Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

80 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

80 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
23
1-20 of 78 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Duck lowered quality of this tape recently!!
11/2/2015

Customer review by alyssatay3

1.0 stars 11/2/2015 by alyssatay3
by alyssatay3

I have been purchasing this same tape for years for shipping ebay packages. I'd say sometime in the past year or so, I've noticed a HUGE decline in the quality of the tape. Prior to the quality change, I would have rated this tape 5 stars, hands down. It was inexpensive, pulled nicely, and I never had a problem with it sticking to the plastic envelopes I ship with. I have used Scotch tape for awhile now because my husband picked it up for me while out shopping. I just ran out, and went to Walmart today to get tape, and forgot about the poor quality that Duck now has, and I bought this tape. When I got home, and pulled that first piece of tape, it immediately split into 2! That's when I remembered noticing a huge change in quality before I was using Scotch for awhile. This tape is going right back into the bag, and is being returned to Walmart! It is not worth the price, because if it doesn't work, it can't be cheap enough! I saw another reviewer mentioned buying tape on ebay. I'm going to look into that, since that's where I purchase my shipping envelopes at a much cheaper cost, and for better quality!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alyssatay3
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad tape, but worth it!
12/2/2013

Customer review by TheCaptin

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by TheCaptin
by TheCaptin

I ship packages all the time with this stuff. There is a proper method to making bad tape actually do a good job. You have to wrap the tape around the entire package until the tape overlaps itself. Think of the savings. 400 yards for 7 bucks... you use 3 times the tape so it is really equivalent to about 133 yards. A roll of high quality tape is about 7 bucks for 55 yards. If you buy good tape and use it sparingly, the customer wonders why you packed so poorly. If you buy bad tape and use it liberally, the customer thinks you care. It may not be good tape, but it works and for me it is the best option. I gave this tape 1 star because it does not deserve a good review... but 5 value & meets expectations ticks because this is the best priced tape you can get and the best option for someone who thinks like I do.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheCaptin
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tape, great deal
2/8/2016

Customer review by Carmen

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Carmen
by Carmen

I use this tape for packaging up items to sell. It is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carmen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Double the tape for half the price
1/26/2016

Customer review by wizkid2be

3.0 stars 1/26/2016 by wizkid2be
by wizkid2be

This is a great bargain. If you have spent any time researching packing tape products like I have, at least for me, there comes a point where it is ridiculous the amount of tape you get for the money. I have tons of experience moving and taping up boxes, I was married to a moving company trucker, so believe me when I say it. So I know how fast an average 50 yard (or less) roll of tape disappears and when you just paid $16 or more for that roll it becomes painful. If you look for it, you can find these 100 yard rolls of tape just about anywhere, but you have to look. I have used them all. How does this one rate - my three star rating is compared to other brands of these 100 yard less expensive brands. Pros: This tape sticks really well, can be formed easily and is a good bargain. Cons: This tape is the thinnest of all brands I have ever used. I experienced an incident where the tape did not unwind evenly causing it to shear and broke off while taping a carton. It also is the most difficult tape to restart if it should happen to get away from me and adhere to the roll before I can turn the end under so it will not disappear on me. Overview: I feel this tape will do the job however it would not be my first choice and is the thinnest tape I have ever used. The fact that it shears off and tears when you try to restart it would make it a last choice for me in the category of lower cost 100 yard rolls of tape category. I would buy it again, but I would try to find another brand, I'll hint at Office Depot to get a better quality. Also Walmart has a $1.00 roll of tape I have used many times and have no complaints - works great. I will need to check back on the $1.00 tape roll they have because it is the same brand and they may have changed the quality, but have not had a chance to check this out yet. Hope you find this a useful review.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wizkid2be
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used to be good shipping tape!
12/6/2013

Customer review by sunnytampa

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by sunnytampa
by sunnytampa

I used this Duck shipping tape for eBay packaging for years and it was a nice quality and thickness. In the last year this product has been remade much cheaper, the tape is now thin and it splits and tears. It doesn't hold nearly as well. It only works if you wrap the entire package and leave no loose ends. The real kicker is the tape is now made cheaper, but the price went up by a couple of dollars. I now buy my tape on eBay, in bulk it's a little over $1 a roll and a higher quality product. I would keep looking and not buy this Duck shipping tape!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunnytampa
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
9/6/2013

Customer review by Pascal666

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by Pascal666
by Pascal666

I talked to Duck about the poor quality of this product. Walmart actually has it listed wrong. It is only 1.6 mil, not 1.9 mil.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pascal666
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for shipping!
1/11/2016

Customer review by Wolfehousemom

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Wolfehousemom
by Wolfehousemom

Use this all the time when I ship items!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wolfehousemom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed in this tape
2/20/2014

Customer review by Clearwaqter

2.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Clearwaqter
by Clearwaqter

I purchased 4 rolls of the more expensive Duck shipping tape and it worked fine for my shipping needs (1.88" X 55 yrds.) Thought I would try this 400 yard tape that was a mistake. There was no thickness listed on the roles so it was a guess. Come to find out it's only 1.6 mil rather than 1.8 mil. thick. 1.6 mil is way too thin to manage properly. I use a tape dispenser, and the tap will not feed out of the dispenser properly. I can drag it across the box and it doesn't grip the box properly. This tape sticks to its self really well when you don't want it to, and it loves to stick to the lower guide. I would pass on this thin shipping tape and purchase the thicker duck shipping tape. I will not be buying this thin tape again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clearwaqter
Arkport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
waste of money
7/11/2013

Customer review by cookiedean

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by cookiedean
by cookiedean

cheap, cheap, cheap tape, not at all what you would expect from Duck. if you happen to loose the end back onto the roll, you might as well throw the rest of the roll away. it splits, peels, zigzags and tears. it you're tempted to buy this, just take $10 bucks and throw it in the trash. you'll save yourself hours of hours of frustration

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookiedean
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Duck Brand Packaging Tape
12/11/2015

Customer review by tkarkhof

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by tkarkhof
by tkarkhof

Perfect for the packing I have coming up in the coming months. I may buy a couple of more if need be.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkarkhof
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Moving: Keep it together
11/17/2015

Customer review by momofsixgreatkids

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by momofsixgreatkids
by momofsixgreatkids

We used it to put pieces together pan lids on pans, tape bottom of boxes taped over the labels to protect them! Not too strong where it was hard to cut but sting enough to hold. On our 30th roll

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofsixgreatkids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheap
11/20/2015

Customer review by CAILF

2.0 stars 11/20/2015 by CAILF
by CAILF

Thin tape cheap and breaks when you unroll it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAILF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garbage
10/28/2015

Customer review by Randyman

1.0 stars 10/28/2015 by Randyman
by Randyman

Don't waste your money on this tape. It splits and tears constantly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randyman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Iiii
10/29/2015

Customer review by Hiiii

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by Hiiii
by Hiiii

Great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hiiii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Duck packing tape
10/7/2015

Customer review by Sandy

5.0 stars 10/7/2015 by Sandy
by Sandy

Very strong reliable

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is not worth the trouble.
9/10/2015

Customer review by Kaye04

1.0 stars 9/10/2015 by Kaye04
by Kaye04

This tape breaks easily, when you don't want it to. It's virtually impossible to restart it without it breaking lengthwise. It takes 10 times longer to ready the tape than to tape the box.

Kaye04
Owasso, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Home improvement profile:Professional
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
This duck definitely knows how to quack! ;)
1/28/2015

Customer review by Duck

5.0 stars 1/28/2015 by Duck
by Duck

I was looking for a tape thats affordable and good quality so i stumbled upon this and i thought i would give this a try. I shipped a few items and it worked out great for me. I love it especially because its affordable. For the price i am paying i get a good quality product. If i have to buy a tape again i would definitely buy Duck Brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Packaging Tape AND Walmart, BOTH A1 & 5 Stars!
12/2/2013

Customer review by mstuck1224

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by mstuck1224
by mstuck1224
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have always bought this brand of packaging tape at Walmart ( I am a "walmartaholic") but since had no way to get to Walmart recently I tried shopping here online. All I can say is "WOW!!". This 4 - roll packaging is more economical & time saving than I could ever imagine & the service from Walmart far surpassed my greatest expectations! The tape itself is strong, durable enough for heavy duty packing & shipping since I do both on a constant, ongoing basis. This is the ONLY way I will buy my packaging tape again & ONLY from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mstuck1224
midwest, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thin tape - good $ wise maybe
10/10/2013

Customer review by girlygirlny

2.0 stars 10/10/2013 by girlygirlny
by girlygirlny

I read the reviews before I purchased it and although I knew what to expect, I was slightly disappointed, but not so much with the adhesive, but the thiness of the tape. May the gods help you when you lose the beginning of the tape because it's gonna take you a long time to find to pull out again around the tape gun. And .... while you'll looking for that elusive beginning and finally find it .... you're gonna lose some tape pulling it out as it will break into strips until you pull enough out to meet the whole of it. aaaggghhhhh!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
girlygirlny
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thin, poor quality
2/23/2015

Customer review by LLLL

1.0 stars 2/23/2015 by LLLL
by LLLL

The tape is very thin and folds in on itself before you can even use it. The adhesive is not very sticky.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLLL
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews