Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 36 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Excellent value in a non-smart non-3D big screenTV
6/24/2013

Customer review by Einsteinish

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Einsteinish
by Einsteinish

Very good value!! My Blu-ray has all the smart features I need, so I didn't need the TV to have them. 3D gives me a headache, so no loss not having it. My 5.1 system handles audio, so I don't even care about the onboard audio. This TV has everything else I was looking for. Big screen, excellent contrast, deep blacks edge to edge with minimal LED lighting artifacts, crisp definition, outrageous color saturation and low power consumption. All in all, a very, very nice picture! Blu-ray's and Amazon Instant Videos look astounding as did French Open tennis on cable. Could spend a lot more and just waste money... or get this and save big. Bought the Walmart 3 year service plan so no worries on durability issues. Needed a little dialing in to get the picture quality right where I wanted it, smooth sailing ever since.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Einsteinish
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Comparable to any 'top' brand
6/1/2013

Customer review by North512

4.0 stars 6/1/2013 by North512
by North512

I was looking for a 60"(58" - really no difference) television to replace a 42" in a basement family room. The 42" was just too small for the room size(sitting about 15-20 feet away). Let me say that this was not my first choice, in fact my budget was much higher then 800 as my first choice was Vizio's 60" Smart TV E601i-A3. The Vizio was dull, colors are de-saturated in some scenes and too saturated in others, especially golf. Course greens look like turf and clothing looks like its from medieval times. But that is not why I returned it. I returned it because of a popular defect among EDGE-LIT LED televisions known as the "flashlight" effect. Since the LED lighting comes from the sides of the screen, they have to be very bright in order to light up the center of the screen, especially for a 60" screen size. The light over powers on the edges and bleeds through, so you get areas of cloudiness during dark scenes. Very annoying, especially for such an expensive television. But don't be fooled, you cannot see this defect when viewing display models at retail stores (Fluorescent Lighting!). Also, it is still hard to see this defect when sunlight is leaking in the room, but you will definitely notice it at night. Well, I figured maybe this is just a problem with base level EDGE-LIT LED televisions, returned the Vizio and bought a gorgeous 60" Samsung UN60ES6100. Got it for $1300 on closeout at BB, which is a steal since closeout for this 2012 model is $1500 everywhere else. The Samsung is so much better then the Vizio, Brighter, awesome smartTV features, just a more true to life experience when watching it, of coarse until the sun went down. Was testing in the dark and had the same EDGE-LIT flashlight issue, such a bummer. Could not get a replacement as it was sold out in my area, unless I were to buy a store model - Which I don't like the idea of buying a TV with over 2000 hours on it. Moral of the story, do not buy EDGE-LIT LED televisions. Only the 'flagship' models have a more uniform screen and very few of us have the budget for those TVs. Of coarse they appeal to everyone because of how slim they are, but these backlits are pretty thin as well (about 3"). So, I decided to look more towards rear lit / backlit LED televisions(Or plasma-but room is bright and plasma screens have glare issues). Found a few that weren't as bright as the Samsung, even one being an $1100 Samsung didn't cut it. But I had known from the 42" model being replaced that Sanyo's are very bright and easily compete with top brands even though we all know them as a light-bulb company(the 42" is a Sanyo). I gave this DP58D33 a try, with comfort knowing that Walmart has a 90 day return policy on TVs. Spent some time calibrating it - big thing is to turn the ECO mode sensor off and set the ECO mode to 1 giving you a real bright picture. Tested at night, screen black is uniform. This gets my approval and recommendation. For 800, I can now buy a Roku 3 or Apple TV giving me better smart features than all the smartTVs out there. I will say that videos games don't play the best on this picture right out of the box, but when you turn the motion settings off everything is a lot smoother. Overall this is a great unit with a great picture. Beware of the audio out though, for this unit only has coaxial digital audio out. No Optical Digital audio out or Analog audio out.

Was this review helpful? (65) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
North512
Portsmouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo out wins Vizio
2/26/2014

Customer review by technicalgooroo

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by technicalgooroo
by technicalgooroo

Purchased this tv just a few days ago hooked it up and it works flawless. Had purchase 3 Vizio tvs from Walmart in the past two months each with problems. The first one had some bad pixels out of the box. second one we tried wouldn't even power on all we got was vertical lines and a black screen. third same as first bad pixels. So returned and finally decided to purchase this Sanyo and couldn't be happier. Picture quality is great better than Vizio sounds is ok. But after trying 3 Vizios the last two months This is the way to go. And at an awesome price you cant go wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
technicalgooroo
martinsville,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!
5/31/2013

Customer review by smallfryce

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by smallfryce
by smallfryce

I recently purchased this TV. It seemed like it would be a great TV. After having a day and a half it turned itself off and back on. I didn't thing much about it. Then a few days later it started doing it again. My last night of having the tv it did it 2 times in a 15 minute period. I started reading others reviews and problems just like mine. They all said that after a year and a half to 2 years theirs started doing this. I didn't even make it through the first week.

Was this review helpful? (36) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smallfryce
Floyds Knobs, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for an excellent price!
2/16/2014

Customer review by Bagus

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Bagus
by Bagus

This is a nice TV and the price was right, and I replaced a 55" LCD TV with it. It has 3 HDMI, which I think is enough, and I really like the simple TV stand, which comes with the TV. I do feel the speaker is aliitle weak, but other than that, I think this TV gives great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bagus
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's ok
9/16/2013

Customer review by ShawnK75

3.0 stars 9/16/2013 by ShawnK75
by ShawnK75

As stated in other reviews the tv randomly shuts off and back on, the picture goes black you can still hear what's on the tv just no picture. I noticed it for the first time a few days after I bought it. It doesn't do it that much, but it does do it. It also doesn't hold standard over the air reception very well. I can hook up the same antenna to my laptop through a tv tuner and pull channels that this tv can't pickup. My other sanyo held the signal better than this one, and it's almost 10 yrs old. I've always bought sanyo tv's, never anything else for the past 10 yrs, and have always had good luck with them, but my experience with this one hasn't been as good, so this will probably be the last sanyo I buy. A guy that repairs tv's for over 20 yrs told me to only buy Sony, and Panasonic, so I think I will stick to those in the future.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShawnK75
Collinsville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
can't beat the price on this tv.
4/4/2014

Customer review by TFJCR

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by TFJCR
by TFJCR

This 58" LED Sanyo T V is all and more that they said about it in the Reviews. I was so glad to get this tv 6 days before it was to be sent to me. this tv came in a well packed box so the tv could not move around and get busted. I had fun setting this set up, it was fun and easy to do. Everything on the tv works good. I would buy from Walmart on line again . Thanks fjc

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFJCR
Marshfield, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome TV for the price
8/2/2014

Customer review by NancyUCF

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by NancyUCF
by NancyUCF

This is a really great TV for the price. Doesn't have the bells and whistles of smart TVs or 3D TVs but it is a quality picture and sound. Easy to set up. I think the people who have the problem of the TV turning off may not realize that there is an energy saver option which can automatically turn the TV off. Its found in the menu settings and the default settings have it on. I have had the TV for over a month and have not had it happen. The only issue I have is that I cannot get the picture to be full screen when using an HDMI cable to stream from my laptop, but I am sure that is something I am doing wrong (I have it full screen when in regular cable TV mode). Anyway, I am very happy with my purchase of this TV.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NancyUCF
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
6/26/2014

Customer review by magnum44

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by magnum44
by magnum44

For the price you can't beat it, everything as expected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magnum44
Rising Sun, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it!!!
6/23/2014

Customer review by jess712

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by jess712
by jess712

we love this tv, we got it for our dad for Father's Day & it was the best deal out there for a reputable brand & he loves it

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jess712
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good deal
7/19/2014

Customer review by Joynerkev

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by Joynerkev
by Joynerkev

I spent an entire day trying to find the right TV for the right price. Although I was leaning toward a smart tv, this one caught my eye because it was a 58" rather than the standard 50 or 60". That made it the perfect size based upon the dimensions of the area I had in mind to place it. It was very easy to set up and looks great. I mounted it to the wall using a Videosecu Dual Swing Arm Wall Mount and I couldn't be happier. It looks very classy. Plus I can just pull the TV out and angle it in any direction I choose which helps when I am trying to avoid glare from lights etc... I'll need to pick up a sound bar because some programs just don't come through loud enough to hear properly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joynerkev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reliable TV
3/21/2014

Customer review by MissElectronics

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by MissElectronics
by MissElectronics

I have owned a Sanyo TV for 20 years so when my family decided to buy a large screen, the decision was easy. Sanyo TVs are very reliable and have a long life. Recently I purchased the DP58D33 and could not be happier with it. I love the beautiful 1080P picture, thin frame, great sound and easy menu to navigate.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissElectronics
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for its price.
9/23/2014

Customer review by HW1914

5.0 stars 9/23/2014 by HW1914
by HW1914

The picture is beautiful and it's a great tv for the price. The only problem is the sound but that was an easy fix I bought a sound bar. FYI any Vizio sound bar will work with this tv as that was the hardest thing finding a sound bar that works with the Sanyo. Loving this buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HW1914
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent quality with low price!
3/8/2014

Customer review by Pehka

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by Pehka
by Pehka

I got it at the Walmart store and I love it! It's a noticeably larger screen size than the 50" or 55". I compared the size at the store and I was immediately impressed with the difference. Picture quality is very nice with the 1080p. The low price convinced my family to buy our first TV larger than 50". One thing I don't like is the simple design, but the larger screen is definitely worth it. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pehka
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unbeatable price for the size!
6/27/2014

Customer review by texbum76

4.0 stars 6/27/2014 by texbum76
by texbum76

Unbeatable price for the size!! I searched the net for a better bargain by size and couldn't find one. It's not a smart TV, but I don't need one and didn't want to pay for something i wouldn't use. Picture quality varies from moment to moment. I have Directv with HD with DVR. Sometimes it doesn't look HD, other times it looks ultra HD. I can't complain for the price though

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texbum76
Marble Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal!!!
3/9/2014

Customer review by INCHARGE50

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by INCHARGE50
by INCHARGE50

This is a perfect TV for its low price. I am satisfied with the high spec like 1080p, 120Hz, larger screen size, and clear sounds. But, after I find it at Walmart.Com and I went to three Walmart stores and any of them are out of stock. Two weeks later, I finally get it at store. Do not miss it if you find the TV in stock!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INCHARGE50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent tv for the money
3/24/2014

Customer review by Biggredd5987

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by Biggredd5987
by Biggredd5987

I got mine on a roll back price of $648!!!!! How can you beat that!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biggredd5987
Boca Raton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice television for the price
9/7/2013

Customer review by 7JG7

3.0 stars 9/7/2013 by 7JG7
by 7JG7

I like my new T.V. It has a nice picture (not the best, but nice). The sound is not great if there is any background noise but okay if the room is quiet. Takes about 10-15 seconds to turn on. I like that the border is thin so the television looks bigger. There are moments of frizziness but from what I am told this happens on other televisions as well...Over all I am okay with this purchase. I wanted a large T.V. and now I have one. It is not awesome but it is very nice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7JG7
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price.. Bad picture
5/27/2014

Customer review by goodbyesanyo

2.0 stars 5/27/2014 by goodbyesanyo
by goodbyesanyo

I bought this product because I had Sanyo before and was very satisfied. The price was right but pic was horrible. I had a Visio and it broke due to an accident. Bought the Sanyo DP58D. Set it up, tried to adjust picture but could not get fuzziness out. Called customer service and they were helpful but still fussy pic. Very disappointed. Returned it for another Visio

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodbyesanyo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sanyo
3/21/2014

Customer review by Sigfrid

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by Sigfrid
by Sigfrid

Great tv

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sigfrid
Msp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews