Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

9 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

9 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-9 of 9 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Awesome lamp
4/21/2016

Customer review by Happycamper

4.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Happycamper
by Happycamper

This lamp is best used if you have a propane tree on the 20 lb canisters. While it does suck down the propane on high you can adjust it to a lower setting where it last a lot longer. In the coleman literature it does say its rated for about 4.3 hours on high and thats about what you would get with a small can. These really are not designed to be a sit around the campfire lantern though. Their sheer intensity makes it where the campsite looks like a parking lot with bright street lamps around. I do recommend these for camping though because sometimes at night you just want a lot of light though for me its a rare occasion.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very bright lantern.
7/20/2013

Customer review by Impalaman71

3.0 stars 7/20/2013 by Impalaman71
by Impalaman71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is the brightest lantern I've ever used. It IS a gas hog! I run it full blast and a one pound tank lasts only 3 hours. I was not happy with that so I bought a 20lb. propane cylinder and the 2 piece tube adapter to attach the lantern to it and it to the cylinder. No more swapping little gas bottles in the dark. Warning you can not turn it down much. The design of the extra large single mantle is to blame there. It just does not do......dim.... Another con is that I find it hard to screw it on the tube assembly. I can see the threads but they keep wanting to cross-thread. That may just be me. A quick connect adapter would be appreciated. For the price and the obviously cheap construction, it should come with a hard protective storage case, but doesn't. Could also use an adjustable light shade that would double as a reflector to help guide the light.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Impalaman71
State College, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fragile mantles
6/29/2016

Customer review by Nugent

3.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Nugent
by Nugent
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own many coleman lanterns with dual mantles I thought this one with the newer larger mantle would be a nice addition wrong! Comes with one mantle that blew apart when lit then I couldn't purchase a replacement because no one carries this style. Had to order online and they cost 5 times as much don't bother buying this lantern stick with the old dependable 2 mantle lanterns.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nugent
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/15/2013

Customer review by Ok1211

3.0 stars 6/15/2013 by Ok1211
by Ok1211
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The plus is that it's brighter than any other lantern that I've ever owned. The negative is that it sucks on fuel really fast it has a propriatary mantle and you can't dim it as low as there standard lantern.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ok1211
San Jose ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brightest Coleman Lantern
8/9/2014

Customer review by EarlM

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by EarlM
by EarlM

I bought this from Walmart and let me tell you . . . I just love it. It's super bright and so easy to light up. You just turn on the propane switch and it lights itself. No matches here. I liked it so much that I purchased another one. Does it eat fuel? I did not measure it. Who cares? If you want a bright, dependable light that will impress all your friends then go for it! You don't want to be in the dark with a dim light while camping! It does burn gas so don't use it inside of a tent! It's for outside use. For inside of a tent use a battery powered lantern. It is always good to have this for when the electricity goes out too like during a hurricane or storm.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EarlM
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great light
12/21/2013

Customer review by farout67

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by farout67
by farout67

For what you pay for the North Star you can almost buy tow other of the Coleman lanterns. I have not noticed it "sucking fuel" but it does use more than the double mantle type of Coleman lanterns. There is a huge amount of heat coming from this lantern, and in the summer in a tent this must be considered. I bought the Coleman two sided battery light to make it so we had no open flames in the ten. I think I used one can of fuel in 5 hours with about 3/4 of the time on high. I would buy another one without question for the amount of light it puts out.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
farout67
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
6/24/2013

Customer review by Yost69

4.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Yost69
by Yost69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very bright lantern. I have only run a partial bottle of propane thru it and it lasted about 3.5 hours on high. I don't know how much is left in the bottle. Very easy to light. Very easy to replace the mantle. Bought it to go fishing at night and am happy with the lantern itself.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yost69
Berkeley Springs, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Lantern I've Seen in Years
7/5/2014

Customer review by WildernessCamperDude

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by WildernessCamperDude
by WildernessCamperDude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The mantle is easy to change & that is a welcome change. The lantern is solid and the glass is well protected. It doesn't wobble or flop around like cheaper models. The construction is substantially better than any other I've seen in many years. I'm impressed. Will definately get a carrying case for it and keep for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WildernessCamperDude
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Must buy this
1/19/2015

Customer review by Walleyebuck

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by Walleyebuck
by Walleyebuck

Easy to put together . Easy use . If your a outdoor person this is a must have

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walleyebuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes