Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 116 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Great for beginners/intermediates
9/14/2013

Customer review by SparksterT

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by SparksterT
by SparksterT

Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.

Was this review helpful? (91) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparksterT
Falls Church, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value, with exceptions
1/18/2014

Customer review by Carlsgood

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Carlsgood
by Carlsgood

This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!

Was this review helpful? (74) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carlsgood
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/21/2013

Customer review by Drivefasttakechances

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Drivefasttakechances
by Drivefasttakechances

Constructed very well. Works, like it should. As long as you're willing to sweat. Great price............

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drivefasttakechances
Honolulu, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works the whole body
1/19/2014

Customer review by notneb5

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by notneb5
by notneb5

I am very happy with this total gym. It does exactly what was advertised. I follow along with the instructional DVD and complete the entire workout in around 20-25 minutes. I expect that once I no longer need the DVD, I will be able to finish the entire workout in less than 20 minutes. I can tell that it works every part of the body. I also like how easy it is to adjust the difficulty level. I've only had it for about 3 weeks so I don't know about the durability. I plan to buy another one if this one ever breaks. It's perfect for someone who wants the convenience of working out at home.

Was this review helpful? (58) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notneb5
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great results in a short time.
11/5/2013

Customer review by 2times8more

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by 2times8more
by 2times8more

Having seen the Total Gym, be one of the longest selling products on TV, I had high expectations for performance and results, even though I couldn't afford the highest end product. I have not been disappointed in the least. I have achieved more with this product , than in 7 years working out in a gym years ago, in just 4 weeks! I have seen my stomach flatten, the curve in my spine straighten more, and my overall strength and energy, increase, and I'm only in the beginning phase as I have many health issues and am taking it slow. I never thought I'd be able to work out again, yet alone see body improvements at the age of 57. A childhood friend who sees me every week, commented that my stomach was gone, that my posture was better, which means a lot. The Total Gym lives up to its legacy. I find the product solidly made, durable, easy to use, and adaptable to my capabilities, with room to grow. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars, is that this medium priced version of the product, has a squat attachment that is too small. You can't extend your feet out far enough to be at the 45 degree angle needed to perform a squat properly. I adapt to this by putting my weight on the heel ends of my feet with the front of them extended beyond the top, and get by. If you have a problem unhooking the pulley system from underneath, I've found it easier if you slide the bed back a little to give you more slack , and it unhooks and hooks easily. Be sure to read all the stickers on the product telling you where to not hold the product so you won't get pinched. They are there for a reason. The instructions are very easy to follow in the programs, and I am impressed at how far I've progressed in such a short time. I have Fibromyalgia, some arthritis in my spine, and joints, as well as asthma, and heart issues. To be able to feel stronger and healthier, is major to me. This product was made for me. I look forward to working out, and know that it's time not wasted. I only wish I'd gotten it long ago.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2times8more
Waterville, ME.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken piece of Equipment
3/26/2014

Customer review by billray01

2.0 stars 3/26/2014 by billray01
by billray01

The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here. This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (38) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billray01
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful! Do not buy
12/25/2013

Customer review by Yarg1

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Yarg1
by Yarg1

The product is cheaply made and Walmart did a terrible job packing it for shipping. When we received it, two of the wheels were broken (which appears to be a trend after reading some of the other reviews) and the front casing of the glider pad was broken. Unfortunately, it looks like replacing the wheels and glider will only be a temporary fix because this product does not look like it would last very long before the wheels would need to be replaced again. We will be returning this for a refund and will be checking into the real Total Gym systems from the actual website. <sigh> I was really excited that Walmart had an affordable Total Gym but I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yarg1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gives me the workout I want
3/12/2014

Customer review by SunnyDaisy60

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by SunnyDaisy60
by SunnyDaisy60

The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.

Was this review helpful? (39) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunnyDaisy60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
7/12/2013

Customer review by mrsmarshall

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by mrsmarshall
by mrsmarshall

I ordered this product on a Tuesday (probably about 9pm) and it showed up at the door that Friday, despite a delivery date of the following Wednesday, so it was a whole 5 days early. Love that! My husband set it up while I was at work and then showed me how to do it when I got home. It was incredibly easy to put together and fold up for storage, but since we have the room for it, there's no reason to fold it up right now. There are so many exercises you can do with this! I've only had it for a week and I've already started losing inches. My husband really only uses it for push ups and sit ups being that we still go to a gym, but he really likes it as well. Our 10 year old has been using it (under supervision) but he has no problems switching out parts or putting attachments on. Very user friendly and just as easy to do as the commercials make it seem. We are definitely glad we purchased this!

Was this review helpful? (50) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsmarshall
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Machine with unreliable parts.
10/31/2013

Customer review by Michaaw

3.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Michaaw
by Michaaw

The machine works great and is easy to use. The only issue is that I got it two weeks ago and one of the rollers has already cracked.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michaaw
Palatine, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
done waiting!
12/19/2013

Customer review by tampalady2

1.0 stars 12/19/2013 by tampalady2
by tampalady2

Well, after sending back 2 machines for defective (broken) wheels, I gave it one more try. 3rd mach arrived with 2 broken wheels! I am so done with Walmart & will order from the Total Gym web site even though it is more money. Hopefully a better product!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tampalady2
Tampa, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
BROKEN GREY WHEEL
3/9/2014

Customer review by manutdfan

1.0 stars 3/9/2014 by manutdfan
by manutdfan

I read all of the reviews before buying this product where 85% were happy and said they had no problems, well I'm one of the unlucky 15% because as most of the unhappy people mentioned, it arrived with broken grey wheels, so guess what mine did too, one of the grey wheels was shattered in pieces. I called the company the very next day and they are supposed to be sending a replacement grey wheel. The system is still sitting in parts on my basement floor because I don't want to even try putting it together if its broke. I haven't had the chance to use it, so I can't answer yes or no because I'm waiting to try it. I've kept the box and I'd hate to have to pack it all up and return for a complete refund.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
manutdfan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the Money
7/19/2013

Customer review by Avion

4.0 stars 7/19/2013 by Avion
by Avion

This total gym comes pretty well put together out of the box. It is easy to use and there are plenty of excercise programs for it. You can go online and find many more routines than what comes in the box! Like any other exercise program it all depends on how motivated one is!! This machine will indeed do what its supposed to do if you do what your supposed to do!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Avion
Northern Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived damaged
3/18/2014

Customer review by gizmo1208

2.0 stars 3/18/2014 by gizmo1208
by gizmo1208

I never got to try it out because when I opened the box, I discovered damage. One of the wheels was cracked and I found the plastic pieces in the bottom of the box. I also found the cable flopping around. I had no idea how to attach it since I never saw it attached to begin with. No picture of it in the directions. Reluctantly, I took it back to Walmart. They graciously accepted the return. I was going to reorder the product because I still believe in it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gizmo1208
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
10/22/2013

Customer review by Satisfywomen

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Satisfywomen
by Satisfywomen

I've buy this machine at 249$ online and shipping site to store was very fast. Before I order it, I was a little bit affraid about the stability and strenght of this machine, but I was fearful for nothing, this machine is very well built. I think that no one need to buy the expensive one, this one do the same thing and work greatly. Im in love with this exercice machine. I Didn't thought we could do so many different exercices. Total gym is the best exercice machine I ever try, it's amazing how you could work every part of your body/muscles. I would recommened this to anyone looking for an exercise machine Very good price, Extremely satisfied, Worth the money !!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satisfywomen
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
total Gym 1400
1/19/2014

Customer review by Dispenserguy

1.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Dispenserguy
by Dispenserguy

I read reviews before I picked up this product at Walmart. As per the reviewed reviews the Total Gym I received had broken parts. I didn't even remove everything from the box since it was obvious there were broken plastics parts as other reviews refered to. The handling of these unit (by UPS) must be improved. Since the parts that break are located at the bottom of the package a simple drop or I'll just let it drop mentality will cause these broken parts. Walmart's shipping and handling process should be reviewed

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dispenserguy
Winlock, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointed with the condition at delivery
11/27/2013

Customer review by unhappyincharlottenc

1.0 stars 11/27/2013 by unhappyincharlottenc
by unhappyincharlottenc

We love the Total Gym products and decide to order a new one from Walmart.com. We ordered this product twice and both times it was received in poor condition. There were broken plastic rollerpieces in the box both times. The foot coverings were also broken on both units. The delivery time was great and it was simple to return to the store but we were very unhappy that each time we received it in poor condition. We will not order from Walmart.com again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unhappyincharlottenc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!!
9/3/2013

Customer review by Mumgow

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Mumgow
by Mumgow

For someone whos budget conscious this is a great workout set. It does all that it says it does with out having to spend alot of money for the Total Gyms that are advertised. Built sturdy and with the attachments theres a wide varity of exersices you can do. It does everything the more expensive model do. Easy to set up and use. Comes with all the info needed to start. From beginner all the way to advanced workouts. I would recommened this to anyone looking for an exercise machine. My wife and I are both in our 60's and find this easy to work with and felt the results within days of using it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mumgow
Jasper, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beats paying all those gym fees!
9/3/2013

Customer review by SoreCustomer

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by SoreCustomer
by SoreCustomer

I received the total gym when Wal-Mart said I would. I put it together myself with a minimum of cuss words. I have used it almost everyday since then and I really like it a lot. My stomach muscles are sore, even though the exercises I have tried are mostly for your arms. I'm totally happy with the product, now I can exercise whenever I want for as long as I want and I do not have to spend money on expensive outfits to fit in with the young things at the gym. Ally

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoreCustomer
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great item for fitness
7/5/2013

Customer review by wardenbob

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by wardenbob
by wardenbob

my wife and I are both disabled fitness is a challenge and necessity. Unable to lift weight the principle of the total gym was interesting so we checked out the total gym.. Dr approved and Walmarts price was the best Ordered it on Thursday and following Tues it arrived. Folks at the store even loaded it in my car. Thanks Walmart for a truly great experience. Machine is working fine and we have high expectations!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wardenbob
atwater, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews