Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

91 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

91 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 91 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
It Works.
6/28/2016

Customer review by Rydangel

3.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Rydangel
by Rydangel

I only brought this because it was on sale and I had a wal-mart gift card.I was worried about it crashing, since Toshibio hard drives are known for drive failures. I even had a 2tb external drive die on me within a month of purchase. But this little hardrive works perfectly with my laptop. I haven't had any problems and it's been over a year(15 month) since I brought it. The only thing i hate is that it comes with a bunch of unecessary files on it that you cant erase. But it is eay to use and small enough to fit in the zipper compartment of my purse. The only downside is the cord is really short. Toshiba uses their own style of cords so you can't just buy a usb cord to swap it out with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rydangel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good
8/17/2015

Customer review by samantha

4.0 stars 8/17/2015 by samantha
by samantha

This device is good for what I need. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
samantha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just got it
8/14/2015

Customer review by kwiman

5.0 stars 8/14/2015 by kwiman
by kwiman

looks good and hope it works well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kwiman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst. Interface. Ever.
8/12/2015

Customer review by Edward

2.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Edward
by Edward

I have been struggling with this drive since I purchased it, around a week ago. I don't know how good it will work storing files since I have not been able to store anything for long as the interface is a failure in every aspect: -It shifts languages (from Spanish to Portuguese). -It doesn't store the amount of data it was supposed to do (my data was 390 Gb, the software indicated 500 Gb and it finally stored <200Gb). -The software always indicates the wrong amount of data and is not congruent with itself (in one window it says something and in the next it indicates an amount 5 times larger). -It starts copying files when it was not supposed to do it, and does not stop when the cancel order is given. -Sometimes it writes information faster than others (up to 8 times) for the same files. -There is no password protection. So the only possible way to use it is by storing files manually as the software is so incredibly defective. So, no scheduled copying of selected folders. No restoring points. No automatic backup of everyday's work. Neither encryption nor data protection. Those inconveniences makes this product the worst in its price range.

Edward
Mexico City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked perfectly for a year then corrupted
5/23/2014

Customer review by Bryce

2.0 stars 5/23/2014 by Bryce
by Bryce

The drive worked perfectly fine across my MacBook and Windows laptops, my Xbox 360, and PS3 for over a year. Then one day I go to mount it on my MacBook and it can't be read. The drive was spinning and the light was on, but to the computer it was invisible. Tried connecting it to multiple computers and gaming systems to no avail. I managed to find a computer running Linux via my tech guy and was able to SEE, but not READ, my files, which my tech guy said definitely means it was corrupted. I took great care of it so there was no way it was from physical or shock corruption. I would give it 1 star but Toshiba's exchange/coupon warranty system is definitely a great way to make up for this product malfunction. Hopefully the new (different model) drive will not have this problem.

Bryce
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
No Support
12/18/2015

Customer review by Silvercross

1.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Silvercross
by Silvercross

This product actually worked great for about a year before it totally crapped out. I had to reformat it and lost everything on it. Tried to download new software and drivers for it but guess what, there aren't any! No support whatsoever.

Silvercross
Holtsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
garbage
9/8/2015

Customer review by angry customer

1.0 stars 9/8/2015 by angry customer
by angry customer

I've had this drive for almost 2 years and it's been fine up until today. I have been using this for my Xbox One to store all my games and saves. Today it stopped being recognized. I have it plugged into a laptop right now and it shows in devices & printers menu, but I can't access it. All of my files are on it and I can't get to them. This was a terrible purchase. I should have gone with Seagate or something.

angry customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
save your money
8/13/2015

Customer review by Jen

1.0 stars 8/13/2015 by Jen
by Jen

We bought this device to store video and photos. It worked perfectly for about 6 months and then one day we plugged it in to the computer and it wasn't recognizable, nothing came up at all. Tired various devices (another laptop, Xbox360, PS3) still nothing. The light turns on, the disk spins but it doesn't play or show up at all. Save your money and troubles. We lost all our files using this device.

Jen
Would recommend to a friend? No
not a good backup strategy
9/30/2015

Customer review by Leigh

1.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Leigh
by Leigh

I bought it for backup, it's never been handled roughly or moved from my office, but It's not working. I needed to find something today in my backups. Hah.

Leigh
Sydney, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
very poor performance - won't stay connected
9/27/2015

Customer review by matty

1.0 stars 9/27/2015 by matty
by matty

Keeps disconnecting; tech support unable to help.

matty
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
worthless
11/16/2014

Customer review by jt

1.0 stars 11/16/2014 by jt
by jt

I'm a professional photography and bought the Toshiba 1 TB Canvio to store pictures. It worked fine for about one month and one day it wouldn't show on my Macbook, the light was on on the hard drive was spinning but it won't show up on computer. It was never abused and only used about 5 times. Lost all images and I will never buy another Toshiba product again

jt
Dallas Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Corrupted
6/1/2014

Customer review by Teacher

1.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Teacher
by Teacher

So I had this for about 1 week and it stopped being recognized, needed to be reformatted. So it is basically worthless for putting anything on it as it will corrupt without any interaction from the user. I say that because I was not plugging and unplugging the unit or transporting it from computer to computer, this was a single workstation install for recording video.

Teacher
Waxahacie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
1 week and it stopped being recognized,
7/13/2015

Customer review by joseutu

1.0 stars 7/13/2015 by joseutu
by joseutu

1 week and it stopped being recognized,

joseutu
pr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Confusing interface and no password protection!
6/20/2014

Customer review by R

1.0 stars 6/20/2014 by R
by R

This is very hard to use device with a poor user interface. Even worse, there is no option to set up a password to protect your files, which should be a basic feature on an external hard drive!

R
Qatar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Set up is terrible
7/26/2014

Customer review by confederate

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by confederate
by confederate

Says connect and then open Internet explorer and go to setup.exe. Never recognizes the drive being connected. Had to call Toshiba suppport. Way too hard

confederate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never Worked
8/9/2014

Customer review by JP

1.0 stars 8/9/2014 by JP
by JP

They only place this appears is in the device and printer folder, and it is unusable from there.

JP
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent USB Memory device
6/1/2016

Customer review by hungryjoe

5.0 stars 6/1/2016 by hungryjoe
by hungryjoe

Just speaking from my own experience, I would highly recommend this unit. For me, it has been a godsend, enabling me to store away hundreds of YouTube videos and home videos of my own, as well as thousands of other files like music, photos, MIDI songs, etc. Connected to my Samsung "smart" TV, it is ready to go at any time, and fairly easy to access. Sure as heck beats floppy disks -- anyone remember those things?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hungryjoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't support MAC
3/25/2015

Customer review by Tahseen

1.0 stars 3/25/2015 by Tahseen
by Tahseen

Don't buy this if u have a mac. This doesn't support mac.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tahseen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Backed up and Happy
1/24/2015

Customer review by HappyilyBackedup

4.0 stars 1/24/2015 by HappyilyBackedup
by HappyilyBackedup

This handy little external hard drive works perfect for backing up my photos and files. It is small and easy to take with me if I need it. The software is great for just automatically backing everything up, either the whole computer or just selected folders by using the advanced option. I was hoping for a two or three file back up rotation that would mirror my files each time so when I deleted something it would not be kept forever on my backup. But that was easily fixed by not using the software and backing up manually. Overall I would highly recommend for any user and the price is just right.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyilyBackedup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds my expectation
11/6/2014

Customer review by Yaash

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by Yaash
by Yaash

Amazing product. I bought this for my friend but i had bought an another major brand drive before, not that I am totally dissatisfied but I would have chose Toshiba over the other brand, for this drive specifically. This tiny little thing can fit even into your pocket, no noise at all. Works smoothly. The finishing on the outside makes it ideal to leave it on a desk to be seen. It sure does exceed my expectations. Wish I had seen this one when I bought mine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yaash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews