Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 613 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

613 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

613 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
322
4 stars
189
3 stars
45
2 stars
23
1 stars
34
1-20 of 613 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 613 total reviews
1-20 of 613 reviews
Manicure without manicure pricetag
6/17/2012

Customer review by valia

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by valia
by valia

I got Sally Hansen Salon Effects in Animal Instinct in my Influenster Spring Beauty VoxBox. I've been wanting to try them for awhile. The results were amazing: my nails actually look like I got my nails done professionally. The directions were easy enough to understand though there was a bit of a learning curve. My only recommendation would be to use a top coat, which wasn't in the included directions. My nails started chipping within a couple days because I didn't use a top coat. I still think Sally Hansen Salon Effects is a good product and I'd like to try other patterns.

valia
Virginia, USA
Gender:Female
Great
6/22/2012

Customer review by cbilly48325

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by cbilly48325
by cbilly48325

I love this product if i had nails lol. It last long and has amazing colors.

cbilly48325
Fife, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Amazing!!!
6/3/2012

Customer review by goobsmom

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by goobsmom
by goobsmom

I am in love with these!! I have had mine on for almost 3 weeks trying to review them to see if they will fall off or chip and they haven't!! I have even gone swimming, done dishes, used relatively harsh cleaning chemicals, etc and they are still on!! I went out and bought a second pair to put on after I take these off!!! I received the kitty kitty ones in my influenster voxbox and I love them! while i wouldn't have picked a leopard print for myself I would have picked others!! However, I have received so many compliments its unreal! I have even had complete strangers pick up packs of them after talking to me about them! Having a 2 year old I really don't have time to wait for my nails to dry and this makes doing nails so much easier!! Not to mention a perfect "salon" manicure without paying the price!! I really hope Sally Hansen keeps these around for a long time!!! They also have amazing prints and plain colors and I love doing bold looks on my nails! I will be trying tattoo much next!!

goobsmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love them
9/2/2016

Customer review by Cherthejoy

4.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Cherthejoy
by Cherthejoy

I would give these an "excellent" if they were more widely available. I have such a hard time finding them. Each store seems to carry one or two designs (and typically not the ones I want). I would love to see Sally Hansen have their own online store with free shipping with a purchase minimum. I'm not sure how many years I have been using them but I have tried many other brands (including the trendy Jamberry...which I HATE), and these are by far, the easiest to apply, the best fitting, the thinnest and the most durable. They have slight stretch ability to them that allows for better coverage and nail fit. The only reason I remove them is that my natural nail grows out. Two weeks EASY...three weeks the nail has just grown out too far. No chipping, no peeling. My natural nails are weak, and these protect them from splits and tears so they grow out. The only downfalls is the availability, and not enough styles. Also, some stores keep them on the shelves too long and I have purchased some, on more than one occasion that have dried out in the package. If that happens, they will not adhere...at all. I get compliments galore on them. Sure, once in a while you get a wrinkle in them and they can take a while to learn to put on well...but not long. Also, because my nails are short, and they have pattern on both ends, I can carefully apply one, trim it, flip it and put the other side on the opposite finger getting two out of each strip. How great is that? I'm not interested in gel nails and having to have more than one container of stuff to apply or a light dryer or any of that noise. Please don't ever discontinue these Sally and please offer your own online store. It's not useful to have to shop online at a different vendor per style and then pay postage per multiple outlets which often ads up to more than the price of the product. That has resulted in me not buying them and only opportunistically finding them. Love them.

Cherthejoy
Oregon, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Tedious overall, but worth it
7/9/2012

Customer review by Danikt76

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Danikt76
by Danikt76

I applied my first set just before the 4th to be a little festive. I was in a hurry and skipped the swipe of nail polish remover over the nails to remove any oil, but overall the product worked as it should. We hosted a Fourth party and after prep, dishes, etc...the polish stayed on perfectly. The majority of these reviews are prior to removal. These nail strips DO NOT come off easy. I had to buy acetone nail polish remover and after 13 cotton pads later, the polish was removed. I saw a post on here stating to cut the nail strips in half for shorter nails and I was able to use just the one package, so a big Thanks to you for the tip. I didn't have to open the other package, so no worries about the strips drying out! This time I followed the directions to the tee and will be able to give a better review later. These are great fun with a decent selection. My negative is that there is one pinky size and it is just too small and I had to cut a super huge strip down to fit mine.

Danikt76
Boise, ID, USA
Gender:Female
Fun nails!
8/29/2016

Customer review by Bee527

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by Bee527
by Bee527

I love fun and easy to use nail art that makes a stmt. Have used this product on and off the last couple of years. Wish there were more selections and they'd bring back "Check, Please!". Check, Please! was perfect for car/race events.

Bee527
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very easy and quick to put on!
7/19/2016

Customer review by brittandco

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by brittandco
by brittandco

LOVE these things! PLEASE make more designs and solid color strips! I work in a daycare and I refuse to do anything that takes a lot of time or money for my nails, even if it is an awesome design, because of how quick my nails get chipped from the day-to-day preschool teacher duties. These strips are the best in terms of ease, affordability, and durability. I can easily get at least a week and a half use, two if I really try, with these nail polish strips. Don't compare these to the nail stickers which are yes- half the price, but twice the hassle, and half the lifetime as the real nail polish strips. PS-Don't skip the clear top coat, it really makes a difference in how long they last.

brittandco
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
one awesome experience, one terrible.
12/30/2012

Customer review by mmk13

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by mmk13
by mmk13

the first time i bought this product i was amazed, it worked AWESOME. i had the pink and black zebra print ones, easy to put on while i had a two year old jumping all over me, and lasted for a couple weeks. i recently bought black with gold and silver sparkles on them for new years. they are the worst things i have ever used on my nails EVER. first of all they wouldn't stick to the edges, and started peeling within the first day. couldn't stop the chipping. then when i decided to take it off just as it says with nail polish remover it turned into a gel/gooey gross mess and just spread around and got all over my skin, i tried soaking my fingertips in nailpolish remover, that didn't work tried soaking cotton balls and tin foil to attach them and soaked my nails that way. that didn't work. now i have to go to work and my fingertips are black and i can't get the polish off. i am very dissapointed with this pack that i bought. i am hoping it was just this type, but honestly i will never use the black/sparkles again.

mmk13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fun and innovative
6/22/2012

Customer review by StephS22

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by StephS22
by StephS22

I've been eyeing this product and am glad I finally got a chance to try it. It's a very innovative and unique idea. I love how simple and quick it is to apply and how long it lasts. It usually takes me about 20 minutes to do my nails (on a good day!) and I always have to clean a bit of polish of off my skin. It also takes major concentration and time to create designs. I'm not that creative, so that takes time, too. It's so nice to be able to choose one of these designs and apply in less than 10 minutes. These are designs that I would never, in a million years, be able to mimic or think of. I have gotten so many compliments on my nails. People are always so shocked and ask me how I managed to make the designs, and I tell them that I used this product. This is a great idea and makes it so much easier for those who love crazy nails, but don't always have the time to paint them! My only complaint is that the price is slightly higher than I would like to spend since I could get salon manicure for a few dollars more.

StephS22
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome, easy to apply, i love these!
6/4/2012

Customer review by BettyGirlMakeup

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by BettyGirlMakeup
by BettyGirlMakeup

These are fantastic. It comes with plenty of strips to match to your nail size and a little nail file, that has a buffer on one side (to help prep your nails beforehand) to file off the remaining strips. I have acrylic nails and I get a solid 14 straight days of wear before I start to see any type of "chipping". I have to say though, that around that 14 day time period, the chipping is very minimal and sometimes I get longer, so I would say that I get about 14+ days before I see any chipping or wear. These strips are incredibly easy to put on, too! Not all strips are created equal, though and I found that certain styles have a thicker strip and they were more difficult to apply than the others. It's difficult to know to know which ones will be thicker but I can share with you my experience: the blue and pink glitter style and the lace style - were thick and took me longer to apply. It took longer to file off the edges as well. Overall, these are fantastic and I say if you haven't tried these yet, THEY'RE A MUST!!

BettyGirlMakeup
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Easy to use!
8/7/2016

Customer review by Lowella

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by Lowella
by Lowella

Got this for a present and omg it's so easy, it takes no time to finish it, no mess, no drying time and the designs are amazing.

Lowella
Tucson, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it! Love it!! Love it!!!
5/5/2012

Customer review by glensmuffin

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by glensmuffin
by glensmuffin

I came across these at the local store and fell in love with the "Booty Camp." Figured I'd give it a try but honestly expected it to come out looking like a hot mess. Thought it'd take more practice and patience than I'm willing to put into it to get a decent application. I was wrong! It was so easy and came out looking great from the first try. The next test was how long would it last. I figured it'd be all chipped and yucky looking within a couple days. Wrong again!! I did put a topcoat on and am pleased to say it lasted 8 whole days with only minor chipping. Now you're probably saying, "only 8 days," but believe me, that's a miracle for me. I've never had a paint job last more than 5 days before. Until now... To top it all off, I had sooo many compliments on my nails with these strips. Everyone thought I'd paid a lot of money at the salon. They couldn't believe it when I told them I'd done it myself. :) I'm telling everyone I know to get these.

glensmuffin
Oklahoma, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So fun and easy to use!
7/23/2016

Customer review by Mramirez

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Mramirez
by Mramirez

Please make more colors and prints. They are so easy to use. I love them!!!

Mramirez
Haymarket, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WARNING: These will RUIN your nails!!
8/18/2012

Customer review by WcMc

1.0 stars 8/18/2012 by WcMc
by WcMc

I admit, when I first saw this product was so excited! I bought three sets immediately; a patterned set, a glitter set, and a solid color set. I tried all three sets, back to back to back. NONE lasted more than a week, and the glitter set didn't even last a DAY!! After I removed the final set I noticed my nails felt much thinner and extremely weak. I chalked it up to the prepping I had to do before applying each set (the filing and buffing). However, a few days later, my nails started to peel!! I have NEVER experienced this in all my life! I have no doubt that the condition my nails are in now, is a direct result of this product. As "cool" as they appear, they are not worth the damage they have caused. I can see a distinct line in my nail bed from where the strips were applied and where my new nails are growing in. Thankfully, my new nails appear to be their healthy normal selves. Some friendly advice, DO NOT buy this product, unless you don't mind having to deal with peeling. ultra thin, weak nails. IN which case... buy a bunch.

WcMc
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Surprisingly good!
7/28/2012

Customer review by projectkastra

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by projectkastra
by projectkastra

I was skeptical at first, but I found some strips on clearance and decided I had to try them. After having them for a few weeks I began to apply them. I must say the worst part of using these is putting them on. I found that it was hard to peel back the plastic to stick onto your nails. It took me about 45 minutes to get all the nails done. Afterwards, they look pretty fantastic! If you looked closely you could see where they overlapped over the cuticles, but other then that they looked amazing. There are two reasons that this does not get 5 stars. 1st: They are a PAIN in the butt to get on the first time you use them. I was very confused on you file them down to match you nail based on the pictures in instructions and what they said. 2nd: I'm not sure why they give you only 16 strips. I guess because they assume you are going to mess up 6 times? I actually used only 7 of the strips for all 10 fingers. All in all, a great product!

projectkastra
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
great value compared to going to a salon
5/5/2012

Customer review by brigandie

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by brigandie
by brigandie

I have been using these nail strips for over a year now and still love them. I can usually get 2 manicures out of 1 pack by using the top part that I gently file off, turn it around and put it on another nail. I do always put a top coat of clear nail polish over them, which helps to make them last longer. They usually last 10-14 days on my fingers and at least 3 weeks on my toes. I have noticed that since I have been using these, my nails look whiter and grow longer! If an edge starts to lift up, I just dab a little clear nail polish underneath the edge and that usually does the trick. I save some of the pieces that I file off for repairs if needed, by wrapping them up tightly in plastic. I simply trim the extra piece to fill in any chips and use clear nail polish to help it stick onto my nail. It usually blends in pretty well so that you cannot even notice, unless you look really closely. I still get so many compliments on my nails and I love that they keep coming out with new patterns to try! Sally Hansen keep the good products coming!!!

brigandie
Glassboro, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expensive and don't work.
10/21/2013

Customer review by Craftigran

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Craftigran
by Craftigran

I am so disappointed. I bought the first box which included the LED lamp. Opened the first container and put on the nails, following the directions exactly. I was interrupted, came back to do the other hand and absolutely no sticky stuff on nails. Re read the directions and nowhere does it say to use immediately after opening. I opened the second package, and it was barely sticky. So, I went back to the store and bought another box. This box had the same thing, one container with nothing sticky and the other with barely sticky. I was very careful with the nails, including putting on rubber gloves, which I never do normally. Within two days the nails were coming off and in three days, they were almost completely off. So, for a lot of work and the cost of the light and two packages of nails, I am left with nothing. Checked the instructions again and it says nothing about using the nails immediately. On your website, I do see that. I wish I had seen that first. Still doesn't negate the fact that two of the packages had no sticky on them at all.

Craftigran
British Columbia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pretty impressive!
7/27/2012

Customer review by clg283

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by clg283
by clg283

I have never been able to wear nail polish for loger than a day day and a half tops. However, this product has changed that! I have used 2 differnt sets of them and both have held out VERY well. The 1st I used I was sceptical and I put it to the ultimate test a day at the Lake in the water the whole day! No peeling, No chipping...It was perfect! It lasted 7 full days! keep in mind that the box says UP TO 10 days. There are no gurantees on it to last a full 10 days but 7 is 6 more than i get with a manicure! Over all I'm verry happy with the product. I am telling all of my firends about it. The only thing I am having trouble with is the lack of grown up options. It's difficult to get away with zebra print or cheetah print at work. The other thing I would warn you about is that it really is not easily removed with nail polish remover. I had to scrub the 1st set of multiple times before it would come off completely.

clg283
atlanta ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Favorite
6/17/2016

Customer review by BarrieElizabeth

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by BarrieElizabeth
by BarrieElizabeth

I never use liquid nail Polish anymore. Once I discovered these amazing things I never went back. No waiting for it to dry or smudging. Goes on perfect every time. I just wish the drugstores around me had a bigger selection. I usually only have a few to choose from.

BarrieElizabeth
Nitro, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Lives up to all the hype
7/1/2012

Customer review by bdbear

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by bdbear
by bdbear

I have been using these nail strips for months now, and I love them! Yes, it is a bit time consuming to put them on, but no more so than applying a few coats of nail polish over a couple hours time. The benefit in this case is that once they are applied, you're done, no dry time needed. There is a bit of a learning curve to applying them. For instance, my nails are kind of small so not all the strips fit me exactly. I discovered that if I use a cuticle scissors and make tiny dots (holes) around my cuticle on the excess nail strip, that I can trim an even line around my nail to remove the excess and not rip any of the strip that is on my nail. Also, if they start to wear a little bit from the edges after 6 or 7 days, if you file your nails down a bit, the strips will look fresh for another few days. I love these things, have them in all different colors/patterns. And I can make one box last for 2 manicures because my nail beds are rather small and my nails don't grow superlong. So it is a wonderful value for me! Beware of the cheap ones, they don't last nearly as long.

bdbear
Red Lion, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 613 total reviews
1-20 of 613 reviews