Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

11 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

11 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-11 of 11 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

The BD-FM51 good for the money
7/14/2013

Customer review by NunyaBiz2

2.0 stars 7/14/2013 by NunyaBiz2
by NunyaBiz2

Needed a DVD player with streaming so I stopped into Walmart late at night and pick this one up for about $80 including tax. Figured I could get a better one once I had the time to research it a bit. I've had this device for about 3 months and all the problems I've had are two. (1.# DVD's video will freeze or no audia, or big square pixels appear in place of the normal picture. #2.) This one is new. Netflix streaming movies will freeze up. I found this one out after calling the cable company support twice in two nights. After support did all their magic the picture was still frozen. The solution to this problem is the same for the DVD problem. Pull the plug, wait 30 seconds and plug it back in. Its a real pain in the backside but for $80 who can complain.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NunyaBiz2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WASTE OF MONEY
10/14/2013

Customer review by Prex

1.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Prex
by Prex

Was given this as a gift and had no problems for the first two months then it started to freeze all the time and I had to pull the plug out and plug it back in every time i tried watching a movie. Now it won't even turn on!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prex
houston,texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Wi-Fi - Didn't Know That
9/4/2013

Customer review by Jeep67

3.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Jeep67
by Jeep67

My rating isn't based on the units performance, because I wouldn't know. It has the logos for Netflix, Pandora, YouTube, etc. on the box that lead me to believe it was Wi-Fi ready. Maybe that was my fault but no where on the box did it say it needed an Ethernet connection to use these services. In fact the instructions didn't mention it either and I didn't even know it used an Ethernet cord until after I took it back and did some research. When I hooked it up and went to setup, the icon for Wi-Fi was grayed out and when I clicked it, it said I needed a "dongle" to receive a wireless signal. The instruction booklet said nothing about this "dongle", but when I looked online I found it is an accessory that costs around $40 and is only made by Samsung. Again, it said nothing about plugging it into Ethernet or I might have moved my modem. Should I have known by the price? Actually no, because I've never bought a Blu-ray player before. My Ethernet is upstairs in my office and my other Blu-ray player #that was a gift# is wi-fi enabled; I thought they all were these days. I won't recommend this unit simply because it does not tell you anywhere #except when you go to setup# that you need additional equipment. I also don't like making returns and this one was unnecessary and inconvenient.

Was this review helpful? (35) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeep67
Jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Samsung BD FM-51
12/21/2013

Customer review by POTOWN

4.0 stars 12/21/2013 by POTOWN
by POTOWN

Nickname NOT potown, Walmart must be playing a joke on me. Purchased this Blu-ray player seven months ago and have had no real problems with it. Set up was fairly easy. Player plays Blu-rays great and the upscaling makes my regular dvds look much better. Usb port is convenient. Remote control is set up much better than on my Sony. Anynet 2 works great with my Samsung flat screen. Smart hub makes searching apps much easier. Streaming is not too bad, sometimes there are some freezing issues. When it is updating through the internet you can't do anything and sometimes you have to restart after it's done. It's important that you let it finish. From what I have researched internet is a little slow on eighty percent of the players out there. Like some I thought this was wireless not wired. On the packaging of all of the manufactures it is a little misleading. On my second Blu-ray player I did more research. I picked mine up at Walmart when it was on sale so for the price I paid I got great value for my money. I recommend a extended warranty, it is inexpensive and will save you time and money if anything happens

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
POTOWN
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Awesome Blu Ray player
4/18/2014

Customer review by krich2775

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by krich2775
by krich2775

I bought this yesterday at my local Walmart for $68 plus tax. Setup was a breeze and it came with batteries for the remote and it plays all of my Blu Ray movies and DVD movies with no problems. On the off chance that it might go bad like the other reviews have mentioned I bought the 2 year service plan as a backup plan if you will.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krich2775
Clarkton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Terrible purchase
2/18/2014

Customer review by FoReal1959

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by FoReal1959
by FoReal1959

The blu ray only lasted 3 months. Will only play DVD now. Would also prefer Wi-Fi

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FoReal1959
Clevelan, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Well worth the money spent.
6/26/2014

Customer review by Jazinana

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Jazinana
by Jazinana

It has great picture quality. It is very set up although setting it up on my hotspot so that I can use items that require internet access is not so easy to figure out. Otherwise it's easy to use and I'm satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jazinana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No cables
8/11/2014

Customer review by DansminiS

4.0 stars 8/11/2014 by DansminiS
by DansminiS

I realize this is a BluRay player with HDMI output. But I was disappointed that there are no RCA outputs and no cable supplied. Other than that, the price point was good and should do the trick playing BluRay DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DansminiS
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointment
4/20/2014

Customer review by luvmybears

2.0 stars 4/20/2014 by luvmybears
by luvmybears

while this does have lots of perksI don't see what the big deal is. other than the options of the netflix and the vudu My son talked me into getting it. What he neglected to tell me was you need a GOOD name brand t.v. I bought an element hd and I'm pleased with it. he tells me I need a samsung to really see the difference.I cannot program it to connect with the interet.grrrrrSo all in all its rather a disapointment

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmybears
mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Constantly Freezes
1/26/2014

Customer review by shepherddogfan

1.0 stars 1/26/2014 by shepherddogfan
by shepherddogfan

I got this unit for a Christmas gift this year and unfortunately its garbage. Every time I want to use the unit I have to unplug it and let it restart and sometimes that doesn't work. I am taking it back today and exchanging it for something else. Please don't waste your time with this model of blu-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shepherddogfan
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FREEZES ALL THE TIME
3/9/2014

Customer review by 2340

1.0 stars 3/9/2014 by 2340
by 2340

Constantly freezes. Have to unplug it. Not worth the money. Would love to get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2340
Would recommend to a friend? No