Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

122 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

122 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
20
1-20 of 118 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Ideaworks Long Distance WiFi Antenna
12/17/2015

Customer review by TheComputerGuy

1.0 stars 12/17/2015 by TheComputerGuy
by TheComputerGuy

Worst nightmare I ever had with any computer product. I tried installing the software from the CD that was labeled "Ideaworks Long Distance WiFi Antenna" on my PC with Windows 10 and got nowhere. So I tried installing it on my other PC with Windows Vista, and still got nothing. I tried everything I could think of to get it to even show up on my network devices, but just could not get it to work. It showed up on my Device Manager, but had no driver. So I tried to see if the Device Manager could find it from both the CD and the folder of installed software, but it could not find any driver for it in either place. And the software that was installed was labeled as a "Ralink RT2870 Wireless LAN Card". Even the installed setup utility was for setting up a LAN, but would not work either because there was no LAN card it was set up to use. Somebody at the factory messed up big time is what it came down to. I even tried searching he Internet for a driver for it, but the Ralink download site just referred to other vendors who sold stuff like a Driver Updater for $37. Like I was about to PAY another $37 to get a driver from the company who messed up the driver software in the first place, I don't think so! And nowhere could I find where Ralink even had a driver for this antenna. So who knows how many bad CD are out there with the wrong driver on them. I will NEVER buy another product from them.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheComputerGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
At last -- I can "cut the cord!"
1/11/2016

Customer review by SkeeterVT

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by SkeeterVT
by SkeeterVT

I recently cut the cord -- the cable TV cord, that is -- but was at a loss to resolve the problem of not having Internet access at home. I got sick and tired of shelling out more than $120 a month for my cable company's TV/Internet combo. The problem was that I lived in a Wi-Fi dead zone, unable to pick up any wireless Internet signal on my laptop. After five months of this, I got fed up with having to go to my local library to access its Internet computer so that I could catch up on my e-mail. Finally, I purchased an Ideaworks Long-Range Wi-Fi antenna -- and now i full Internet Wi-Fi coverage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkeeterVT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No tech support
12/11/2015

Customer review by 20653

1.0 stars 12/11/2015 by 20653
by 20653

I could not get this to work. Tried a dozen times. Lots of error messages when attempting to use, but there is no tech support number any where in the box? This is with Windows 10. Maybe it works with earlier versions. Do your research first and see if you can find a tech support number, if not I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
20653
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'm amazed!
1/28/2016

Customer review by Plink

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Plink
by Plink

To be honest, I really didn't expect much from this antenna. Few things work as well as they say they will. But this one exceeds my expectations! Without it, I could only see a few weak signals. With it, I can see dozens! And those previously weak ones are now in the 80% range and higher. This is going on the road with me for use with my laptop when I have a hard time getting a connection to motel or restaurant wi-fi.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Plink
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase Ever!!
11/29/2013

Customer review by rattlehead

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by rattlehead
by rattlehead
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I live in a skilled nursing facility, due to a stroke, and the building is wired for wi-fi, but as I changed rooms recently, the signal was weak, at best, 2 bars out of 5 on the connection status. I ordered this as a last resort, not knowing if it would work for what I needed. And it has blown my expectations away!! I get 5 full bars on the connection status, and I'm picking up signals that were not available in this area before, at least 10 more signals, of course they are password protected, but the strength is 3 to 4 bars per signal. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to any one needing to pick up a signal in their house that isn't getting the connection they need from their wireless modem.

Was this review helpful? (126) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rattlehead
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
12/22/2015

Customer review by ikav

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by ikav
by ikav

It really works, even without downloading the software.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ikav
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible
2/5/2016

Customer review by Dayan

1.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Dayan
by Dayan

I bought 2 antennas, none worked. Don't buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dayan
Would recommend to a friend? No
It Works
1/29/2016

Customer review by duggins

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by duggins
by duggins

The computer was in an area with one to two bars of signal strength and would not stay logged in. Installed the external antenna software, plugged in the antenna, selected it's signal from available signals and now 4 - 5 bars with no drop-outs. I may buy another soon for my metal shop. This antenna was tested about 250 feet from the router and with the small walk in door open on the metal shop open and had 4 bars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
duggins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The title is good.
1/31/2016

Customer review by BenR

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by BenR
by BenR

The unit is doing what I hoped it would do. Loading the CD was a bit of a pain. Updating the included product software to work with Windows 10 would be a positive. I will recommend this product to my friends and have been doing so already. I hope to get many good years of service from this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BenR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
completely thrilled
1/18/2016

Customer review by offer0you0cant0refuse

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by offer0you0cant0refuse
by offer0you0cant0refuse

This device is all that I expected it to be. It is enabling me to pick up my weak wireless hot spot at home, thereby saving me money and making Internet use wonderfully enjoyable and a convenient, pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
offer0you0cant0refuse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DID NOT WORK
2/1/2016

Customer review by Gene

1.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Gene
by Gene

This antenna did not work as expected. I am less than 1/2 mile from a free internet connection, but I was not able to see or make the connection. Planning to return the item for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gene
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ideaworks Long Distance Antenna
1/19/2016

Customer review by Rodney72l

1.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Rodney72l
by Rodney72l

It advertises to pick up Wi-Fi signals from up to 1/2 miles, But could not pick up a library's public wifi from 1 1/2 blocks away

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rodney72l
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works really well.
1/2/2016

Customer review by TheChiaroscurist

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by TheChiaroscurist
by TheChiaroscurist

I've had mine for along time now. About three or four, I believe. Through Windows 7, 8 and now 10, and it works great. I've been very happy with it. I wanted to order another one when I got my second desktop, about two years ago, but unfortunatly the antenna was no longer available at the time (it was no longer even listed as an item Walmart sells), and I had believed it to be discontinued. Which bummed me out. Just happened to stumble across it available again, just now, and I'm going to go ahead and snap up a second one while I can. Even though my second desktop is much closer to my router, and technically doesn't need the antenna, I've been so happy with my first antenna I want a second one, even if it's just to have a future spare.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheChiaroscurist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it really works
1/26/2016

Customer review by Derek

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Derek
by Derek

me and my sons were skeptical as to whether it would make our wifi better. as soon as I set it up it brought in wifi that was to weak before and strong enough to stream videos where it couldn't before. the only downside was it is unable to hook up to there playstation for on line games

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Derek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! Works well.
11/15/2013

Customer review by BenL29

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by BenL29
by BenL29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was able to connect in an RV Park 300 feet from wifi source and got four bars on signal strength were I could not get any bars on the wifi connection. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BenL29
Jasper, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It really works, but...
6/20/2014

Customer review by dmbdlatc

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by dmbdlatc
by dmbdlatc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you have read any of the other reviews, you will see that this thing really does work. It is more than just an antenna, it is what appears to be (to this novice) a full featured wireless adapter. In fact the instructions say to at least disconnect (if not uninstall, I forget which) other wireless adapters before installing this device. The signal was bombing in when using this device with very good speed on the connection. Bravo HOWEVER, the drivers on my old WindowsXP(SP3) computer were NOT compatible with my Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910 (M/N: V-U0017). I could have either one work by themselves, but with both installed, the camera would not work. I attempted to obtain technically support from the manufacturer, but was unsuccessful as all I could find is what appeared to be an importer's website with no offer of tech support that I could find. This comes with a CD with WindowsXP through Windows 8 drivers. And if I'm not mistaken, Apple drivers too. The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of it's lack of compatibility with my Logitech camera AND NO TECH SUPPORT. But as far as the WIFI is concerned, this thing REALLY WORKS GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmbdlatc
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome antenna
1/15/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased one a year ago off of Amazon, for some reason their not selling them now due to complaints. I purchased this one off of Walmart cheaper than what I paid on Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only older Windows OS work well!!!
1/14/2016

Customer review by Sam73

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Sam73
by Sam73

It is really working very well to use older Windows operating systems, but excepting new Windows 10 was not working...I hope the company can be working on update of new driver file for this product very soon!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sam73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Jake

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Jake
by Jake

This antenna works great! Signal isn't too strong far away past say 300ft but it's good within 350ft. Highly recommend if wanting to connect to a wifi close to your home.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as Advertised
2/9/2014

Customer review by layler123

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by layler123
by layler123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works great. I bought it to try to pick up free wifi. My apartment is close to a restaurant, which has free wifi, but I'm just out of range. I tried using a wifi extender, but it wouldn't allow me to log into the log in page at the restaurant. But this wifi antenna works fine, and it lets me log into the the restaurant's log in page, and then..ta da! Free wifi! Logging in from my apartment with this satellite works just like my laptop works when I'm inside the restaurant using wifi. I have Windows 8.1, and no problems. It comes with a cd. Follow the directions, and it creates a network, which it remembers. You do have to keep the usb cable plugged into your computer from the antenna. Unplug it, and you lose the connection. Small price to pay for free wifi. I bought a usb cable extension, so I can hop on the internet from anywhere in my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
layler123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews