Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 719 reviews
5 stars
414
4 stars
165
3 stars
37
2 stars
30
1 stars
73
Sort by: 
1-20 of 711 reviews
1-20 of 711 reviews
Google Chromebook
11/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I got my Chromebook (samsung series 5) shortly after they were released (3-4 years ago) and it has been the best internet appliance I"ve owned. I didn't call it laptop purposely - it isn't a laptop. It has no programs, but uses apps from the google market that can be added or removed in a heartbeat when ever the need arises. I've been a computer tech for over 20 years and have been through a laptop or two, but I've never had one last this long, without becoming outdated. That's a biggy for me - the Chromebook updates itself ever time you turn it on. The interface is constantly changing a little - if you're the kind that gets upset every time yahoo re designs their web mail then a Chromebook is not for you. If you're the type that lives on the bleeding edge of technology like myself - you'll love it. Recently I just got it duel booting with Chrome and Ubuntu 12.4 LTS so on the rare occasion that I need to do something that Chrome doesn't do (ie Skype) ubuntu takes care of it. The overhaul design is beautiful, the keyboard is very close to a macbook quality keyboard. I'm learning new things about it every day - even after 4 years. That'll never happen with Windoz or Mac without "Paying for an update" When I first got it Chrome didn't even have a desktop. Look at the attached photo of my desktop now. How good?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1287)No (185)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for school
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a student at AIU. While the school runs on Office, I have found apps to use for my Chromebook to conver all files. I have been a chromey for awhile and I was exhilarated to finally get a chromebook! I love it! It's small enough to go anywhere, and all of schoolwork, music and files fit in the provided space with room to spare! I would reccomend and buy again. A loyal samsung/Chrome user!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I've been looking for!
7/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Needed a lightweight solution with easy access to cloud-based apps. Once I found Chrome was the browser for me, this Samsung product was a no-brainer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awasome
3/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great for everyone....! Very pleased with the performance. Can't go wrong with this model....Great Bang for the Buck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent value and operating system
6/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Chrome OS and the Chromebook are a fantastic addition to my computing environment. I will be using the Samsung CB to update my bicycle touring blog. The very lightweight and small form factor are elements that make this a great option to take on the road when every pound has to earn its way onto the bike. And the Samsung CB has earned that right. The CB is not for everyone, you have to know what it is and how it can be used, and more importantly how it can NOT be used. It is not your standard laptop... no CD ROM, noway to run Microsoft suite of products. But I have to say, I have converted ALL my personal Word and Pages docs, all my Excel and Numbers Spreadsheets to the Google version (Google Docs and Google Sheets). This was a seamless process and I have found the apps are VERY intuitive. In fact, I find the Google apps to be EXTREMELY similar to their Microsoft counterparts. I truly believe this type of operating system and application environment will become the standard in a few years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Laptop.
12/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this Chromebook 2 weeks ago as an early Christmas Gift, I love how fast everything runs on this Computer/Browser. it has a lot of good qualities like upgrades every time you turn it on, battery fully charges fast. saves every thing to your Google account in case you break or loose it, you can all ways get it back. its like and fits anywhere. I got the Hard Plastic Case for mine on line in Red, and the Neoprene Carrying case so it looks good and is well Protected. I like typing on it cause the keys have space in them, and that makes typing for me easier and keeps my speed up. only thing that I can't say I like about it is that I can't get it to work with my Wireless Printer but it works great with the HP Envy Printers that all use Icloud. so I will get another printer one of the Envy's so this will no longer be a problem. but I love this little device!! and would recommend it to anyone who wants a Computer that will be around for a long time, and is so much fun to use.....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (272)No (115)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's a great buy!
7/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I really like my Chromebook! Is cute & small but not TOO small to where it's hard to type comfortably. It starts up really fast and as soon as you sign into your Google account it pulls up everything that you've ever saved to it. All your bookmarks... everything. It doesn't support java, silverlight, and does not use Skype. But for everything that it cannot do, Google has some sort of app for it. This computer only runs on Wi-Fi. It tells you that you can use offline apps but it hasn't worked well for me. Using the mouse pad and certain key functions can be a new experience (like right clicking) but as soon as you turn it on the first time they walk you through everything. I love it and I take it everywhere with me. It fits in my large Michael kors bag and is super light and doesn't weigh me down. This thing is super cute and convenient to use. But do not purchase this as your primary computer. This should be an add on to your collection. BTW... Have fun with the webcam and the features. Was laughing for hours!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (213)No (51)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice alternative to traditional laptop
4/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As far as I can tell, the biggest difference between this Chromebook and a laptop is no Windows. I am able to do everything with this Chromebook that I did with my laptop, which only had to be replaced because Windows stopped supporting the software and it was too old for the newer versions. This device booted up immediately when I turned it on, it charges quickly and the charge lasts a good 8 hours. Updates are automatically added every time you boot it up. The screen is a good size, picture clarity on videos is good. The audio won't rattle the pictures on the wall, but it's sufficient for catching up on the missed eps of your favorite tv show. There is an HDMI port to connect to your TV if you want a bigger picture or louder audio. I was able to easily import photos from my iPhone. I haven't even begun to explore the other many apps available. The light weight makes the device very portable. At the very least, this is an excellent choice for your everyday needs like bill paying, web surfing, and watching videos.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (125)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my eeds
12/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've been using my Chromebook now for about 3 weeks and getting used to it before writing a review. Please understand that this is not a laptop computer, that said, it's capabilities are exactly what I was looking for. The speed which it has on start-up is fantastic and connecting via my netgear at home is quick and simple (much better than waiting for my old HP Windows XP desktop to boot up just to go on-line). It did take some time to figure out how to get pictures from my digital camera to load, but once I did I was impressed with the editing tools, and the ease to paste pictures to my e-mails. Also my grandkids love the filters for the built in camera that make their heads look like balloons, etc. I do wish it had a front facing camera as well. The apps that it comes with are somewhat useful but there are plenty available at the Chrome store for free. All in all for the money I think this product gives a good bang for the buck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (218)No (40)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Good for School but Good for Web Browsing
7/29/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the Chromebook for use in college. This was a big mistake. Every program is essentially a website. You cannot download programs nor apps. I ended up using Microsoft Word Online. It was very frustrating as that has limited functionality. If I used Open Office, the formatting wouldn't translate correctly and Google's programs quite frankly are just not there yet. So I would NOT recommend if getting this for school. However, I WOULD recommend for personal use. It takes seconds to boot and is very easy to set up and customize profiles for all the family members. As a web browsing, streaming media watching laptop it is perfect. There are limitations. My kids cannot play Minecraft and I cannot play Sims so check with your favorite games/programs to see if they are Chrome OS compatible before buying. And not a big deal to me but may be for some, there is no CD/DVD drive. Overall, it's a good little Chromebook for personal web browsing and streaming media.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Loving It!!
2/22/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This little thing is great. Its super light weight and perfect for what I use it for. I use it to shop on eBay ,pay bills and surf web. If you using it for stuff like that you will like it. It probably would not be good if your trying to run business on it. Pic quality could be better but I watched Hulu on it, I sat it on my chest had to have screen tilted just right but then it looked pretty good. Its super fast unlike my very old Acer laptop. Sound could be better but I usually use ear buds when watching on tablet or phone for better sound this is no different.To print something you have to have cloud ready printer or set up your non cloud printer up on desktop to Google cloud. Mine always says offline so I save document to Google drive then use printer share app on phone (printer share is a great app) pull up Google drive and bam it prints out. So for the money I'm very happy with my purchase cause most stuff I do on my phone, but sometimes I just need a keyboard.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Google Chromebook (Samsung)
2/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This small laptop is thin, light, and easy to carry around. The processor is pretty fast, it can handle having multiple pages open on the web browser without any lag. I have also watched a few you tube videos with no delay or freezing. It operates with the google play store for apps, it also features google docs, a webcam, and much more. I have been using it for work, school, and personal...it has yet to let me down. I was skeptical at first, but I am glad I purchased this computer instead of an $800.00 laptop. There are multiple versions of the google chromebook, but I prefer the samsung, because I am a die hard fan of samsung products. Walmart carries this chromebook in store for $249.00, but if you purchase it online you can pick one up for $229.00. It's fast, light, great on battery (7hrs plus), boots up within 20 seconds, and it wakes up from sleep mode automatically when you flip it open. There is also no fan inside so it is ultra quiet. I am extremely happy with this purchase and I will be recommending this product to others...in fact, I know what I am giving to relatives for X-Mass this year...A CHROMEBOOK! lol.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (111)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best bang for your buck!!!
11/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Its about time Walmart started selling these! I have had this Chromebook for almost a year now and absolutely love it! I bought it in January as a second computer with the intentions of only using it to take notes on in class; that changed real quick. Its crazy how easy it is to get used to this thing. The keys are so nice to type on, the battery lasts all day, and the computer is never slowed down by bloatware, spam or viruses. I love the fact that it automatically saves what your working on (no more essays lost due to battery dying or forgetting to save). This Chromebook is so light that half the time I forget this thing is even in my backpack. My Chromebook gets used (and abused) daily and after almost a year of use it is still as good as it was the first day I bought it. For $250 your getting a lightweight laptop that boots in seconds, lasts over 6 hours on a single charge, never gets viruses and is simple to use. And for those people who complain because it doesn't have Itunes, just convert your music to Google's version of the software or just hack the Chromebook to use Ubuntu and find a program that will store your songs and read your apple devices. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (611)No (139)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
12/5/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! I bought this product based on a Fox News Tech expert saying it was a good buy. After only 5 weeks of owning this product the screen separated from the casing and the picture disappeared and was black with colored lines running throw it. I googled the item for trouble shooting and discovered this is an on-going problem and that Samsung refused to admit it. Sure enough I sent the unit to the Samsung repair center and was told by them it was physical damage and they would not cover it. The admitted they have a high number of complaints with this same issue but unless the cracking started in the very top center of the screen (not off to the side slightly as mine was) they would not cover the damage. In the 5 weeks I owned the unit it never left my desk top. Never. It would have been impossible for me to damage it in anyway. Very disappointed in Samsung.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (232)No (97)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent computer for browsing the web
12/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great computer - everything worked perfectly right out of the box. Compact, lightweight, fast, and looks great. No learning curve as long as you know how to use a browser. This is perfect as a secondary computer. It may not be appropriate as a primary computer, but it's great for quick, easy access to the internet. I compared the Acer and the Samsung Chromebooks and decided on the Samsung. The Samsung has no moving parts (the Acer has an internal fan) and a longer battery life, plus I think it looks nicer (the Samsung is silver while the Acer is gray; the Samsung has a matte screen while the Acer has a glossy screen; the Samsung is thinner - but these are a matter of personal preference). Overall this is an awesome machine and you can't beat the low price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (100)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Light weight and fast!
6/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I will have to work on the conversion of the doc's I have transferred to google drive and making my classic printer work with the cloud printing. That's only a few minor problems for me after fighting with my 6yr Acer w/Windows XP which I plan to take a hammer to. I do love my new google computer, no more: buring my lap, loud grinding noises, buying expensive security while your computer gets viruses any way, freezing up while some updates or what ever takes over the computer. Do not miss the disc drive and love that this computer is so light weight with a good sized key board. Good job google, but work on the ease of doc conversion and hooking up our classic printers!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cloud Device Extraordinairre
9/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Suits my purposes to a Tee. Bought it only to play my face book games that my phone could not and it works great! Turn it on and it boots up inside 10 seconds! Log in takes the time for you to type your credentials and the browser is ready in a flash! Stay logged in and close the lid to preserve battery power. Open the lid and your ready to go. Better than a tablet in that it has more Internet capabilities. Not a laptop, though. Don't expect to install or download programs, games or movies to watch while offline. This is a wonderful cloud device!! Connected to my phone's hotspot with no problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Notebook I have ever had!!
10/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have waited a few months before writing a review. I wanted to start my online graduate classes before I wrote a review. I can't tell you how excited I am about this notebook. It meets all my expectations. It does not have Microsoft word, but the Google docs will convert it to word. I just simply e-mail it in word to my e-mail address. I then open the document and download the word document. I then post the document into my class website. The computer is super fast and the battery life is great! It is small and light. I am a school teacher and I can carry this Chromebook anywhere. I love that everything is saved on my Google chrome account. I can be anywhere and access my documents. I highly recommend this product!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (273)No (75)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stable, secure, fast start up - Fabulous find.
8/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Fabulous. That says it all, but here's why: A. Secure and stable. My chromebooks (yes, I have two) have no security problems or constant needs for updates and software to keep it running. Google does all that. B. Almost instant start up every time! Just sign in to your google account and you're just where you want to be - online and ready. I think this computer should be marketed for the non-geek computer user. Each computer allows multiple users with total privacy from the others. Also can go online as 'guest' if a friend wants to try it out. No mixing of settings - no security issues. C. The Chromebook is a different kind of computer as it stores little on your hard drive. The Cloud (free) keeps your photos and your folders safe. It does not need (or require) downloads of softwear or security programs. It also does not install your favorite software. However (that that is a BIG however) google has tons of programs you can add to your online experience at will and with no charge either. D. I find the pad instead of a mouse difficult - but I am in my sixties. Change is hard. But in this case, I find it's worth the effort. And there is a usb for a mouse if you choose (no mouse included - a separate item). E. An excellent shopping machine. Easy, fast uploads with wifi. Also great video and cable viewing. F. Set up is wonderful. Partically non-existent. Like I said 'geek' free. G. There's so much more... My HP Win 7 is already showing signs of freaking out for me, but my Samsung Chromebooks are running strong and sure. There's just no comparison. Lynx based by far more user friendly than Windows/Microsoft. I only have high praise for this wondrous computer (internet machine). Most of all it requires no supervision by a in-house geek. It just works!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This Chromebook is a great low-budget laptop
3/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a good bit of experience with this product. I've owned it for around 6-8 months, and have gotten a lot of good use out of it. Don't buy this if you need to use Windows applications for work or school, it's a Chromebook, which means it uses ChromeOS as the operating system. This means you can do anything on it that you can do in Chrome, and that's pretty much it. If you need an internet machine that can also play some limited games, this is a great buy. You can also use Google Docs to replace some of the Microsoft Office functionality, and Google Drive to transfer files to and from your main PC. Overall a good buy if you need a laptop primarily for surfing the internet and doing light work. Good for students.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640694, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-