Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
25
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
13
1-20 of 149 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Kitties love it; me, not so much
8/18/2013

Customer review by Lorelln

2.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Lorelln
by Lorelln

Pros: The cats love this toy. They will play with it for hours. If they hear it start up, they will come running. Cons: It is noisy It stops if the wand is held immobile for 15 seconds. Alas, my cats quickly learned to pounce and sit on it. Even holding it down with a paw will stop it. For them to play for an extended period requires me to turn it back on every 60 seconds. The wand detaches easily. My cats are adept at pulling it out. The feathers on the end are not well attached. One is already gone (after 3 days) and the other is not looking good. Love this idea in concept, but I was looking for a toy that could engage my cats when I could not. Instead, for them to play, I have to stay close by to keep it going. The cats do love it though.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorelln
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Cannot outsmart the cat :(
8/22/2013

Customer review by judyox

2.0 stars 8/22/2013 by judyox
by judyox
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My two cats took one look at this "toy" and decided the best way to get the mouse was to sit on it. Well, when you sit on the mouse, it stops, no more activity except for the annoying stalled motor sound. So a lot of money was spent for a toy that is too dumb for them...I guess I should have done more research on it before buying, my fault. Now it is just stripped to the bare bones and my cats just lie there and watch the little nub go around the base unit...whoopee - no exercise value at all.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judyox
Naples & Springfield
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun toy for the cats.
3/27/2014

Customer review by indianacats

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by indianacats
by indianacats
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our cats love this toy. They will chase the feather attachment and the second attachment that it comes with. We have six cats, the younger ones are of course more interested but it has gotten our old...more quiet cats to be involved in a toy. They kind of take turns, younger ones play and when they leave to do something else the older ones will "sneak" in to play. Don't have any big complaints about it. Good toy, cats like it and if they're happy, I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indianacats
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the only one to buy
1/1/2014

Customer review by nvlvlady

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by nvlvlady
by nvlvlady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this beats Cat's Meow product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nvlvlady
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Prepare to be the MOST ACTIVE part of the game!
8/25/2013

Customer review by pearce1329

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by pearce1329
by pearce1329

I originally bought a TV product called "Cat's Meow," which kept running until you turned it off, but it only lasted long enough for my cats to become addicted to the thing. They literally played it to death in 5 or 6 weeks. SO... I replaced it with this "SmartyKat" item. What a TOTAL waste of money and time! My cats immediately jumped on the toy, and within a minute caught the arm and held it for SEVEN (7) seconds, and the toy turned off. So I turned it back on. Soon the cats again caught the arm, held it, and the toy turned off again. We "played" this all evening - me turning the thing back on again and again when I couldn't stand my cats staring at me and begging anymore. This went on for far too long before I scooped it up and threw it in the closet. I had to sneak it out of the house to return it! Now while I search for some kind of replacement toy, as soon as I enter the living room, my cats go running to the spot where their toy used to be and sit there staring at me. THANKS, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pearce1329
Alcoa, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 2 cats LOVE this
9/20/2013

Customer review by jloomis75

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by jloomis75
by jloomis75

So one day when I was watching TV a commercial came on for this type of toy and seriously, my cat was mesmerized by it. He watches TV sometimes and he was fixated until it was over (totally ignored me). He doesn't tend to play very much, but I figured if the ad got his attention then I would have to buy it for him. As soon as I turned it on he was all in. My other cat will join in the fun with him too sometimes. He walks over to it and when he does I turn it on and he goes to town. He's diving on it and sliding everywhere (hardwood floors). Sometimes he's so into it he actual gets the attachment off of the unit. I just slip it back on. It's fun just to watch them have so much fun. After a while he's done and it turns off. Another review complained about the shut-off feature and yes, it does turn off if your cat stays on top of it, so you do have to turn it back on, but I'd rather do that then have the motor break. So glad I bought this for him.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jloomis75
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Glad I finally broke down and bought this!
6/13/2016

Customer review by Donna

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Donna
by Donna

I looked at this longingly many times. I was concerned it would be as flimsy as the yellow Cat's Meow. I looked at it again closer and was pleased to find it uses AA batteries as opposed to C batteries for Cat's Meow. I had just picked up a Costco pack of AA's. When I saw it also had two wands I took a chance. I decided not to write a review until I had changed the batteries the first time. I have found it to be sturdier than Cat's Meow. My two younger cats play with it daily and vigorously, and it is holding up nicely. They love it, and so do I. My kitty sits down by it and stares at me to let me know she wants to play with it. I like the four speeds, but do find the slowest speed is a bit fast. I've not had the wand come off, or had any problems with it at all. It still looks brand new. We have worn out two Cat's Meow, and they showed wear by this time. I also prefer this lavendar color over the bright yellow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My cat ignores toys --- but not this one!
4/15/2013

Customer review by Catzz

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Catzz
by Catzz

Kitty Krack! That is what they should name this! My cat is addicted! She loves this thing ... meows and meows to me to turn it on. She never plays with toys, even those feathers on a stick do not interest her much .. but this --- I have gone thru two sets of batteries - she wants to play all day. Finally I turned it off and put it away because she looked terrible - eyes all droopy .. no nap ... hahahhaa! This is a taffeta type material that fits over the motor and the rod. The motor has 4 settings, slow, med, fast, and random. The rod goes back and forth and wiggles -- never the same twice. Cats love the crinkle sound of the material and can see the lump moving under the material and the feathers that peek in and out at the edges ... If they sit on the rod, it will turn off the motor after a few seconds so the motor doesn't get burned out. The batteries last about 14 continuous hours ... so a long time if you just let your cat play short times so they don't get bored. I *and* my cat would highly recommend this toy and will buy another when this one wears out! I bought this at my local Walmart but they have it online for the same price.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catzz
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE the product! A great price; a great toy
10/28/2013

Customer review by flcatowner

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by flcatowner
by flcatowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Some people don't like this toy because it has 'safety' features built in: It has an auto-shut off feature so the motor doesn't burn out or if the cat traps the 'arm' for too long; the 'arm' is designed to come off the base if the cat plays too aggressively with it (also assumably to protect the motor) so, yes, you have to monitor it and occasionally turn it back on or re-attach the arm (it just pushes back on) but, I don't see these as negatives, I'm happy the company has installed features to prolong the life of the toy. My cats LOVE this toy and so do I; they play with it every day. I love it because it occupies them, entertains them, and after 3 months they still aren't tired of it, which is more than I can say about almost any of the other toys I've purchased (and subsequently returned). I've tried 2 other toys of a very similar nature and it only took my cats 10 minutest to outsmart the toy or get bored with it. If your cat loves to chase things, give this toy a try. I truly don't think you will be disappointed. Plus, I can honestly say, the customer service of the manufacturer is OUTSTANDING!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flcatowner
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Interactive Cat Toy
6/7/2013

Customer review by BeKindandPolite

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by BeKindandPolite
by BeKindandPolite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 2 senior cats, 12 and 11 years old, and have been trying to get them more active. I researched this and similar items (others with mouse in the name) and read all the reviews. I found this one to be better of the others with the 2 attachable wands. My 12 yr old cat likes feathers and my 11 yr old cat like the mouse tail which works out great. My 11 yr old cat looks forward to this toy every night although my 12 yr old cat watches it since the younger cat monopolizes it. I read how some people complain it shuts off if the cats stops the wand from moving for a short period of time and have to press the button to turn it back on. Yes, that is true, but also a great way to save the gears from wearing down and if I had a wish list, a remote control would be good too, but then it would probably cost a lot more. People complain the wand falls off and have to re-attach which happens when the cat is playing hard with it and that is normal play activity. Like any motorized toy, it should be supervised especially to turn it back on or re-attach the wand. I actually enjoy watching my cats play with it. It keeps them stimulated and active. Everybody has something to complain about, but for the money, it is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeKindandPolite
Salem, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lazy cat no more!!
8/1/2013

Customer review by FurBabies4Life

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by FurBabies4Life
by FurBabies4Life

I have several cats, one that has been in need of exercise, as shes on the heavy side. She's never been interested in chasing after any toys and would take any toy that had catnip in it and just chew on it until it was sopping wet, then pass out. I bought this toy about 2 months ago and she LOVES it, tho she causes it to shut off constantly (which does happen before the 10-15 seconds) I don't mind to get up and turn it back on, because it is so fun to watch just how much fun she has. I wish there would be more toy attachments to buy, since the feather one does seem to be losing a bit of the feathers. Some with bells or even a chirping little mouse would be awesome. This is the best toy I could have bought, since it is the only one 'Lazy cat' will get up for. By the way, she is starting to lose weight since she started playing with this. WE LOVE HOT PURSUIT!! IT IS PURRRRFECT...

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FurBabies4Life
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Cat Toy I Ever Bought!
4/20/2013

Customer review by CD556

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by CD556
by CD556

I was really surprised how much my cats LOVE this toy! I was a little concerned by the price but I was assured we could return it if they did not like it (as long as I kept receipt) so we tried it. It was an instant hit! I set it on random and n my cats fell in love! There is a safety built in that stops motor if the arm is held in place for 15 seconds so that the motor does not burn out. I simply place toy near enough to reset it and it is "ignore dad time" again lol. I advise you buy a few extra batteies as they will play with it til the batteries die, that said, it lasted judt about a week for me but that will depond upon how often they use it and how quickly it gets reset when they "stop it." I am so glad we got this toy, in fact this is the first time I have ever written a review for a cat toy.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CD556
Tehachapi Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Smarty Kat Hot Purauit Cat Toy
9/24/2016

Customer review by Richard

5.0 stars 9/24/2016 by Richard
by Richard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second one we purchased as a gift for a friend. The toy moves like an evasive prey, so cats are intrigued by it. Our cats have learned to operate the button on top to turn it on !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed Feelings
9/4/2015

Customer review by Julie

3.0 stars 9/4/2015 by Julie
by Julie

On the ONE hand, my cats ALL LOVE this toy - even if they are not playing with it viciously (which they often do), they will just lay by it and watch the wand go back and forth and pass them by - LOL. I ADORE this toy for my cats BUT . . . I have to change the THREE AA batteries EVERY OTHER DAY and I can't afford to do that anymore as I am on a fixed income. It's killing me because they love it so much and are sitting next to it first thing in the morning. I WANT to have it on every single day, which I have been doing, but seeing the big-pack batteries run out so quickly, SO quickly is frightening because of my bills and need for the Prescription food for one, medicine for another (I have 2 with special needs) and the expensive dry cat food . . . If you can afford the constant changing of batteries, then I highly recommend this toy - all three of my cats LOVE this, but if you're strapped for money, this will cost you a LOT in batteries.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julie
Would recommend to a friend? No
First cat toy to keep Max's attention
6/28/2013

Customer review by bmarie27

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by bmarie27
by bmarie27

Initially i wanted the one that I had seen on the late night commercials until a friend said that she had seen one at Walmart. And sure enough there it was. This is the first cat toy to keep my cat's attention. We have had it for nearly a week and used it on and off in that time. Every time that he hears the wand move he comes running and stays engaged studying its movement and pouncing on it. It works exactly like the one in the commercials, plus i can get it now and don't have to wait. Max is one happy kitty with his new toy and waits for you to turn it on if he turns it off. It defaults to turn itself off if he holds it too long. The only down side to this is that then you need to go and turn in back on. Overall this is a great product that will keep your cat and occasionally your dogs attention. Well worth the $20 for the lazy kitty to become a active kitty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmarie27
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
They LOVE it!
4/13/2013

Customer review by Babymuffin73

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Babymuffin73
by Babymuffin73

I have 2 cats and they LOVE this thing! I put it down and turned it on random and BOOM....Crazy cats! They played with it for awhile. I turned it off after about 20 minutes (I don[t want them getting bored with it too soon, but I don't think they will!) Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babymuffin73
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very expensive! but cats love this toy
6/17/2013

Customer review by oneangle

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by oneangle
by oneangle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They play with it on/off, drag it all over the house, asks to have it on, lays on it like a bed. I have two cats and they actually get jealous of each other when one is laying on it the other can not. My smallest cat put her head under it and goes to sleep holding the extension arm, they like the feather one and do not care for the solid extra extesnion. Happy there was a choice though to change out from the other. But the cats do not like the other one they blink their eyes and run from it almost as if there is a smell coming from it, they scrunch their noses and want nothing to do with the additional wand. Batteries seem to last longer than the revies state. Gave a 3 star because of price only. 20 bucks is ridiculuos for this toy, but I actually paid it...anything for your pets I guess.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneangle
Walnut cove nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lazy Susan
2/26/2014

Customer review by KimberTLE

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by KimberTLE
by KimberTLE

Yep - designed poorly! It was CONSTANTLY shutting-off as the cats (6) grabbed the wand and held-on for dear life. SOLUTION: For less than $10 we bought an el-Cheap-o Lazy Susan. (Optional) Added a couple pieces of Velcro to to hold it on. Now when the cats grab the wand, the base spins! The cats now play for hours, and we get to SIT and watch 'em! (Might want to pick-up a supply of rechargeable batteries if you don't already have them).

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimberTLE
Utica, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cat toy
8/22/2016

Customer review by pqhomes

5.0 stars 8/22/2016 by pqhomes
by pqhomes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is the most fun for a cat and everyone watching him play. Good exercise and entertaining. just rem. to shut it off when the cat is thru-- battery operated. Good product -- good price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pqhomes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT fun! Joy LOVES it!
9/12/2013

Customer review by cldiva

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by cldiva
by cldiva

I didn't want to buy the Cat's Meow from T.V., just in case my kitty didn't like it... returning items by mail is a hassle. So, I looked online & found this SmartyKat toy which is the same thing for the same price without any shipping costs. My kitty just loves this toy. She actually has figured out that I turn it on using the button in the middle & tries to turn it on by herself. It automatically shuts off if your cat catches the changeable feather or tail & it can't move anymore. This save the motor. I highly recommend this toy. We enjoy watching her play & chase after the moviing "mouse". Every pet is different, so you might want to give it a try since it's easy to return to Walmart, if it doesn't atract your cat. My kitty loves to play laser when I use the handheld one, but she did not like the expensive automatic one at all & never chased it!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cldiva
Lombard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews