Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 238 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

238 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

238 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
2
1 stars
35
1-20 of 231 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews
Good Bare Bones Machine
7/5/2013

Customer review by TexasWerewolf

4.0 stars 7/5/2013 by TexasWerewolf
by TexasWerewolf

I researched the components inside this machine and compared it to other places like custom built XTreme Gear PCs and the Egg. This turned out comparable and cheaper. There are a few problems that made me knock off a star, but they may not be your problems. Here's my list of pros and cons to judge for yourself. Pros: It's standard now, but comes with restoration disks. Doesn't come loaded with a bunch of extra software. You decide which virus protection program, email client, games, browser and whatever else you want / need. This only comes loaded with Win 7. For some, this might be a less palatable feature because it doesn't come loaded with an antivirus program. Since I prefer my own, I mark it as a pro. Quiet and cool. I live in a hot environment and any computer I've owned since Windows 95 has been the victim of heat. My CD/DVDs would pop out of the drives hot to the touch from regular reading / use or just sitting in the drive. This case on this computer is very well ventilated and there's room for an extra fan if you want one. (Walmart sells them for under $10 on the site and you can match your blue LED lights.) However, but you may not have a plug on the power source. See "cons" below. As one person mentioned, the top of the case is a mesh / has holes like the front so you may not want to put anything up there. For me, that's a plus because it was more ventilation. The vid card updated itself as soon as I got connected to the internet. It comes with drivers, but I didn't have to do anything thanks to Nivdia. I'm not used to Win 7 and this is my first experience at finally leaving Vista behind. Both the computer and the OS are fast. I'm on cable for the internet and the most complex, difficult to load pages on the internet are instantaneous. Obviously, it plays games. I don't have anything brand new to throw at it, but Dragon Age II is running flawlessly on the high res pack with Direct X 11. Cons: Whoever put my computer together put the hard drive in crooked. It still ran, nothing was damaged but it wasn't put in straight. Power source is only 300 watts and will not allow for internal add ons. There's no extra SATA connections inside coming from the power source, but the motherboard does support an additional hard drive. A 1TB hard drive is hardly small, but I'm used to running 2. I swapped the 300 watt out for a 600 watt with more power and plugs. Only one USB port in the front and 4 in the back. 2 of these ports are taken up by the keyboard and mouse. I have a set of USB headphones, printer, a card reader for my camera that I use several times a week (so it stays plugged in), a Nook that gets plugged in once in awhile, flash drives, and external hard drive. One port is not enough for me. I solved this easily by a purchase of a USB hub to give more ports. Probably prone to dust. With the great ventilation on top, it's probably more likely to get dusty as well. The mouse and keyboard are made for a gamer with extra buttons on both. They're very lightweight and somewhat flimsy, however. I don't expect them to withstand a lot of abuse, but I may be wrong. Only time will tell with that. Right out of the box this is going to probably suit many people's needs in a computer. For the few things that it doesn't do, you can make minor upgrades to customize it how you like it. Considering the price, I'd recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (221) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasWerewolf
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for gaming!
6/7/2013

Customer review by Punkisnotdead

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Punkisnotdead
by Punkisnotdead

Runs big hungry games like world of Warcraft at high graphics. Destroys everyday tasks!!! Buy this computer

Was this review helpful? (254) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Punkisnotdead
Lake Elsinore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful computer
3/6/2014

Customer review by MarlenusofAR

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by MarlenusofAR
by MarlenusofAR

When I got this computer for Christmas, I immediately upgraded the ram to 16 gigs and its well worth it (about $142 & $10 rebate). Powerful is the way to best describe it. Does everything I need to do and expect to do. Can watch HD, 1080 youtube video's at full screen, using 32 bit color. Same with watching tv shows and movies. When I am not watching those, I switch back to 16 bit color and blaze across the internet. Quiet, meets 99% of my expectations, including high resolution full game mode. I have no problem opening a dozen tabs in my browser. I bought 2 of these computers, one for myself and one for my daughter. We liked it so much, I just purchased a third one for the wife, it's that good. One the con side, it doesnt have a card reader. and the keyboard is very cheap. Several keys stuck in the down position and had to pry them up, but once done, the keyboard works well. Overall, for price, well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (125) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarlenusofAR
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Power is a bit weak
11/9/2013

Customer review by Evileye626

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by Evileye626
by Evileye626

I got my computer within 5 days, The system is fast and loads really quick from cold start. Nice cool glow only problem with it for me is the power supply with only 300 watts when u run updates or games the power supply creates a high pitched buzzing in the headset because the PC is pushing the power supply's limits. I would suggest also buying a cheap 650 watt Power supply for $60 that way you can upgrade the graphics card too.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Evileye626
Westminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic for the price
2/21/2014

Customer review by BlkCurtains

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by BlkCurtains
by BlkCurtains

This is my first desktop purchase in 7 years. I admit I am more of a console (and oldschool at that) gamer, but I play a lot of simulation games and MMOs on my laptop. Tired of hardware failures with no easy fix, I started shopping for a desktop PC. What made me go with this one was the price, the hardware (which goes above and beyond what I need) and the fact that the iBuyPower customer service seems to be amazing given they answer all questions. Out of the box and setup in minutes, it started right away. I love that Win 7 doesn't have a lot of extra nonsense on it (I skipped the upgrade to 8 because of bad reviews). It boots almost instantly. The fans I don't find to be too loud at all, but I like white noise so maybe that's just me. I live in Florida and my room gets hot since it faces the setting sun. I'm constantly checking the PCs temp and it hasn't gotten truly hot yet - my laptop gets way, way hotter. Games I play are titles like Sims 3 - I have ALL expansion packs and ALL stuff packs and it loads in less than 5 minutes. Graphics totally maxed and it never hangs or stalls. New SimCity, same deal. It handles older games from GOG obviously insanely well. I'm confident that I won't be "left behind" and this PC can handle any game that fits my personal needs. I'm equally confident to upgrade it when the time comes; the case is huge, everything is easy to see and access. I am -very- happy I decided to buy this.

Was this review helpful? (65) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlkCurtains
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looking for a starter gamer machine? get it.
2/13/2014

Customer review by GGBRO

4.0 stars 2/13/2014 by GGBRO
by GGBRO

This came early, which was sooo awesome, as you know waiting is so hard to do for new stuff! I took it out, and plugged it in, installed some games, and began... i was worried I would lag a bit seeing as its a 630 niv card, there are much newer ones out there now, but really.. wow i dont lag one bit on most basic games, Counter Strike, Warframe, Second Life, league, and moore. I was really surprised at my fps so high. The fans might seem loud to some not used to a gamer machine, but not to gamers Im sure. You can upgrade this, just get a better power supply if you get a bigger card. The only thing that annoys me is the USB ports in back, are tight fit, but thats cuz my old one had some on top, and was nice that way. So far lovinggg this!

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GGBRO
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 7 HURRAY! Great PC to boot.
6/17/2013

Customer review by Floridian1984

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Floridian1984
by Floridian1984

Bought a ZT Tower from Walmart.com 14 months ago, naturally it died just after the warranty expired. Never go with an off brand or you will regret it. Wanted Windows 7 and went with this computer. I've never owned such a FAST PC even though the ZT had more RAM and a stronger processor. This computer is lightning fast with everythign I have thrown at it and boots up from cold in well under a minute. Well worth the money... Just wish it came with more than the 2 RAM Slots in the hard drive, had wanted to recycle some for the DDR3 Cards from the ZT, but it only has 2 card slots both occupied with a 4GIG card each.

Was this review helpful? (73) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Floridian1984
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth it for the price
9/26/2013

Customer review by fordtough5660

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by fordtough5660
by fordtough5660

If you are looking for a gaming rig that you do not have to put together that can play most games at decent settings, then the WA550B is a steal. For the low price that Walmart is offering, this PC comes with everything you need right out of the box. Also, if you are a non-technical guys who does not have computer building expertise (guilty), then having a pre-built computer like this just makes sense. It comes standard with Windows 7 64bit which, in my opinion, is more intuitive than Windows 8. As an added bonus, there is not a lot of preloaded programs that you will never use on it as well. My only minor concerns, and they are more nit picky than anything, are that the fan is a little bit loud, the mouse and keyboard simply are good but not great, and the power supply is a little low for my liking. For a starter gaming computer, it works very well.

Was this review helpful? (86) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fordtough5660
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth The Money!!
7/22/2014

Customer review by LietMaximum

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by LietMaximum
by LietMaximum

This gaming PC is worth the money!! I been playing loads of games on it on ultra settings and it runs so smooth and silent! Everything about this PC is positive except one thing, the PSU... Although a quick adjustment on buying a 650Watt 80Bronze PSU would be beneficial. Forgot to mention, the case is huge so upgrades are possible on further expanding the potential of this cheap and efficient Gaming PC.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LietMaximum
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Starting Platform for gamer
9/16/2014

Customer review by OldGray42stillgamin

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by OldGray42stillgamin
by OldGray42stillgamin

Good starting Platfform for gamer.. especially for a gamer wanting to make upgrades themselves later. Something to keep in mind is this model has a very easy to work with tower ,large enough acomadate pretty much anything you want to throw in it.But the down side to this setup is the very low end power supply. 350 watts is enough to run what it comes with and maybe a few more fans. but thats about it. If you are going to upgrade to a Better graphics card in the future you will need to upgrade the power supply as well. This power supply doesnt even have more then one plug for a hard drive. so if you want a second hard drive for backups or recovery ,again you will need to upgrade the power supply as well.For me it is exactly what i expected "a good starting platform to slowly build a great gamer while still being able to play games. First upgrade will be more Ram 8 gigs is great ,16 will be Greater Second will be a power supply probably a 750 watt so i wont worry about power for some time. Third will be a secondary hard drive wich i have several extras on hand already. Fourth a much better graphics card .. Lastly Fans as needed All this is fairly easy to do with this kind of tower wich was made to do easy upgrades.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldGray42stillgamin
North Platte ,Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer for the Price
11/25/2013

Customer review by RimExperts

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by RimExperts
by RimExperts

I use the computer for our business... but more importantly, I play games, and they can have moments of lag. If you play World of Warcraft or StarCraft etc, you need to have a good computer to keep up. I've gone through my share of computers and this computer is the best yet. Its boots up super fast and has no problem keeping up with games I have had latency problems on before. The graphics are great and I'm very please with the price point.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RimExperts
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Machine!!
12/9/2013

Customer review by BladedOne

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by BladedOne
by BladedOne

For me this was my first "bare bones" gaming rig and I must say, I'm impressed. I like the fact that it just comes with Windows 7 and not all the other software that other manufactures put on a PC that you never use. This lets you start customizing right out of the box. For my needs, It has all the power and speed that I need. It has lots of SATA ports and expansion bays to add more optical drives, card readers, or whatever you need. I have seen other reviews about this PC on here and people say that the fan is loud. Yes the fan is louder than other PC's, but when you consider that it has about five fans, (the power supply fan, the processor fan, the fan you can see on the side, it has a fan in the front, and another on the rear) it will be a little louder. For now the only thing that I am wanting to add to it is a media card reader. I'm not sure what one button is on the top of the box, next to the power button, but all in all it is a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (82) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BladedOne
Neosho, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than the price leads you to believe
4/26/2014

Customer review by JohnPHX

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by JohnPHX
by JohnPHX

I bought this system a month ago to replace my 10 yo Win XP system. I was not interested in a Win 8 system, wanted decent performance, and did not want to spend a ton of money. I do not play any games, mainly e-mail, Netflix, and web browsing. Cheaper systems would have worked for me, but I wanted something better so I could also try running my CAD software from work at home. This system outperforms my work system that is only 2 years old and cost almost 3 times as much. I am now looking to get my company buy one for me at work. There a few minor things to note: The wireless mouse and keyboard have no software to assign button functions. The 3 case fans are lit with white LED's, (there is space for 3 more case fans if you are worried about overheating). The front panel USB ports are upside down from normal. I have not tried a multi-monitor set up yet, but it looks like the video card will support it. I am very happy with this system, and glad I took a chance with a brand I had no previous experience with.

Was this review helpful? (40) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnPHX
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2013

Customer review by java55s

5.0 stars 6/15/2013 by java55s
by java55s

Good machine, very upgradeable

Was this review helpful? (39) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
java55s
newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
1/1/2014

Customer review by IHeartStarTrek

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by IHeartStarTrek
by IHeartStarTrek

After reading all the reviews, good and not so good, I decided to pull the trigger and purchase this unit. I figured my odds were 70 to 30 that I would get a quality built machine...and I did! Unit arrived at store and was well packaged to prevent shipping damage. I purchased an HDMI monitor with included HDMI cable and it works fine, although none of the ports on the back are identified as HDMI, the monitor still connected and worked. Computer is easy to set up, just simple plug and play. I had to buy a wireless adapter to connect to the internet because this unit is upstairs. The adapter simply plugs into a USB port and after software download, I was connected to internet in about 10 min. I was also able to connect to my wireless printer downstairs. Computer is designed well and has plenty of USB ports and an extra one on top for quick and easy access. Power button is also on top. Mouse and keyboard are great and both come with several nice added features like a "Sleep button" and "back button". Computer runs lots of games like Minecraft, Batman, WOW and others with no lag. The fan noise is not bad, more like white noise in the background. Loaded up Windows 7 with ease and unit does not come loaded with any pre-installed junk software that you never use...a definite bonus. I also added external speakers, again no problems. Unit boots up quickly and runs smoothly. You will need to create your own System restore/repair disk, which only requires 1 standard RW-CD. You can also backup your computer using a 1gb zip drive (this is in addition to the system restore disc). Both tasks are very easy to do. I would strongly recommend the 3yr protection plan for $89, good value for peace of mind. Overall, this is a solid, well built, affordable gaming computer. If you are on the fence because of bad reviews, hop off the fence on the " I want one side" and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IHeartStarTrek
San Diego, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value Computer
1/30/2014

Customer review by Rose516

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by Rose516
by Rose516

I really liked that it only had Windows 7 and related programs installed and none of the other junk you get when you buy a brand name computer. I set it up and turned it on answered the questions and was up and running in about 5 minutes. It comes with 3 case fans, a fan on the graphics card and the power supply fan and they are pretty loud. I am a little disappointed that the power supply is only a 400 watt, that is the minimum that you can use for all the items that are running. I had it shipped to my home and received it before the expected time. All in all it was a good purchase and I am happy with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rose516
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great so far
6/17/2013

Customer review by bowhunter333

4.0 stars 6/17/2013 by bowhunter333
by bowhunter333

Only had for a week runs perfect so far no problems at all. My only complant is i wish it came with antivirius software. Other then that it runs every 1st persen shooter i have flawlessly. Also is a very good looking tower and comes packaged very well.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bowhunter333
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3.80GHz Processor?
6/23/2013

Customer review by WheresmyotherGHz

3.0 stars 6/23/2013 by WheresmyotherGHz
by WheresmyotherGHz

When making the decision to purchase this computer, the top selling point was the 3.80 GHz processor. When I setup the computer and reviewed the system stats, 2.80 GHz is the indicated processor speed. What's up with that?

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WheresmyotherGHz
Macon,GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value though a little loud.
7/2/2013

Customer review by PreacherBoysBrewery

4.0 stars 7/2/2013 by PreacherBoysBrewery
by PreacherBoysBrewery

Great computer for the money... I have been happy with the graphics card and the simple fact it comes loaded with Windows 7. My wife uses the computer for WOW and Diablo. It handles both game without any problems. The only draw back is the cooling fan is a little bit loud. But you get used to it. Also when I went to turn it on the power button wasn't seeded all the way and popped out. Simple fix... I took the tower apart and popped it back into place. I have been very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PreacherBoysBrewery
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not good
9/6/2014

Customer review by 10130128999

1.0 stars 9/6/2014 by 10130128999
by 10130128999

Was fast and worked good when I first got it then after the first day it started to blue screen on me returned it after this started happening

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10130128999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews