Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 474 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

474 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

474 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
320
4 stars
108
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
12
1-20 of 473 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews
Essential for any new TV owner
12/26/2014

Customer review by Salomon

5.0 stars 12/26/2014 by Salomon
by Salomon

I purchased a new television and completely forgot to get some kind of sound system with it. Most TV manufacturers are focused on producing TV with incredible picture quality and feature for entertainment (Youtube, Internet Connectivity, Hulu, Amazon, Netflix, etc.) and not sound. Most figure that if you are purchasing a large TV that you will be using it in a living room/family room environment and that you will have an additional system for sound. I did not and I found that the TV, while able to have a high volume and be heard there was also a lot of distortion in the sound, especially base. I looked into sound bars to not only have better sound, especially with big action movie but also for other functions (music, radio, etc.) This sound bar is perfect for all of these things. Has lots of features for connectivity to different devices. For TV it was great, excellent sound, no distortion and able to adjust setting so that I can change it for different media (Music vs Movie vs Sports). The price is also great, and can fill a room with lots of sound. Wireless base makes installation so much easier. Had it done in 10 minutes from box to done.

Salomon
Melbourne, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Works well for us.
12/19/2014

Customer review by Oldkite

4.0 stars 12/19/2014 by Oldkite
by Oldkite

Having a large screen with the typical poor speakers, we decided to upgrade to a sound bar. A discount deal came up from Sam's Club so we took them up on it. The sound is good, far better than the TV speakers but we now hear all the background music that every show on TV seems to have running continuously. Even news programs have a low rumble of bass running almost continuously. When they throw in various sound effects, background music and a voiceover it's all pretty overwhelming. The Vizio soundbar, with it's subwoofer produced far too much booming bass so we have to keep it backed down to the minimum setting most of the time. We had to use the fiber cable for hookup which leaves us having to control the volume using the Vizio remote because the TV volume control has no effect on the soundbar.

Oldkite
Morrow, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great sound for the price
12/31/2014

Customer review by Digger429

4.0 stars 12/31/2014 by Digger429
by Digger429

I connected this soundbar to my Vizio M422i-B1 42" LED TV. The supplied connectors made it a breeze to setup. Connected the optical cable, plugged in the soundbar, plugged in the bass and it was ready to go. Treble and bass adjustments are intuitive. I'm very pleased with the sound. The wireless bass is also a plus...one less wire. The only issue is that if you prefer to use the TV speakers only, the soundbar comes on any time you adjust the TVs volume level. I contacted Vizio and they talked me through the process to disassociate the TVs remote and the soundbar. This prevents the soundbar volume from being adjusted with the TV remote, but does NOT prevent the soundbar from coming on every time you adjust the TVs volume. This gets pretty annoying when you only want to use the TV speakers.

Digger429
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Simply Great!!
7/20/2014

Customer review by HappyCustomer4444

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by HappyCustomer4444
by HappyCustomer4444

My 50" Insignia TV goes to 100 on sound level and I could barely hear it at 95.. I bought this based on the reviews and I am not disappointed. It is literally 5 times louder than the TV speakers and the wireless sub woofer adds tremendous sound too. My living room is huge 20' x 20' and it fills the entire room. I could not be happier with my purchase. I chose this over the 42" because I have hardwood floors and could not wire the back speakers. Regardless, it sounds like I have true surround sound for a bargain price. My daughter streams Pandora through it and I have to yelll at her to turn it down. This is my 3rd review ever but I had too because of how good the product is. I would not even consider this as an entry level sound bar.

HappyCustomer4444
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
External Speaker for HDTV
2/27/2014

Customer review by CPLogic

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by CPLogic
by CPLogic

I have a Sony Bravia TV which has decent sound and this device sounds a little better. You must turn off your TV sound for this device to work with your TV, and it may be too complicated to get sound out of it for low-tech people, especially if someone changes the input. The Woofer is already mated with the speaker so all you have to do is plug it in. What I like best is that my Samsung Galaxy S4 phone with all my music on it will connect through Blue-tooth to this system and play my music on a really good sound system. The only drawback I see is that you don't know which input you are on and the speaker has a delay before producing sound which makes it more difficult to find which input you should be on.

CPLogic
Chapin, SC 29036, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very satisfied
1/25/2014

Customer review by tallboy

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by tallboy
by tallboy

Purchased this for my main TV. For what I wanted it to do--simply boost the sound quality from my TV--I couldn't be happier. I like the sleek look of the sound bar, and the subwoofer adds good bass that really beefs up the viewing experience. My only complaint is that the sound bar responds to my TV remote volume control. This may not sound like a problem, but If I have the sound bar OFF, whenever I touch the TV remote volume button--up OR down--the sound bar turns on and I have to manually turn it off with the Vizio remote. I imagine there's a fix for this, but I don't know how to make it happen. Otherwise, I'm very pleased with this product, highly recommend it and would absolutely buy it again.

tallboy
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent for inexpensive home theater sound
2/24/2014

Customer review by dintx

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by dintx
by dintx

I bought this as my Vizio TV just didn't have the sound capability I wanted. This little unit works amazingly well, and looks great. All for a really good price. I like that I can control the power & volume for the soundbar thru the TV remote...I hate needing to use many different remotes. A previous reviewer mentioned that having it linked to the TV remote was a nuisance. If you look toward the back of the manual that came with the soundbar, there's instructions on how to enable/disable that feature. IIRC you have to hold the Power & VOL UP on the bar simultaneously for a few seconds, and look at the light pattern on the bar, to verify linking or un-linking.

dintx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Happy!
2/25/2014

Customer review by Brandiddle

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Brandiddle
by Brandiddle

I have been looking for an inexpensive sound bar that had bluetooth technology and quality sound. Hard...I know but we are a family of 5 on a budget. We purchased a 47 inchTV in December and loved the TV but not the sound. I was skeptical, thinking I had to spend over $200 just to get what we wanted in a theater system. With Sam's guarantee, I figured I would try this bar because it's such a great price. If we didn't like it, I would return it and upgrade to a more expensive system. Unless something seriously goes wrong, I will not be taking this back. Pleasantly surprised and shocked about how great and easy this thing was to set up. Happy Happy Happy!

Brandiddle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better TV sound at a great price...
12/18/2014

Customer review by GoNavy87

4.0 stars 12/18/2014 by GoNavy87
by GoNavy87

Everyone knows speakers on new LED HDTVs are barely adequate. This package from Vizio gives a vast upgrade at a reasonable price. I originally had the basic 2.0 soundbar (which is VERY good), but wanted a bit more surround-style bass, so I upgraded to the 2.1 with Bluetooth subwoofer. The great aspect of the sub is that you can put it just about anywhere in the room that's within reach of the power cord, so you can keep it out of the way while enjoying the impact. Many similar systems cost more than twice as much, but if you just want above-normal audio quality out of your HDTV without spending more than the TV itself, this is a great package.

GoNavy87
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Good but not needed if Just listening to TV
12/27/2013

Customer review by JohnKenmore

3.0 stars 12/27/2013 by JohnKenmore
by JohnKenmore

The Vizio System works well but do you need it? If just listening to TV my New Vizio TV with the existing built in TV speakers work well. The Wireless remote Base Speaker is a nuisance and disturbing. If listening to the TV even with the base turned down it is an irritation. If your listening to your Media, you don't mind the wireless base as much. I usually turn off the wireless remote base speaker and just listen via the bar because I bought the bar and system. Otherwise the speakers that come with the TV are more than sufficient. In Other words don't waste the money unless your going to use it for Bluetooth of your own personal media.

JohnKenmore
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great sound at an affordable price
3/9/2015

Customer review by Albert

5.0 stars 3/9/2015 by Albert
by Albert

Setting up the sound bar and subway fee was relatively easy. 1. Just follow the enclosed instructions. 2. Pair your device(s). 3. Enjoy the quality sounds which stream via bluetooth from your device. We decided to install our Vizio Sound Bar with sub woofer in the kitchen. Having quality sounds, while cooking and cleaning up, is a smile-a-second. This model has great sound! We replaced our tired portable cd player (no more fumbling with changing discs; just select a playlist from the smartphone and enjoy. Love it!!

Albert
Western KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Excellent value.
12/20/2014

Customer review by CaptQuantrill

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by CaptQuantrill
by CaptQuantrill

Hooked it up to a 42" Sony Bravia Plasma in our breakfast room. Couldn't get the co ax or RCA cables to work so re-positioned the sound bar so I could use the rather short digital optical wire and it worked perfectly. This is a very nice alternative to a full blown surround system like we have in our downstairs family room with a much larger TV. Significant improvement in overall sound and only negative comment is that Vizio should probably provide longer cables to provide more flexibility in positioning the sound bar.

CaptQuantrill
Springfield, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great sound and value
1/9/2015

Customer review by LanceB

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by LanceB
by LanceB

I bought two of these sound bars based on the Sam's Club reviews. I am not disappointed! I hooked the first one up with no problem. The second one gave me a little problem which Vizio customer service quickly resolved. The sound is so much better than the TV speakers. I will never listen to the TV speakers again! I also have two iPods which I synced to the sound bars and they also sound terrific. The sound bars have a great sound and are also a great value! I would definitely recommend this product.

LanceB
Washington Township, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
great improvement over flatscreen sound
1/3/2015

Customer review by nolongerfrozen

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by nolongerfrozen
by nolongerfrozen

After consulting Consumer Reports, I saw that this was a recommended product. I bought this for our 55 inch tv, and it has greatly improved the sound from our Samsung. It also has bluetooth and a wireless subwoofer. I was afraid it would look odd that it was shorter than the width of our tv but it does a real great job with the sound, and I don't even notice that the width doesn't match. I would have bought this sooner if I had known what an improvement it would have been.

nolongerfrozen
Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great value & quality for the money
2/11/2015

Customer review by Bonafede

4.0 stars 2/11/2015 by Bonafede
by Bonafede

I initially bought the model below this one. It did not include the wireless subwoofer. It stated there was built-in base. But there's no comparison. The subwoofer on this set made all the difference in the world. For the price you get more value and quality then anything under a Bose. Very happy with the purchase. Whether listening to music via Bluetooth or TV or a movie the sound is phenomenal. My neighbor purchased her own after hearing mine.

Bonafede
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
awesome sound
12/30/2013

Customer review by mynameisMikeD

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by mynameisMikeD
by mynameisMikeD

Purchased this on a whim to go with my new 50" led that I wall mounted a week earlier. Installation was simple and sound is amazing, way better than I was expecting. The Bluetooth feature is the only reason I ended up buying it. Worth every penny. Only thing I wish was that the included cables were a bit longer & the included remote is quite small & easy for the couch to swallow. Will be buying a second system for the garage theater this summer.

mynameisMikeD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BIG BANG FOR THE BUCK
2/7/2014

Customer review by FLAVICTORY

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by FLAVICTORY
by FLAVICTORY

I bought this for my video game room to give my PS4 the sound it needed to go along with the phenomenal video graphics. Works great! I went for Vizio because of the value they give along with the excellent tech support. I have 3 other Vizio sound units and 2 tv's. The 54 inch sound bar, 3.0 and the 42 inch sound bar, 5.1. ALWAYS BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT. ESPECIALLY WHEN BUYING FROM SAM'S FOR THE EXTRA 2 YEARS FREE.

FLAVICTORY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT product for price!
2/9/2015

Customer review by brocklob

5.0 stars 2/9/2015 by brocklob
by brocklob

Originally purchased the LG unit. The power and low-end was NOT what I expected. I read the reviews on this product (38" VIZIO 2.1 Home Theater Soundbar w/ Wireless Subwoofer) and decided to give it a try. What a GREAT value! This product is EVERYTHING that I expected and more. The volume is stellar and the low-end is more than expected. We are truly enjoying this soundbar and sub. I recommend purchasing this product!

brocklob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Good Value
12/19/2014

Customer review by Johnny2014

3.0 stars 12/19/2014 by Johnny2014
by Johnny2014

This is a low price sound bar with plenty of bass for TV watching. However it is not dependable. The instructions are vague and the online support is just as vague. Twice, we turned on the TV and no sound came out. We pushed every button and finally reset it by unplugging it and plugging it back in. Then you need to figure out which input is selected. If you are cheap or on a tight budget this is for you, otherwise avoid.

Johnny2014
San Bernardino, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Good little sound bar
1/17/2014

Customer review by OhioRazorback

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by OhioRazorback
by OhioRazorback

Let me start by saying I am not an audiophile, however, to my ear this sound bar is good quality for the money. It was easy to set-up, sounds good, and easy to use once you get the hang of it. My only complaint is it doesn't seem to pass through automatically when I switch to various devices/sources (bluetooth to TV, etc) maybe it can, but it doesn't seem to. Great product for a smaller bedroom tv, etc.

OhioRazorback
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews