Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 53 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
Sort by: 
1-20 of 53 reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Benjamin Trail NP Pistol
12/1/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not the best purchase I ever made. Price on WALMART internet is good vs WALMART store of around $72 plus tax, or Bass Pro of over a $100 plus tax. I thought to take it back when I first got it. It was hard to break the barrel (ttok a very hard thump), not hard to pump after breaking it (did not really need the extra thing to make pumping it easier). It was pretty inaccurate and not too powerful (can't expect too much at 525 FPS lead pellets). It shot low and front sight is so high, you run out of adjustment on rear sight to get pellet up to aim point. Presently, I decided to keep it, but probably only use it for target in basement (about 42 foot have been shooting it and get scatter with most within 4 inch target, some within 3 inch. It did get better after running over 100 or 200 rounds threw it. I did finally hacksaw (hand hacksaw) the front Optical Sight off. Then checked aim and found I could adjust rear sight to get the hit points to the aim point with adjustment screw around the half way point. So, I filed a bit more off the front and glued (Plumbers GOOP) the front optical sight back. Last few targets staying in about 4 inch spread at 42 foot with supported gun. Here is a 7 inch target with 30 rounds. Shot 10 at a time and numbered them as 1, 2, 3. I don't know what happened on the first 10 (# 1's). First three were in the black and rest were considerable off to right and some down. I did play around with adjustments and aim point on the last two sets of 10 (#s 2 and 3). This is my range setup. I shoot Break Barrel Pellet Rifle at the box target that has more backing (papers stacked int eh box). The Break Barrel Pistol can shoot any target, it does not penetrate thru the cardboard and carpet used for rest of the targets. As matter of fact, don't think it has much more power than my CO2 BB Pistol and for sure less than the BB 10 Pump Rifle pumped to 3 or 4 times.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
partridges galore
9/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great buy, recommand, wish it came with a waist holder for carrying. PROS: accurate, hits hard, no CO2, not very loud, can hunt partridges* CONS: Little heavy for most, trigger is hard or need get used, piston gun so 1 shot-reload, inspect your gun before buying, sights sometimes disaligned. safety is easily removed Been carying this pistol in my backpack while moose hunting, been shooting partridges here and there on my way with this awesome pellet pistol. It is a little heavy to carry and I do not have a waist holder for this gun, but whatever the partridges just move when you are about to walk on them and fly a few steps away so I have time to get this pistol from my backpack and shoot em easy at around 10 yards. I shoot a box of 250 pellets not so long ago when I received this pistol, i got close enough grouping after a while I was stacking holes. I just knock the partridges and collect them. have fun great buy, cant wait to see the new mark version
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
$10 MORE IN THE STORE, ORDER ONLINE & PICKUP
9/27/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have not broken in the pistol yet, so the barrel breaking effort and shot velocities may be very far off until several hundred rounds have been fired. The sights are nice but do not elevate enough, so the pistol shoots low at 10 meters. The break barrel action even with the assist device is over 39 pounds, I have to break it over my knee. I have only shot 25 pellets, so it is not broken in, but my chronograph recorded velocities between 321 and 407 with Crossman flat point pellets which average 7.45 grains. I shot Raptor alloy pellets, avg 4.2 gn, which showed velocities between 395.6 to 459. The overall feel of the pistol is that it is heavy but manageable, the grips are large, sharp and knobby, my hand hurt after 25 rounds. The trigger creep is long and a little heavy breaking at just over 7 pounds. Accuracy is spread over a 4 inch area but the pistol is not broken in and I shot freehand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent Pistol
5/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have come to enjoy this pistol. Although when I first purchased it and started shooting it, my shots were all over the place elevation-wise. Then I noticed that the break-barrel wasn't closing the same every time. There is, as I discovered, an adjustment for the amount of pressure or tension that the barrel locks with. After removing the 4 pistol stock screws and removing the action assy, I adjusted the locking pressure screw to its maximum tightness and then reassembled the gun. Accuracy is now dead on and I can maintain a 2" group shooting offhand at 10 yds. 1" group from bench at 10 yds. Not bad for the open sights. Also, It is worth moving the rear sight forward a bit to tighten up windage accuracy. One more thing: I replaced the trigger-pull adjust screw with a slightly longer one to shorten the pull to almost a hair trigger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Honestly I was about to take it back!
12/20/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Out of box I could not adjust back sight high enough to hit anything close! Weak in power. It lock up and would take some effort to get un jammed. Has a ridicules long trigger pull. Honestly I was about to take it back! I took a paper towel and placed it on top of gun and fired. This blew a hole in the paper towel above barrel break this told me it was not sealing correctly. The plunger or chisel shaped rod that holds barrel closed was not moving freely, it felt gritty in its movement. I added oil and worked it in and out. Cleaned it and repeated this until it moved smoothly. After that I had no problem with it jamming, leaking presser or dropping barrel when shot. I also could Break barrel with out adapter. With increased power and barrel no longer dropping when shot, the rail sights now work well. I did try to replace the adjustment screw for the trigger but this made it impossible to Break barrel open., So put original screw back in. I am still am not thrilled with power at 5 feet pellet will only dent a vegetable can. Well made but very heavy for a pistol
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Break Barrel Pistol
4/13/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i like the gun, however the weight distribution of it is off as its very front heavy, and the gun is rather large compared to Co2 pistols, other than that i like the break barrel nitrogen part as i do not need to buy Co2 for it, 1 pump and off i go, the gun seams very solid and accurate up close even with lead pellets, power seams good for what is states it can do, i shoot several different caliber pistols, so it has been a challenge getting used to the front heavy issue, the sights are really tall compared to other pistols, but are good for people that have a harder time shooting guns with iron sights, overall it is a good replacement with inexpensive ammo for shooters that can not find 22LR ammo for plinking... If the manufacturer would distribute the weight better and lower the sights, maybe even tighten the gap in the sights a bit i would have given this gun 5 stars easily...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice pellet pistol for the money
3/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own several pellet guns but this is my first nitro charged gun. For $59 I am very pleased so far. I have only shot 50 - 75 pellets thru it and so far I have not had any issues. Another 100 plus shots and it should be close to being broken in. I am able to load it without the use of the plastic extension. Using that piece and having to remove it before every shot would get old real fast. I do agree that it tends to shot high but fortunately by adjusting the rear sight all the way down has corrected that problem. As far as power it seems to have ample velocity and maintains an even projectile at 50 feet which to me is great for a pellet pistol that produces approximately 500 fps with Crossman hollow point pellets. I would definitely recommend this pistol for backyard shooting and occasional squirel control.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Benjamin Trail NP
5/2/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gun really only shoots around 450-500 fps on a good day when I had one. It is a very smooth gun, but it simply lacked the power and accuracy to effectively to animals to death. This is not the worst pellet pistol I've seen, but there us definitely better out there. I personally would not trust the power plant of this weapon system either. If u want the most solid pellet pistol for small game, I recommend the crosman American classic multi-pump pistol.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice looks
10/8/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought a trail np shoots good but the cocking sleeve broke can't find another one
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good idea poor execution!
9/24/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just purchased this pistol on 09/21/17. The first thing I do with any gun is I test it. The first thing I noticed, it is well made, but the sights cannot be adjusted to hit on target at 10 meters, it shoots 3 inches low with the rear sight at it's highest elevation. I chronographed the first the 10 shots with 7.45 gn match wad cutter lead pellets, 323, 334, 351, 326, 346, 339, 346, 339, 325 ,321 fps, avg 335.0 fps. I was not impressed. The trigger is brutal, I ran the trigger adjust screw all the way out and in. All the way in the creep is heavy and very long before the trigger breaks. All the way out the screw is loose and subject to falling out due to vibration but the creep is lighter before the trigger breaks at 7.3 pounds. I then broke in the pistol by shooting 250 more pellets and chronographed 10 more rounds, 342, 351 323, 334 333, 329, 332, 359, 317, 329 average 334.992 fps. Consistent but not even close to the stated 525 fps for lead pellets after firing 270 pellets. The handle is a good size but the balance is too far forward. The molded grips are brutal for long shooting sessions, the nubs are large, sharp and deep causing pain after 50 or so shots. I resorted to cotton glove liners when I broke this pistol in. I did not check accuracy in my initial testing because I feel the barrel needs "seasoning" (1,000+ rounds) and cleaning before it's true potential is achieved. I feel this pistol needs repair of the nitrogen ram as it is only delivering 64.8 % of the rated power of 525 fps. I cannot see using this for pest control, the reason for my purchase, as it may only injure rats and mice shot at distances over 10 meters.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
After reading reviews all over the web I bought it
2/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The worst thing I found was that it hits low and the sites would not adjust enough. Yes, that is true. Until you tighten the barrel pivot screw ONE click. I had put a red dot on it and was pretty happy with it until today when it seemed the power had dropped off. I think it is finally broken in now after about 300 shots. It seemed better if I "slammed" the barrel closed instead of just pushing it closed. I placed a tissue on top of it and fired after "slamming" it closed and it blow a hole in the tissue. I tried again with just closing it and it blew a bigger hole. I went back to what I had read some where and removed the front screws and loosened the rear screws. This allowed me to remove the lock screw and move the barrel pivot screw ONE click/notch. It is a little stiffer to c0ck now but didn't damage the tissue when I did the test again. Biggest thing was the pellet hit about TEN INCHES HIGHER now! I had to make a major adjustment to my red dot site. I could probably go back to the original sites now but think I like the red dot. This should have increased the FPS also but it is too late to check can penetration tonight. Earlier today it was hitting about as hard as my 1377 pumped three times. Hopefully it is hitting harder now since it is not leaking at the breech.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Air Pistol
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
1st of all I was concerned about the pellet size .17 ? It is listed on the box .177 Cal so it is easy to buy ammo. I had several air pistol brands and types CO2,pump and spring single cocking break barrel but this is the first Nitro Piston type air gun that I own. You can adjust the back sight to pretty much zero in into the 10 ring. Also the fiber optic sight pretty much stands out red in the front and green in the rear. Another thing I like to mention is the noise level for a 625 FPS this is really quiet. Thumbs up also for the price! Great Gun Buy It.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Needs taller rear sight and better trigger pull
6/30/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall I really like the pistol. It's well made and appears to have pretty good quality components. It is fairly heavy but that is beneficial for me as being over 50 my nerves aren't what should be. I've shot over 600 pellets through it (eliminating 16 rabbits, 3 Jacks, and one chipmunk all under 30 yds away) and still shooting 2" pattern at 50 ft from kneeling position. Once I compensated for the low rear sight I never saw some of the wildly inaccurate shots during break-in as stated in the manual. I've always used with the cocking attachment and definitely easier using with it than without - front sight can be pretty rough on the hand. On the negative, the rear sight is mounted at least 1/8" too low. If the mounting block for the sight was that much thicker would probably solve this problem. I ended up putting a red dot sight on in place of it. The other negative is trigger pull is pretty heavy, which is sort of odd considering I also have a Trail Titan XS rifle (similar nitrogen operation) and trigger pull on it is longer but lighter. In addition, the trigger action stays at the point you pull until you reach point gun fires. In other words if you pull the trigger a short ways and then release you won't have that pressure to pull when you next pull the trigger. So you sort of preload the trigger with partial pulls. Threw off some of my shots until I got used to it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Benjamin NP Pellet pistol
9/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This .177 pellet pistol is super accurate right out of the box. It is very quiet as well as so much fun to shoot. The break barrel assist handle is a great idea and easily sets you up for next shot. I recommend this product to anyone who enjoys shooting at an affordable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much more pistol than I'd hoped for. ..GREAT..
1/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Overall, a powerful and accurate gun. Would recommend to anyone that has small pest problems or just likes to target shoot. [Definantly not a toy]...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Trial np .177 pistol
9/6/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Heavy pistol - hard pump action- loading pellets you will need very small fingers. Other wise if you can overcome the above problems it can shoot very well
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For the money its OK
5/13/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LOL @ truthhunter in previous comment. He or She is on the dot with their review. First one I received I just skipped looking at the sights because they were so useless and not designed properly to hit mammoth at 5 feet. I took it across the chronograph and with regular lead pellets 7.56 gr I was lucky to get about 450 fps. It was averaging at 420 FPS after 500 shots. I see people on YouTube and all over shooting this gun across the chrony with the same pellets I used and claiming 520 FPS and with PBA ammo from 600 to 800 FPS!!!! LOL. I returned mine thinking I got a lemon. The replacement I just received, same power, registering about 400 FPS..now I'm down to 350 to 380 FPS..seriously?! I'm just going to use it for practice in my office shooting dart boards. Before I do I may test the seal, since it may not be set right on these guns.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Accurate, poweful, and a great deal
12/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this for my adult son for Christmas and put about 500 rounds through it. Very accurate and powerful for a pistol. I concur with other reviewers that said the rear sight needs to be moved forward on the dovetail to get the proper elevation adjustment. Trigger pull is very long but easily fixed by using a longer 3mm bolt in place of the factory bolt. Had a problem with losing some air where the barrel and breach come together. This is a common problem with all break barrels and can be checked by using a piece of tissue paper laid across the seam where the two meet. If it leaks air (power) the tissue will blow upwards and/or tear when the pistol is shot. Called Crosman and they sent out a new seal and washer to fix it for free. Great customer support. Gonna get one for myself now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fulfills its expected use with accuracy
10/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
More accurate than anticipated in the 30 foot range. Not having had it for long... I have not been able to investigate its long term possibilities, but doing very well thus far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well built
8/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I could not get vertical adjacent any where near zero. Called Crosman and was advertise to move rear sight as far forward as possible. Works great now. Have 2 modifications to do that I viewed on Utube. Will be even happier when done.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641753, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-