Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 44 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Benjamin Trail NP Pistol
12/1/2016

Customer review by PAULRIDES

3.0 stars 12/1/2016 by PAULRIDES
by PAULRIDES
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not the best purchase I ever made. Price on WALMART internet is good vs WALMART store of around $72 plus tax, or Bass Pro of over a $100 plus tax. I thought to take it back when I first got it. It was hard to break the barrel (ttok a very hard thump), not hard to pump after breaking it (did not really need the extra thing to make pumping it easier). It was pretty inaccurate and not too powerful (can't expect too much at 525 FPS lead pellets). It shot low and front sight is so high, you run out of adjustment on rear sight to get pellet up to aim point. Presently, I decided to keep it, but probably only use it for target in basement (about 42 foot have been shooting it and get scatter with most within 4 inch target, some within 3 inch. It did get better after running over 100 or 200 rounds threw it. I did finally hacksaw (hand hacksaw) the front Optical Sight off. Then checked aim and found I could adjust rear sight to get the hit points to the aim point with adjustment screw around the half way point. So, I filed a bit more off the front and glued (Plumbers GOOP) the front optical sight back. Last few targets staying in about 4 inch spread at 42 foot with supported gun. Here is a 7 inch target with 30 rounds. Shot 10 at a time and numbered them as 1, 2, 3. I don't know what happened on the first 10 (# 1's). First three were in the black and rest were considerable off to right and some down. I did play around with adjustments and aim point on the last two sets of 10 (#s 2 and 3). This is my range setup. I shoot Break Barrel Pellet Rifle at the box target that has more backing (papers stacked int eh box). The Break Barrel Pistol can shoot any target, it does not penetrate thru the cardboard and carpet used for rest of the targets. As matter of fact, don't think it has much more power than my CO2 BB Pistol and for sure less than the BB 10 Pump Rifle pumped to 3 or 4 times.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAULRIDES
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Benjamin Trail NP
5/2/2017

Customer review by TACMAN69

2.0 stars 5/2/2017 by TACMAN69
by TACMAN69

This gun really only shoots around 450-500 fps on a good day when I had one. It is a very smooth gun, but it simply lacked the power and accuracy to effectively to animals to death. This is not the worst pellet pistol I've seen, but there us definitely better out there. I personally would not trust the power plant of this weapon system either. If u want the most solid pellet pistol for small game, I recommend the crosman American classic multi-pump pistol.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TACMAN69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Honestly I was about to take it back!
12/20/2015

Customer review by truthhunter

3.0 stars 12/20/2015 by truthhunter
by truthhunter

Out of box I could not adjust back sight high enough to hit anything close! Weak in power. It lock up and would take some effort to get un jammed. Has a ridicules long trigger pull. Honestly I was about to take it back! I took a paper towel and placed it on top of gun and fired. This blew a hole in the paper towel above barrel break this told me it was not sealing correctly. The plunger or chisel shaped rod that holds barrel closed was not moving freely, it felt gritty in its movement. I added oil and worked it in and out. Cleaned it and repeated this until it moved smoothly. After that I had no problem with it jamming, leaking presser or dropping barrel when shot. I also could Break barrel with out adapter. With increased power and barrel no longer dropping when shot, the rail sights now work well. I did try to replace the adjustment screw for the trigger but this made it impossible to Break barrel open., So put original screw back in. I am still am not thrilled with power at 5 feet pellet will only dent a vegetable can. Well made but very heavy for a pistol

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
truthhunter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Pistol
5/9/2014

Customer review by EjShooter

4.0 stars 5/9/2014 by EjShooter
by EjShooter

I have come to enjoy this pistol. Although when I first purchased it and started shooting it, my shots were all over the place elevation-wise. Then I noticed that the break-barrel wasn't closing the same every time. There is, as I discovered, an adjustment for the amount of pressure or tension that the barrel locks with. After removing the 4 pistol stock screws and removing the action assy, I adjusted the locking pressure screw to its maximum tightness and then reassembled the gun. Accuracy is now dead on and I can maintain a 2" group shooting offhand at 10 yds. 1" group from bench at 10 yds. Not bad for the open sights. Also, It is worth moving the rear sight forward a bit to tighten up windage accuracy. One more thing: I replaced the trigger-pull adjust screw with a slightly longer one to shorten the pull to almost a hair trigger.

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EjShooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Break Barrel Pistol
4/13/2014

Customer review by ASingleParent

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by ASingleParent
by ASingleParent

i like the gun, however the weight distribution of it is off as its very front heavy, and the gun is rather large compared to Co2 pistols, other than that i like the break barrel nitrogen part as i do not need to buy Co2 for it, 1 pump and off i go, the gun seams very solid and accurate up close even with lead pellets, power seams good for what is states it can do, i shoot several different caliber pistols, so it has been a challenge getting used to the front heavy issue, the sights are really tall compared to other pistols, but are good for people that have a harder time shooting guns with iron sights, overall it is a good replacement with inexpensive ammo for shooters that can not find 22LR ammo for plinking... If the manufacturer would distribute the weight better and lower the sights, maybe even tighten the gap in the sights a bit i would have given this gun 5 stars easily...

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASingleParent
white city, oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Nice pellet pistol for the money
3/12/2016

Customer review by Kevin

5.0 stars 3/12/2016 by Kevin
by Kevin

I own several pellet guns but this is my first nitro charged gun. For $59 I am very pleased so far. I have only shot 50 - 75 pellets thru it and so far I have not had any issues. Another 100 plus shots and it should be close to being broken in. I am able to load it without the use of the plastic extension. Using that piece and having to remove it before every shot would get old real fast. I do agree that it tends to shot high but fortunately by adjusting the rear sight all the way down has corrected that problem. As far as power it seems to have ample velocity and maintains an even projectile at 50 feet which to me is great for a pellet pistol that produces approximately 500 fps with Crossman hollow point pellets. I would definitely recommend this pistol for backyard shooting and occasional squirel control.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Air Pistol
11/26/2013

Customer review by 07KaimukiZ06

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by 07KaimukiZ06
by 07KaimukiZ06

1st of all I was concerned about the pellet size .17 ? It is listed on the box .177 Cal so it is easy to buy ammo. I had several air pistol brands and types CO2,pump and spring single cocking break barrel but this is the first Nitro Piston type air gun that I own. You can adjust the back sight to pretty much zero in into the 10 ring. Also the fiber optic sight pretty much stands out red in the front and green in the rear. Another thing I like to mention is the noise level for a 625 FPS this is really quiet. Thumbs up also for the price! Great Gun Buy It.

Was this review helpful? (55) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
07KaimukiZ06
Honolulu,Hi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
After reading reviews all over the web I bought it
2/9/2014

Customer review by 67Ragtop

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by 67Ragtop
by 67Ragtop

The worst thing I found was that it hits low and the sites would not adjust enough. Yes, that is true. Until you tighten the barrel pivot screw ONE click. I had put a red dot on it and was pretty happy with it until today when it seemed the power had dropped off. I think it is finally broken in now after about 300 shots. It seemed better if I "slammed" the barrel closed instead of just pushing it closed. I placed a tissue on top of it and fired after "slamming" it closed and it blow a hole in the tissue. I tried again with just closing it and it blew a bigger hole. I went back to what I had read some where and removed the front screws and loosened the rear screws. This allowed me to remove the lock screw and move the barrel pivot screw ONE click/notch. It is a little stiffer to c0ck now but didn't damage the tissue when I did the test again. Biggest thing was the pellet hit about TEN INCHES HIGHER now! I had to make a major adjustment to my red dot site. I could probably go back to the original sites now but think I like the red dot. This should have increased the FPS also but it is too late to check can penetration tonight. Earlier today it was hitting about as hard as my 1377 pumped three times. Hopefully it is hitting harder now since it is not leaking at the breech.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
67Ragtop
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Fun but figure out the quirks
4/30/2017

Customer review by Ishkatan

4.0 stars 4/30/2017 by Ishkatan
by Ishkatan

I just bought the Benjamin Trial NP .177 - ordered on Wed. 3 am, promised Friday but arrived Thursday - can I complain that it came a day earlier than promised? :) Having read complaints about it shooting low I cranked the sight up until the screw came out, then turned it in a couple turns and shot at a Tide bottle 25-30 yards away. On the second shot I aimed a little higher and heard the sound of plastic being hit. 4 out of 6 shots hit. Yes it's a big bottle - but at 30 yards i'm pretty happy. For the next several shots I took the break assist device off - and missed. Then I aimed way low and - hit. The break assist device is NOT symmetrical when you look into it. The top is much thicker than the bottom. I am convinced that the pellet is pushing air when going through the device and that the higher pressure at the top of the device is pushing pellets down a little. Whenever I shoot without it I have to aim several inches lower than when I shoot bare... but both configurations work just fine. I am considering putting some small holes in the top .. The gun itself is heavy and out of the box has a long trigger pull. After a while I got used to it and I have yet to play with the adjustment screw. improving the trigger is on the play list. The handle of the gun is very large and has knobs that are uncomfortable. The combination of handle, weight and long trigger pull make holding the sights on target very difficult. I've leared to pull the trigger back, pause for another breath, then finish the pull. Because the gun is shaky it's hard to judge accuracy but I am pretty happy. When I am careful I can hit consistently in a 3-4 inch area at 25 yards. The key is being able to look through the bright green rear and red front and align them consistently with the target. When I shot at 10 yards with the gun sitting on my railing I stated getting some pretty small consistent groups. I can tell when I pull a shot due to the trigger or running out of breath during the long pull... or don't align the same way on the target. At this point I am convinced that the gun is pretty accurate and the problem is the shooter not being steady or consistent. Power is much less than my .22 Gamo Swarm Maxxim rifle. At 9 yards it will punch through the bottom of a nut tin with light pointed Daisy pellets but not with 10.9 gram domed Crossman pellets. Neither punches through an industrial sized gallon can (the Gamo Swarm punches through at 25 yards.) Still, it delivers a satisfying Whack sound. I've had pellets bounce back all the way to me at 10 Yards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ishkatan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs taller rear sight and better trigger pull
6/30/2014

Customer review by Occasionalbuyer2088

4.0 stars 6/30/2014 by Occasionalbuyer2088
by Occasionalbuyer2088

Overall I really like the pistol. It's well made and appears to have pretty good quality components. It is fairly heavy but that is beneficial for me as being over 50 my nerves aren't what should be. I've shot over 600 pellets through it (eliminating 16 rabbits, 3 Jacks, and one chipmunk all under 30 yds away) and still shooting 2" pattern at 50 ft from kneeling position. Once I compensated for the low rear sight I never saw some of the wildly inaccurate shots during break-in as stated in the manual. I've always used with the cocking attachment and definitely easier using with it than without - front sight can be pretty rough on the hand. On the negative, the rear sight is mounted at least 1/8" too low. If the mounting block for the sight was that much thicker would probably solve this problem. I ended up putting a red dot sight on in place of it. The other negative is trigger pull is pretty heavy, which is sort of odd considering I also have a Trail Titan XS rifle (similar nitrogen operation) and trigger pull on it is longer but lighter. In addition, the trigger action stays at the point you pull until you reach point gun fires. In other words if you pull the trigger a short ways and then release you won't have that pressure to pull when you next pull the trigger. So you sort of preload the trigger with partial pulls. Threw off some of my shots until I got used to it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Occasionalbuyer2088
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much more pistol than I'd hoped for. ..GREAT..
1/18/2014

Customer review by smurfy55

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by smurfy55
by smurfy55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, a powerful and accurate gun. Would recommend to anyone that has small pest problems or just likes to target shoot. [Definantly not a toy]...

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smurfy55
n/w ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the money its OK
5/13/2016

Customer review by Airguns360dotcom

3.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Airguns360dotcom
by Airguns360dotcom

LOL @ truthhunter in previous comment. He or She is on the dot with their review. First one I received I just skipped looking at the sights because they were so useless and not designed properly to hit mammoth at 5 feet. I took it across the chronograph and with regular lead pellets 7.56 gr I was lucky to get about 450 fps. It was averaging at 420 FPS after 500 shots. I see people on YouTube and all over shooting this gun across the chrony with the same pellets I used and claiming 520 FPS and with PBA ammo from 600 to 800 FPS!!!! LOL. I returned mine thinking I got a lemon. The replacement I just received, same power, registering about 400 FPS..now I'm down to 350 to 380 FPS..seriously?! I'm just going to use it for practice in my office shooting dart boards. Before I do I may test the seal, since it may not be set right on these guns.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Airguns360dotcom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Accurate, poweful, and a great deal
12/30/2015

Customer review by BobbyInArkansas

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by BobbyInArkansas
by BobbyInArkansas

Got this for my adult son for Christmas and put about 500 rounds through it. Very accurate and powerful for a pistol. I concur with other reviewers that said the rear sight needs to be moved forward on the dovetail to get the proper elevation adjustment. Trigger pull is very long but easily fixed by using a longer 3mm bolt in place of the factory bolt. Had a problem with losing some air where the barrel and breach come together. This is a common problem with all break barrels and can be checked by using a piece of tissue paper laid across the seam where the two meet. If it leaks air (power) the tissue will blow upwards and/or tear when the pistol is shot. Called Crosman and they sent out a new seal and washer to fix it for free. Great customer support. Gonna get one for myself now.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbyInArkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fulfills its expected use with accuracy
10/20/2013

Customer review by HISfriend

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by HISfriend
by HISfriend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

More accurate than anticipated in the 30 foot range. Not having had it for long... I have not been able to investigate its long term possibilities, but doing very well thus far.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HISfriend
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not impressed
3/16/2017

Customer review by chukkk

1.0 stars 3/16/2017 by chukkk
by chukkk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cant kill rat at 4 feet ( body shot) needs to be .22 cal for pest. Good tin can shooter

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chukkk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well built
8/11/2015

Customer review by silveradoss

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by silveradoss
by silveradoss

I could not get vertical adjacent any where near zero. Called Crosman and was advertise to move rear sight as far forward as possible. Works great now. Have 2 modifications to do that I viewed on Utube. Will be even happier when done.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
silveradoss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
3/6/2017

Customer review by Joe828

5.0 stars 3/6/2017 by Joe828
by Joe828
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Practical, efficient & cool

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joe828
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best I have ever had
10/28/2013

Customer review by Cyoun42

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by Cyoun42
by Cyoun42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Makes me look like a sharp shooter! A lot of fun to shoot!

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyoun42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All good,and best price online.
9/12/2016

Customer review by Danielslash

5.0 stars 9/12/2016 by Danielslash
by Danielslash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Stock sights not won't adjust very well,replaced with laser and works perfect!other than that great gun! Great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danielslash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does NOT live up to the Benjamin name
8/25/2015

Customer review by cycleguy

1.0 stars 8/25/2015 by cycleguy
by cycleguy

Could have been a great little gun, but it's not. Poorly designed and made. Had to fiddle with the barrel lock-up plunger and spring just to get it hitting a piece of paper. And from what I hear that is pretty much the norm for these. Don't waste your money. Get a Crosman P1377 or a 2240 for less money and way more bang.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cycleguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews