Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 45 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great for bringing your own phone to StraightTalk.
11/22/2013

Customer review by Klamn00

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Klamn00
by Klamn00

We bought this product when we purchased a Verizon phone we wanted to use on StraightTalk & this is what StraightTalk said we'd need. It wasn't offered in store but shipped off the website to the store in less than a week for pick up. The process of activating the phone was pretty easy, I did part on-line & part over the phone, & we've had great service ever since. **My only word of advice is to read the fine print on what phones are compatible. The first phone we bought was a Verizon 4G LTE & it was NOT compatible so we had to go out & find another phone. You can also check if the network access code will work with a phone you're thinking about switching over by going to the StraightTalk website & going to register a CDMA & putting in the phone's serial #. I'd definitely be sure you're phone's compatible before purchasing.** But overall the product is great & was an easy process. Would definitely use again in the future.

Was this review helpful? (318) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Klamn00
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple transition was so much easier than expected
7/16/2014

Customer review by Nelson5

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by Nelson5
by Nelson5

I have an iphone on a family contract and the cost per phone is almost DOUBLE that of the $45 straight talk card, so when my husband wanted to get an iphone, we went the Straight Talk route. I bought him a used unlocked Verizon iphone from Craigslist, bought this activation kit and a $45 Straight talk card. I followed the directions which had me go to the Straight talk BYOP site and register for an account, then it asked for the MEID (serial # of phone), what zip code we will use the phone primarily, and then it asked me to enter my purchased data card #. And if you don't have a card, there was an option to use your credit card info as well to purchase directly. I did, and it took a minute or two, said it went through successfully, and then I should wait 2 minutes and dial *22890 from the iphone to complete activation, which I did. I listened for a couple minutes, then it said my phone was successfully activated, and it sent me a text at the same time with the new # and it said to place a phone call to someone to complete activation. The whole thing took me maybe 15 to 20 minutes and I never had to call anyone. *Note: On my first attempt I used Internet Explorer as my browser, and got to a point where "click to submit" just wasn't working, so I opened up Google Chrome and it worked perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nelson5
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Poor choice for a Sprint Phone
11/19/2013

Customer review by JoeInTexas

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by JoeInTexas
by JoeInTexas

If you desire days of frustration and hours with off-shore technical support that speaks hard-to-ubderstand English, then this "Bring Your Own Phone" option is for you. Otherwise, it is a waste of your money. My Sprint phone (HTC-4G) has yet to connect!

Was this review helpful? (115) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeInTexas
Harker Heights
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
works with some carriers
7/1/2014

Customer review by Marl3n3

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by Marl3n3
by Marl3n3

1st off this will only work with Verizon & Sprint phones that you are bring to straight talk. with that being said it is a great product. Bought this for my little sister to bring her galaxy s3 over to straight talk. She is loving it.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marl3n3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont waist your time
12/12/2013

Customer review by TCmj2

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by TCmj2
by TCmj2

If you have a galaxy S3 this will not work you need a SIM card to activate your phone instead. I found out after ordering this non returnable product.

Was this review helpful? (69) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCmj2
Ashland, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will not work with US Cellular phones
12/9/2013

Customer review by SWBBBBB

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by SWBBBBB
by SWBBBBB

I have three phones and checked them all on the website for compatability before purchasing the BYOP kit for $60 at my local Walmart. Once I tried to register the phones, the website told me they can't be registered. I called customer service and was told that US Cellular phones will not work. It would have been nice to know this before I wasted $60 that I could have used toward the purchase of a new phone through Straight Talk. I guess this is profitable for Straight Talk in the short run. I'm very disatisfied at the moment.

Was this review helpful? (77) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWBBBBB
Bassett, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for iphone too
8/17/2014

Customer review by jtvaldez76

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by jtvaldez76
by jtvaldez76

I bought this hoping to change from Verizon to Straight Talk. It worked! The package says it is not for iphone but Straight Talk was able to make it work on mine and my husbands iPhones. My iphone was from Verizon and my husband bought his on Ebay but did also use his through Verizon. Great product! Would recommend to anyone who wants a cheaper cell phone bill. Who wouldn't?

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtvaldez76
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Verizon iPhone 4S
9/7/2014

Customer review by TAMooreIndy

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by TAMooreIndy
by TAMooreIndy

Works great for my Verizon iPhone 4S. One note is the $45 monthly has tax added on top and comes out to $49 and some change monthly. I didn't realize prepaid plans had extra taxes is why I point this out. Other than not having the hotspot option I notice no difference from being on a Verizon contract plan.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAMooreIndy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't work
2/2/2014

Customer review by BoywasIwrong

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by BoywasIwrong
by BoywasIwrong

Went step-by-step on the Straight Talk website, to find out about bringing my phone from my old carrier....wouldn't have purchased the item if it hadn't said I could bring my phone over....get the activation kit, only to find out it can't be transferred. And of course it's non-refundable....

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoywasIwrong
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
CMDA
12/10/2013

Customer review by 8362smith

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by 8362smith
by 8362smith

I was very disappointment and frustrated. I have spend countless hours dealing with Straight talk customer service with getting a different answer with each person I communicated only to find find their solutions still didn't solve the problem. I had to return this purchase as it didn't solve the problem. My best experience was picking it up at site to store counter and the personnel and the customer service when I had to return the CDMA.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8362smith
Hayward, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Straight talk
8/16/2014

Customer review by Rj67258

3.0 stars 8/16/2014 by Rj67258
by Rj67258

Difficulty speaking with operators due to operators having broken English.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rj67258
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well, they asked me to review this so here goes...
11/14/2014

Customer review by Sicilian68

2.0 stars 11/14/2014 by Sicilian68
by Sicilian68

I have been a Straight Talk customer for several years now. The service is good in my area and I enjoy the freedom of no contracts. The bad...I have had a few different cell phones that I brought to the program and the initial set up on my account is painful...like pulling teeth. Usually takes two or three days to get the phone functional, after that they worked well. I have recently tried to set up a new phone on my account and they said the phone would work with their service and I needed a Network Access Code and that's it. I ordered one, and when I called them back to set up the phone they said the phone wasn't compatible with Straight Talk. Back to square one. I'm not a fan of wasting time or money so I'm a bit disgruntled and waiting til the end of the month for my service to run out and switch to Net10....my new phone WILL work with their service. Just hoping that all goes well there.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sicilian68
Would recommend to a friend? No
No luck with this
3/12/2014

Customer review by oldned92

1.0 stars 3/12/2014 by oldned92
by oldned92

Purchased this online to convert a Sprint phone to StraightTalk. Sprint told me the phone ESN number was clear and gave me the MSL code to "unlock" from Sprint. I followed all the instructions carefully but couldn't get StraightTalk to activate with this phone. Called StraightTalk customer reps 3 times and they were pleasant and helpful, but still couldn't make it happen. Tried dozens of times, finally gave up and got a refund on my $45 monthly plan. So just be aware, this may work for you, but didn't for me.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldned92
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
B Y O P worked for me with my old phone number.
3/23/2014

Customer review by knmb

4.0 stars 3/23/2014 by knmb
by knmb

I bought this product with hopes of using my old straighttalk number on a new bring your own phone from the Verizon network. It worked great except for the activation process at the end. *22890 didn't work and I had to call support for them to get me another activation number. It has worked well since then. Thank you Straighttalk.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knmb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Control you wireless bills with this
7/23/2014

Customer review by PermanentNickNameNumber9

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by PermanentNickNameNumber9
by PermanentNickNameNumber9

Purchased the card online, to be delivered to a store nearby. Delivered 2 days before the promised date (already a pleasant surprise). To truly use your BYOP phone with this you need to complete 2 steps, not one: 1. Registration (of your MEID) 2. Activation (of the phone with StraightTalk, getting a new phone number) Only the first step worked for me online. The second step, I had to call customer service (twice!) until it worked. But once it works, ah, what an elegant solution to the problem of wanton billing... I am very pleased so far.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PermanentNickNameNumber9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
12/2/2013

Customer review by HotSuga28

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by HotSuga28
by HotSuga28

First of all it took forever to get to my home it got turn around in fedex and didn't arrive the day it was supposed to arrive. Then when I did get it and try to set it up the straight talk company said it wasn't compatible with my phone so I had to order a another card from the straight talk company itself. Now I got to find somebody to sell it too in order to get my money back. Not happy with this at all.

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotSuga28
Arcadia, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Staightalk Bring BYOP
8/16/2014

Customer review by denise476

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by denise476
by denise476

The sim card works great however it easier for me to just call straight talk and have them to activate the sim card.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denise476
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SO not worth the money!
11/6/2014

Customer review by kodiley

1.0 stars 11/6/2014 by kodiley
by kodiley

First things first...this does NOT include the SIM card!! If you are looking for a SIM for your own phone, do NOT get this kit! It is only a NETWORK ACTIVATION KIT. SIM cards are sold separately. You're NOT told that in the product description. I waited a full week for this to be delivered, and the delivery date was changed multiple times during that week. Talk about aggravation! I got my new phone two days after I purchased it, and had to wait for this to arrive...only to be disappointed because it did not have the SIM card. Now I'm stuck with it and have to spend MORE money to buy a SIM card. How much longer of a wait? We'll see. NOT a happy customer at this point. :(

Was this review helpful? (24) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kodiley
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Lack of communication.
8/8/2014

Customer review by AverageGuy63

2.0 stars 8/8/2014 by AverageGuy63
by AverageGuy63

It took almost a month to replace a phone through them and they could have made it much simpler by giving me the right information to begin with, but customer service was slow and uninformative, They confused this service with another and delayed me getting the correct phone. They did replace my month of service, but not until I had to explain myself multiple times, finally got a supervisor that finally got it right. It could have been an easy experience, but it was a pain. Sorry

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AverageGuy63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Verizon Customers BEWARE
12/14/2014

Customer review by jaskdcr

1.0 stars 12/14/2014 by jaskdcr
by jaskdcr

I purchased the activation kit today after confirming that my Verizon phone is compatible. You have to go to the Smart Talk website to get everything done. Verizon phones must be registered before you can activate them. Once I started registering it, I found out Verizon SIM cards are not recognized. I now have to wait 7-10 business days to get my new SIM card in the mail, not the "two business days" that it states on the Smart Talk registration page. I rated this poor because nowhere on the Smart Talk website is it written that Verizon customers have an extensive wait time. You don't find out until you are actually trying to register. I researched and planned to make this switch a couple of days before my Verizon cycle ended to avoid partial charges but because of Smart Talk's lack of forewarning, I will be paying a partial month to Verizon AND my pre-planned monthly charges for my Smart Talk service will be 7-10 days later than I wanted. I chose "yes" for recommending this to a friend because I have no idea if this service is good or not yet and I didn't want to be unfair to the actual service. Maybe in 7-10 days I'll come back and post again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaskdcr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews