Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 242 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

242 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

242 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
158
4 stars
52
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 239 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews
Total Gym 1400
1/24/2017

Customer review by themolinas

5.0 stars 1/24/2017 by themolinas
by themolinas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love it. My husband will soon be 77 and I am 74 years old and we both have been using it for 2 weeks and have had to up the incline to # 3 because we needed more of a challenge. In 15 to 20 minutes we have completed the exercises we choose to do and it feels great. What we like most is that it is very easy on the joints, but you get a really great workout on the muscles. We both do upper body exercises because that is our weak area. My husband is a double amputee and I have had back surgery. Needless to say we are extremely happy with our purchase. Our Total Gym was delivered on time and in perfect condition. We love it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themolinas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Gym 1400
1/20/2017

Customer review by oldman65100

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by oldman65100
by oldman65100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my Total Gym 1400.It is exactly what I needed to work out. I already lost 5 lbs.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldman65100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken piece of Equipment
3/26/2014

Customer review by billray01

2.0 stars 3/26/2014 by billray01
by billray01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here. This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.

Was this review helpful? (166) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billray01
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gives me the workout I want
3/12/2014

Customer review by SunnyDaisy60

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by SunnyDaisy60
by SunnyDaisy60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.

Was this review helpful? (152) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyDaisy60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SKEPTICAL BUT VERY SURPRISED
1/15/2017

Customer review by Reggie

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Reggie
by Reggie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I WAS IN THE MARKET FOR A HOME WORKOUT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT. I SAW THE REVIEWS ABOUT THE TOTAL GYM 1400 SERIES AND WAS SKEPTICAL , TO MY SURPRISE THOUGH, IT WAS VARILY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER AND ALL THE PIECES AND TOOLS WERE PROVIDED. THE TOTAL GYM 1400 HAS SEVERAL LEVELS FROM BEGINNERS TO MORE ADVANCED AS I PROGRESS. I AM JUST INTERESTED IN HAVING GOOD MUSCLE TONE AND BEING IN GOOD PHYSICAL HEALTH. I CAN ALSO FIT IT BEHIND THE COUCH OR UNDER MY BED WHEN COMPANY COMES.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reggie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Gym 1400
8/1/2016

Customer review by TotalGymUser15Plusyears

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by TotalGymUser15Plusyears
by TotalGymUser15Plusyears
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the Total Gym ! I have had a few different models over the past 15 years. From the day I broke it out of the package I have been very satisfied. It's easy to use, doesn't take up much space and is easy on the wallet (provided you don't buy it from Total Gym directly). The exercises and the ability to move from one exercise to another with minimal fuss has been a boon to my keeping in shape regimen. I love the fact that I do not need to get cleaned up and jump into the car and then drive to a fitness center and then begin a workout (while waiting for a particular machine to open up), then having to drive back home. It is a time-saver and I'm much more motivated to workout regularly when I can just walk into my living room and just get started. No muss, no fuss. A great product. I just purchased the Total Gym 1400 through Walmart and everything was perfect - no issues with missing or broken parts. I'm quite pleased !!

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TotalGymUser15Plusyears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product for the Price
6/4/2016

Customer review by hebooboo

4.0 stars 6/4/2016 by hebooboo
by hebooboo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been working out on total gyms for over 15 years. The total gym is best maintenance workout out machine for the dollar I have ever used. My last Total Gym was the "XLS", $799 and it lasted 9 years before the rollers degraded. The first Total gym 1200 (I think) lasted 6 years before the rollers degraded. On the XLS, I was going to replace the rollers but the bench cover was keep together with Gorilla Tape. On the 1200, the cables had cracked. This may sound concerning but I worked out 3-5 times a week usually for more than an hour and outside in the summer. A couple things... If you are over 215 lbs, I would probably spent the money for the XLS; It is much stronger. There are more costly options if you are "really" heavy. The TV talks about losing weight with the total gym but I would think you would be disappointed. Diet and aerobics works much better. If you want a body builder's body, the total gym is not optimal. Now if you want good muscle tone with a system to maintain it, the Total Gym is ideal. That is why I will probably own one for the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful? (93) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hebooboo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Purchase of the total gym 1400 from Walmart
1/5/2017

Customer review by Flex

3.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Flex
by Flex
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy order, delivered in good condition in a timely manner. Very pleased with the quality and the exercises that can be done on the 1400. I am 76 years old. You can go easy to tone or heavier to bulk up. I believe this machine will help me lose my belly fat and maintain good condition. Remember, you can not out exercise a bad diet. Blessings

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good work out
11/21/2016

Customer review by ILoveRainyDays

4.0 stars 11/21/2016 by ILoveRainyDays
by ILoveRainyDays
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gym does it all... you can work out every part of your body and raise the resistance level as you go. It is very long... not so wide, so make sure you have room for it. Good quality and sturdy. Arrived a day before scheduled. Comes with the 2 sets of add on bars and the leg pulley. Would recommend this gym to anyone.... I'm 53 and it is easy to set up and use.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILoveRainyDays
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value, with exceptions
1/18/2014

Customer review by Carlsgood

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Carlsgood
by Carlsgood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!

Was this review helpful? (169) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlsgood
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gym
12/11/2016

Customer review by TJMJ

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by TJMJ
by TJMJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great gym. Have had 3 of them. The 1000,2000 and the 1400. Awesome product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJMJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used for 6 months
8/5/2016

Customer review by greatdealsrus

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by greatdealsrus
by greatdealsrus

I've had this for a little over 6 months now and couldn't be happier! I can get a complete body workout on it and, although I have other pieces of workout equipment, this is my go-to favorite. It's fun and the included booklet contains tons of exercises you can do and what muscle groups are affected. And, if you still need more inspiration, there are all kinds of videos on youtube that are helpful too. It is sturdy and built to last and I use it 5+ times a week. I highly recommend this piece of equipment to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatdealsrus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Total Gym 1400
9/19/2016

Customer review by LuckyLou

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by LuckyLou
by LuckyLou
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am in my early 60's and have not really worked out very much these days, I used to belong to a gym and i got tired of having to go out of my way to work out and lost interest. I had seen the commercials for Total Gym and was very interested but couldn't afford the high price they were asking then I went on the Walmart site and found it for $239.00 what a deal. I got the machine it very easy to put together I have used it several times and I love it. It's great !!! A full body work out and I'm just getting started there are a lot of exercises I haven't even tried yet and I think it's well worth it. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyLou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth your Money
1/21/2017

Customer review by Botch1

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by Botch1
by Botch1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered from Walmart.com with free FedEx shipping. Heavy duty construction and well worth the money. I have seen similar (almost exact) devices for twice the money. Easy to set up and store

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Botch1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
workout
2/6/2017

Customer review by englishmoss

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by englishmoss
by englishmoss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

as good as anything out there for the home with spending a lot of money

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
englishmoss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Gym 1400
12/25/2016

Customer review by JM17

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by JM17
by JM17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Remarkably easy to set up and use right out of the box. Multiple resistance settings very helpful to get started. Recommended exercises were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JM17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
total gym 1400
11/16/2016

Customer review by StingrayJ

5.0 stars 11/16/2016 by StingrayJ
by StingrayJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit replaces a 25year old unit. the new 1400 is very well built. smooth and stable.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StingrayJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Gym 1400
9/18/2016

Customer review by CWArizona

5.0 stars 9/18/2016 by CWArizona
by CWArizona
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this thru Walmart.com and it arrived at the store within 5 days. Setup took about an hour to hour and a half and I was using it. I've been using it now for a little over 2 weeks and it fits the bill for everything I want to do. It's easy to shift from one exercise to the next and the exercise book they provide is pretty good too. I live alone so leave it setup all the time, but it does take up a considerable amount of room length wise. I bought this one because I didn't want to spend a large amount of money on a piece of exercise equipment and these last 2 weeks have proven I've made a wise choice. I had read several reviews complaining about the welds. I inspected mine while it was still in the box and everything was fine. After setup, I looked it over again and it looks very well constructed, but to be safe I did purchase a 3 yr extended warranty. I like it so well, I've already recommended it to my brother. On a different note, the night I picked it up, Walmart.com had reduced the price by $15. I found a number to call and asked about the reduction. Since it was within the return window time frame, they gave me a credit on my credit card for the difference right then and there. Can't beat that for super service.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CWArizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is called total gym for a reason
2/21/2017

Customer review by Sonya29

5.0 stars 2/21/2017 by Sonya29
by Sonya29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I love this gym. It is everything we need and more in one foldable peice of equipment. The only issue we had was the pulley kept falling off when using that so we found a different clip to use to keep the pulley in place while we are working out. Regardless the gym is easy to use and quick. We have had it for almost 3 weeks and I always find time to jump on it even if it is just for 5 minutes a day at least and it is fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sonya29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for beginners/intermediates
9/14/2013

Customer review by SparksterT

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by SparksterT
by SparksterT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.

Was this review helpful? (152) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SparksterT
Falls Church, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews