. I am leaning towards doing it. I've lost 2 lbs. in 3 days, and my weight doesn't typically fluctuate, so I know it is real weight loss. For ease of use compared to other diets I've done, this is definitely worth it. If I could spend hours planning and prepping my own food, I'd skip this. But even with the prep time needed for the food like chopping veggies, cooking chicken/eggs, etc., it is worth it for me to use the plan. I'd recommend trying it. The worst you could lose is the money spent on the meal plan. Or, you might lose some weight!

Was this review helpful? (333) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KGZville
Zionsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mixed Review
5/27/2013

Customer review by azmolliesmom

2.0 stars 5/27/2013 by azmolliesmom
by azmolliesmom

I had high hopes for this kit and was ready to begin to lose weight. After all the advertisements on TV, I was sure this was the ticket for weight loss but wanted to try the kit before ordering $262/month of food. The breakfast and lunch items are pretty good but the dinners are just plain awful. I understand this is packaged food and do not expect it to taste homemade. However, they should taste somewhat good. Glad I tried and did lose weight but I will not continue with their monthly plan as cannot see paying for a meal I cannot eat. The Lasagna, Chicken Alfredo and Rotini are gross even when I tried to add seasoning or cheese! Terrible!! I would recommend trying the kit first if you are considering the monthly plan and then you can determine if you want to continue once you sample their meals.

Was this review helpful? (57) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azmolliesmom
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews