Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 869 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

869 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

869 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
497
4 stars
208
3 stars
49
2 stars
33
1 stars
82
1-20 of 861 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 861 total reviews
1-20 of 861 reviews
School laptop
1/7/2017

Customer review by Ebuli36

2.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Ebuli36
by Ebuli36

I am a high school student and at the school I attend these are the laptops we are given. The design and quality of the product is very well. I have countless times seen and heard stories of people dropping, and not breaking their laptop. The computer looks nice and is designed very well. Now for the performance. This being a school computer it has all sorts of things blocked and has many features that would be cool to have unusable. I also believe having all the schools safety software on it may slow it down. Overall its a nice laptop that looks professional and wont break.

Ebuli36
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good but not great
5/19/2014

Customer review by Johnnythegeek

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Johnnythegeek
by Johnnythegeek

Set your expectations low enough on a $250 notebook and you will be happy with the Chromebook. But make no mistake, its not without compromises. I have owned two, my first lost WiFi so I sent it in and Samsung service depot lost it. Best they could tell it went to someone else?? I got a refund from the retailer on Amazon. I waited a few months before buying another. I like the Samsung but its ARM processor the Exynos 5 while being cool and not needing a fan and providing good battery life are all positives. It quickly loses steam with multi tabs open. This hardware truly is not anything to brag on for performance. I have no problem with Chrome OS. It is a very light OS with limits, but that really helps the weak hardware. Keyboard is fine, touchpad is OK but needs more settings. Speakers are worthless mounted on bottom, and headphones help but volume still seems weak? Display is just OK and is not bright enough for outdoor work. For an inexpensive web access device. I find it more enjoyable over a tablet.

Johnnythegeek
Mount Morris, IL 61054, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Excellent Battery Life
8/2/2016

Customer review by had2haveit

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by had2haveit
by had2haveit

Because of work, and trying to keep my personal life separate. I purchased this not expecting a whole lot because I already have a Samsung Tablet. When I picked this up I was so surprised at how light it was, and to get the battery life I'm getting I quit packing around the charger. I'm easily reaching a full business day with checking emails, and working on reports. The keyboard also was very comfortable for medium size hands, and had great spacing to use. I also like that it pops into service the minute I open the lid. I love that I don't even know if I can turn it off. Since I'm already such a good fan it's nice that I can see already familiar looking screens with this and my laptop at home. Colors are sharp and pixels are very close enough to have great definition on the smallest of fonts. Sound wasn't bad either but I'm still trying to figure out where the sound is really coming from on the laptop. I'm certain I haven't discovered all that this laptop can do. I'm certainly not a expert. Thank You Samsung! I trust the name when I see it on electronics.

had2haveit
Springfield, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too much
12/6/2016

Customer review by mkhmkjj

2.0 stars 12/6/2016 by mkhmkjj
by mkhmkjj

It cost way too much for what it is. It works pretty well but the plastic it is made of is really flimsy and it breaks way too easily. Within the first year I had mine, the sd card slot's closing thing broke off, the touch pad doesn't click anymore, the hinge covers broke off, and all of the grips on the bottom fell off (not a huge deal but still).

mkhmkjj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Schools
5/20/2014

Customer review by IT4School

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by IT4School
by IT4School

We recently deployed a hundred of these Samsung ChromeBook units for our school as a first wave of ChromeOS devices (with more on order). The low cost of the devices has allowed us to deploy a higher count of equipment that fits our needs than we could have with other options. The staff and students love these Samsung ChromeBooks. From off to on they're logged in and surfing the net very quickly allowing more time on task for the students. On the IT side, if you are Google Apps for Education (GAFE) and you get the console license, you can push settings out to the devices from a central console which makes management a breeze. No antivirus install needed on them, no blue screens, low power consumption, great fit for schools especially when budgets are tight. We recently bought matching Samsung printers to handle our printing needs for these Samsung ChromeBooks using their Google Cloud Print features built into those printers.

IT4School
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
If you know what you're buying it is terrific
4/24/2014

Customer review by Commuted

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by Commuted
by Commuted

Very happy using it for internet, banking and mail. It can be wiped and logging out protects your account. Just log in with a new machine and everything is back if it's lost or stolen. Google Docs is pretty good. The spell check works out obscure things like movie titles that are misspelled intentionally. There's a way to put Linux on it too. I've been thinking of getting a 2nd Chromebook for Linux. If you don't know what you're buying you can make a mistake. There are some issues. Some Google features don't work. You cannot upload music to Google, but it plays very well and you can buy music OK. It's not clear if the Bluetooth works with mice. The Samsung Bluetooth mouse is not included as an accessory option. Because the USB ports are in the back, adding a wireless mouse (works great) can wear out the connector when the unit is tipped up. The screen capture is built in so don't use an app. Learn the shortcuts, it's worth it.

Commuted
San Jose, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Product Great Price
11/21/2016

Customer review by Snarryliveson

4.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Snarryliveson
by Snarryliveson

I got this for college after having a really outdated laptop. This is for sure a great laptop especially for the price, the only thing i would change would be some more personalization for the laptop but that is still only a small thing compared with how great it is.

Snarryliveson
Huntsville, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
It a change
11/14/2016

Customer review by joeyskater16

5.0 stars 11/14/2016 by joeyskater16
by joeyskater16

I love how its sync with my account and uses my account to log on and i love how easy i can stay connect with it.. it start up faster then any computer i owned and its does not lag what so ever... its a little difficult to get used to but it worth giving it a shot

joeyskater16
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Good product, reasonable price!
11/13/2016

Customer review by TomWoman77

4.0 stars 11/13/2016 by TomWoman77
by TomWoman77

Bought this Chromebook as somewhat of an impulse puchase. I was skeptical because the cost was significantly less than similar products I looked at. It has been great for what I need it for. Very durable and reliable. Easy to use for the not so "tech-savy" individual!

TomWoman77
Madison WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
This is the future
5/20/2014

Customer review by kiko66613

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by kiko66613
by kiko66613

From the time my brother purchased the Chromebook for me, I was saddened because when he opened it, somebody already took the GDrive additional free storage. It was on standby for a few weeks because of that disappointment. But when I started using it, and realized that I can do some minor tweaks to it, I was overwhelmed by the power it holds. I realized that most of my work and transactions and even schooling activities are done online, and this device is just exactly what I needed to do all them. From simple tasks like word processing, spreadsheets and presentations, to programming and photo editing. I could not believe I could do them with this device. I have been recommending it to my friends and co-faculty members of my school (MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology). Sadly, the Chromebook device is not yet available here in Philippine shores, but I can see that many of them are convinced to use this device. They are telling me that when it becomes available here in Philippine stores, they will go for it, the very affordable price and the powerful specs what attracted them most.

kiko66613
Iligan, Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Not even average
4/12/2016

Customer review by HighTechFamily

2.0 stars 4/12/2016 by HighTechFamily
by HighTechFamily

When we first bought this notebook it was a great value for price. However as time (within a few days) we experienced several issues. There is no right click to uninstall anything was the biggest problem I had. The notebook was more like a phone in the sense of you had to download apps to install. However the google play store wasn't easy to navagate. My daughter had it less than 6 months and we had to take it in to be checked due to the screen rolling a black line on it constiantly. The outer shell got knicks and other marks easily. The final straw was when my daughter closed the lid gentely as she had done a thousand times before and the screen cracked. Overall the amount paid wasn't bad, however I would suggest upgrading to a regular laptop before buying this as you have twice as many features and it is easier to navagate without the added lag.

HighTechFamily
Troy, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung Chromebook
2/3/2014

Customer review by lovingnononsense

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by lovingnononsense
by lovingnononsense

I bought the Chromebook for my husband after a friend had showed us his Samsung Chromebook and told us how much he liked it. Admittedly, I partially bought it for myself, because I don't have a keyboard for my tablet. I have enjoyed using it myself. The Chromebook's size and lightweight design make it convenient to carry around and use. The sleek design is attractive. The keyboard is simple and makes sense. I like that the designers changed a couple of the keys to reduce clutter - I feel I use all the keys and what they did made sense. Of course, the ability to play Netflix and use HDMI are great features. The speakers sound great. It boots up fast and seems to have a strong connection with the wifi. It fits my husband's needs perfectly - no nonsense features, including keyboard, quick start-up, fast internet search, portability, cloud capabilities and all for a no nonsense price.

lovingnononsense
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
A great product for a great price
6/14/2014

Customer review by KMihe

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by KMihe
by KMihe

As a college student, I needed a highly portable device that I could take around campus with me to take notes and pass time between classes in the library. The battery for this netbook lasts all day for me--through online shopping, note-taking, and watching videos. The only downside is because the netbook is web-based, sometimes there is connectivity issues with google docs that can be a hassle when trying to keep up with lectures. Also google slides sometimes is incompatible with my powerpoint slides, which can be fixed through using a separate site. Overall, I've had a positive experience with my product, I've had it for a year now and haven't had any issues. I've accidentally dropped it a couple of times and there's no serious damage to the casing or any hardware. Also the adaptation to the Chrome OS did not take very long at all--from going from Android and Windows products.

KMihe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Wonderful product! (speakers?)
8/30/2016

Customer review by mntomt

4.0 stars 8/30/2016 by mntomt
by mntomt

I love this little computer! It is lightweight and easy to travel with, and the battery life is optimal whereas I only have to charge every 2-3 days! The only problem I have with it is the speakers. They are on the bottom of the computer, which is not ideal. I play music often when I am working on school work or just online shopping, and when I set it down on a soft surface (carpet, bedspread, etc.) the sound gets muffled so I have to turn up the volume. It is not a huge inconvenience, but the design of the speakers is not ideal for me. Otherwise, however, this little guy is perfect for me and my needs.

mntomt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for internet usage
10/7/2016

Customer review by ronelle74

5.0 stars 10/7/2016 by ronelle74
by ronelle74

I love my Chromebook, It works so quickly. It is the best in between technology of a laptop and a tablet. It surfs the web quickly since it has no memory with everything uploaded to Google Drive. It consistently runs quick

ronelle74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I think this product was well thought out.
5/24/2014

Customer review by wardblvd

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by wardblvd
by wardblvd

Originally I felt the lack of a correction key would be very difficult, but I have found that with the arrow keys and backspace key I get along quite well. The screen is fine and light enough to see except in bright sunlight, but I think they all have trouble with that. The only difficulty I have found is when connected to the TV I haven't figured out how to adjust the picture size to fit the TV screen. The instructions are quite vague and don't seem to do what is supposed to happen. Otherwise does everything I have wanted of it. The only other thing that brings the rating down at all is the apps. I noticed that google is including apps that only take you to another web site that has an app that only works on other OPS, not Chrome. A waste of time I would say for Chrome users. Good product, good value. I recommend it. Oh yeah, the speakers could be louder.

wardblvd
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
An excellent cloud computing device
5/19/2014

Customer review by KevinChavis

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by KevinChavis
by KevinChavis

I purchased this Chromebook because many online apps have improved along with the Chrome OS. For the price, you can do nearly everything that any other computer can do. The display is far larger than a netbook and the keyboard is spacious. I like the quick start time and the ease of use with Google Drive. The only issue I have had is that I chromecasted music from my chromebook and somehow they connection broke, leaving my laptop blasting music. It blew my speakers. So a word to the wise, keep your volume low when chromecasting. The only thing that would make this device perfect for every use is if it had a larger hard drive and had Android OS integrated with it. Then you could install apps on it like a tablet. Otherwise, it gets the job done overall. I'm looking forward to future improvements between Google and Samsung on their computers.

KevinChavis
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
SD Card Slot Failed
11/19/2014

Customer review by LS1049

3.0 stars 11/19/2014 by LS1049
by LS1049

One month into ownership the SD card (Transcend SDXC 64 GB) card became read only in the Chromebook SD card slot. Up to that point I could read/write to the card, no problems. One day it worked the next day it was read only. Unfortunately I was out of the country and needed this to work; very disappointing. I have tested the SD card itself on my desktop PC (Win 8.1) and it reads/writes perfectly. So I formatted the SD card, under Win 8.1, and still is read only on the Chromebook. The lock switch on the SD card is in the unlock position. I finally super glued the lock switch to unlock, just in case. Still read only on the Chromebook. Works fine on the desktop. It looks to me like the SD card slot, or some other hardware failed early. I can find no references to the issue online. I can find no support for this.

LS1049
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung Chromebook 11.6" (16 GB, Samsung Exynos 5 Dual, 1.7 GHz, 2 GB)...
5/19/2014

Customer review by GregTech

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by GregTech
by GregTech

This is an amazing computer I can't stop telling people and friends about how much I enjoy my samsung chromebook. however there are a few issues that has been corrected with the samsung chromebook 2 so I feel no need to mention them what so ever this product Is great for and dose what is says it will simple fast portal to the internet. I love it but I also love runescape and html 5 and I will be getting the samsung chromebook 2 with an octa core and 4gb of ram ASAP! If samsung has any deals feel free to inform me, anyways back to the review I highly recommend if you need something light and fast but you hate the wrist cramps that tablets give you. don't expect to game on this thing as even cut the rope freezes due to the dual core inside but videos music,muti-media and seemingly all non- java, unity and some html 5 applications and games work flawlessly(which is java programs that do not need access to your computer small html 5 games and apps and every flash and shockwave game and application!) so my verdict a 4 outta 5 if it can do exe, unity java and alest some mid end gaming the samsung chromebook 2 will get a 5 out of 5 and with linux and chrome it already has

GregTech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Value and OS
1/18/2013

Customer review by tdellava94

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by tdellava94
by tdellava94

If you are coming from any OS other than Chrome, there is a big difference. Most obvious is that you can't install software like you can on a PC or Mac, but the advantages are huge. The computer powers up in about 10 seconds, the keyboard is really easy to type on even with large hands, the battery life is astounding, and the HDMI port is a great bonus. Also, the hard drive space, while not large, is not a problem. Everything is backed up to a 100GB online cloud drive so you will never run out of space and if you happen to run out, you can just pick up an external hard drive. The computer also comes with an anti-virus that Google pre-installed and it isn't a trial, it is a full anti-virus. All in all, the benefits that come with the computer are too many to list and greatly outweigh the cons.

tdellava94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 861 total reviews
1-20 of 861 reviews