Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 262 reviews
5 stars
173
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
Sort by: 
1-20 of 259 reviews
1-20 of 259 reviews
Total Gym 1400
1/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love it. My husband will soon be 77 and I am 74 years old and we both have been using it for 2 weeks and have had to up the incline to # 3 because we needed more of a challenge. In 15 to 20 minutes we have completed the exercises we choose to do and it feels great. What we like most is that it is very easy on the joints, but you get a really great workout on the muscles. We both do upper body exercises because that is our weak area. My husband is a double amputee and I have had back surgery. Needless to say we are extremely happy with our purchase. Our Total Gym was delivered on time and in perfect condition. We love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broken piece of Equipment
3/26/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here. This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (201)No (71)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Total Gym 1400
1/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love my Total Gym 1400.It is exactly what I needed to work out. I already lost 5 lbs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Useful Machine
9/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Relatively easy to put together and fold up after a couple of times it's not hard. Leg excercises are pretty much useless unless you are very weak in the lower body or have injuries. Good for upper body and some at work. Good for me as I can do many upper body exercises without much adjusting from one to the next. Can get a good workout in 20 minutes. Some exercises take a while to get used to as they don't feel natural. I like the fact I can do chin ups, lat pull downs, dips and bench press type exercises without having to be able to do a real one. I'm out of shape and very heave but can use those muscle groups. I have noticed a difference in just a week. I have used it every day. The hurricane kept me indoors so I had a few good workouts. I would recommend this for some overall indoor excercise when you don't have much time. Doesn't replace the gym for the serious athlete but for $300 the whole family can get a good workout. Now I just need to get the wife to use it......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gives me the workout I want
3/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (190)No (46)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product was not as advertised/expected
10/16/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Living in a townhouse with limited space I thought this equipment was going to be the answer to my exercise needs. First of all, it was delivered to my front porch and so heavy I couldn't get it into the house let alone down a flight of 12 stairs. It was necessary for me to seek help to do this and to assist with assembly. The instructions were not clear and not at all helpful. The main pulley cords were on wrong and had to be disassembled and re-attached. The adding of components for various exercises was very confusing and complicated. The DVD presentation was performed on different equipment so was not helpful. Needless to say I had to have someone else come back to help take it apart, back up the stairs and out to my car. At Walmart they were very helpful with getting assistance for the return. This is not the product for someone looking for simple, lightweight and suitable for limited space.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Total Gym 1400
8/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the Total Gym ! I have had a few different models over the past 15 years. From the day I broke it out of the package I have been very satisfied. It's easy to use, doesn't take up much space and is easy on the wallet (provided you don't buy it from Total Gym directly). The exercises and the ability to move from one exercise to another with minimal fuss has been a boon to my keeping in shape regimen. I love the fact that I do not need to get cleaned up and jump into the car and then drive to a fitness center and then begin a workout (while waiting for a particular machine to open up), then having to drive back home. It is a time-saver and I'm much more motivated to workout regularly when I can just walk into my living room and just get started. No muss, no fuss. A great product. I just purchased the Total Gym 1400 through Walmart and everything was perfect - no issues with missing or broken parts. I'm quite pleased !!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product for the Price
6/4/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have been working out on total gyms for over 15 years. The total gym is best maintenance workout out machine for the dollar I have ever used. My last Total Gym was the "XLS", $799 and it lasted 9 years before the rollers degraded. The first Total gym 1200 (I think) lasted 6 years before the rollers degraded. On the XLS, I was going to replace the rollers but the bench cover was keep together with Gorilla Tape. On the 1200, the cables had cracked. This may sound concerning but I worked out 3-5 times a week usually for more than an hour and outside in the summer. A couple things... If you are over 215 lbs, I would probably spent the money for the XLS; It is much stronger. There are more costly options if you are "really" heavy. The TV talks about losing weight with the total gym but I would think you would be disappointed. Diet and aerobics works much better. If you want a body builder's body, the total gym is not optimal. Now if you want good muscle tone with a system to maintain it, the Total Gym is ideal. That is why I will probably own one for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (156)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good value, with exceptions
1/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (191)No (61)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I am working out again!
8/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would have given this item 5 stars, but it can be hard to move. Set up and close, but I have found a way to close it each time I use it and place it on the wall out of the way. I use the DVD instructions and work out 3 times a week. Has been 2 weeks and I am already noticing a difference in my body. Firming and strengthening. Best of all, my back is getting stronger, along with my core. I am able to use the total gym with back issues and am very happy!!! I look forward to every workout. I use the gazelle on the days I don't use the gym and also walk. I am eating healthy food, watching sugars and white flour... I am so please with the gym. It is made sturdy, and works well for my needs. Looking forward to being able to adjust the gym on a higher level. Great resistance training machine. Looking forward to bone growth and strength. Good investment!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Total Gym 1400
3/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolutely love my Total Gym 1400 and have been using it for abut 3 months now. I have been active in sports all my life and now that I am retired and shut inside with the cold and snow. I use my Total Gym three days a week and my stationary bike three days a week and they keep me in good shape for the good weather after winter. I want to stay active in my retired years and enjoy my life and this really helps me do just that. I do the 18 Exercise-Full Program that is shown on the DVD that came with my Total Gym and it is a fantastic workout. One thing I really notice besides the muscle work is the stretch I get with the full range of motion doing the exercises. I am lucky I have always been fairly slim, but I have been eating better and I have lost 10lbs using my Total Gym and stationary bike. Thank You for a great product that is well worth the money. Tom
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for beginners/intermediates
9/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (169)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
7/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this product on a Tuesday (probably about 9pm) and it showed up at the door that Friday, despite a delivery date of the following Wednesday, so it was a whole 5 days early. Love that! My husband set it up while I was at work and then showed me how to do it when I got home. It was incredibly easy to put together and fold up for storage, but since we have the room for it, there's no reason to fold it up right now. There are so many exercises you can do with this! I've only had it for a week and I've already started losing inches. My husband really only uses it for push ups and sit ups being that we still go to a gym, but he really likes it as well. Our 10 year old has been using it (under supervision) but he has no problems switching out parts or putting attachments on. Very user friendly and just as easy to do as the commercials make it seem. We are definitely glad we purchased this!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (45)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Used for 6 months
8/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this for a little over 6 months now and couldn't be happier! I can get a complete body workout on it and, although I have other pieces of workout equipment, this is my go-to favorite. It's fun and the included booklet contains tons of exercises you can do and what muscle groups are affected. And, if you still need more inspiration, there are all kinds of videos on youtube that are helpful too. It is sturdy and built to last and I use it 5+ times a week. I highly recommend this piece of equipment to anyone!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Man I'm Sore!
5/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ordered this on a late Sunday night to deliver to my nearest store. They said it would be there Friday but actually showed up two days early which is nice. Store pick up was a breeze and very little assembly required to put together. After not working out or doing much in the way of manual labor for over a decade I made sure I eased into a limited exercise routine. Using a pulley system cuts the weight you lift in half but still I have sore muscles and elevated heart rate at the end of fifteen minutes. The Total Gym takes up about eight feet of floor space when unfolded but collapses down to just about three feet to stand in the corner. Only had it a week but can see tone and definition already. I am enjoying my purchase immensely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great equipment for the price!!!
7/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I saw the infomercial but could not afford the high end version. I was excited when I found this one for only $239. I got it within a few days of ordering and as promised it was easy and mostly ready to go out of the box. It takes a minute to figure out how to do all the attachments. But I think this machine is just as good as the expensive one. It is a great way to work out and all the different moves keep it interesting. It does take up a lot of space when in use but folds back up. The accessories, DVD, and booklets are good. I will say that I think the weight limit should be followed and men wanting to bulk up would want something else. For me it is perfect combined with a gazelle walk. My twelve year old son uses it too and thinks it is fun. This is a good product for someone wanting to tone up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Total gym.. perfect for my needs
9/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At 72 yo, and after several spinal surgeries, I decided it is time for something less demanding than weights and multi gyms. I had used a total gym over 25 yrs ago after foot surgery and decided to give it another shot. I'm glad I did. Gym arrived quickly in perfect condition. It was easy to set up and I I have not had one single problem with it It is sturdy and well made. You can target the muscles you want without putting pressure on your spine and make your workouts harder by height adjustment or number of reps. I have done as many as 60 reps. It is set up in a bedroom, doesn't take up much room and makes exercise fun.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SKEPTICAL BUT VERY SURPRISED
1/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I WAS IN THE MARKET FOR A HOME WORKOUT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT. I SAW THE REVIEWS ABOUT THE TOTAL GYM 1400 SERIES AND WAS SKEPTICAL , TO MY SURPRISE THOUGH, IT WAS VARILY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER AND ALL THE PIECES AND TOOLS WERE PROVIDED. THE TOTAL GYM 1400 HAS SEVERAL LEVELS FROM BEGINNERS TO MORE ADVANCED AS I PROGRESS. I AM JUST INTERESTED IN HAVING GOOD MUSCLE TONE AND BEING IN GOOD PHYSICAL HEALTH. I CAN ALSO FIT IT BEHIND THE COUCH OR UNDER MY BED WHEN COMPANY COMES.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent workout
9/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent construction and works great
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Truly a Total Gym
7/24/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Whether you have used free weights or cable machines before, the Total Gym does it all. The only difference is that you use your body weight for resistance. Virtually any muscle group can be worked just by changing body or hand position. Quality construction and excellent design as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642858, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-