Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

140 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 127 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Very Satisfied
7/14/2013

Customer review by ReviwerMan

5.0 stars 7/14/2013 by ReviwerMan
by ReviwerMan

Bought this TV on 7/14/13 for $498 at a local walmart. Picture is exceptional. Apps are good, netflix works great. I do not see any motion blur during fast scenes and colors dare very rich. I plan on buying another for my living room. You'll have a difficult time finding a better value smart tv.

Was this review helpful? (112) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviwerMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Good LED TV for the Price!
11/9/2013

Customer review by VootCruiser

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by VootCruiser
by VootCruiser

I have only had the TV around one week. I wanted an LED as opposed to an LCD for the picture quality which is really good. The TV is very thin and light and set up, for me, was a breeze. The remote could be a lot better and I noticed that I would have to push the buttons a few times or a little harder to get the remote to respond, but that could be replaced at any time. If you want to hook up a lot of devices to the TV you may want to look at all the available ports before you purchase, it is somewhat limited. I did notice in the first week that the volume would go up and down on its own, which I immediately got on line to research this problem which was remedied by adjusting the setting in the Audio mode. I also purchased the VIZIO sound bar in the 42", which sounds really good. So far I am pleased with my purchase because I wanted a good quality TV and didn't want to spend a fortune since technology changes so fast.

Was this review helpful? (81) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VootCruiser
Leesville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent t.v.
8/31/2013

Customer review by foolonahill

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by foolonahill
by foolonahill

Excellent picture & sound. As others have mentioned the remote / sensor is highly directional. Have to point it at the lower left corner of the t.v. The big plus for me is the analog audio out / RCA jacks as I have an wireless interface to my hearing aids. On the LG I had before this I had to use the earphone jack which interrupted the audio to the speakers. With this Vizio the audio out is independent of the speaker volume control. I'm considering buying a 2nd one for my ofc. We're looking at giving up our satellite t.v. and going to Hulu-Plus &/or Netflix to save money One good feature for the technically challenged is that this t.v. has an on screen assisted set-up

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foolonahill
Space Coast, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Full-Featured LED HDTV For The Money
9/24/2013

Customer review by tquinn3448

4.0 stars 9/24/2013 by tquinn3448
by tquinn3448

I bought this TV initially because it was a perfect fit for my old armoire/TV cabinet. The slim design, thin bezel and updated pedestal styling look great. For the money, the picture quality is fantastic. The picture is sharp and colors are vivid. Contrast and blacks are adequate. The matte finish screen is still somewhat reflective and, althouh perfect for my situation, I wouldn't recommend this set for a bright room with lots of windows. Menus are easy to navigate and set up is a snap, but the beautiful remote is a bit laggy, which may not be an issue beyond set up if you'll be using a TiVo, cable or satellite service's remote as your primary. Sound quality is adequate, but with all speakers projecting from the back of the panel, I'll be getting a sound bar. Netflix, Amazon, Hulu Plus and other streaming choices are all available and work well if you have a high bandwidth Internet connection, and the built-in WiFi is great. Overall a great value in the just under $500 price range for a 40" HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (78) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tquinn3448
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful and Slim 120hz LED for less.
9/11/2013

Customer review by Meestabeck

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by Meestabeck
by Meestabeck

I picked up this TV last week from Walmart's online Site-to-Store service. I did not have any issues with the pick up, and the box was in perfect condition (always a concern when shipping televisions to the store). The physical body of the TV is sleek and nicely contrasts between black and silver. The screen has a very small bezel (just over an inch), and depth-wise the screen is quite petite. This is my first LED LCD, and it seemed lighter than my old 37" LCD. I assume this is due to the fact that the TV has less material surrounding the screen. The Picture quality is amazing. The blacks are dead black, and the whites are vibrant. The 120 hz makes the picture look realistic and refresh quickly, but does not give that 'fake' look of a 240hz that I don't much like. As stated in other reviews, this TV is so thin that Vizio seemed to have to use lower wattage speakers. I am not a person who uses the stock speakers in such a nice TV, and have a home theater system, but if you were considering using the stock speakers, I would rate the speaker quality to that of a basic range iPod speaker dock (not a very high range). As I said, this was not a deciding factor for me, as I have a home system with a subwoofer. This is also the first LCD TV that I have NOT wall mounted, as it was going to be atop a new entertainment center in my living room. So I cannot give input on the wall mount aspect, but the TV stand that it comes on seems sturdy enough. The remote is backlit, and has larger buttons for ease of use. I found the SMART Apps pretty sweet, but was frustrated that the app store did not have an Xfinity or Comcast app of any sort. My plan was to stream shows to this TVs WiFi using my Comcast Streampix, but I had to get another box for it instead. That being said, the Netflix, Pandora and Tunein radio apps that I put on it so far work perfectly. The Wifi linked directly to my home network, and I have not had any problems with the signal quality (although my WiFi router is only two rooms away). Bottom line (if you read all the way through the small book that I have written), This is a great TV at a great price if you are the sort of person who is willing to spend a couple hundred dollars more on a slim, narrow and good looking 120hz LED with a great picture. I spent the extra money for these perks, and I was not dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meestabeck
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Smart TV!!!
2/15/2014

Customer review by mrZoSo

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by mrZoSo
by mrZoSo

This TV ended up being more than I expected for the money! The picture quality is excellent, no matter what I'm viewing from, be it a Blu-Ray Player, HD Cable box, Built in Apps, or my HTPC running XBMC. The out-of-the-box settings where good, but I adjusted the settings to my liking. The built in Apps work great and load fast! As far as the audio, this is one of the best I heard so far. I don't plan to use a sound bar with this one as it's setup in the bedroom. If I was going to use it elsewhere, then I would get an external audio system. The remote works fine, I don't even have to aim it at the TV! And being backlit is a huge plus! Not sure why others are having issues, maybe they need to re-pair it with the TV. And finally, I love the looks of it, very sleek and modern. Vizio did a great job with the M-Series! (If any issues should arise, I'll be sure to update this or make another post.)

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrZoSo
Rome, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This tv is awesome
9/16/2013

Customer review by KDogRUFFRUFF

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by KDogRUFFRUFF
by KDogRUFFRUFF

OK so im going to touch a few things others have said about this product and of course my experiences. This tv is great the colors are awesome. No the last tv i owned was a 30"CRT tv that weighted at least 100lbs. THis is lightweight and if i can lift it at 5'2" and 130lbs ANYONE can. The base, if you are alone can be tricky but trust me its easy, Just lay it down on the carpet and prop your foot under to elevate it to be able to put the base on. The apps are amazing HULU PLUS, Netflix,weather apps and even MLBtv. There are even some apps that have free movies, but only one app lol. Ive paired this up with a sony bluray player and I couldnt bee happier. I paid just under f i v e h u n d r e d and its well worth it. I really dont like 3d so that didnt matter to me.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDogRUFFRUFF
Anaheim CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great t.v. For the $
8/30/2013

Customer review by Greatgrandmotherof7

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Greatgrandmotherof7
by Greatgrandmotherof7

I'm not very good at using all the options on the t.v.'s, however on this one I find it quite easy. I'm in my 80's and this new technology is becoming difficult for me to keep up.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greatgrandmotherof7
Rye Beach,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vizio M Series, a step-up? BE WARNED!
12/7/2013

Customer review by Mazzaball

1.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Mazzaball
by Mazzaball

According to the Vizio website, and various companies promoting and selling this product, the M series is a “step-up” from its predecessor, the E series. One would naturally assume that the term “step-up” implies an improvement over the former. However, the M series falls miles short of the quality and options that the E series offers. In fact, options that were previously available on the E series are not available on the M series. The following is a comparison between the M-Series, M401i-A3 and the E series, E420i-A0: Both have 1080p / 120hz. But the stippling in the M series makes it more of a “step-down” to 60hz. That might not be a problem if it was possible to do some tweaking that could help to improve picture quality. Unfortunately, the M series offers few options. The E series has many options over the M. See the following comparison. E-SERIES – PICTURE MODE OPTIONS: Standard Movie Game Retail Football Golf Basketball Baseball Custom M-SERIES – PICTURE MODE OPTIONS: Standard Calibrated Calibrated Dark Vivid Game Computer Both have the same basic COLOR TEMPERATURE and SCREEN SIZE settings. And there are more options available in the E-Series Advanced Mode. E-SERIES–ADVANCED PICTURE OPTIONS: Noise Reduction *MPEG NR Color Enhancement Adaptive Lumina Film Mode Smart Dimming Ambient Light Sensor M-SERIES – ADVANCED PICTURE OPTIONS: Auto Brightness Control Black Detail Smart Dimming Reduce Signal Noise Reduce Black Noise Film Mode *MPEG takes the place of both the Reduce Signal and Reduce Black Noise in the M series. The M series does not offer the Color Enhancement option. There are manual downloads available on the Vizio website which furnish details to the options provided. The most unfavorable component of the M-Series is the sound quality. In one word, it is appalling. Again, one’s expectations would be that the sound quality would exceed that of the E series. And again, unfortunately this is not the case. In the basic set up, it is immediately apparent that the vocal is garbled. Again, one reaches for the audio options in the hopes of performing improvements only to find extremely limiting alternatives. Namely, no SRS StudioSound or SRS TruVolume, and no Dolby Digital. (??) What were they thinking?! E-SERIES – AUDIO SETTINGS Audio Mode: Rock/Flat/Jazz/Classical/Pop Balance Lip Sync TV Speakers SRS StudioSound HD-Standard/Surround SRS TruVolume Advanced Audio Equalizer Settings M-SERIES AUDIO SETTINGS Balance Lip Sync TV Speakers Surround Sound Volume Control Volume Leveling Digital Audio Out-PCM/Bitstream Analogue Audio Out-Fixed/Variable Equalizer Settings E-SERIES – ADVANCED AUDIO Digital Audio Out-Dolby Digital/PCM/Off Analog Audio Out-Fixed/Variable M-SERIES ADVANCED AUDIO NONE In closing, we own 2 Vizio products. One, the 24” regular TV, and the other, an E-Series Smart TV; both which we have been very happy with. We wanted another for our master bedroom, which is why we chose the M series. The only good thing we can say about the M series is that the set-up was easy, the wireless connectivity was flawless, and the picture was nearly perfect with Netflix, except for the stippling. Having had such a good experience with previous Vizio merchandise, we are extremely disappointed with Vizio having delivered a product that they say is a step-up from the previous when in reality the quality is actually inferior. It feels like we’ve been deceived. Nevertheless, upon return of this product, we will seek out and purchase the E series, as we believe it is the best product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (72) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mazzaball
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for the price.
8/11/2013

Customer review by cjbrat

4.0 stars 8/11/2013 by cjbrat
by cjbrat

Not crazy about the remote. It seems like you have to be pointing exactly at the right spot instead of in the correct direction for the remote to respond.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjbrat
Oconomowoc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best picture for your dollar..
1/15/2014

Customer review by Sparkmarv

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by Sparkmarv
by Sparkmarv

I looked at allot of tv's before I decided to buy this one, and I couldnt be happier. The picture quality is great, you can go to your local walmart an see this for yourself.. They will probably have it set to its factory settings, it only gets better when you get it home. You have to actually point the remote at the TV for it to work.. Trying to type anything with the remote takes some time, other then that, it works just fine. The wireless works flawlessly. Ive never had any issues streaming netflix, and having other devices running off the same wifi at the same time. For the money, I dont think you can get a better $500 TV.. for the time being anyway...

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sparkmarv
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Junk
12/22/2013

Customer review by EJB89

1.0 stars 12/22/2013 by EJB89
by EJB89

If you want to use any functions of this TV besides watching cable, don't bother. Connecting to Netflix, Hulu, or any other preloaded app is a waste of time and frustrating. Expect to watch it "load" or loose connection more than you get to actually watch it. And no, its not my internet connection. I can hook up my Apple TV and it works flawlessly on the same internet connection. Want to pause a movie, turn up the volume, or toggle between your apps?...you'll have to push the button 6x before it actually works. The remote is junk. Make sure you go to sniper school before you purchase this TV because you will need the remote precisely aimed in order for it to pick it up! So if you want a smartTV that's only useful function is to act like a normal TV, then great. Waste your money for no reason. What I would suggest is using the same amount of money for a Samsung/reliable brand HDTV and buy an Apple TV or similar auxiliary entertainment device. I will be .......loading....... returning this TV this week.

Was this review helpful? (45) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EJB89
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great TV
10/15/2013

Customer review by Arty5

4.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Arty5
by Arty5

I honestly don't have a lot to say about the television, it's really great. Has a very nice picture and the setup was fairly simple. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the signal between the remote and the television isn't great. I find myself often hitting a button several times to make a connection, you have to be very exact about where you point the remote. It's an irritation I can live with however.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arty5
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good TV
9/6/2013

Customer review by ndttech

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by ndttech
by ndttech

Like everything so far. The only thing that I have found that was an issue is, when in the screen is in panoramic mode, whatever is on the edge of the either side of the screen is distorted. Easy fix is put it in wide mode.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ndttech
Sidney Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price, perfect choice for us !
8/9/2014

Customer review by PAJON59

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by PAJON59
by PAJON59

I will start by saying that I read all the reviews before purchase, and I cannot figure some of the negative comments ?. Shipping arrived UPS in 4 days, perfect condition, set it up on tv center 1 foot from living room wall, fit and finish was flawless, NOTE I put fresh batts in remote, I use the package one's in flashlights ect. The remote worked fine and the sound is very good, The only problem I had was after doing the set up I couldn't get tv shows from the cable box, so I called cust srvc, they were very nice , My problem was that when you hook your cable box up using coax cable you need to click antenna in the setup menu ! Problem solved in 5 mins, Picture is great and My Wife can read the score boxes for sports again,very crisp and clear. This is a great set for the money, and we like it very much. Only weighs 32 pounds too ! We are very happy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAJON59
Barnegat NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The worst TV I have ever owned in 50 years
7/1/2014

Customer review by shoppingwhileretired

1.0 stars 7/1/2014 by shoppingwhileretired
by shoppingwhileretired

Our Samsung went out after 10 years so I went to the store and compared the TV's and also read up on them on line. I chose this new Vizio. Its been a nightmare ever since. The first 2 weeks I called Vizio every day. The first thing they did after 1 week is send a new remote, but the problems continued in the same manner. So, 3 weeks later they delivered us a new TV and picked up the original TV. Problems still continued. I am too frustrated to continue to call them and complain about the problems and get a tech that either helps or doesn't know how to help and disconnects. Its a universal remote, but would not pair up. When we would get it paired up, anywhere from 1 day to 2 weeks it fell out of pairing. The sound is horrible. They even took it out of level since the background music was louder than the actors speaking, but then it was so low that we had to turn up to 60 to hear it and then it was distorted. When you put it on DVD to play a movie, it comes on in black and white unless you unplug the cord and then plug it back in like rebooting and then it will be in color. How many times can you plug and unplug before you strip the connection? All Vizio will say is that its the cord. So we pay $14.00 to buy a new cord, but still have the same problem. When you push the buttons on the remote, if and when you have it paired, it either skips what you want really fast or doesn't change at all. The only good thing I can say is that it does have a good picture, even when it won't Zoom to fill in the screen of a wide screen movie. I am so sorry we ever bought this horrible TV and no I definately would not recommend and if I can take it back now, I will and get another Samsung. DON'T BUY THIS TV. You will be sorry!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoppingwhileretired
Hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
More than I expected from Vizio. Great TV.
1/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Lots of great apps to choose from (though I would have liked to see Viki there): if you're into anime or Asian dramas there is access to Crunchyroll via the "Web Videos" app; Pandora; YouTube works great and syncs with a computer or YouTube app on my smartphone (better keyboard than using a TV remote). Love that movies music and pictures can be accessed via usb flash drive (regular hard disk drives on the network are recognized but not readable). Speakers are rear-facing and nothing to write home about, but that's what external speakers are for anyway.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/4/2013

Customer review by HappyintheSouthwest

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by HappyintheSouthwest
by HappyintheSouthwest

so far it has been a great purchase. I am happy with it and happy with the speed that it was delivered.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyintheSouthwest
Southwest, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The image and sound are great, not great apps.
12/8/2013

Customer review by Thoughtful589

4.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Thoughtful589
by Thoughtful589

Great tv just stinks its not easy to figure out right off the bat. Internet wise, youtube is good i just wish i was able to add apps or if i can i wish it was easy to work because i have not figured it out...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thoughtful589
Hackensack, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Vizio
4/6/2014

Customer review by ciciblue

1.0 stars 4/6/2014 by ciciblue
by ciciblue

Warning to anyone buying a Vizio...This may not be the norm, buy I've only had a Vizio TV for two years...guess what? I have to call for a repair, because the infrared on the TV is already shot. Guess what else...easy...already out of the manufacturers warranty, right?. Live chat with the company only gave me the option to call 800 number to call for IR repair. Good luck with your new set. Two years.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ciciblue
Elmira, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews