Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
132
4 stars
41
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 199 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
Broken piece of Equipment
3/26/2014

Customer review by billray01

2.0 stars 3/26/2014 by billray01
by billray01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here. This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (125) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billray01
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product for the Price
6/4/2016

Customer review by hebooboo

4.0 stars 6/4/2016 by hebooboo
by hebooboo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been working out on total gyms for over 15 years. The total gym is best maintenance workout out machine for the dollar I have ever used. My last Total Gym was the "XLS", $799 and it lasted 9 years before the rollers degraded. The first Total gym 1200 (I think) lasted 6 years before the rollers degraded. On the XLS, I was going to replace the rollers but the bench cover was keep together with Gorilla Tape. On the 1200, the cables had cracked. This may sound concerning but I worked out 3-5 times a week usually for more than an hour and outside in the summer. A couple things... If you are over 215 lbs, I would probably spent the money for the XLS; It is much stronger. There are more costly options if you are "really" heavy. The TV talks about losing weight with the total gym but I would think you would be disappointed. Diet and aerobics works much better. If you want a body builder's body, the total gym is not optimal. Now if you want good muscle tone with a system to maintain it, the Total Gym is ideal. That is why I will probably own one for the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hebooboo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Gym 1400
8/1/2016

Customer review by TotalGymUser15Plusyears

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by TotalGymUser15Plusyears
by TotalGymUser15Plusyears
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the Total Gym ! I have had a few different models over the past 15 years. From the day I broke it out of the package I have been very satisfied. It's easy to use, doesn't take up much space and is easy on the wallet (provided you don't buy it from Total Gym directly). The exercises and the ability to move from one exercise to another with minimal fuss has been a boon to my keeping in shape regimen. I love the fact that I do not need to get cleaned up and jump into the car and then drive to a fitness center and then begin a workout (while waiting for a particular machine to open up), then having to drive back home. It is a time-saver and I'm much more motivated to workout regularly when I can just walk into my living room and just get started. No muss, no fuss. A great product. I just purchased the Total Gym 1400 through Walmart and everything was perfect - no issues with missing or broken parts. I'm quite pleased !!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TotalGymUser15Plusyears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gives me the workout I want
3/12/2014

Customer review by SunnyDaisy60

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by SunnyDaisy60
by SunnyDaisy60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.

Was this review helpful? (122) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyDaisy60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product and price
6/19/2016

Customer review by WizerShopper

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by WizerShopper
by WizerShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great deal on the Total Gym as it comes with several attachments and the guide attached to the top is a nice touch. The machine is solid and gives a good workout. It gets my heart rate up while lifting which kills two birds in one stone. I've noticed that my heart rate is still up at least an hour after working out. I'm glad I chose this one instead of spending more money to get the same results.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WizerShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Man I'm Sore!
5/29/2016

Customer review by HDog

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by HDog
by HDog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered this on a late Sunday night to deliver to my nearest store. They said it would be there Friday but actually showed up two days early which is nice. Store pick up was a breeze and very little assembly required to put together. After not working out or doing much in the way of manual labor for over a decade I made sure I eased into a limited exercise routine. Using a pulley system cuts the weight you lift in half but still I have sore muscles and elevated heart rate at the end of fifteen minutes. The Total Gym takes up about eight feet of floor space when unfolded but collapses down to just about three feet to stand in the corner. Only had it a week but can see tone and definition already. I am enjoying my purchase immensely.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
total gym
7/27/2016

Customer review by apple

5.0 stars 7/27/2016 by apple
by apple
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love working out on it, its smooth and quite. It takes care of all my problem areas. when folding up be very careful it could pinch fingers,

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apple
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Truly a Total Gym
7/24/2016

Customer review by Leahcim

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Leahcim
by Leahcim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Whether you have used free weights or cable machines before, the Total Gym does it all. The only difference is that you use your body weight for resistance. Virtually any muscle group can be worked just by changing body or hand position. Quality construction and excellent design as well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leahcim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value, with exceptions
1/18/2014

Customer review by Carlsgood

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Carlsgood
by Carlsgood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!

Was this review helpful? (144) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlsgood
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
8/13/2016

Customer review by CuttingCostsNotQuality

5.0 stars 8/13/2016 by CuttingCostsNotQuality
by CuttingCostsNotQuality
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got it for about two weeks. I bought it because I thought it would be more economical than buying a gym membership and I could use it on my own schedule. It seems to offer a lot of exercises. I like all of the functions and the quality of material seems good. I look forward to getting into a normal routine. The accompanying video and manual provides adequate information as well. There is no mystery on how to get a good work out with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CuttingCostsNotQuality
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
6/26/2016

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Chris
by Chris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Total gym was easy to assemble and the workouts are great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used for 6 months
8/5/2016

Customer review by greatdealsrus

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by greatdealsrus
by greatdealsrus

I've had this for a little over 6 months now and couldn't be happier! I can get a complete body workout on it and, although I have other pieces of workout equipment, this is my go-to favorite. It's fun and the included booklet contains tons of exercises you can do and what muscle groups are affected. And, if you still need more inspiration, there are all kinds of videos on youtube that are helpful too. It is sturdy and built to last and I use it 5+ times a week. I highly recommend this piece of equipment to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatdealsrus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for beginners/intermediates
9/14/2013

Customer review by SparksterT

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by SparksterT
by SparksterT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.

Was this review helpful? (142) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SparksterT
Falls Church, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
online order
6/15/2016

Customer review by Greg

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Greg
by Greg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was Great everything was as I was told

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
3/30/2016

Customer review by Ameliareader

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by Ameliareader
by Ameliareader

I've only had the gym a little over a week and I haven't even got all of the bells and whistles installed to see everything that this machine can do, but the pulleys that I have used, I have loved! I've done work outs for chest, triceps, biceps and legs so far. I'm excited to really learn all of the things that it can do.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ameliareader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.
6/24/2016

Customer review by dschar

5.0 stars 6/24/2016 by dschar
by dschar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have had this Total Gym 's for only one week so I cannot speak for it"s durability but it seems well made. I received it fully assemble except for for a couple of easy to intall accessories. It is easy to use and moves smoothly. If this Total Gym proves to be durable, it will be a good buy compared to the $1000 Total Gym avertised on TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dschar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth your money
5/2/2016

Customer review by Woodgirl69

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Woodgirl69
by Woodgirl69

Did some research on different "total gyms" and found this one. Had a couple questions about it, so I called the sellers and asked. The gentleman said he wasn't sure about my questions, but found out the answers and called me back. Very impressed with the piece of equipment, except for the fed ex people. They tried to deliver it 2 days in a row at the same time. The second day, I left note on door saying no one would be home till after 3. Fed ex left no note or anything for me like they did the first day. The second day was a Friday and I wanted my machine. I called and they called when driver got back to facility and let me come pick it up. Good thing I live only about 5 miles away. Not too happy that you had to have a signature for receiving it. We aren't typically home during day and I steer away from things that are signature required because of that.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woodgirl69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Total Gym is gymtastic
5/12/2016

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Terry
by Terry

I researched exercise equipment for several months before purchasing the Total Gym. I absolutely made the right choice. It's fun, while at the same time it produces results. I highly recommend it to anyone who thinks exercise is difficult and boring. I also recommend it to anyone who loves to exercise because they will enjoy it even more.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
total Gym 1400
1/19/2014

Customer review by Dispenserguy

1.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Dispenserguy
by Dispenserguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read reviews before I picked up this product at Walmart. As per the reviewed reviews the Total Gym I received had broken parts. I didn't even remove everything from the box since it was obvious there were broken plastics parts as other reviews refered to. The handling of these unit (by UPS) must be improved. Since the parts that break are located at the bottom of the package a simple drop or I'll just let it drop mentality will cause these broken parts. Walmart's shipping and handling process should be reviewed

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dispenserguy
Winlock, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total gym.. perfect for my needs
9/30/2015

Customer review by Clayton

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Clayton
by Clayton

At 72 yo, and after several spinal surgeries, I decided it is time for something less demanding than weights and multi gyms. I had used a total gym over 25 yrs ago after foot surgery and decided to give it another shot. I'm glad I did. Gym arrived quickly in perfect condition. It was easy to set up and I I have not had one single problem with it It is sturdy and well made. You can target the muscles you want without putting pressure on your spine and make your workouts harder by height adjustment or number of reps. I have done as many as 60 reps. It is set up in a bedroom, doesn't take up much room and makes exercise fun.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clayton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews