Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 817 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

817 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

817 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
476
4 stars
191
3 stars
44
2 stars
29
1 stars
77
1-20 of 809 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 809 total reviews
1-20 of 809 reviews
Google Chromebook
11/20/2013

Customer review by ComputerTutor

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by ComputerTutor
by ComputerTutor

I got my Chromebook (samsung series 5) shortly after they were released (3-4 years ago) and it has been the best internet appliance I"ve owned. I didn't call it laptop purposely - it isn't a laptop. It has no programs, but uses apps from the google market that can be added or removed in a heartbeat when ever the need arises. I've been a computer tech for over 20 years and have been through a laptop or two, but I've never had one last this long, without becoming outdated. That's a biggy for me - the Chromebook updates itself ever time you turn it on. The interface is constantly changing a little - if you're the kind that gets upset every time yahoo re designs their web mail then a Chromebook is not for you. If you're the type that lives on the bleeding edge of technology like myself - you'll love it. Recently I just got it duel booting with Chrome and Ubuntu 12.4 LTS so on the rare occasion that I need to do something that Chrome doesn't do (ie Skype) ubuntu takes care of it. The overhaul design is beautiful, the keyboard is very close to a macbook quality keyboard. I'm learning new things about it every day - even after 4 years. That'll never happen with Windoz or Mac without "Paying for an update" When I first got it Chrome didn't even have a desktop. Look at the attached photo of my desktop now. How good?

Was this review helpful? (1265) (184)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerTutor
Medford OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
A few tidbits of info
7/6/2013

Customer review by beastial

4.0 stars 7/6/2013 by beastial
by beastial

Technical Specifications: Samsung Chromebook, model XE303C12-A01US Color: Silver Dimensions: 11.4” x 8.09” x 0.7” Weight: 2.43 lbs. Operating System: Google Chrome OS CPU Type: Samsung Exynos 5 Dual Core 1.75GHz, 1MB Cache Screen Size: 11.6” Widescreen Support: Yes Screen Resolution: 1366 x 768 LCD Features: 200-nit Brightness Anti-reflective LED HD display Memory Specs: 2GB DDR3 On Board Hard Disk: 16GB SSD GPU/VPU: Integrated Graphics Video Memory: Shared system memory Graphic Type: Integrated Card WLAN: 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Bluetooth: Bluetooth 3.0 for keyboard and mouse Ports: 1 x USB 3.0 1 x USB 2.0 Video Port: Yes (Available only with dongle sold separately) 1 x HDMI 1 x Headphone/MIC combo Audio Port Speakers: 3W Stereo Speaker (1.5W x 2) Touchpad: Scroll Scope, Flat Type Keyboard: 74 keys Card Reader: 3-in-1 (SD/SDHC/SDXC) Webcam: 0.3MP AC Adapter: 40-watt Battery: 2 cell/ LI-PO 4080mAh 30Wh Battery Life: Up to 6.3 hours After purchasing this model of Chromebook a couple of weeks ago, I was mildly surprised to find that there were several “routine” questions I had about the device, the answers for which were very difficult, if not impossible, to find by searching around on the internet. So, for what it’s worth, here are some things I’ve learned about the Samsung Chromebook, either by conducting my own experiments or by finding the info in the nether regions of the internet... 1. Bluetooth: Yes, just as advertised, you CAN pair the Chromebook up to a Bluetooth keyboard or mouse. You CANNOT at this time, however, pair it up to a Bluetooth audio device. This fact is not very well publicized and, the first day I was goofing around with the Chromebook, I couldn’t understand why it would pair up to my iHome iDM8 Bluetooth speaker for about two seconds, and then just as quickly unpair again. This issue (#204431) has been fixed, and when the Chromebook automatically updates to stable Chrome OS milestone/release 28, Bluetooth audio should be enabled. Stable release/milestone 27 came out on 23 May 2013. This means that, since stable versions of Chrome OS are released roughly every three months, stable milestone/release 28 should be available by about 23 August 2013. In the meantime, if you want to switch to the beta or unstable developer release/milestone of Chrome OS to see if Bluetooth audio works on your Chromebook, you can do this by doing the following: a) click on the bottom right hand side of the screen where the time, wifi signal, etc. are shown. b) click on “settings” c) click on “help” d) click on “more info”. (Fyi: this screen also shows you the release/milestone of Chrome OS you are currently running...) e) under “channel”, click on the release of Chrome OS you want to use (Stable, Beta, or Dev-Unstable) 2. Which formats are the USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports on the Chromebook capable of reading? I could find absolutely no information anywhere on the internet about this topic, so I had to do my own testing to find the answer. Using an ADATA 16GB USB 3.0 flash drive for the test, I formatted the flash drive to FAT32, NTFS, and Ext3/Ext4. The Samsung Chromebook was able to read the flash drive formatted to each of these formats with no problem. I also plugged an RCA MP3 player formatted to FAT16 into the Chromebook’s USB 2.0 port, and it was able to read the format and all of the mp3 files on the device flawlessly. 3. Use of External Hard Drives: Tried out three different Western Digital portable hard drives and a Seagate 3TB desktop hard drive. The Chromebook was able to read and write to all of them with no problem. 3. Video Playback: According to the manual, the Chromebook can only play MP4 video files. However, as unlikely as it would seem, quite a few people on the internet have mentioned that they were able to take MKV video files, simply change the file extension to MP4, and then play the files on their Chromebook. Here’s what I found to be true, at least as far as my particular Chromebook goes: I used the movie “Branded” and transcoded it to MKV, codec H.264, 1690Kbps variable Bitrate, AAC/165Kbps audio, 852 x 480 resolution. I then formatted the ADATA 16GB USB 3.0 flash drive to NTFS and copied the transcoded movie onto it. The Chromebook was unable to play the file. I then changed the file extension to MP4 and tried to play it again. Once again, the Chromebook was unable to play the file. I then transcoded the movie to MP4 and tried to play it. The Chromebook was able to play that file with no problem. Bottom line here: My Chromebook can only play video files which have been fully transcoded to MP4 format. 4. Video Playback from Google Drive: Uploaded the transcoded MP4 copy of “Branded” to Google Drive. The Chromebook was able to play the file via Google Drive Viewer with no problems. 5. Google Cloud Print: There are two ways to print from this Chromebook. The first is to buy a cloud-ready printer. I don’t know much about these printers, but it looks like the cheapest ones run about $60. The other way is to use another computer with Google Chrome Browser installed on it. I tried this method, and was (no joke) able to set up Google Cloud Print and print a test page from my Chromebook in under two minutes. The details: My desktop computer dual-boots Windows 8 and Ubuntu 13.04 operating systems. It has two printers hooked up to it, an HP Deskjet 3521 and a Brother HL-2230. Although it specifies in the Chromebook instructions that you must use a Mac or Windows PC, I set up Google Cloud Print using Ubuntu with no difficulty, and was able to print on both printers. Here are the steps for setting up Google Cloud Print: a) Open the Google Chrome browser b) Click on the little icon at the top right-hand side of the screen that has three little lines on it. c) Click on “settings” d) Scroll all the way down and click on “Show Advanced Settings” e) Click on “Google Cloud Print” f) Sign in to your Google account g) Click on “Add Printers” h) Click on “Add All Printers” Remember, whenever you print using this method, your other computer needs to be on (not asleep or hibernating...). 6. Streaming video: Tried streaming the pilot episode of “Breaking Bad” via Netflix, Amazon Video and Google Play Movies. It looked great on Netflix and Amazon Video but, strangely, it stopped and buffered so often on Google Play Movies that it was not watchable. I tried this several times over the course of a couple of days and got the same results each time. 7. ODF documents (.ODT, .ODS, .ODP): Installed OpenDocument Reader from the Chrome Web Store and was able to view all my LibreOffice ODF documents, both the downloaded ones and the ones stored on Google Drive and Dropbox. This is a read-only feature, though. If you want to edit one of these documents, you’ll need to upload it to Google Drive and make sure that you have enabled “Convert uploaded files to Google Docs format” in Google Drive settings. Alternatively, you can use the “LibreOffice on rollApp” app from the Chrome Web Store. The app seems to work pretty well. 8. How to see the file size of a file on Google Drive after you’ve uploaded it: On Google Drive, in the upper right-hand side of the screen, click on “sort”, then click on “quota used”. 9. Other observations: a) Kindle Cloud Reader works great on the Chromebook; and, yes, you can download Kindle ebooks for offline reading. b) You get 100GB of cloud storage for two years for free on Google Drive when you buy a Chromebook. The two years doesn’t necessarily start the day you buy the Chromebook. It starts the day you sign up for the 100GB. When the two years are up, you will not lose the stuff you uploaded to Google Drive. You’ll always be able to access your data even after the two years are up. You just won’t be able to add any more data to Google Drive unless you choose to buy more storage. c) Downloading music from both Google Play and Amazon onto the Chromebook is very easy, and it’s almost instantaneous. (Seems to be much faster than downloading to Windows PC or Android tablet...) d) How to turn on Caps Lock: Alt-Search e) This Chromebook has a matte screen instead of a glossy screen. This means that there is almost no glare, but the picture might not look quite as vivid as it would on a glossy screen. Personally, I’d prefer the matte screen on this thing over the glossy screen on my Windows 8 Laptop any day... f) The Chromebook has a pre-installed file manager that is just called “files”. It usually automatically opens when you insert a drive into one of the USB ports. You can also bring it up by selecting the “files” icon in the Chromebook’s app manager. “Files” works fine, but it would be nice if there were other file managers, such as Android’s ES File Explorer or XPlorer, available for the Chromebook. It would also be nice if there were media player apps available for it that could play MKV video files. We’re still in the early days of Chrome OS development, so it wouldn’t be surprising at all if apps such as these become available in the near future. g) Yes, the battery is supposed to be easily replaceable if you’re willing to take the bottom cover off by removing a few screws.

Was this review helpful? (378) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beastial
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Best bang for your buck!!!
11/5/2013

Customer review by chrome92

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by chrome92
by chrome92

Its about time Walmart started selling these! I have had this Chromebook for almost a year now and absolutely love it! I bought it in January as a second computer with the intentions of only using it to take notes on in class; that changed real quick. Its crazy how easy it is to get used to this thing. The keys are so nice to type on, the battery lasts all day, and the computer is never slowed down by bloatware, spam or viruses. I love the fact that it automatically saves what your working on (no more essays lost due to battery dying or forgetting to save). This Chromebook is so light that half the time I forget this thing is even in my backpack. My Chromebook gets used (and abused) daily and after almost a year of use it is still as good as it was the first day I bought it. For $250 your getting a lightweight laptop that boots in seconds, lasts over 6 hours on a single charge, never gets viruses and is simple to use. And for those people who complain because it doesn't have Itunes, just convert your music to Google's version of the software or just hack the Chromebook to use Ubuntu and find a program that will store your songs and read your apple devices. Hope this helps!!!

Was this review helpful? (603) (135)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrome92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Perfect for my eeds
12/16/2013

Customer review by Rochpappa

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Rochpappa
by Rochpappa

I've been using my Chromebook now for about 3 weeks and getting used to it before writing a review. Please understand that this is not a laptop computer, that said, it's capabilities are exactly what I was looking for. The speed which it has on start-up is fantastic and connecting via my netgear at home is quick and simple (much better than waiting for my old HP Windows XP desktop to boot up just to go on-line). It did take some time to figure out how to get pictures from my digital camera to load, but once I did I was impressed with the editing tools, and the ease to paste pictures to my e-mails. Also my grandkids love the filters for the built in camera that make their heads look like balloons, etc. I do wish it had a front facing camera as well. The apps that it comes with are somewhat useful but there are plenty available at the Chrome store for free. All in all for the money I think this product gives a good bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (212) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rochpappa
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a great buy!
7/26/2013

Customer review by mariesworld

4.0 stars 7/26/2013 by mariesworld
by mariesworld

I really like my Chromebook! Is cute & small but not TOO small to where it's hard to type comfortably. It starts up really fast and as soon as you sign into your Google account it pulls up everything that you've ever saved to it. All your bookmarks... everything. It doesn't support java, silverlight, and does not use Skype. But for everything that it cannot do, Google has some sort of app for it. This computer only runs on Wi-Fi. It tells you that you can use offline apps but it hasn't worked well for me. Using the mouse pad and certain key functions can be a new experience (like right clicking) but as soon as you turn it on the first time they walk you through everything. I love it and I take it everywhere with me. It fits in my large Michael kors bag and is super light and doesn't weigh me down. This thing is super cute and convenient to use. But do not purchase this as your primary computer. This should be an add on to your collection. BTW... Have fun with the webcam and the features. Was laughing for hours!

Was this review helpful? (206) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mariesworld
Cincinnati, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/12/2013

Customer review by kankan54

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by kankan54
by kankan54

Very pleased with this chromebook. It is very light - perfect for travel. So much faster than my laptop. It is nice to go from one website to another so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (103) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kankan54
east texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Notebook I have ever had!!
10/21/2013

Customer review by chrome99

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by chrome99
by chrome99

I have waited a few months before writing a review. I wanted to start my online graduate classes before I wrote a review. I can't tell you how excited I am about this notebook. It meets all my expectations. It does not have Microsoft word, but the Google docs will convert it to word. I just simply e-mail it in word to my e-mail address. I then open the document and download the word document. I then post the document into my class website. The computer is super fast and the battery life is great! It is small and light. I am a school teacher and I can carry this Chromebook anywhere. I love that everything is saved on my Google chrome account. I can be anywhere and access my documents. I highly recommend this product!!

Was this review helpful? (272) (74)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrome99
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for anyone on the go
5/15/2013

Customer review by apiscesvalleygirl

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by apiscesvalleygirl
by apiscesvalleygirl

The Samsung Chromebook is a perfect laptop for anyone on the go! It boots up in less than 10 seconds and requires no "maintenance" like Windows laptops do. The keys and lettering are large, making it especially great for the older generation or those with less than perfect vision. It's an all around amazing invention!

Was this review helpful? (338) (99)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
apiscesvalleygirl
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light weight and fast!
6/16/2013

Customer review by NEPAAngel

4.0 stars 6/16/2013 by NEPAAngel
by NEPAAngel

I will have to work on the conversion of the doc's I have transferred to google drive and making my classic printer work with the cloud printing. That's only a few minor problems for me after fighting with my 6yr Acer w/Windows XP which I plan to take a hammer to. I do love my new google computer, no more: buring my lap, loud grinding noises, buying expensive security while your computer gets viruses any way, freezing up while some updates or what ever takes over the computer. Do not miss the disc drive and love that this computer is so light weight with a good sized key board. Good job google, but work on the ease of doc conversion and hooking up our classic printers!

Was this review helpful? (104) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEPAAngel
NePa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
FINALLY something for students!
7/12/2013

Customer review by B3right

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by B3right
by B3right

It is everything you need when you are a student. It may not run like every other computer, which from my point of view makes it better. It fast, light, and easy to use. If you are a student looking for something to take to class, do research, type papers, and surf the internet, then you will love this computer. It does take a little getting use to but overall, I am in love with it!

Was this review helpful? (138) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
B3right
Turlock, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/22/2013

Customer review by kentucky1231

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by kentucky1231
by kentucky1231

I picked this up just to use for a ebay pc and nothing more, i have an mac book pro and ipad already for personal use and the samsung chrome book runs right up there with them. I think i may even like my chromebook better its fast and has all kinds of neat apps. It has its own spreed sheet programs that are super easy and its on word docs also. For the price if you just want a comfy laptop that is fast and easy to understand this is for you. I wouldn't get this as a family pc its more for one person because you can personalize it just how you want.

Was this review helpful? (86) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kentucky1231
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/11/2013

Customer review by IHATEIPOD

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by IHATEIPOD
by IHATEIPOD

Pros: -Setup time is about a minute or less -Boot time from shut down is about 10 seconds -Boot time from sleep mode is instant -Google Drive (docs) acceptable replacement to MS Office -Spotify, Netflix, Hulu, Youtube (even 1080p) work flawlessly Cons: Only one - No mkv support. Yet. Other Thoughts: I was about 75% sold on this Chrome OS but then I saw that I could get a sleeve and free external harddrive and the chromebook for 244 I couldn't pass it up. After playing on it for a full day I am now 100% happy i made the decision

Was this review helpful? (111) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IHATEIPOD
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent computer for browsing the web
12/23/2013

Customer review by marylandfamily

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by marylandfamily
by marylandfamily

This is a great computer - everything worked perfectly right out of the box. Compact, lightweight, fast, and looks great. No learning curve as long as you know how to use a browser. This is perfect as a secondary computer. It may not be appropriate as a primary computer, but it's great for quick, easy access to the internet. I compared the Acer and the Samsung Chromebooks and decided on the Samsung. The Samsung has no moving parts (the Acer has an internal fan) and a longer battery life, plus I think it looks nicer (the Samsung is silver while the Acer is gray; the Samsung has a matte screen while the Acer has a glossy screen; the Samsung is thinner - but these are a matter of personal preference). Overall this is an awesome machine and you can't beat the low price.

Was this review helpful? (98) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marylandfamily
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cloud Device Extraordinairre
9/14/2013

Customer review by Markssis

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Markssis
by Markssis

Suits my purposes to a Tee. Bought it only to play my face book games that my phone could not and it works great! Turn it on and it boots up inside 10 seconds! Log in takes the time for you to type your credentials and the browser is ready in a flash! Stay logged in and close the lid to preserve battery power. Open the lid and your ready to go. Better than a tablet in that it has more Internet capabilities. Not a laptop, though. Don't expect to install or download programs, games or movies to watch while offline. This is a wonderful cloud device!! Connected to my phone's hotspot with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Markssis
Mohave Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Google Chromebook (Samsung)
2/24/2014

Customer review by JMC110

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by JMC110
by JMC110

This small laptop is thin, light, and easy to carry around. The processor is pretty fast, it can handle having multiple pages open on the web browser without any lag. I have also watched a few you tube videos with no delay or freezing. It operates with the google play store for apps, it also features google docs, a webcam, and much more. I have been using it for work, school, and personal...it has yet to let me down. I was skeptical at first, but I am glad I purchased this computer instead of an $800.00 laptop. There are multiple versions of the google chromebook, but I prefer the samsung, because I am a die hard fan of samsung products. Walmart carries this chromebook in store for $249.00, but if you purchase it online you can pick one up for $229.00. It's fast, light, great on battery (7hrs plus), boots up within 20 seconds, and it wakes up from sleep mode automatically when you flip it open. There is also no fan inside so it is ultra quiet. I am extremely happy with this purchase and I will be recommending this product to others...in fact, I know what I am giving to relatives for X-Mass this year...A CHROMEBOOK! lol.

Was this review helpful? (110) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMC110
Hackensack, NJ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice alternative to traditional laptop
4/13/2014

Customer review by liketheWMT

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by liketheWMT
by liketheWMT

As far as I can tell, the biggest difference between this Chromebook and a laptop is no Windows. I am able to do everything with this Chromebook that I did with my laptop, which only had to be replaced because Windows stopped supporting the software and it was too old for the newer versions. This device booted up immediately when I turned it on, it charges quickly and the charge lasts a good 8 hours. Updates are automatically added every time you boot it up. The screen is a good size, picture clarity on videos is good. The audio won't rattle the pictures on the wall, but it's sufficient for catching up on the missed eps of your favorite tv show. There is an HDMI port to connect to your TV if you want a bigger picture or louder audio. I was able to easily import photos from my iPhone. I haven't even begun to explore the other many apps available. The light weight makes the device very portable. At the very least, this is an excellent choice for your everyday needs like bill paying, web surfing, and watching videos.

Was this review helpful? (120) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liketheWMT
Columbia,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stable, secure, fast start up - Fabulous find.
8/16/2013

Customer review by ChrisDSR

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by ChrisDSR
by ChrisDSR

Fabulous. That says it all, but here's why: A. Secure and stable. My chromebooks (yes, I have two) have no security problems or constant needs for updates and software to keep it running. Google does all that. B. Almost instant start up every time! Just sign in to your google account and you're just where you want to be - online and ready. I think this computer should be marketed for the non-geek computer user. Each computer allows multiple users with total privacy from the others. Also can go online as 'guest' if a friend wants to try it out. No mixing of settings - no security issues. C. The Chromebook is a different kind of computer as it stores little on your hard drive. The Cloud (free) keeps your photos and your folders safe. It does not need (or require) downloads of softwear or security programs. It also does not install your favorite software. However (that that is a BIG however) google has tons of programs you can add to your online experience at will and with no charge either. D. I find the pad instead of a mouse difficult - but I am in my sixties. Change is hard. But in this case, I find it's worth the effort. And there is a usb for a mouse if you choose (no mouse included - a separate item). E. An excellent shopping machine. Easy, fast uploads with wifi. Also great video and cable viewing. F. Set up is wonderful. Partically non-existent. Like I said 'geek' free. G. There's so much more... My HP Win 7 is already showing signs of freaking out for me, but my Samsung Chromebooks are running strong and sure. There's just no comparison. Lynx based by far more user friendly than Windows/Microsoft. I only have high praise for this wondrous computer (internet machine). Most of all it requires no supervision by a in-house geek. It just works!

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisDSR
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
12/5/2013

Customer review by kimmyc47

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by kimmyc47
by kimmyc47

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! I bought this product based on a Fox News Tech expert saying it was a good buy. After only 5 weeks of owning this product the screen separated from the casing and the picture disappeared and was black with colored lines running throw it. I googled the item for trouble shooting and discovered this is an on-going problem and that Samsung refused to admit it. Sure enough I sent the unit to the Samsung repair center and was told by them it was physical damage and they would not cover it. The admitted they have a high number of complaints with this same issue but unless the cracking started in the very top center of the screen (not off to the side slightly as mine was) they would not cover the damage. In the 5 weeks I owned the unit it never left my desk top. Never. It would have been impossible for me to damage it in anyway. Very disappointed in Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (228) (93)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimmyc47
Doylestown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Laptop.
12/2/2013

Customer review by FreakNasty07

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by FreakNasty07
by FreakNasty07

I got this Chromebook 2 weeks ago as an early Christmas Gift, I love how fast everything runs on this Computer/Browser. it has a lot of good qualities like upgrades every time you turn it on, battery fully charges fast. saves every thing to your Google account in case you break or loose it, you can all ways get it back. its like and fits anywhere. I got the Hard Plastic Case for mine on line in Red, and the Neoprene Carrying case so it looks good and is well Protected. I like typing on it cause the keys have space in them, and that makes typing for me easier and keeps my speed up. only thing that I can't say I like about it is that I can't get it to work with my Wireless Printer but it works great with the HP Envy Printers that all use Icloud. so I will get another printer one of the Envy's so this will no longer be a problem. but I love this little device!! and would recommend it to anyone who wants a Computer that will be around for a long time, and is so much fun to use.....

Was this review helpful? (270) (115)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreakNasty07
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great little laptop for the money.
11/6/2013

Customer review by Lh51

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Lh51
by Lh51

Bought my Samsung Chromebook as a secondary computer, mainly for internet browsing, Facebook, and e-mail. I've had it about a month and it works great. Speedy processor, lightweight and easy to use (my main computer is a desktop HP running Windows 7). It takes a little getting used to as the keyboard is different (no delete key or function keys and no right click for copy/paste-menu item in upper right corner for that). So far, very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (55) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lh51
Mexico, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 809 total reviews
1-20 of 809 reviews